Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forest View

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Dorceau > Forest View > Reviews

Forest View
L Esperance
Dorceau
Normandy   (Browse area)
61110
Tel: 0033233837855
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 22
Open: 01/05/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 109 Reviews
                9/10 from 109 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  109 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dianel 2 reviews from this member

 Very clean, very friendly. It is well appointed. Although we had no children we were impressed with the kiddies playground.

The town is nice, we were not there long enough to visit the Norman abbey.

A pleasant stopover. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Friends of Lulu 12 reviews from this member

 Lovely rural setting on the edge of a forest, with pitches either around the lake or in the orchard.

The English owners are extremely hospitable, and provide bakery goods and a morning cafe each day, plus a bar and freshly-made dinners Tuesday to Saturday (either Plat Du Jour or Pizza).

The Plat du Jour nights are very sociable, with tables for 8, and expertly cooked by Sarah.

The majority of campers (predominantly English) are 'multiple returners', with some people leaving their vans on site, and popping over to enjoy the tranquillity and hospitality a few times each year. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Yeadonblue 5 reviews from this member

 Gets better every visit.

Peter and Sarah run a tight ship and keep the place beautiful, clean and at one with nature,

A great place to chill out and enjoy the gorgeous French countryside. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Fiona2912 3 reviews from this member

 Wonderful campsite and lake. We stayed here with daughter and boyfriend camping, and my mother staying in the B&B, we were in our touring caravan. This worked very well.

My husband had great fishing. Wonderful meals cooked on site by gourmet chef Sarah.

Great hospitality from Peter and Sarah whose campsite this is.

Facilities clean and well maintained. Visited Monet's garden & house, also Belleme and Nougent, all really beautiful.

Supermarket and town bakery within 'easy' cycling distance (4-5km each way).

Very restful break and can thoroughly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Franhousden 1 review from this member

 Given a low key welcome as have visited before.

Pitch great as always, very generous pitch overlooking down onto the lake.

However, not as quiet as previously as overnight/late night fishing went on which meant it was more noisy late at night than we were used to.

Also noisy some evenings with a nearby pitch talking/drinking into the night. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ray64 6 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely well run site in a beautiful area of the Perche region of Normandy. We were given a very warm welcome by owners Peter and Sarah who could not do enough to make sure we had a relaxing stay.

There is a supermarket 3km away from the site. We were offered a selection of pitches, some were overlooking the lake and some were situated in an open field area.

We chose to pitch overlooking the lake and the view was amazing.

We had a really nice relaxing week here and found everything perfect for us. We could not fault anything. The toilet facilities were spotlessly cleaned every morning.

We went to the farmhouse restaurant twice while we stayed and Sarah cooked a delicious meal which was good value for money for two courses and gave us a chance to chat to other campers. There was a mix of nationalities on site but mainly English and everyone was very friendly.

We have been travelling to France for 20 years and can say this is one of the nicest we have stayed on.

We can definitely recommend this site 100per cent, it ticked all the boxes for us.

We cant wait to return next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 51 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, very green site with many pitches overlooking a fishing lake. Pitches are grass and most looked to be a decent size. The owners try to only fill around half the pitches in order to give campers space.

We came here on purpose, as we wanted to ask about caravan storage. However, we hadn't booked and this is clearly not the norm. The storage, after all, isn't for us since we would want to take our caravan off site and tour around.

The site is run by an English couple and almost all of those staying were English. We weren't able to try the restaurant as it was fully booked on the night we stayed.

It may have been us (or Google maps), but we found the site quite complicated to get to - along a number of very narrow lanes. There is a small village with a supermarket (with fuel) a mile or so away. Probably we should have come in this way!

Separate male/female facilities, although while I was in there, the male owner came through from one end and out the other, propping the doors open as he went. This was at about 8. 30am. In the ladies' there are 3 toilets, which could have been cleaner and 3 showers. I'm not sure how busy they are in the high season, but these could be pushed to cope. There is also a hairdryer, but no cabins with sinks.

It's unlikely that we would visit again, as it's not a location that we would usually tour in.

One night cost us 31. 90 euros, which we thought expensive for the location and season. 
Management response: When we first read your “review” we could determine how someone who stayed less than 24 hrs could have formed such a low opinion of our beautiful campsite – eventually we remembered who you were and understood…

You arrived without a reservation completely stressed having somehow gotten yourselves lost with a caravan on the back.

Only to find we were nearly full and had just one pitch available. I recall you being exasperated that you could not choose from a selection which is when I explained about our policy maintaining the peace and tranquillity of the site by restricting the total number of pitches available.

To add insult to injury our renowned restaurant was full which clearly annoyed you as you “had no intention of cooking that night”

You found our unique “store and stay” storage package outlined in detail on UKCampsite and on our website yet you arrived with the intention of demanding we adapt our rules to suit you. Sarah politely informed you that was not possible which clearly was more than a disappointment to you.

One final point….. I was not randomly walking through the ladies “propping open doors” - you knew full well that I was cleaning the showers and toilets at 08:15 when we met. The blue gloves, cleaning spray and toilet rolls under my arm must have been a clue – to infer anything improper is simply mischief. And as the campsite was full and you were alone in the facilities I think anyone, even you, can determine that our toilets and showers are well up to coping with our many happy campers.

Bearing in mind all of the above readers of your “review” will now understand the frame of mind you were in when you wrote it and therefore judge its credibility and objective usefulness with that in mind.

We are sorry you were not here long enough to give either our beautiful campsite or the stunning Perche region a fair review but don’t worry – we will both be just fine.


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Yeadonblue 5 reviews from this member

 Fab site in a beautiful part of France,

Peter & Sarah who own / run the place are great,

Bar / restaurant with tasty home cooking,

Lake for fishing,

Plenty of pretty villages nearby. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Penny Barker 1 review from this member

 Our first night of camping after UK lockdown 1 and such a special experience!

The site is beautiful, perched in rolling hills by a lush forest and set around a lake that brims with life and acts as a focus for the large, secluded pitches.

Everything was spacious, spotless and serene. Warmest of welcomes by the wonderful owners and the delicious supper along trestle tables under the stars will remain a fond memory.

Fantastic cycling too, situated as it is on the iconic Paris-Mont St Michel cycle route.

We adored this place and hope to be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Milestone 6 reviews from this member

 As ex-campers/caravaners/motorhomes, Peter & Sarah Wilson know by experience what is required to create an excellent site that has beautiful views in the wonderful countryside.

The pitches are large & hedged, overlooking the peaceful fishing lake.

The sh/WC block provides spacious cubicles with plenty of hot water, and there is a clothes/dish washing area.

Dogs are welcome and there is a big field opposite for off-lead, as well as quiet lanes for walking or cycling.

Meals are enjoyed in the 300 year old farmhouse, sharing communal tables and eating tasty meals cooked by Sarah whilst getting to know fellow visitors.

The camping field is for families, with a play area and a large free space for games.

Bread & croissants can be ordered and there is free wifi by the bar.

The town of Remalade is a short drive away, with local shops, bars, an Intermarche and access to the Voie Verte.

We booked for 2 nights and stayed for 2 weeks, it was so good.

We shall look forward to returning sometime in the future.

Thankyou Peter, Sarah, Mel and Martin for a lovely stay and for being such wonderful hosts.

PS One Hundred! 
via mobile


Previous     109 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Forest View child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Forest View?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Forest View dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dorceau      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2758 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement