Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Rubina Resort

Campsite Search > Europe > Spain > Empuriabrava > Camping Rubina Resort Reviews

Camping Rubina Resort
Playa De La Rubina
Empuriabrava
Spain   (Browse area)

Tel: 0034 972 450507
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 600
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Acdcnchc 8 reviews from this member

Visited yet again in 2016 and 2017 as such a great place especially having a dog beach 5 mins in the car. Have stored our old caravan at nearby firm for just 220 euros so we can keep going without the need to tow. The storage company even tow it to a from our pitch for a small extra fee.

New bar and gym are great. This site is the best I have ever stayed on.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: George678 9 reviews from this member

We visited with our 2 foster children for 3 weeks.

Lovely site. Big pool the same depth all over. Plenty of shower/toilet blocks kept very clean.

Easy walk to the beach, supermarket and local market on a saturday. Lots of other supermarkets within a short car journey.

On arrival given a choice of pitches - all plenty big enough.

Used the snack bar twice which was good value for money. Didnt use the restaurant but was always busy.

Plenty to keep the children busy without being over commercialised.

Only draw back was lots of insect bites - don't think it was mosquitos.

Reception very helpful when needed.

Not many Brits but children mixed with Dutch ok.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DougieA 9 reviews from this member

After some iffy weather in France, this was great. Nice big pitches with shade and sunny areas, huge swimming pool area, restaurants, bars and shop on site. Took our Labrador with us and found the town to be very dog friendly with their own beach section (about 20 mins walk from the site ) and no problem using the restaurants and bars on site or in town ( main centre about 20 mins walk as well in opp direction). Sat dish reception is poor for brits unless you have a huge dish( got hundreds of german/French channels )but cant say it was missed as sun shone every day.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Acdcnchc 8 reviews from this member

Revisited this summer the amazing Rubina Resort and everything was as good as last time, excellent pool, toilet blocks, restaurant, take away, shops and only 200m from the beach although the designated dog beach is now at the far end of the beach from the site so is 15 to 20 minutes walk or 10 by bicycle. The security has been improved after a few bicycle thefts last year, wrist bands are now supplied to each camper and extra perimeter security has been added.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Acdcnchc 8 reviews from this member

Family of five adults and our dog visited the now called Rubina Resort. What a fantastic campsite. Huge pool. Friendly staff. Excellent bakers. Beautiful (the best) pizzas. Great facilities and a great beach just a few 100metres away which allows dogs (check for the 'dogs allowed' signs as they move them to different parts of the beach.

I have been numerous times to this area and camped in lots of places in France but Rubina wins for location (Empuria Brava is beautiful)

Will be going again this summer in our Tag axle Hymer motorhome.

The toilet blocks are very clean and showers hot and free. Mosquitoes are the only downside but no where near as many as South of France. Just take precautions.

Supermarket is OK on the site but about 1km away are Mercadonna and Monserrat. Mercadonna is the cheapest and best quality but the other is good too.

Best beach I have ever been on, wide sandy clean and never too crowded although August does mean the Beach near Roses gets busy.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MandM497z 4 reviews from this member

Since it is now three years since our last review, and having just returned from the site yet again, we thought it time to revisit our review and update you all on the improvements.

The old small swimming pool had been made redundant this year, and replaced by a 70 metre by 30 metre pool, together with a 15 metre by 30 metre kids pool. The pool is surrounded by large grass terraces for sunbathing, and is the location for daily activities such as aquagym and water polo.

The prices have not gone up by as much as other sites in the surrounding areas, such as Escala and San Pere Pescador, so still remains good value for money. Twenty nights in high season gets a 10% discount. 10 nights in mid or low season gets 20% discount.

We also went at easter this year for the first time, and enjoyed a very cheap stay. All the staff speak English, so do not worry if your Spanish does not hold up too well. The eight toilet blocks have also been refurbished, and are cleaned four times a day. Showers are free, hot and plentiful.

The only thing that they have not improved on is the entrance. This is still a tight turn over a bridge, but it is negotiable, even with the biggest units. Just go slowly. Since our first review in 2007, we have been back four times, seeing friends from Holland, Belgium, France and Germany, who like us, return every year. But, we have also met English couples who have come for the first time after resading the review, and I know they are pleased with what they find. Enjoy the trip down.

We bring a dog, so we can take our time getting there, but are restricted for time on return, but the Vet in Empuriabrava knows the 'ins and outs' of the Pet Passport Sceme, so don't be afraid to take your pooch. All in all, the site is getting better and better, and we hope we are around long enough to go another 20 odd years.

The site has wifi available at cost. The supermarket has its own instore bakery. Keep an eye on the dates of the milk and cold goods.

If you really want a good idea of the site, check out the web address, here you will find a photographic history of the site dating back 40 years, as well as a 'blog' detailing the improvements and activities. You will also find a price list for this and next year. Enjoy

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MandM497z 4 reviews from this member

We have been going to this site for the last 20 years off and on, generally for three weeks at a time. Over this time, the site has seen many changes, but has remained in the ownership of the same family. Most changes have taken place in the last four years. The old camp site next door has been purchased and refurbished to their special standard. This year, 2008, the selection of size of pitches has increased to a supersize 120 sq. Metres.

The old supermarket has been replaced with a larger super supermarket inclusive of in house bakery and pizzeria. English papers available on site on day of print. The entry can be crowded if you are towing a big unit, as we used to, or drive a large m/h. The site can and does handle full size American m/h's with ease. In the next couple of years a new swimming pool is planned. Yes, we love this site. The staff always remember you on your return too. And if you want to make new friends this is the place, we have met many people over the years from all over Europe. We have met people from Germany, Holland,Belgium and France, who have become firm friends, and who like us, return year after year. Fabulous place.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elaine 11 reviews from this member

Good choice of various sized pitches from 55m2 to 100m2. We had a 100m2 pitch which also had the advantage of it's own water and drainage. Shop on site well stocked and reasonably priced. Good sized pool with lifeguard on duty at all times. Play areas for the children plus mini golf. Short walk to the beach through the campsite. Two cafe bars with live entertainment. Internet cafe. Toilets and showers immaculately clean with lots of hot water. The town was a generous walk away but once there plenty of places to eat.
In the centre of Los Arcodas there is a terrace where you can sit and have a drink and watch the entertainment. Flamenco dancers etc. All in all a good site.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarybel 4 reviews from this member

A good site, worth asking for a larger pitch. Beach an easy short walk, with plenty of room. The showers and toilets are cleanest we had experienced, the cleaner seemed to be a permanent fixture! Plenty of hot water and never had to queue. Very well stocked supermarket, competitively priced. The town was a good 20 minute walk, and was pleasant for an evening meal, with a wide range of restaurants and bars. The site was pretty full when we were there, but didnt give the impression of being overcrowded. The swimming pool was adequate, no fancy flumes etc. The sports area was outside the camping. Worth taking a train from Figureus to Barcelona for a day out, much easier than driving, not too expensive and easy to park at the station if you go early. The only drawback we had during our stay was the wind, which did prevent us from going to the beach on a couple of days, but it was a nice area to explore so this wasnt a big problem.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Empuriabrava      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Spain

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3061 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder