Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Forest View

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Dorceau > Forest View Reviews

Forest View
L Esperance
Dorceau
Normandy   (Browse area)
61110
Tel: 02 33 83 78 55
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: Open For Easter 26th March To 5th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 100 Reviews
                9/10 from 100 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  100 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Milestone 6 reviews from this member

As ex-campers/caravaners/motorhomes, Peter & Sarah Wilson know by experience what is required to create an excellent site that has beautiful views in the wonderful countryside.

The pitches are large & hedged, overlooking the peaceful fishing lake.

The sh/WC block provides spacious cubicles with plenty of hot water, and there is a clothes/dish washing area.

Dogs are welcome and there is a big field opposite for off-lead, as well as quiet lanes for walking or cycling.

Meals are enjoyed in the 300 year old farmhouse, sharing communal tables and eating tasty meals cooked by Sarah whilst getting to know fellow visitors.

The camping field is for families, with a play area and a large free space for games.

Bread & croissants can be ordered and there is free wifi by the bar.

The town of Remalade is a short drive away, with local shops, bars, an Intermarche and access to the Voie Verte.

We booked for 2 nights and stayed for 2 weeks, it was so good.

We shall look forward to returning sometime in the future.

Thankyou Peter, Sarah, Mel and Martin for a lovely stay and for being such wonderful hosts.

PS One Hundred!
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Meridienmick 5 reviews from this member

We were looking for a two week break in a quiet, peaceful location not too far from the channel ports, and we found Forest View which proved to be everything we were looking for. We travelled via the tunnel as it's easier with a dog, and despite an hour or more hold up in Rouen and a stop for lunch, we still arrived mid afternoon so it's a comfortable journey.

The site is laid out into three areas, the Orchard, Lakeside and Lake View. Families may only book the Orchard, but there were no families using the site when we were there so that part of the site was hardly used apart from the occasional tourers who arrived without pre-booking. There is a small children's play area in that part of the site. We had a pitch in Lake View and, if/when we go again I think we would elect to go to the same area. The pitch was slightly sloping (wooden blocks provided by Peter) but very spacious with a hedge for privacy, with a huge open grass area in front of the pitch leading down to the lake.

Upon arrival Sarah offered to organise our vet appointment for the pet passport stuff for our return journey, and we received a printed confirmation slip with the appointment details. This was really helpful. We were also asked if we want to order croissants, baguettes etc for the next morning which we did most days. These can be collected from the office from 9. 30 each morning.

The site owns a huge field immediately across the road which can be used for dog walking, although much of it is overgrown and we were told that deer and wild boar can sometimes be seen there. As our Golden Retriever is a bit of a wild child and likes to chase anything that moves, we played safe and kept her on the lead all the time. There are also numerous forest paths and tracks immediately accessible from the site so lots of pleasant walking, but again we didn't let the dog run and kept her on the lead.

We took advantage of the Plats du Jour evenings on 3 or 4 occasions and each time it was excellent. The food was excellent as well as providing an opportunity to get to know some of the other campers. We also had a pizza one evening, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We shared one pizza, which, despite my legendary appetite being on a par with Homer Simpson, was enough for two of us when supplemented by some coleslaw and oven chips. Furthermore, Sarah and Peter offer a 'Pizza customising' service whereby they apply toppings according to your individual taste and even modify the the two halves of the same pizza so my half was hotter and had olives, whereas my wife's half was milder.

I think the fact that so many customers keep coming back to this site speaks for itself. A lot of the other campers spent much of their time fishing in the lake, which is a great attraction if you are into fishing, which I'm not.

There are a couple of minor reasons why I didn't give the site a 10 star rating. Firstly, we felt that the toilet and shower facilities were a bit '1970's' and rather dingy, although they were perfectly servicable and satisfactory and did not detract from our enjoyment of the site. Secondly, I felt that the pitches that are offered for motorhomes were a bit strange. (This did not affect me as we don't have a motorhome). Rather than parking the motorhome within the pitch, there is a sort of widened area of the road that the motorhome parks on with awning etc then projecting into the pitch. With two large motorhomes parked in this way they become very close together and would not satisfy the 6 meter spacing rule as required on Caravan Club sites.

In summary, and excellent site, great hosts and we would certainly recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ashbrofeeds 3 reviews from this member

Returned recently from a stay at this gem of site. The location, around a beautiful lake, was both quiet and secluded. We enjoyed numerous visits from the local wildlife, including a pigeon which liked to sit on my lap. Peter and Sarah are ideal hosts, and nothing was too much trouble. Nice relaxed site, where morning coffee could be enjoyed in the garden area and evening meals were available in the dining room and bar, connected to the Bed and Breakfast in the house. We shall be back!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Terryedgley 1 review from this member

Just returned from France and stayed at this campsite for the 1st week, excellent location not far down from calais if you are planning to tour, English couple Pete and Sarah were very accommodating, they will do anything to make your stay enjoyable, Pete even organised a bar with big screen in the town to watch the England game in the world cup (well he almost did lol) absolutely spotless toilets/showers good local bike rides Sarah does dish of the day 3 times a week which was very nice and makes a change from the bbqs, will be booking for next year.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ToadOfToadhall 10 reviews from this member

We used this site for a one night stopover on the way back to Calais. The pitches are arranged around a small fishing lake and is quite pretty. The site backs onto a road that can be busy at times so expect some road noise. A plat du jour or pizza are available most evenings. The pizzas were very good if a bit expensive. Not sure that there is much in the surrounding area to keep you entertained for many days so the main reason for staying here for more than a day or two would be the fishing.

Management response: Dear Mr Toad,

Thank you for your excellent 8 star review, it really is appreciated.

For clarification the road noise you experienced during your stay was in fact the local farmers earning their living. Our peaceful rural community relies on their ability to take advantage of good weather and is all part of country living.

Sarah and I were delighted you enjoyed our renowned pizzas. We are sorry you felt that €14.99 for a 30cm, hand crafted, made to order, fully loaded pizza is “a bit expensive” but we don’t do cheap and nasty and you did manage two of them!!

We are a little surprised that you feel a stay of less than 24 hours adequately equips you with insight into the abundance or not of activities in the immediate area worthy of mentioning in your review. Please stay longer next time and we will introduce you to this undiscovered gem of a region, it will amaze you and keeps other clients fully occupied for up to a month!!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jeff261159 9 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to Forest View, and once again it didn't disappoint. Sarah & Peter and great hosts, nothing is too much! The 2 course plat-d-jour has become a must do of ours when here, as is the take away home-made pizza!

The site is only 2 hours from channel ports at Caen and Le Havre, which makes it so easily reachable, even by using the normal roads and avoiding the autoroutes

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Franh 5 reviews from this member

This was our second year at Forest View and we were just as pleased with our stay as we were last year. We met many previous visitors from last year as Sarah and Peter have built up a strong clientele of returning campers/caravanners which was lovely. The area is very pretty with lots of walks, we take our three dogs so it is ideal. Whilst we don't fish it was good fun to chat to the fishermen and enjoy their successes. The plat du jour meals are wonderful and not the normal restaurant experience as the emphasis is on attention to detail and the diners getting to know each other - hence booking is essential! We can't wait to return again!

The site isn't particularly child friendly but most families we've met have been passing down or up France and it is therefore ok for a short stay and they've cycled or walked with their children.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GlynisRE 1 review from this member

Just returned home from a wonderful first visit to Peter and Sarah's lovely campsite. Well I say campsite, but as they themselves would say, it was like being a guest in their garden and home. Our pitch (one of less than 30) was without doubt the most lovely I have ever camped on and I have been camping for over half a century! From our pitch we could see no other tents or caravans, just an idyllic view over the lake, trees and countryside.

Facilities (loos showers etc) were spotless and spacious.

Despite the rural location, a petrol station and supermarket are within about 5 mins drive.

Sarah cooks great Plats du Jours several times a week and everyone, including Sarah and Peter, sit together to eat. It means that you form lovely relationships with your fellow campers and consequently the atmosphere of the whole site is relaxed and friendly. Sarah's cooking is delicious - I am hoping to replicate her tiramisu roulade!

The forest is beautiful and has many great walks, many directly from the site, which appealed to us, (although we were disappointed not to see any deer or wild boar, but others had).

The number of campers who return to this site year after year is a testament to its owners who make a stay at Forest View something very special indeed.

We wished we were able to stay more than 3 nights but plan to return to this unique, welcoming and tranquil site next year.

Thank you Sarah and Peter for a lovely time.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vasco 12 reviews from this member

What a hidden gem. Lovely lakeside peaceful site with spacious pitches and modern facilities. We only stayed 2 nights on our way back to Le Havre. The owners couldn't be more welcoming. We had a hard standing overlooking the lake that was obviously well stocked with fish as our neighbour caught a 32lb carp while we were there. He said they store their caravan at the site and have been staying for 6 years running. Peter and Sarah, the owners offer a set meal in the bar restaurant on some evenings and also produce the best homemade pizzas I have ever eaten. Dogs are now allowed in the lake and have to be on a lead on site, however there is an 8 acre field where they can be exercised. A new large supermarket is about 10 mins drive away. The site is set in lovely countryside with great views. Wished we had stayed longer and would certainly stay again

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Texatwig 1 review from this member

OMG, This is the best campsite we have ever been. The owners Peter and Sarah are made to run a campsite, so professional and friendly, nothing is to much trouble. The homemade pizza nights are a must as well as the 'Plat Du Jour' which is well priced and gets you to meet like minded individuals(should you be the outgoing type)we are and its highly recommended. The Plots are spacious and toilet/shower facilities are lovely and clean. I recommend the bike hire, the bikes are very good quality and Peter made sure we were equipped with map, pump, helmets etc. There's lovely forest walks ranging from 20 minutes to hours.

All in all a lovely place ran by a lovely couple.

This was our first visit to France and I know we will be back(With friends in tow).

Previous     100 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3678 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019