Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping De Courte Vallee

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Airvault > Camping De Courte Vallee Reviews

Camping De Courte Vallee
8 Rue De Courte Vallee
Airvault
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
79600
Tel: 0033 5 49 64 70 65
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: 1 March To 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 21 Reviews
                8/10 from 21 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 164 reviews from this member

Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

We had noted this town as being of interest when we were last in the area, so decided to stay at the campsite and explore.

This site was in the ACSI book so we gave it a try. It was easy to find from the directions in the book, seemed a bit of a climb out of town. The site is situated just outside the town, off a quiet residential area. The site is quite flat and the pitches are grassy. They seem to have caravan storage here, plus a number of chalets. The clientele were almost all British, seemed to be regulars judging by the groups sitting together.

Check in was efficient, the owners are English but will converse in French if you prefer. We were allocated a pitch, the site was quite full. There is a bar and restaurant and a pool, none of which we used.

The toilet block is quite modern, unisex and clean, and the water was hot. Washing up is outside under cover. This is the only site I have ever been to in France which has toilet paper, plus 2 convenient handwash basins with liquid soap, and a hand drier!

We cycled into the town, not far, mainly downhill. The centre is old and interesting, we got a map from the TIC. There are a few shops and a supermarket on the outskirts. And a very pleasant surprise is the Museum, which has a good collection of cutural artefacts on display, all free of charge.

All in all, a very pleasant experience. However, we agreed that the site, though faultless, just felt like a little bit of Britain, and that is not really the experience we are looking for on holiday.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Two Terriers 20 reviews from this member

Pleasant overnight stay. Nice site & very spacious pitch, could get our large motorhome on sideways.

Wash facilities adequate.

Bistro meal very good but rather expensive when you compare to the all inclusive 'menu du jour' prices regularly available off site.

It is advertised & has been reviewed as British owned & very popular with Brits. If you are ok with this that's fine but if you want something more 'French' & used by other nationalities would suggest you go elsewhere.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hoedown 41 reviews from this member

We found this pleasant site in the Camping Card book, run by an English couple, who had taken over 3 days before we arrived.

Pitches were a good size albeit slightly sloping amongst some trees and bushes. Toilets, showers, basins are all housed in one building with each cubicle separately closed. Could do with a bit of extra cleaning though.

There are the usual washer/dryer facilities as well as a bar/restaurant, although there was no chef when we were there so we canít comment on the food.

Free wi-fi is available all over the site, for those that need to stay connected. Most of the people here were English or Dutch and many seem to be long-stayers, or leave their van there for the whole season. There are also a number of static vans around which we understand will be available for hire.

The new couple, whilst very enthusiastic, are not campers and have not run a site before, so have quite a lot to learn. It was a suitable stop for a couple of nights on our way south, but we would not want to spend longer there.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ardoveering 2 reviews from this member

Arrived on 04/06015 having booked an ACSI pitch for 5 nights. Reception was closed until 4pm! Looked on the door to see which pitch we had been allocated but we weren't on the list. Waited until 4pm only

To find that the site had changed hands in May and the new owners, while trying very hard, weren't quite up to speed! Were told that the names and pitches on the door were from yesterday and that they had forgotten to post today's information. We were allocated a pitch that our outfit wouldn't fit onto and each time we were sent to a different pitch we found that there was already someone on on it. Eventually we pitched our van and said we would stay for one night only, moving on tomorrow. The next day we moved onto a more suitable pitch and did stay the booked 5 days. The site is almost completely occupied by Brits, lots of whom store their caravans there. Toilet block needs a deep clean but is serviceable. The new owners are very pleasant but are fully aware that people are coming to the site having read about it on the website and the information on there isn't current. They need to get to grips with sorting out immediate needs and be available when needed, not taking a three to four hour lunch break! Would we go there again? Only for a short stop over on the way to somewhere else and probably to see what the new owners have managed to make of the place.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LJB70 17 reviews from this member

Arrived whilst reception closed, however pitch details are posted on the door, so easy to find the pitch!

We had a huge pitch, large enough for our van sideways, awning & car, plus further space.

Pool wonderful, not huge but adequate, tended to get busy towards the end of our stay as a lot of regulars seemed to arrive and their children understandably spent a lot of time in the pool.

Mainly British, but a few French and Dutch whilst we were there.

Very quiet at night, apart from the last few when a group of children would ride at speed around the gravel roads in the dark skidding & screaming now and then making you jump!

The children's play area is great but aimed at smaller children, there is a boules area and a table tennis table.

I cant comment on the toilet facilities as we always use our van, but on the one occasion. I used them from the pool, they were ok.

Cant comment on the restaurant, but we had take away frites one night.

Wonderful walks / cycle rides down by the river, or into the town itself.

Large Intermarche on the outskirts of town with a petrol station.

If you visit, a trip to Chateau Oiron, wonderful place and amazing art display within it, but very off the wall!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nc-woods 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights on the way to the Dordogne

Absolutely superb had a great stay. Lovely walks down by the river and a pleasant stroll into the town hills mightbe a bit much for the less able.

Site facilities are spotless even when we were there in high season especially like the music in the toilet block it was very relaxing

Super staff could not do enough for us plenty to do in the local area and lots of information in the office

Will use again

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vauncutts 5 reviews from this member

This year was our third visit to Courte Vallee and we shall certainly holiday there again.

As a retired couple looking for good quality provision and service in a quiet and relaxed environment, it fits the bill perfectly.

Alistair, Joanna and their team could not be more welcoming and helpful (particularly so when Wendy had an infected leg wound).

The site is spotless in all its facilities (especially the toilet/shower block), with good sized pitches offering a mix of sun and shade. There is a well shaded, attractive bar and terrace. The restaurant serves good, reasonably priced, food - and the take-away chips facility offers a welcome change to the ubiquitous barbeque.

The pool is only small, but as there were never more than a handful of people in it at any time during our stay, that was not an issue.

Airvault is a lovely little town(15 mins walk away) and there is a large Intermarche on its outskirts. Highly recommended is a walk by the river through the parkland, easily accessed from the site. There is a good market at Parthenay - and Thuars, St Loup and other small local towns are well worth the drive to see them.

To sum up - restful, friendly and beautifully kept.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sussextourers 3 reviews from this member

Jo and Alistair, the owners, have created a little bit of heaven in the heart of France. The facilities are all clean and functional. The site is pretty with good grassy areas and well thought out planting providing both sunny and more shady pitches as requested. But what sets this site apart from all the others we visited on our trip is the friendliness of the staff which, in turn, encourages the guests to mix and mingle.

The night after we arrived we attended a free wine tasting at the on-site garden bar. It was a great chance to chill out with fellow guests and learn about the local wines from a local producer. Later in the week we ate (twice) at the on-site restaurant which was reasonably priced and delicious. My husband was very impressed that he could purchase a pint of English bitter! I stuck with the good selection of wines and the occasional biere blonde.

The swimming pool is surrounded by sunbeds and the venue for more afternoon socialising for those who wanted it. Nothing loud and intrusive, just friendly chatter.

There is no on site shop but you can order bread etc daily and purchase fresh eggs from reception. The site is situated on the edge of the village of Airvault and that has a small selection of shops, a weekly market and, conveniently, a good sized Intermarche supermarket and the French equivalent of B&Q selling caravan supplies.

Our elderly Dalmation was delighted with the selection of scenic walks from the site, just 5 minutes to the river and plenty of ways to explore once you got there. The site staff made a real fuss of her and that made us feel that we were truly welcome. We had requested a quiet, shaded pitch and were very pleased with the large pitch we were allocated at the rear of the site.

I feel the site is excellent for couples who don't want discos etc and for those with young children who would enjoy the play area. To be fair, I don't think teenagers would find it the most 'happening' place. There is table tennis but no tennis or basket ball courts you find on larger sites and no TV lounge!

Jo and Alistair and the staff are British and the first language spoken on the site is English although French is spoken well, as I found out when Jo helped me make an appointment with the vet. Most of the guests were British and this may be off putting to those seeking the genuine French experience but I found it relaxing having come from a site where French was the only language and my (basic)command of the language was challenged. Guests from France, Holland and Germany were also staying so it's not exclusively English.

As for days out, there is plenty of information available at reception and the staff are happy to recommend destinations. This was our second stay at the site and we didn't repeat any of our previous excursions, not because they weren't great, just because we didn't need to. We will definitely be returning as soon as we can.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wakker1 15 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 11 nights. Site is well maintained. The site is British owned and all the staff are British. The site facilities are unisex but this didn't seem to cause any problems. The pitches are a good size with water either on the pitch or near by all with electric hook up.

The reception sells fresh bread and eggs daily, and there is a co-op in Airvault and a Supermarche about 5 minutes drive away.

The site has a bar which is open daily, and a bistro open Saturday to Wednesday. Also quiz nights and functions including guided walks are organised on a regular basis.

For people with dogs there is a country park within 5 mins walking distance where the dogs can run freely. Also the site has a small car for hire, which is handy if you are their in a motor home.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Red1archie 10 reviews from this member

English owner site and mostly English campers. Site is situated within walking distance of the town, pitches are mostly level to slightly sloping. There is a marquee style restaurant on site with a man sat at an organ playing 70's music while people eat. The night we stayed was fish and chips on the menu so we gave it a miss, we didn't come all that way for english food.

Site very well kept, although the facilities were very busy even with a 75% full site. There is good dog walking to be had down the lane and into some fields or along the river, river is very deep and fast flowing.

The weather had been poor up to the day we had arrived hence the owners took the opportunity to cut the grass, all day long!.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4489 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019