Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glenmore Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > County Antrim > Glenmore Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Glenmore Caravan And Camping Park
94 White Park Road
Ballycastle
County Antrim
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT54 6LR
Tel: 0044 (0) 28 2076 3584
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 10 Reviews
                6/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: K.murphy 10 reviews from this member

Site is at the rear of an impressive entrance to the hotel grounds and restaurant. I stopped one night in a tent. The showers and toilets are ready for demolition. And the extra pound you have to pay hopefully will go to the new facilities. There seems to be an abundance of motorbikes using the roads. The sound of them resonates at all hours. The bar supplies reasonable food and also a cooked breakfast if you require it.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MAGMCG 1 review from this member

Arrived at Glenmore and got the pick of pitches. Great to be near the toilets.

Not much for children and no park.

Lovely little fishing lake that is surrounding part of the site.

Close to Ballycastle etc.

Had to travel by car for 3 miles to get a shop.

The owners was very friendly and helpful.

The only issue was the toilet block/showers. Not great condition and having to pay for it you would expect it to be warm.

However I will return as I just use the shower in my caravan.

Lovely location and close to many places of interest.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dipster73 4 reviews from this member

Our visit to Glenmore was a bit of a mixed bag. The area was lovely and was a short drive to Ballintoy, carrick rede and Giants Causeway.

We found the owners to be quite dictatorial. I had to sign a rules document with 12 rules, one of which described consumption of alcohol after 11pm by consent with management!

The facilities were ok but paying for a lukewarm (at best) shower, isn't my idea of good.

For tents there weren't any convenient facilities, probably 3-400 yds. We had intended friends to join us for a second night but checked out instead.

Glenmore may suit some but not my cup of tea, sorry!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alig69 5 reviews from this member

This site was booked at last minute for a July break so I was happy to take a chance on it and I knew the location looked superb, being just in between Larrybane and Ballycastle right on the coast road. Weather was excellent too which always helps!

The location did not disappoint and there were views from the top of the hill for tents of Rathlin Island which are hard to beat. It really is ideal for all the best bits of the North Coast. It also has a little picturesque lake on site.

We were in a tourer with awning and having arrived a day earlier than most we got the pick of the pitches. We stayed close to the toilets and were happy with our choice as the rest of the site got very busy over the weekend, especially with tents.

The toilets on the site are its real weakness. They are small and to be honest not very well looked after. Showers are poor and cost a pound which is expensive for such poor facilities. The toilet block is way too small for the volume of campers, some of whom are really quite far away from them. If I owned this site I would address this as soon as possible as I think it will deter some returning, especially tent users who rely on them more than tourers. For me it was a negative but not enough to stop me coming back

There is a pub in the B&B at the entrance so that could be seen as good or bad. I didn't use it, but many clearly did. Noise wasn't too bad from it.

I do recommend this ideally situated site, although if you can't stand poor toilet facilities it may be better to skip it. It's also not particularly cheap, but the location is superb which makes up for some of the shortcomings.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Margaret mckenna 1 review from this member

Glenmore Camping in the north coast of Northern Ireland We stayed over late May bank holiday 4 adults 3 children 1 person disabled the facilities were very good very clean plenty of room on site handy location for all the north coast has to offer e. G. Giants causeway beaches etc. Very well run site and the owners were very friendly and very helpful dogs welcome we will definitely be having a return visit from us happy campers.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheCoffeys 2 reviews from this member

It was a very quiet secluded site although pitches were a little close together and caused problems with manoeuvring. We enjoyed our stay but this was mainly due to the vast amount of visitor attractions on the North Coast. Unfortunately we had to drive everywhere as there was nothing within walking distance.

We didn't really feel it was a suitable site for families intending to let the younger children play around the site free from the caravans.

We were disappointed that electricity had to be paid for separately, we don't have a TV, spent time out during the day and the electricity cost approx £3 per day.

Or main bone of contention was the shower facilities. The first morning the showers were luke warm and I spoke to the owners about this and they advised they would look at this. The 2nd morning was exactly the same and again I went to speak to them. I advised that the wash room which was joined to the showers had very hot water and therefore suggested that the cold water mix was wrong. They again said they would investigate.

Each shower visit cost £1 and on the 3rd morning I arrived inserted my pound and within a short time the shower was warm - I thought happy days! I soaped up and put the shower on again and at the same time heard a little girl say to her mum in the next shower that it was going cold. And sure enough I got under for a rinse and the shower was cold.

We would probably only return to this site if it was the only one available and I particularly wanted to be in this area.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foggers 20 reviews from this member

We can only echo the other comments. The site is beautfully located, and the only big problem is the distance to the facilities, which are looking a bit worn and in need of some work. Also with just 3 loos and 2 showers in each side, there were queues for showers at peak times and the hot water was a bit variable. There is a washer and drier available at £3 per load, but nowhere to freeze ice packs, so we ended up having to buy ice.

The owners seemed to be run off their feet, and were concerned about not getting ripped off, so the approach taken was a little bit too authoritarian for our taste, but that may just have been because they had had some recent bad experiences.We did not try their bar or restaurant so cannot comment on that.

We would use this site again if wanting to be in the area, as it is well placed for the lovely town of Ballycastle (nice beach, several supermarkets including a reasonably sized Coop, excellent food at the Anzac bar and bistro, and a good Pizza Casa takeaway, plus traditional Irish music on a Fri night at the House of McDonnell a very very old pub indeed!) Further afield are the major attractions of the Giant's Causeway (frankly a little disappointing!) Bushmill distillery (free sample at end of £6 tour) and some fantastic beaches along that part of the coast, though the weather prevented us from enjoying them.

We chose this campsite in preference to other sites in the area which are largely very big caravan parks and not to our taste. However, at £14 per night we are used to a slightly better quality of service than we experienced on this occasion.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dazb75 1 review from this member

We're just back from Glenmore.
 
On arrival we were informed of the no-fires rule . And if you light a small bar-b-q and burn the grass, you will be fined £40.  I think these things would be common sense!
 
It is a quiet family-run site which caters for caravans and tents.  Throughout the campsite are carved wooden statues, etc.  The view from the tent field is a small lake which is used for fishing.  Very quiet after 11pm.  The only noise was a dog in a nearby farm which barked all night.
 
There was entertainment in the form of the owner's daughters play and singing traditional songs.  It was very good.  I hope they are paid well!
 
However, the downside is that the toilet/shower block are too far away from the campsite and are only connected by a potholed muddy road.
 
Overall, for camping it's nice little site.  It's very close to Ballycastle/Ballintoy, and would be perfect if not for the distant toilets/showers.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Simwin 1 review from this member

It is a quiet and scenic location - very convenient to Ballycastle.  Site was well maintained and the owners very friendly. During our stay here, there was entertainment in the form of traditional Irish music and they opened the bar which was great. We had a couple of glasses of wine and this enabled us to get to know the other campers who were there also. There is no mention of the bar and live Irish music on their website now which is a shame because it is definitely a selling point. The entertainment was intimate, small and low key - just perfect!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Forfar 4 1 review from this member

We recently stayed at this camping site which I must say, was well run and the facilities were exceptionally clean and well kept.
 
It is within the area of Ballycastle town which was great.
 
Not far from Giants Causeway and Portrush, great for the kids although expensive.
 
The only downfall was the distance from the tent to the toilet facilities especially with young children. All the touring campers which had their own toilets where placed around the toilet and shower block which really could have been used for tents. Apart from that it was an excellent holiday spot.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in N Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3238 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019