Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Marver Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Marver Holiday Park Reviews

Marver Holiday Park
Mawgan Porth
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4BB
Tel: 01637 860493
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 15 Reviews
                7/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 We stayed here when touring on a long weekend in March; we didn't book and just arrived as we were passing.

As there had been a lot of heavy rain recently, we were checking out the firmness of the ground when the friendly warden came out to chat/check us in. The ground is really well drained so no problem in parking on the grass.

The site has an excellent new facilities block and is in a really good location for the beach and South West Coast Path. Mawgan Porth has a couple of handy shops and restaurants/pub.

As it was fairly mild we opted not to pay for EHU, so the site was reasonably priced.

This will definitely be used by us as one of our regular 'out of season' Cornwall sites. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mah1 1 review from this member

 Nice site close to beach and local facilities.

Not much to do in the area if the weather is bad, so we had "I'm bored" on a regular basis.

Bus ride away from Newquay or Padstow if like me you're fed up with driving. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jamesruss 2 reviews from this member

 Our party consisted of 3 campervan sand 1 motor home, we stayed for 2 nights over Easter,

We found the site owner very friendly And full of information on the area,

Although the toilet and showers are a bit dated they are very clean and plenty of hot water,

The pitches are all flat and well drained and it's only a 3 minute walk to the beach,

A friendly and peaceful place to stay 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mark J 4 reviews from this member

 We came here on our own having been previously with family. Its a small site which is located perfectly for the beach and village amenities. Pitches are great, large and well serviced with Electric and Water close by. We also took advantage of the TV ariel coax hire.

The toilet block has been updated since the last time we came which is great as it needed renovating.

If I have any misgivings at all it would be that its very near to the road and security is non-existent. I did spot someone walk on to the site at 5am and start wandering around awnings etc. He fled as soon as I made myself known. An electric security gate would be a good idea for both the car entrance and the foot entrance.

Apart from that we love the place and we are booked for late summer.

Very friendly and helpful owner. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Cozzies 2 reviews from this member

 Visited October 2011 for 2 weeks along with 2 friends and their rigout. No-one at reception, a note showing our pitch on notice board was the only communication we had in 2 weeks, pitch was of good size but basically a mud patch where others had not bothered about killing off the grass etc - usual complaint !

Toilets and showers left a whole lot to be desired, certainly were not cleaned during our stay resulting in dirty drains, smelly urinal etc.

Laundry was useless in as much as it kept eating coins and we couldn't get it to work - gave it up as a bad job. A freezer was in the laundry room I presume for campers use, had a look in it with a view to freezing our ice packs for the journey home but decided against it when we saw the state and age of some of the food left by who knows. The refuse bins were hardly emptied with the exception of cans/metal/aluminium containers.

All in all not a great site and I wish now we had booked onto the adjacent site 'Magic Cove' which appeared to be a much better kept site - and was much busier. If we decide to go back to what is a lovely area it will certainly be with Magic Cove and not Marver Park. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahcue 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at this site, what a fantastic position just yards away from the beach and amenities, pitch size was great, showers and toilets where fine, the water was hot and the toilets where clean, loved the fact no matter what time of day/night there was no queues!

We got some WIFI from the campsite next door (Magic cove) just cost 5 for the week.

The beach is lovely, the pub the Merrymoor Inn was great value for money and great food, excellent fish and chips from the chipshop next door, the shop and deli stocked everything you needed, all in all a great little base camp, so good weve just booked for next year  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cangus 2 reviews from this member

 We visited the campsite because of the reviews that were already given. We spent 7 nights here in a tent.

The location is perfect. So close to the beach. The shops located at Mawgan Porth are ideal and stock everything you need for your stay. The beach is beautiful with dogs allowed.

The pitches are flat and large. I think we were unfortunate with our pitch as we were on the end of the row with the campsite road right the way round 3 sides of our tent.

We also had a water tap very close to the back of the tent with dripped in the night. Sounds trivial now but it did get annoying over the course of the holiday when I was trying to get my daughter/myself to sleep and other campers were congregating around the tap which didn't help.

As mentioned in other reviews the toilets are dated. Someone said they were clean. During our stay they were not clean but were certainly dated. They were so bad that my husband had to approach the owner about the cleanliness of the mens toilets. That day they were cleaned as requested.

The toilets/shower block is set in a outbuilding a short walk from the tents which is unlit. Only ornamental solar lights lead the way. The outbuilding has no exterior door on the toilet block and results in lots of bugs hiding out in there.

During our stay I did feel that site rules were not observed. If you are a camper who likes a quiet campsite then this is not the site for you. As the campsite is small there is no real place for children to play and we did find that often we had balls hitting our car and tent. We found that although the site does support signs up around the campsite saying that balls games/scooters are not allowed. We found these rules were cetainly not upheld by the owner.

When we visited we found that the people who we spoke to had been to Mawgan Porth time and time again as the location is its best feature. We agree the location is perfect but we found the toilet block/ lack of cleaning was an issue and general camping courtesy was someting that this site lacked.

found that Mawgan Porth is a beautiful place to visit but our stay was let down by the cleanliness and no rule enforcement 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: D4mjo 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in July this year and reluctant to leave a positive review only because we don't want everyone to be there spoiling it next year.

We had a fabulous time tidy and clean and quiet, our van is a twin axle 26ft long and full awning plenty of room on pitch for car as well.

Toilets very dated and perhaps the one down side but plenty of hot water and where clean, we will certainly be returning and our friend that came with us have already booked for next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pavclark 1 review from this member

 As some of the other reviewers have mentioned the toilet/shower facilities are basic but they are clean, the showers are powerful and hot (20p for 5mins). Pitch sizes were fine if not generous,we had no problems with the EHU or TV hookup.

This is a small, friendly site with few facilities: there's no shop or play area and the reception remained closed, but this site is all about what's on it's doorstep not what's in the site itself. Its a 200 yard level walk from a glorious beach and 220 yards from a good pub (a decent pint and a play area to keep the kids busy).

The beach is dog friendly, clean and safe for the kids. It has direct access to the coastal path, to the west is 2.5 mile walk to Watergate Bay (sand, surf, good cafe/bar and Jamie Olivers 'Fifteen' restaurant) and to the east a 1.5 mile walk to the National Trust's Bedruthan Steps.

If I were judging just the site itself then I would say it's perfectly adequate, but if you enjoy the beach and love the North Cornwall coast (as I do) I couldn't recommend this site highly enough.

If this site is fully booked and you wish to visit the area then right next door is 'Magic Cove Campsite'. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gemma1675 46 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 5 nights in October, it was very quiet as it was a quiet time of year - over the weekend three pitches were occupied, but come Monday it was just us left. It was quite nice actually! The pitches were fine, a few of them were being reseeded having taken some wear and tear during the summer.
The toilet and shower facilities don't look the best, very dated, and to be honest I approached my first shower with some trepidation. But for 20p you get loads of really hot water which soon warms up the shower area and it was actually quite a reasonable shower.
We didn't see any evidence of loos and showers being cleaned, but they weren't exactly getting a lot of use so it wasn't a problem. We didn't actually see the site owners at all, we had to pay in advance and just picked our own pitch when we arrived.
The location is excellent, a short flat walk into the village which has just the most wonderful beach. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Marver Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Marver Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3088 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement