Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Caerfai Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Caerfai Farm Campsite
Caerfai Road
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6QT
Tel: 01437 720548  or  01437 720032
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 80
Open: End May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy_sb 2 reviews from this member

As per earlier reviews the views from this site are amazing. However, there is a very steep price to pay - wind! Not just any wind but very strong wind!. We are a family of four very experienced campers. Unfortunately during our 10 days at Caerfai we got through not one, but two family sized tents (one being brand new!). And we weren't the only ones. There was mass destruction all around the three fields during our time with tents ripped and destroyed. The very worst hit were the family tents (as opposed to the little tiny dome tents that some of the surfers were sleeping in), but we also saw 'pop up' camper vans/land rovers with the 'pop up' completely ripped out by the wind!

When we enquired as to whether the weather was unusual, we were told that it was quite normal. One family who had regularly stayed at the site said that there was at least one day like it during the fortnight that they stayed.

Even the father of the couple who run the site told me that it was not suitable for large tents. This is clearly not the view of the couple who run it despite family holidays being ruined, not to mention the fear suffered by the children during the night with the wind howling and ripping tents and the cost of replacing everything and the loss of money should you have to bail out and go home early.

Be warned! This is not a suitable site for a family tent. Oh, and the facilities aren't great either. 4 loos (women) and about 5 communal showers for three fields of campers at the height of the season. Despite signs, people go in them in their wetsuits straight from the beach and so the showers are filthy and quite often covered in seaweed!

You have been warned - which is more than the owners did for us despite being told the dimensions of our tent at the time of booking!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Batgirl007 1 review from this member

We spent a Friday night here in July 2016 to try out our newly acquired second-hand tent on our first camping trip with a toddler.

We thought the campsite was great, and although illness sadly curtailed our anticipated two-night stay after one night, we will certainly return.

There are three large spacious fields, with generous pitches indicated around the edges, all of which seemed pretty flat, and lots of space for children to play in the centre of the fields. We were in the lower field with spectacular views out to sea and a water tap in the corner; furthest from the toilet block and shop, closest to the sea. A breezy site but only to be expected on a cliff top. The coastal path skirts the field, with a path running down to the small sandy beach below, and the centre of St David's is a 10-15 minute walk down a country lane.

The toilet block, located by the top field and entrance, was decent and clean, with two family shower rooms as well as smaller units, and 5 or 6 washing up sinks. Hot water provided by solar power was always available. The shop opened twice a day, and sold some lovely produce, which we enjoyed for our breakfast the following day, along with some of their own unpasteurised milk which was wonderful.

The campsite never felt crowded or noisy, and was a pleasure to stay in.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clairetwoboys 8 reviews from this member

This campsite is an absolute treat! I originally booked a date, then had to change it and the owners were really accommodating and helpful. I had requested a sea view and was told I couldn't be promised a direct one but I would be as close as possible. When we arrived on site, we called into the small shop/office to be given our pitch number (a tag is given to you to put on your tent and this corresponds with the pitch) and we drove into our designated field. The view that greeted us was breath-taking - a full sweep of the bay, and our pitch was a corner one, which gave us a partial view - but a beautiful one.

The pitches are generally flat but there can be a gentle slope, depending on which of the three fields you are allocated. The tents are pitched around the edge, leaving a big open space in the middle for children (and adults) to play in. There were a lot of dogs on site, but none were any bother, and lots of children having a great time.

The one (very minor) gripe is that there are probably not enough showers for the amount of people during peak weeks - we had to queue most evenings unless we got there early enough, but never found there was not hot water available. The washing up facilities are good, and the shop is very well stocked with most things you will need available. You can also rent ice blocks with a small deposit, and use the washing machine/drying facilities for a nominal charge.

St Davids is a short walk away if you take the lane/road route, or a longer, more strenuous walk along the coastal route, which is accessible directly from the site, as is the beach - a wonderful little cove down a steep hill, fabulous for dog walking, body boarding or just lying and having a snooze!

All in all, this is a treasure of a site - if only there were more like it. We had a fantastic time and can't wait to go back - we spoke to people who have been going there for years and years, which proves its credentials.

One thing to note though - that view comes with a price - and that is the wind! Take storm pegs, as we had a memorable night re-pitching the front of our tent at 3 am (shoddy original pitching, of course!) due to the incredible force of the wind coming off the sea. A small price to pay though, for a great holiday in a wonderful place.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Happy hilda 4 reviews from this member

The perfect site for us, being a short walk into St Davids. (we love St Davids)The beach is close, but the path down is quite steep but the amazing views from our pitch made up for this. There is a good bus service to Haverfordwest that passes through Solva and Newgale, they are both worth a visit. The toilets and showers were always clean with plenty of hot water. The owners and staff were helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 84 reviews from this member

Possibly the best sea view you'll get from a campsite across St Brides Bay towards Skomer. Inevitably, such an exposed site gets its fair share of wind so take some wind breaks and extra guy ropes. There are three fields all of which gently slope towards the cliff top, the pitches are marked with sticks and numbered rocks which confusingly indicate the centre of the allocated plots, not the boundaries. We were charges £14 per night for two adults, a tent and a car.

The Pembrokeshire Coast Path runs alongside the site, Caefai Bay is beautiful at low tide and St Davids is a 10 minute walk away where there are pubs, restaurants, a garage, shops and a Nisa store.

After reading previous reviews we were expecting an exceptional campsite. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. This was because this site could have been absolutely fantastic if only there was a little more attention to detail. We thought that the items for sale in the campsite shop were just too expensive, you expect this in most places, but evidently even more so when the Organic label is added. For the money, we would expect a hot shower at the end of the day, but the site’s organic principles demand that power is primarily sourced from solar panels and a wind turbine. Returning late in the day after completing many miles of coast path we were disappointed every night to find the showers running between warm and cold. I would quite happily sacrifice the organic ‘Muck and Magic’ lifestyle for a mains metered hot shower! Other moans include dogs running free, you would think that with three fields one at least could be canine free. Their dogs on leads policy was not being enforced. The rubbish area is open and adjacent to the toilet block so it’s the last and first thing you see and smell before and after your ‘invigorating’ shower. The toilet and shower bock itself is just OK, rather dated and about acceptable for cleanliness. Interestingly there was always plenty of hot water in the sinks and washing up room?

I would recommend a walk to look across Ramsey Sound where you should glimpse Harbour Porpoises. Much wildlife can be seen from the coast path (especially if you get away from anyone with a dog) and includes Choughs, Peregrine Falcons, and seals. Get up very early to buy a ticket to Skomer for the puffins –quite magical. Tickets cannot be pre-booked and only 250 are available per day. We thought the best restaurant in St David’s was Cwtch. The local butcher also sells fresh mackerel, ideal for a lunch time BBQ.

In summary, a great area, a beautiful location, but a campsite with so much potential that didn’t impress, which was a real shame.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Natalie2012 3 reviews from this member

I honestly don't have a bad word to say about this campsite. The location was amazing, right at the top of the cliffs overlooking Caerfai Bay, and right on the Pembrokeshire Coast Path. It's an easy 10-minute walk into St Davids.

The pitches were really well laid out, with tents and campervans around the edges of the fields leaving a nice space in the middle.

There's no electric hook-up, which I like, as I find some caravanners a bit much when they bring their whole lives on holiday with them! It was nice to get back to basics.

The shop selling organic farm produce and fresh croissants was irresistible! We always had hot water for the showers, even though the days we were there weren't as sunny as we could have hoped, and the facilities were always fairly clean even though the campsite was busy.

I would definitely recommend this campsite, and would stay there again myself.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donkers 15 reviews from this member

We spent 5 nights at this site at the end of June/ beginning of July and had a great time - the glorious weather undoubtedly helped. The campsite is very picturesque and in a lovely location above Caerfai Bay with stunning views of the coast & St. Bride's Bay from all the pitches, yet St. David's is an easy 10 minute walk. During our visit the site was fairly busy, but not quite full and was really peaceful and quiet.

The campsite is basic but very well maintained, covering 3 large fields with the pitches spaced round the perimeter of each field. This leaves the middle as an open field, giving a real feeling of space and plenty of room for kids (and big kids) to play away from the tents. The Pitches themselves are fairly spacious and the grass kept short– the pitches are mainly level, although the fields themselves are very sloping.

The facilities are adequate - basic but were always clean and with plentiful free hot water (supplied from sustainable wind and solar power). There are two family shower rooms and 3 individual unisex shower cubicles which were big, with a clean shower curtain to separate the shower area from the rest of the cubicle, there was also a chair to put things on – a great set up as it helps keep your stuff dry. There are plenty of male and female toilets with basins and also an additional shower cubicle in each. The wash up is perfectly serviceable and recycling facilities provided for glass etc.

The Farm shop sells basic essentials and delicious organic cheese made from the farm's own milk. They also sell freshly baked pain au chocolate and croissants every morning - yum!

At £14. 00 per night (for 2 adults, no EHU) it is pretty good value.

There is plenty to do in the local area; lots of lovely walks as the site opens directly onto the Pembrokeshire Coast Path. A short walk takes you down to Caerfai Bay, with its lovely beach, blue sea and rock pools. St David's itself is a lovely little town; I particularly recommend the ice cream shop which sells delicious homemade ice cream in lots of different flavours and the restaurant 'Cwtch'. Whitesands is a beautiful beach and interesting area to explore, including around St. David's head. We also visited Skomer Island which was amazing, you can see puffins close up!

All in all a great site, especially when the sun is shining!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Puffin pig 3 reviews from this member

Visited during half-term. Despite being fully booked it felt very uncrowded. Location is fantastic, coastal path and small beach just yds away, felt very safe for the kids to roam on bikes and yet quiet for the grown-ups in evenings. Also dog-friendly.

Facilities were clean, hot water a bit of a hit and miss affair due to the green technologies being used for heat (it was both sunny and windy yet still water prone to cold episodes). But never a queue for anything, (note water for washing up was always hot).

A beautiful part of the world, stunning scenery, a visit to Ramsey (£45 for family of four) is a must even if you are not a bird-lover. Farm shop supplies all necessities, get there at opening time if you want you freshly baked croissants/pain au chocolat. Local supermarket also surprised with its wide range of local products, good to see.

All in all, a great site I'd recommend and definitely return to.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davidoldfield 2 reviews from this member

What to say, great site.

We were lucky to get pitch 5 overlooking the coast at the front of the field. The views are fantastic over the coast and there is a little beach for the added touch.

The facilities were plentiful - having never had to queue for them, even though the site was pushing 70-75% full.

The only negative with being at the bottom of the field was hearing cars go onto the mini car park, at the top of the walk down to the beach, late at night.

That aside the car park was next to the coastal path and you could walk for miles with spectacular panoramic views.

The shop was well stocked, apart from they ran out of their own untreated milk, shame.

Will definitely be returning again. The owner even gave kids a ride on his tractor as he passed.

Definitely a good site for keen walkers!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Morgs26 2 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic campsite, with beautiful views. We chose it because we thought it would not be too 'structured' and we wanted a relatively unregimented campsite, but we found that it was actually very organised - pitch numbers etc. However, despite our initial disappointment, we had a lovely time. The solar powered showers are very hot and clean. Dishwashing facilities are brilliant.

The shop sells just about everything you need.

Beach is a very short downhill walk away and is perfect for swimming, launching your canoe etc. Dogs allowed on the beach too, which is a big plus for us.

Although the campsite was very busy on the Saturday night, noise levels were very low and you didn't feel as if everyone was camping on top of you. Boyfriend caught two fish on one day, so its good for fishermen too!

St David's is only a 10 minute, pleasant walk away so you don't even need to drive your car to stock up at the supermarket.

Fantastic walks along the Pembrokeshire coastal path - about 20 minutes to walk to St Non's Well, half hour to walk to Porthclais harbour.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


849 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019