Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Faichemard Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Invergarry > Faichemard Farm > Reviews

Faichemard Farm
Camping Site
Faichemard Farm
Invergarry
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH35 4HG
Tel: 01809 501314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 14/04/2024 to 06/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Helen707 8 reviews from this member

 Arrived just as May turned toJune and stayed for 3n at the top end of the site. A delightful spot and perfect for dog walking.

There have been pros and cons though!

Pro. A fab site, quiet, great location, superb showers and toilets, tap and hookup right on the pitch, friendly helpful guy at reception. Most impressed with the barrier and no plate recognition, and booking online very straightforward. Basically a wonderful site.

Cons. ( and mostly out of their control) the loo emptying spot ( just one) is at the bottom of the site near the entrance, so its a car journey as it is a long way to hump a cassette.

Midges. We were prepared, but some of their antics we hadnít allowed for! Had our deet and avon at the ready but they still outwitted us. They got into the caravan through the tight window seals and the fly screens arenít effective against these teeny biters, so we applied vaseline and deet to the seals which slowed them down but some still got in! Our offensive weapons then were an electric fly bat (and not bad but hit and miss) and the master stroke was the 12v car vacuum, which frankly has never had so much use!

The first night wasnít good, second much better, got a good sleep. After 3 days of them, even with the midge catchers now running outside we were ready to go.

Walking the dogs was a dash outside and 10 paces away almost midge free, its bodies they are after so the caravan became a magnet. We felt sorry for some though. A small motorhome couple lasted one night and vanished early, the tenting couple were having serious issues and no idea when they packed up, I doubt they lasted the night. You have to book for a minimum of 2 nights online so not sure where they stood on that score.

Without midges ( and their appearance is unusually early due to the warm weather) this place would be heaven, when we arrived we thought it was, so well organised, using the shower blocks is something I rarely do but this one was immaculate. Day trips out couldnít have been better, driving round Loch Ness and Glencoe on sunny days was awesome.

Advice. Be well midge prepared with suitable clothing and repellent and get a spot at the bottom of the site as they were sitting outside while we were surrounded! 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scankguy 22 reviews from this member

 A grown up place to camp. Two sections one by the pond at the bottom of the hill for those who like company and a higher more spaced out selection of pitches, mixed for vans tents and caravans which are much more private. We by far preferred the highe pitches and requested one when we booked. Each has a picnic bench and easy walk to the high standard facilities. Electric shower wet room.

Pitches are all different and you will be allocated one on booking. Pitch 28 seemed to be the largest with good views, not too far from the water point, and the last one has water on the pitch. However the only grey water point is back down the hill by the pond. Itís a MH drive over type. The chemical disposal is there as well but itís easier to put a Thetford cassette into the car than a full waste master. You may be able to agree with owners an alternative ie to use a wastewater pipe to discharge grey water as there is rough vegetation next to the pitches. We didnít askÖ. These higher pitches would be ideal if they were serviced.

Arrive, auto number recognition letís you in and you set up on your allocated pitch. We havenít needed to visit reception but the owners seem really nice. Donít drive up there with a caravan you will likely get stuck in the turning circle. Also take care with the approach road. We came from the Skye direction and went past the first turn to the signposted side and I was glad I did.

This site is for folk who like peace and quiet. Nice wooded location and views of mountains. Not much choice or quality in the local grocery supply so bring your own. The local Gleanor garage does basics and wine/beer otherwise the Londis in Fort Augustus at the main car park or Spar at Spean Bridge are alternatives. The Spar is much better.

If you fancy fish and chips in F Augustus go to one by the locks not the one by the car park. Better food and nicer place to eat watching the locks work.

Local walks from the site or on the River Garry are good and the site allows plenty of chilling out. The community hall has public toilets and volunteers open a cafe there several days a week. The hotel and brasserie look nice and I believe allow a dog at the table?

I expect the midges would be worse later in the year, mostly the breeze kept them away and still fairly early midge season in May. There are ticks on site in the longer vegetation so check your dogs and make sure they are treated. Be warned everywhere in the highlands has ticks and we saw so many on our dogs in Skye. If going off the path put your trousers inside your socks! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Suzuki 1 review from this member

 One of the best sites we have stayed at. No children, no noise, absolute peace and quiet.

Toilets and showers were the cleanest and best kept we've came across.

Fort Augustus is nearby for necessities and is lovely.

Would definitely recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mstewa 1 review from this member

 What a hidden gem this is. Such a peaceful setting with wildlife all around. We were pitched at the side of the pond and loved all the dragonflies, ducks antics and carp cruising around.

Our pitch was huge giving plenty options of how we positioned our unit. The facilities were spotless and a proper shower more like a wet room, not push button timers

You are ideally located for many activities and adventures and we are already planning a longer stay next year.

One tip would be is to call the owner in advance or on arrival at the barrier rather than driving up to reception particularly if you have a large unit.

There is a turning circle at reception but it may be tight. Theyíll tell you your pitch number and there is a clear map at the barrier along with their number.

We loved this site and will definitely return 


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kaihelen 2 reviews from this member

 This has to be one of the most beautiful sites we have ever stayed on.

The feeling is wild as the pitches are so spread out that you feel you are the only person on the site.

The views to the mountains are magnificent.

The site has all the facilities you need. There are shower wet rooms and toilets which are spotlessly clean. There is also a laundry and fridge freezer for customers use if needed and electric hookup. There is a Motorhome service point and chemical disposal point.

There are numerous walks straight from the site in various directions. Itís a perfect paradise.

Only negative which comes with the territory midges and ticks, although the site had several midge exterminators dotted around.

If you are taking dogs I would advise you ensure they are protected against ticks as they are very prevalent at this time of year.

We will certainly visit this site again and thoroughly recommend it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jpl21 1 review from this member

 A fantastic site, excellently laid out and a great location. Very welcoming and friendly.

Each pitch is so well positioned that it presents an almost Ďwildí feel, with great views all round.

We will definitely be using this site again.

We only wish it had a longer season so we could visit during late October/ early November.

There are lots of lovely walks directly from the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Leonor 1 review from this member

 It was great to return back to Faichemard campsite.

Such a great quiet campsite.

Lovely showers and clean toilets.

We will be back thank you Lauren and Colin 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Peter6 9 reviews from this member

 We have stayed on this site a number of times in the past and in our opinion it is simply perfect.

We ask for a pitch in the upper part of the site, as we prefer peace and quiet. The pitches in that area are very well spaced apart, and have great views, h9ard st8andingf with power and water laid on.

Lower pitches near the facilities may suit other guests.

The approach road is not for the feint heated of larger units with inexperienced drivers, but for us it was not a problem.

It is definitely worth allowing an extra day to fully explore Glen Garry right to its end, although the final stretch of this road is not well maintained, but the v8iews along it all are fantastic.

The recently installed number plate recognition on the entrance barrier provides a good feeling of security.

We will rebook if travelling this way again, and can highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: James Cheshire 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site. Spacious and well spaced pitches, water points easy to get to, excellent showers and bogs.

Amazing views. Great dog walks. Automatic check in and out.

Couldnít get a tv signal so having that wired in the totem would have been handy. The 4g internet worked just fine though.

Very quiet and relaxed.

Local restaurant expensive but good quality 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blizzy93 1 review from this member

 We enjoyed a two night stay at this rural site. The whole site was very clean and modern.

The site owner was extremely helpful and pleasant.

Good shower, toilet and water disposal facilities. Great location with lovely walks directly from the site

Would ask that seating be made available in the laundry facility as it is quite a walk from the bottom of the site.

Highly recommended. 
via mobile


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Faichemard Farm child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Faichemard Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Faichemard Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Invergarry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


26754 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement