Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Nostell Priory Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Nostell Priory Park > Reviews

CLOSED: Nostell Priory Park
Nostell
Wakefield
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 32 Reviews
                7/10 from 32 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that the touring site at this location is now permanently closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Neil4 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived at the site down a long driveway, ignore sat nav as most will take you to Nostell Priory car park the camp site is next door, around half a mile away. It’s entrance is sign posted and the Yorkshire Air Ambulance station is at the entrance.

The site is listed as 5 Star most likely due to the residential park which is large but you would never know it due to its layout and the woodland.

The touring area is all hardstanding with electric, which is advertised as 6amp but we had no trouble running everything in our motorhome. The pitches do require levelling blocks and are amongst the trees so tv is a little hit and miss and most are shaded.

Several pitches are taken by seasonal stayers some of whom work at the site, everyone seemed very helpful and friendly.

There is a nice reception area with lounge, books etc, a nice cafe on site as well as a part time hairdressers.

If you like a countryside feel this site will suit, your in the woods with pheasants roaming around the pitches and lovely walks on your doorstep that lead straight into the Nostell Priory country park which is lovely.

The negatives: nice clean shower blocks but the water pressure is very low, some days the staff start cutting the grass around the pitches 08:30 (a little early for us) and some pitches will get you unit covered is bits of tree in the rain.

To end on a positive, The Wakefield Cycle Route is accessed directly from the park and it’s very good. The site has a security barrier and security staff. Would we visit again - we’ve been twice so far so yes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mazza4man 1 review from this member

 This has been our third visit to this Caravansite. The first time with our tourer and the next two we rented one of their cocoons.

The staff couldn't be friendlier and the toilets and showers are spotless. The cafe is beautifully situated and the food is great and very good value.

You can get the most wonderful cup of Yorkshire tea too.

Highly recommended. Great facilities and the grounds of the Priory are superb. Great for cycling or walking. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 138 reviews from this member

 Overall this is quite a scruffy site not worthy of the self-promoted 5* status. Other reviewers have raised comments about the ‘semi-residential’ use of the touring area of this mixed static touring site and the issue of the mature trees. The residents are however friendly and helpful, and the given the close proximity to the open space of the Nostell Priory Estate (open to all) the trees caused no issues.

The site has a small shop in the reception area. However this is only open between 10am – 4. 00pm and closes for lunch 1. 00 – 2. 00pm. The site also has a small restaurant/snack area open during the day and some evenings over the weekend. This also provides special evening events (steak nights, film nights etc. ).

The facilities block is in need of an update and modernisation.

The site is located at the end of a 1 mile track and the closest shops are 2 ½ miles away at Crofton.

The big plus side is the access to Nostell Priory and Estate. The site share it’s boundary with the estate grounds and the house (NT) is less than a mile from the site. The main house is a very easy walk or bike ride from the site. Check out the NT web site for special events at the house.

Another unexpected delight is the miles of mainly traffic fee cycle routes in the area. These are well signposted cycle routes - WoW (Wakefield of wheels) and take you to some of the WoW (wonders of Wakefield) sights and attractions.

In conclusion, the site could do with an overall especially the toilet block but it is a great location for visiting Nostell Priory, the estate and using the WoW cycle routes. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hallmarkz 3 reviews from this member

 We decided to stay at Nostell Priory as we had just bought a new caravan and wanted to test it out locally.

When we arrived it was raining heavily, as we arrived after 4pm (office and shop shut at 4pm) we collected our booking pack from the grey box on the wall, included was a map with directions to our pitch, which was helpful, that is until we got to our pitch to find it already occupied, as there was no one about to help we had to call the warden out to find out where we could pitch up.

When I checked with the office the following day to make sure we wouldn't be asked to move etc, the woman in the office didn't seem interested and offered no apology for the inconvenience caused.

Other than that the site was lovely, toilets and shower blocks were nice and clean.

The park was good for the kids, but I did find it to be a little quiet on site, out of the entire weekend I think there was only about an hour where I actually saw other children. Good for couples though.

It might be worth mentioning that the site is surrounded by trees and as nice as looks, it can be a little annoying after heavy rain when all you can hear is drip drip drip. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Linda1812 2 reviews from this member

 It's a quiet site with lots of seasonal tourers. Surrounded by trees, which makes it a little dingy. Unfortunately it had rained a little the day before we arrived and the whole site was like a bog!

The manager showed us to our pitch and apologised for the state of it (very muddy and uneven) he said if we weren't happy we could be moved onto the 'showground' as we were with friends and we were staying only 2 nights we decided to stay put.

This was fine until they made us move our car to let a campervan pitch within 4 feet of us, complaining to reception that health and safety rules were being breached was met with shoulder shrugging and 'its because we are full'.

Our friends were pitched a couple of rows down from us and when it rained later that night there awning was flooded with 4 inches of water. Can't help the rain I know but I have never in 10 years of caravanning stayed in such a muddy, badly drained site.

The site us in a good location, the toilet block clean but the drainage is a massive problem. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Noah J 1 review from this member

 Just bought a new touring caravan and my 1st trip out was to Nostell Priory. Great park, good facilities, nice staff, cheap to stay at and what a fabulous location in the middle of the woods, it's beautiful.

Visited lot's of places in Wakefield, there is surprisingly so much to do within a very short drive of the park.

Just £16 per night including electricity seemed really good value. Booked in again for early May. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stevewin999 3 reviews from this member

 Needing a place for a stopover to go to a BBQ we chose the site for its location. We only stayed one night and, never tried any of the facilities as we are self sufficient.

My reason to comment is for the real friendly staff who were on duty they made getting onto pitch simple and nothing was to much bother.

The touring site was surrounded by trees that did shade the area in parts and it also looked like a lot of folks lived there permanently good luck to them!

Will go back because we never got the chance to visit the actual priory and grounds. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ishe 2 reviews from this member

 Found this to be a very pleasant site with good facilities.

Toilet and shower blocks very clean and surprisingly empty at most times considering the size of the site.

Refuse bins at the far corner of the site only so a walk from the main car park area (where the toilet block is located).

Hot weekend so pleasant in the shade of the many trees on site.

It says hookups are 6. 5amps in the brochure but ours and adjacent pitches were definitely 16 amps so no problems there.

We were in a motorhome and were allocated Pitch No. 2 which is not a good pitch due to a tree (with associated roots extending out) meaning that we couldn't use our awning. Also had to be careful to avoid low branches on another tree near the front of the pitch.

As stated in other reviews there seems to be a lot of 'permanent' touring pitches evidenced by the huge gas bottles, tv aerials etc beside the caravans.

Unfortunately the whole site had to suffer one evening by one group playing music at tremendous volume for a few hours but I understood by another 'resident' that this wasn't usually the case.

Nice walks through the estate means you don't have to drive out anywhere.

Overall though it is a nice site and we would come back, avoiding the pitch we were allocated though. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Malcolmtrot 13 reviews from this member

 I found this to be a really nice site. We were the only tent on the site and the tent area is amongst the trees so does not get much sunshine.

On booking, the manageress explained that they do not really cater for larger tents as the pitches are a little bumpy but as the only tent there we had the choice of where to pitch and an ehu thrown in too.

The location of the site is lovely, just a short walk to Nostell Priory, which has a lovely lake and grounds to walk around.

The facilities were all clean and more than adequate.

I would agree with others that there did seem to be a lot of seasonal pitches but the site was quite busy when we visited. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in West Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3074 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement