Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Knaresborough Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Knaresborough > Knaresborough Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Knaresborough Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
New Road
Scotton
Knaresborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG5 9HH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 79
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 77 Reviews
                8/10 from 77 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GWTE 24 reviews from this member

 First time back to this site for a few years, as it is somewhat expensive. However, had a free night due to booking before 31st December last year so it was more affordable.

The facilities were excellent. The staff were very friendly. You may need chocks for some of the pitches as some of them do slope.

The café/bar is open from 3-8 pm at the moment from Sunday to Wednesday.

It’s about a 45 minute walk into Knaresborough, depending on your level of fitness. Parking in the long stay car park is very reasonable at £1. 60 for the day. Wednesday is market day with a number of interesting stalls.

The riverside has a number of interesting walks. There are regular buses into Harrogate from Knaresborough-up to 5 an hour and from there you have many options to venture further should you so wish.

The television signal was very good. Didn’t use the free Wifi as the signal wasn’t very good. The mobile phone signal was good so I used it as a personal hotspot to access the internet.

Overall a very enjoyable stay. 


Date of Visit: February 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrew23 2 reviews from this member

 As a CAMC site, it is quite well laid out, very clean and tidy, and well maintained. There are two amenities blocks (quite close together) and a couple of service points. There are also a number of fully serviced pitches.

The site lacks visual appeal. The number and size of grey hardstand pitches made it look bare. There are plenty of trees around the edges, screening the site from the outside, but few trees at all within the site itself.

The pitches in the main part of the site had hedging dividing them into groups of 3 or 4. There is no planting between the pitches in the serviced pitches part.

There is a reasonable area set aside for a dog walk where dogs can be off lead which is very useful with a young, energetic dog.

We think that this site is a bit expensive at over £30 per night for midweek in low season. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 65 reviews from this member

 Arriving at reception warden was helpful and welcoming. Explained where the motorhome point was and to choose a pitch and let him know the number.

Pitches are very large, level and tidy.

The whole site is well ordered and very clean. There are two utility blocks and were clean and warm even late at night.

There is a bistro on site but we did not take advantage of it.

We visited Fountains Abby, not too far away with suitable parking for motorhomes.

There is a bus stop outside the entrance and we caught a bus into Knaresborough a very small cute town and the castle is worth a visit.

And yes there is a wool shop, my wife can always find them!

All in all a good site and well worth a visit. We will return. 


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JJ100 30 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night while picking up new motorhome.

Got a takeaway from the on site bistro which was excellent.

Arrived in the dark and left next morning so didn't get chance to have a good look round but as usual the facilities on these club sites were very good. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: William32 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights with our hired camper van, was told 2 different prices and paid a different price on arrival.

We went out for the day only to have our pitch given away so we had to move pitch and be told it was our fault.

Staff were very rude think because we were non members we were treated differently 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: M & G On Tour 25 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site, nice grounds and good restaurant/ takeaway on site which we used a couple of times. Good sized pitches. Good, clean facilities and there is an emergency loo available while the main facilities are being cleaned. Very pleasant and helpful staff. There is small fenced off play area for children at the top end of the site.

Bus stops outside to Harrogate, Ripon, and Knaresborough town. About 40 min walk into knaresborough along paved road. Although a longer hour and half approx walk through Nidd Gorge. Beautiful walk but a couple of steep inclines. Take it nice and easy and its a much more pleasant walk than the road.

The campsite is actually located in Scotton with the Guy Fawkes Arms just over 5 mins walk away, serving excellent food. The only downside to the site is that, unlike some other sites, they have no shop for basic and essential needs such as milk, bread etc (we appreciate during Covid its difficult for some sites to have this available), however, there is no local shops in Scotton so you need to keep on top of your own supplies. It would be ideal if there was a occasional van visit from a nearby supplier with basic supplies. I'm sure this would be welcomed by guests.

Knaresborough is a really lovely market town with lovely river views from the top by the castle. Can highly recommend the Mitre pub next door to the railway station. Excellent food. Mother Shiptons Caves are on the edge of the town and worth a visit.

We will most definitely return to this campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 76 reviews from this member

 Booked last thing and managed to get two nights at Knaresborough before going on to Whitby. From the time we entered the site, we were impressed.

The wardens were polite and helpful, the pitches looked immaculate, the campsite looked well maintained, and the facilities, whilst reduced, were spotless.

One of the best CMC sites we have stayed on.

Didn't use the bar on site, but had a takeaway pizza which was gorgeous. 40m walk by road to Knaresborough, or an 80m walk via Nidds Gorge.

Lovely town, vibrant and has good connections to Harrogate - bus every 7 mins. Bus stop outside entrance to York and to Knaresborugh.

Will certainly return when we are heading North. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 74 reviews from this member

 The site is in Scotton and around the corner from the Guy Fawkes pub which is highly recommended.

There are some pretty walks along the Nidd Gorge which is 5 minutes walk up the road - from here you can walk to Ripley in one direction or Knaresborough in the other. We did a 9 mile round trip, taking in Knaresborough on the way around which is a pretty town on the river.

The site is of the usual standard although the facilities block was cold which was surprising as CMC sites are normally very warm. Check in was easy, with phone number to call once you’ve chosen your pitch and check in and payment done over the phone rather than queuing up for reception. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Damaca 85 reviews from this member

 Not really in Knaresborough but a half-hour (at least) walk along the pavement of a main road. Or you can take a longer walk along the gorge of the River Nidd, which we did on one occasion but found it dark and rather creepy, so didn't repeat the experience.

The nearby Guy Fawkes pub is very good, pity the site didn't tell us about it in their local info sheets, or we'd have been able to go more than we actually did.

The site is basically a large field divided up into hardstanding pitches but, although in nice countryside, it doesn't have much of a pleasing aspect to recommend it. It was, of course (being a club site) clean and well run.

RHS Harlow Carr is well worth a visit, but we were underwhelmed by Ripley which just seemed to be a tourist trap. 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Eycaravanner 29 reviews from this member

 We’ve just spent 2 nights here, our second visit. As you’d expect from a CMC site it is excellent, everything has been thought of, even a toilet for use when the toilets are being cleaned, great idea. The whole site is well cared for and the toilet block is clean and warm.

We ate at the Wanderer Bistro, which is on site and had a lovely meal, steak and ale pie was the pie of the day and it was delicious, served with chips and a selection of fresh vegetables, there is something for everyone on the menu and also a specials board, we couldn’t manage pudding but the selection looked tempting. We thought the prices were reasonable and it is really useful to have a place like this to go to on site.

There are 3 bus stops outside the site entrance, we caught the bus to Knaresborough, York or Harrogate services also go from these stops. There is a pub which serves food 10-15 minute walk away. Can’t wait to return 


Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Knaresborough Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Knaresborough Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Knaresborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1829 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement