Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forest View

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Dorceau > Forest View > Reviews

Forest View
L Esperance
Dorceau
Normandy   (Browse area)
61110
Tel: 0033677224539
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 22
Open: 29/04/2022 to 02/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ray64 6 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely well run site in a beautiful area of the Perche region of Normandy. We were given a very warm welcome by owners Peter and Sarah who could not do enough to make sure we had a relaxing stay.

There is a supermarket 3km away from the site. We were offered a selection of pitches, some were overlooking the lake and some were situated in an open field area.

We chose to pitch overlooking the lake and the view was amazing.

We had a really nice relaxing week here and found everything perfect for us. We could not fault anything. The toilet facilities were spotlessly cleaned every morning.

We went to the farmhouse restaurant twice while we stayed and Sarah cooked a delicious meal which was good value for money for two courses and gave us a chance to chat to other campers. There was a mix of nationalities on site but mainly English and everyone was very friendly.

We have been travelling to France for 20 years and can say this is one of the nicest we have stayed on.

We can definitely recommend this site 100per cent, it ticked all the boxes for us.

We cant wait to return next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 50 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, very green site with many pitches overlooking a fishing lake. Pitches are grass and most looked to be a decent size. The owners try to only fill around half the pitches in order to give campers space.

We came here on purpose, as we wanted to ask about caravan storage. However, we hadn't booked and this is clearly not the norm. The storage, after all, isn't for us since we would want to take our caravan off site and tour around.

The site is run by an English couple and almost all of those staying were English. We weren't able to try the restaurant as it was fully booked on the night we stayed.

It may have been us (or Google maps), but we found the site quite complicated to get to - along a number of very narrow lanes. There is a small village with a supermarket (with fuel) a mile or so away. Probably we should have come in this way!

Separate male/female facilities, although while I was in there, the male owner came through from one end and out the other, propping the doors open as he went. This was at about 8. 30am. In the ladies' there are 3 toilets, which could have been cleaner and 3 showers. I'm not sure how busy they are in the high season, but these could be pushed to cope. There is also a hairdryer, but no cabins with sinks.

It's unlikely that we would visit again, as it's not a location that we would usually tour in.

One night cost us 31. 90 euros, which we thought expensive for the location and season. 
Management response: When we first read your “review” we could determine how someone who stayed less than 24 hrs could have formed such a low opinion of our beautiful campsite – eventually we remembered who you were and understood…

You arrived without a reservation completely stressed having somehow gotten yourselves lost with a caravan on the back.

Only to find we were nearly full and had just one pitch available. I recall you being exasperated that you could not choose from a selection which is when I explained about our policy maintaining the peace and tranquillity of the site by restricting the total number of pitches available.

To add insult to injury our renowned restaurant was full which clearly annoyed you as you “had no intention of cooking that night”

You found our unique “store and stay” storage package outlined in detail on UKCampsite and on our website yet you arrived with the intention of demanding we adapt our rules to suit you. Sarah politely informed you that was not possible which clearly was more than a disappointment to you.

One final point….. I was not randomly walking through the ladies “propping open doors” - you knew full well that I was cleaning the showers and toilets at 08:15 when we met. The blue gloves, cleaning spray and toilet rolls under my arm must have been a clue – to infer anything improper is simply mischief. And as the campsite was full and you were alone in the facilities I think anyone, even you, can determine that our toilets and showers are well up to coping with our many happy campers.

Bearing in mind all of the above readers of your “review” will now understand the frame of mind you were in when you wrote it and therefore judge its credibility and objective usefulness with that in mind.

We are sorry you were not here long enough to give either our beautiful campsite or the stunning Perche region a fair review but don’t worry – we will both be just fine.


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Yeadonblue 4 reviews from this member

 Fab site in a beautiful part of France,

Peter & Sarah who own / run the place are great,

Bar / restaurant with tasty home cooking,

Lake for fishing,

Plenty of pretty villages nearby. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Penny Barker 1 review from this member

 Our first night of camping after UK lockdown 1 and such a special experience!

The site is beautiful, perched in rolling hills by a lush forest and set around a lake that brims with life and acts as a focus for the large, secluded pitches.

Everything was spacious, spotless and serene. Warmest of welcomes by the wonderful owners and the delicious supper along trestle tables under the stars will remain a fond memory.

Fantastic cycling too, situated as it is on the iconic Paris-Mont St Michel cycle route.

We adored this place and hope to be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Milestone 6 reviews from this member

 As ex-campers/caravaners/motorhomes, Peter & Sarah Wilson know by experience what is required to create an excellent site that has beautiful views in the wonderful countryside.

The pitches are large & hedged, overlooking the peaceful fishing lake.

The sh/WC block provides spacious cubicles with plenty of hot water, and there is a clothes/dish washing area.

Dogs are welcome and there is a big field opposite for off-lead, as well as quiet lanes for walking or cycling.

Meals are enjoyed in the 300 year old farmhouse, sharing communal tables and eating tasty meals cooked by Sarah whilst getting to know fellow visitors.

The camping field is for families, with a play area and a large free space for games.

Bread & croissants can be ordered and there is free wifi by the bar.

The town of Remalade is a short drive away, with local shops, bars, an Intermarche and access to the Voie Verte.

We booked for 2 nights and stayed for 2 weeks, it was so good.

We shall look forward to returning sometime in the future.

Thankyou Peter, Sarah, Mel and Martin for a lovely stay and for being such wonderful hosts.

PS One Hundred! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Meridienmick 8 reviews from this member

 We were looking for a two week break in a quiet, peaceful location not too far from the channel ports, and we found Forest View which proved to be everything we were looking for. We travelled via the tunnel as it's easier with a dog, and despite an hour or more hold up in Rouen and a stop for lunch, we still arrived mid afternoon so it's a comfortable journey.

The site is laid out into three areas, the Orchard, Lakeside and Lake View. Families may only book the Orchard, but there were no families using the site when we were there so that part of the site was hardly used apart from the occasional tourers who arrived without pre-booking. There is a small children's play area in that part of the site. We had a pitch in Lake View and, if/when we go again I think we would elect to go to the same area. The pitch was slightly sloping (wooden blocks provided by Peter) but very spacious with a hedge for privacy, with a huge open grass area in front of the pitch leading down to the lake.

Upon arrival Sarah offered to organise our vet appointment for the pet passport stuff for our return journey, and we received a printed confirmation slip with the appointment details. This was really helpful. We were also asked if we want to order croissants, baguettes etc for the next morning which we did most days. These can be collected from the office from 9. 30 each morning.

The site owns a huge field immediately across the road which can be used for dog walking, although much of it is overgrown and we were told that deer and wild boar can sometimes be seen there. As our Golden Retriever is a bit of a wild child and likes to chase anything that moves, we played safe and kept her on the lead all the time. There are also numerous forest paths and tracks immediately accessible from the site so lots of pleasant walking, but again we didn't let the dog run and kept her on the lead.

We took advantage of the Plats du Jour evenings on 3 or 4 occasions and each time it was excellent. The food was excellent as well as providing an opportunity to get to know some of the other campers. We also had a pizza one evening, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We shared one pizza, which, despite my legendary appetite being on a par with Homer Simpson, was enough for two of us when supplemented by some coleslaw and oven chips. Furthermore, Sarah and Peter offer a 'Pizza customising' service whereby they apply toppings according to your individual taste and even modify the the two halves of the same pizza so my half was hotter and had olives, whereas my wife's half was milder.

I think the fact that so many customers keep coming back to this site speaks for itself. A lot of the other campers spent much of their time fishing in the lake, which is a great attraction if you are into fishing, which I'm not.

There are a couple of minor reasons why I didn't give the site a 10 star rating. Firstly, we felt that the toilet and shower facilities were a bit '1970's' and rather dingy, although they were perfectly servicable and satisfactory and did not detract from our enjoyment of the site. Secondly, I felt that the pitches that are offered for motorhomes were a bit strange. (This did not affect me as we don't have a motorhome). Rather than parking the motorhome within the pitch, there is a sort of widened area of the road that the motorhome parks on with awning etc then projecting into the pitch. With two large motorhomes parked in this way they become very close together and would not satisfy the 6 meter spacing rule as required on Caravan Club sites.

In summary, and excellent site, great hosts and we would certainly recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ashbrofeeds 6 reviews from this member

 Returned recently from a stay at this gem of site. The location, around a beautiful lake, was both quiet and secluded. We enjoyed numerous visits from the local wildlife, including a pigeon which liked to sit on my lap. Peter and Sarah are ideal hosts, and nothing was too much trouble. Nice relaxed site, where morning coffee could be enjoyed in the garden area and evening meals were available in the dining room and bar, connected to the Bed and Breakfast in the house. We shall be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Terryedgley 1 review from this member

 Just returned from France and stayed at this campsite for the 1st week, excellent location not far down from calais if you are planning to tour, English couple Pete and Sarah were very accommodating, they will do anything to make your stay enjoyable, Pete even organised a bar with big screen in the town to watch the England game in the world cup (well he almost did lol) absolutely spotless toilets/showers good local bike rides Sarah does dish of the day 3 times a week which was very nice and makes a change from the bbqs, will be booking for next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ToadOfToadhall 18 reviews from this member

 We used this site for a one night stopover on the way back to Calais. The pitches are arranged around a small fishing lake and is quite pretty. The site backs onto a road that can be busy at times so expect some road noise. A plat du jour or pizza are available most evenings. The pizzas were very good if a bit expensive. Not sure that there is much in the surrounding area to keep you entertained for many days so the main reason for staying here for more than a day or two would be the fishing. 
Management response: Dear Mr Toad,

Thank you for your excellent 8 star review, it really is appreciated.

For clarification the road noise you experienced during your stay was in fact the local farmers earning their living. Our peaceful rural community relies on their ability to take advantage of good weather and is all part of country living.

Sarah and I were delighted you enjoyed our renowned pizzas. We are sorry you felt that €14.99 for a 30cm, hand crafted, made to order, fully loaded pizza is “a bit expensive” but we don’t do cheap and nasty and you did manage two of them!!

We are a little surprised that you feel a stay of less than 24 hours adequately equips you with insight into the abundance or not of activities in the immediate area worthy of mentioning in your review. Please stay longer next time and we will introduce you to this undiscovered gem of a region, it will amaze you and keeps other clients fully occupied for up to a month!!


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jeff261159 9 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to Forest View, and once again it didn't disappoint. Sarah & Peter and great hosts, nothing is too much! The 2 course plat-d-jour has become a must do of ours when here, as is the take away home-made pizza!

The site is only 2 hours from channel ports at Caen and Le Havre, which makes it so easily reachable, even by using the normal roads and avoiding the autoroutes 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Forest View child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Forest View?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Forest View dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dorceau      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3825 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement