Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dockray Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Lamplugh > Dockray Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Dockray Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Ennerdale Bridge
Lamplugh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA14 4SH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 54
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. We don't have toilets. We don't have showers. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 38 reviews from this member

 We booked 5 nights and picked the best weather week in September. This site is only about an hour and a half from home, middle of our beautiful county of Cumbria and is easily accessible from all directions.

We were welcomed by the exceptionally hardworking wardens who throughout our stay were always around the site keeping it well maintained and always had time for a natter. We did a bit of walking as we have an energetic dog who loves the countryside.

Unlike previous reviewer, we did find a way to walk the whole way around Cogra Moss reservoir, not sure whether we should have as work was being undertaken by the Forestry but not on the day we chose to do it and we had the correct footwear to ramble across uneven ground.

We were disappointed that we didn't see any red squirrels but we heard daily conversations between a couple of owls who are resident in the trees surrounding the site.

My only negative was the arrival on the Friday evening of a family who pitched next to us whose children were allowed to kick a ball around, they weren't over noisy but lacked and weren't even considerate about pitch etiquette.

The pitches are more over very generous in size but my pitch is not a free for all. My pitch is not a children's playground.

I realise wholeheartedly children need to be outside and allowed to play but this site isn't set up with vast open green spaces for ball games.

We will visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 We booked for two nights and stayed for seven!

Great site, especially if you have a car. Excellent base for the West Lakes and Butteemere area.

Helpful and friendly wardens.

Site kept immaculate throughout. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 We've used this site a number of times and it never disappoints.

It's in a very quiet area of the Western Lakes. A good place to get away from it all, but you do have to travel for shops, pubs etc. It makes a great base for Ennerdale and the coast.

The site is very well maintained, though facilities are minimal.

Excellent value for money. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 Location

Remote but very picturesque area in the Western Lakes. Good base for Ennerdale and the coast.

Facilities

No showers or toilets but all pitches have EHU and TV hook. Convenient waste and water points.

Excellent site! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Timsinc 13 reviews from this member

 Real getaway from it all - no mobile phone signal, no wi-fi. But you can plug your tv into the club's ubiquitous booster system.

Surrounded by hills, it's a taste of the Lake District, being on its back doorstep. No loo block restricts the sort of 'vanners it attracts - a plus point for many!

Very few really level pitches, so levelling blocks needed.

Wardens friendly, a laid-back site with no barriers, swipe cards, keys or access codes to remember. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 This is a great site in a secluded spot in the western Lakes. It is a few miles from Ennerdale where some of the best walking in the Lakes can be found.

Access to the coast from here is also possible, with places like St Bees worth a visit. There's very little in the way of shops etc, but Cockernouth is a short drive away.

Facilities on site are excellent - good EHU, TV points and service points, with a few essentials sold at reception.

Please note that this site doesn't have toilets and showers, so you need your own. Great value at 14 per night.

Brilliant site! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boltmaker 2 reviews from this member

 Described as a hidden gem and the jewel in Cumbria is a statement I cannot disagree with.

A very clean site, friendly wardens and serene surroundings perfect for a quiet and relaxing time with wildlife such as deer and red squirrels making a frequent visit.

Within easy reach of Penrith, Whitehaven and Maryport which is lovely.

Only downside for some is the fact that there is no toilet block but that didn't bother my party. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JimnBridge 7 reviews from this member

 Just had a great 4 days over the August bank holiday, weather was warm and sunny. Rather novel for that long in the lakes. Great walks straight off the site, Cogra Moss is a lake about 25 mins stroll.

There are longer circular walks right on your doorstep. Just leave the car where it is if you want to. St Bees is nice but the beach is stoney.

We drove through Whitehaven and it looked ok with a marina, so probs worth a look. We walked around Ennerdale with Bobby our dog, it was great, he swam around the lake while we walked it !

Took us about 4 hours with 2 stops. All in all a great peaceful site and great wardens. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Countrywalker1 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this caravan park some years ago and were a little disappointed. Having visited many sites in the UK.

The on site staff appeared a little over whelming and in our opinion not quite as welcoming as many of the other sites we had visited.

The site facilities were quite basic compared to many of the other sites visited - in similar rural locations.

Wouldn't necessarily say a visit isn't worthwhile however this wouldn't be our first choice. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Englishrose278 1 review from this member

 If you are looking for a site with beautiful scenery and peace and quite then this is the place for you, we initially went for 3 days and ended up staying for 9 days. There is a lovely river that borders the site which helps to make the site so tranquil, There is a little shop on site which has all the essentials. The owners couldn't have been more helpful, there is not a toiler block on site, but this did not bother us as our caravan was well equipped. The site is very child friendly. Cogra Moss pond is only a 15 minute walk from the sire, which has beautiful views on the way up to it. We most certainly will be going back again in the near future. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dockray Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dockray Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Dockray Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lamplugh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1816 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement