Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cheltenham Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Cheltenham Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Prestbury Park
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL50 4SH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 02/04 To 15/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

Stayed again for four nights to attend the Wychwood Music Festival at the racecourse.

I have reviewed the site before and not much has changed since last time. It is ok and serves a purpose but we would not want to stay on site for a long period of time.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Minddhyg 17 reviews from this member

As you would expect from a Caravan Club site it was very well kept and the staff are friendly and helpful. We only stayed for one night and it was peaceful and quiet with about 20 units in occupation - the site had room for many more. The site is set in beautiful surroundings with superb views of Cleeve Hill. We had a sheltered pitch in a block with just 4 spaces in the block, which was ideal. Most of the pitches are hardstanding but some next to the racecourse proper are sloping so levellers are a must if you pitch on one of those. The toilets and showers are spotless and as you would expect them to be. Cheltenham town centre is a mile away and easy downhill walk at 30 mins. There is also a free park and ride on the racecourse which goes into the town and also a bus that stops at the racecourse. The town has many shops and is worth a visit. This is an ideal site for touring the Cotswolds, walking or a stop over. All in all a recommended site.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

An interesting site - nice views from some of the pitches. Well located for park and ride buses and to walk in to the Town Centre. Toilet and shower block clean but not quite usual Caravan Club offering. No hair dryer in the ladies. The traffic around Cheltenham is congested would recommend approaching from the north if possible.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

Here again for the Wychwood Festival - very convenient.

Facilities are ok if not outstanding.

We managed to get a pitch in front of the stand this year and the views across the racecourse are lovely but the site itself is still a car park!

The real issues we had this year centred on the ridiculous number of rules put in place either by the CMC or the Jockey Club. We don't stay in main CMC sites very often and this confirmed to us why we don't, rules about where to pitch (in a car park!) not using conjoined cables with plug and socket with flip top covers for electric because they may cause a fire; having to put the canopy down at night and when we were not there in case it blow our van over (we have a 10M RV that weighs 10 tonnes!). It just seemed total over the top.

We will be returning but purely because of the convenience of its location.

Sandford Park Alehouse and Simpsons Fish and Chips are both worth seeking out.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Joynpete 3 reviews from this member

Booked a 3 night stay but left a day early due to the presence of rats within 2 meters of our motorhome. The site had only just opened for the first time after it's winter closure. The Caravan Club refused to refund the one night lost due to it's policy of not giving 72 hours notice. If only we had the vision to have predicted this scenario! There were only 20 units booked on the site, at most, so the chance of a subsequent re-let of our pitch wasn't an issue. In the site's favour it is very handy for getting into Cheltenham but we have since discovered Briarfields which has a very regular bus service into Cheltenham and is much nicer.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

Stayed on site through the Wychwood Festival (again) and had an equally enjoyable time. The site is perfect for easy access into Cheltenham and ideally suited for Wychwood. A five minute walk and you are in the midst of the festival; getting 'home' was equally as easy, although it seemed to take longer (maybe the staggering didn't help!).

Facilities are ok; the wardens were very helpful and friendly.

We will be back again next year!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Steveh2010 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site!

Right inside the Cheltenham Racecourse with views across the foothills of the Cotswolds. Extremely friendly ad welcoming staff and some of the cleanest facilities I have come across.

There is a Park and Ride terminal just outside the racecourse which gives great bus access into Cheltenham - much easier than trieng to drive around. I would suggest you research bus routes before you go because there doesn't seem to be an overall timetable for the town.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stan on tour 38 reviews from this member

This site is functional. It has everything you would expect from a Caravan Club site in terms of facilities. Cheltenham centre is a pleasant 30 mins walk or easy bus ride away.

We were pitched on the concrete and it is perhaps better if you have a grass pitch but the site felt very transient.

It's probably best suited to a one night stopover whilst commuting on the M5 or for a specific visit to Cheltenham.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Si_app 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night on the way back up from Devon to break up the journey as it was handy for the M5. Exactly what you expect from the CC which are spotless facilities and superb service from the wardens. But what a bizarre 'campsite' - it is literally a large patch of flat tarmac where on racedays the punters stand, place their bets and watch the race! We pitched in front of the Desert Orchid stand. There are some grass pitches if you are staying longer decide to pitch the awning. No playground or anywhre for the kids but 10 mins stroll to a good park, or a further 10 min stroll into Cheltenham town centre. Very nice off-the-lead dog walk around the entire circumference of the course takes about an hour. No local pub unfortuantely

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jjlj95 27 reviews from this member

The directions to get to the site were great and really reliable. The site itself doesn't look like the typical pretty, green sites of the Caravan Club as it is mostly on hard standing and actually on the race ground but once the surprise of the unusual site has sunk in you realise what a stunning location it is.

We parked up right on the fence of the racecourse itself and spent our first evening side by side with a glass of wine enjoying the view right over the race course up to the mountains as the sun set, it was stunning.

The staff were friendly and welcoming, the facilities were good and very clean and the wifi was excellent. The Everyman Theatre and Town Centre were only 1. 7 miles and a 6 minute drive away, so an easy bike ride or walk away.

It was possible to walk right around the outside of the racecourse so a perfect walk for the dogs and we enjoyed a very good evening meal at The Corner Cupboard, Winchcombe which allowed dogs in some of the eating areas. We would love to revisit this site.

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


89 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019