Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pearl Lake Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Herefordshire > Leominster > Pearl Lake Leisure Park > Reviews

Pearl Lake Leisure Park
Shobdon
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9NQ
Tel: 01568 708326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15. plus Rental units
Open: 01/03/2022 to 02/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rivet 1 review from this member

 Site is just as described. Staff really helpful, even loaned me some golf clubs.

Pitches were excellent level and fully serviced even had tv reception.

Very clean facilities.

We walked around the lake and discovered a bird hide which had been provided with binoculars.

It seemed they had thought of everything. Only criticism is the touring pitches are next to a road.

As it was harvest time it was busy all day and into the evening with farm traffic.

There is so much to see in the surrounding area we were out walking or cycling most days and I couldn't hear the traffic on the golf course. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Gwyngr 1 review from this member

 The site was well maintained and clean and the site was well suited for dog walking cycling ang golf

What more do you want

The only issue I had was the roads to the site from powys were a big tight on occasions 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lsmithy 2 reviews from this member

 We loved the cleanliness of the site but the pitch we were on (6) is at the bottom of the hill and the surrounding grass was very muddy so much so we had to side step to get off the pitch. We did show the staff and they were in agreement of the situation but didnít have another pitch to offer us.

We also were hoping to fish but the lake was clearly full of duck weed which put us off as the static residents said it would have been a waste of our time.

Other that that we really liked Pearl Lake. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ADYJET 7 reviews from this member

 A 5 star site, maybe, quiet certainly not!

The site is primarily statics with the touring pitches right next to the road. From 05:30 lorry after lorry passes over the potholes in the road outside so a lie in is out of the question! It carries on until the evening so no peace and quiet through out the day sitting by your van.

The lake is choked with weed and in desperate need of some TLC, the fishing is poor when it could be superb.

Staff friendly, site well tendered, facilities good, but sorry we won't be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LR2007 24 reviews from this member

 Easy road access to this site. Small touring area surrounded by trees with pitches that were far too small should you wish to put up an awning etc. We have an 8 metre long motorhome and would have struggled to manoeuvre in and out of our pitch if all pitches were taken. The facilities are accessed on the side of the static area as with most sites like this. The Facilities were clean but stuck in the 70ís era and could now benefit from an update. Couldnít comment on the showers as didnít use them as they were quite claustrophobic. There is a club on site where they do meals and dogs are allowed in certain areas which is a plus for dog owners. More than adequate on site activities for children and adults. Overall a nicely kept site but just not for us. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lucysmum 38 reviews from this member

 Just spent a lovely weekend here. The touring site is rather dwarfed by all the holiday homes. But the park is really beautiful. Gorgeous lake and excellent walking for our dogs. Big field for them to run off lead, plus beautiful bluebells woods too.

Only quibble the pitch was rather narrow for our motorhome, but it was fully serviced. The park itself is immaculate. Would we go back ? Definitely :) 


Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nelodemus 2 reviews from this member

 Picked this site as a last minute getaway over the Christmas holidays. Glad we did. Lovely site with superb facilities. Water, waste, EHU and aerial on every pitch. Especially appreciated the aerial connection with a long enough lead to reach the caravan.

We were the only tourer on site and the owners made us extremely welcome, even inviting us to the siteís New Yearís celebrations.

We ate at The Batemans Arms (2 minutes down the road in Shobdon) on our first night. Food was beautiful and not too expensive.

Easy access for visiting Ludlow, Hereford and Leominster.

We will be back in the summer. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wroberts 3 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a weekend at Pearl Lake Leisure Park.

I didn't realise at the time of booking that it is predominantly a static park with I think 15 touring pitches. I always check UKCampsites for reviews, but didn't for some reason this time! The touring caravans were situated at the back of reception, close to a noisy road and were well hidden from the owners of the static vans. The pitches themselves were well kept and the area was clean and tidy. In the ladies toilet block were three toilets, three sinks and two showers. The showers were great with loads of hot water and there was also a hairdryer available.

By the toilet block was a dog wash. This was beautifully tiled and with a shower spray. We made use of this to wash our two dogs whilst we were there. That saved 25 quid per dog at the dog groomers!

The static part of the site was beautiful. The grounds were immaculate. There was a club house, 9 hole golf course for £7, play area, small football pitch and large field for letting dogs off their lead.

If you don't mind pitches with no view and loud road noise, then this site would be excellent for you. For us though, I'd rather pitch in a field with a beautiful view and total peace and quiet.

We've only been out in our van six times, so just getting to know what we like. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SMH56 4 reviews from this member

 We decided to go here for a quiet weekend break. We booked for 5 nights as this is the minimum in high season which wasn't a problem.

The site is predominately static holiday homes and the touring pitch is almost a sideline. 15 pitches right next to a very busy noisy road, which starts at about 5 am and lasts all day.

If you are wanting the sun make sure you have the first two pitches as the others don't really get much due to trees, we were lucky to have one of these,

The downside is the outlook is a gravel car park, However the facilities are great, we were the only tent there so virtually has them to ourselves.

There is a friendly bar on site and the lake is lovely but didn't catch much. We decided to leave after 3 days due to the noise, they did refund the two days we should have paid, which at £25 per night we were happy with, but we will not be returning again.

Would be good as overnight stopover en route to somewhere else in a caravan, but this site is not for tents.

Owner's response: In response to Sandra Fuller's review we would like to address the issues raised.

The site is 80 acres of rolling parkland set among glorious Herefordshire countryside. The predominant occupation on park is for the holiday homes but this is not to say that we consider the touring area to be a side line. There are only 15 pitches and, to be fair, they are alongside a B road that obviously carries traffic. There is some early morning activity as we are located in a rural community but we feel it is an overstatement to say that the noise lasts all day, it is not consistent and certainly there are long periods throughout the day and especially the early evening onward that the site is very peaceful. We are aware that tents are more vulnerable to any noise and consequently we try to highlight this at the time of booking or recommend another park we have just bought - Rockbridge Park - just 10 minutes away that is an extremely peaceful setting alongside the River Lugg, near Presteigne, and ideal for tents/camping.

Pearl Lake is a mature park with many trees and these are important to the atmosphere of the park. We feel it is unfair to say that only two pitches are sunny and it would be a shame to miss out on the fantastic, diverse facilities on park due to having a shady pitch.
There is only one pitch that looks out onto a gravel car park, this is additional parking for touring area 'day visitors' and unfortunately this is the pitch that was allocated to Sandra Fuller. We think that the touring area image used to represent Pearl Lake on UKCampsite.co.uk is indicative of what we offer (Taken of the 'shady' side of the park).

We are here to help, if you have any queries at all please ask at the time of booking and we will do our very best to accommodate you. We hope that Sandra Fuller will be able to visit Rockbridge Park and try that for camping as we believe this is a fantastic alternative for campers and we hope this response will allay any doubts about our commitment to our touring/camping customers.
 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bradtourer 27 reviews from this member

 Pearl lake is the 2nd site we have visited with best parks, aas with Poston mill they are both immaculate. Site owners and caravan owners very friendly. Facilities included a 15 acre fishing lake stocked with loads of tench which I was lucky enough to catch a 5lb. Also a 9 hole golf course which looked in very good condition. A large football pitch and pub on site. Toilet block was not the most modern looking but very clean. Hard stand pitches were great with own water, drain, tv point to each pitch. Leominster has a lot of of shops which is only 6 miles away, or a 15 minute walk from site is a Premier shop and the Batesman Arms pub. Overall would recommend for a weekend stay, not much else to do if you have a week stay 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pearl Lake Leisure Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pearl Lake Leisure Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pearl Lake Leisure Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leominster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2828 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement