Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Englethwaite Hall Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Englethwaite Hall Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Englethwaite Hall Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Armathwaite
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA4 9SY
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 68
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 21 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Boblynn 9 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. At the entrance is a flowerbed with words written on pieces of slate describing the site.

Peaceful, tranquil, birdsong are just a few of the words and how right they are. The site has no toilet block so you do need your own facilities.

There is no late night arrivals area so make sure you arrive before 8pm. We stayed for 3 weeks and had a really peaceful and restful holiday.

There is loads to do in the area from Hadrians Wall to the Lake District. It is only 10 mins from the M6 so there are lots of one night stop overs, but I do recommend you stay a while longer.

The site is great for dogs with walks on the site and off the site. There is a small field where you can exercise your dog off lead plus walks through the woods.

The site is not on a bus route so you do need your own transport. There is a pub in Cotehill about a mile from the site which is dog friendly and serve pub meals, but lunchtime opening is a bit iffy.

All in all this is a great site and not to be overlooked because of the lack of facilities. Afterall most of us have paid thousands for ensuite showers and toilets.

Give Englethwaite Hall a try you will love it. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Npkent 58 reviews from this member

 Beautiful little site, lovely warm welcome by the new wardens who held a get together with drinks etc for the Jubilee. Lucky enough to be on a serviced pitch to make up for the lack of a toilet block.

Also lucky again to be pitched within the WiFi Hot spot area and the speed was pretty good.

One area is quite open with plenty of sunshine and countryside views, the others sheltered by trees and lovely bushes.

Only there for three nights but managed to visit Hadrians Wall and stunning Ullswater which was very busy for the Jubilee weekend.

Definitely one to revisit for longer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site in the Eden Valley.

You need a car to make the best of the area - itís a good base for Carlisle, the northern Lakes and Eden valley.

No toilet and shower facilities so you need to be self contained.

Lovely site - will certainly use it again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mondeocort 65 reviews from this member

 Not sure why this very popular site isn't reviewed more on UKCampsite.co.uk as it is a real gem and in a fantastic location. We have just returned from our 4th visit here and again, no problems or issues to report. The site has been maintained beautifully despite the lack of rain. Wildlife a plenty to sit and enjoy. Lots of walks locally and only a stones throw away from major motorway access, the county city of Carlisle and popular visitor attractions such as Hadrian's Wall, Settle to Carlisle railway, the Lake District and Solway coast. A quiet site with no washroom facilities but there is a motorhome point and plenty of water / waste points with ample bins. Dog walk on site is a fabulous extra which many make use of and respect. Great size pitches all with EHU and some service pitches also. Some pitches are under tree cover, others in the wide open spaces which is our preference as we like plenty of light. Looking forward to our next visit already and hoping the current wardens will be there as they are friendly, approachable and knowledgeable about the local area. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mondeocort 65 reviews from this member

 3rd visit to this site and it's just what you need if you want peace and tranquility and time out if the rat race of life. Great wardens this season, really friendly and approachable, very knowledgeable and also going the extra mile with current diversion issues due to one of the routes to the site being closed at the moment. Warden even phoned me at home after booking online to make sure we were aware of the current disruption even though it has nothing to do with the site or the Caravan and Motorhome Club. I am not sure why some reviewers feel the need to complain about lack of facilities. It is well advertised that this site is one without washroom facilities and is priced at £14 per night accordingly. I use my own anyway so begrudge paying for something I do not use. This also means alongside the lack of playground that it may not be the ideal site for families, bonus for me as well as I do not need to suffer the noise and constant racing scooters / bike races around the site from dawn until dusk. I am not a kill joy but like I said, peace, quiet and time to unwind. Great dogs walks from site alongside the secure designated paddock created for our pooches to have a run. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kittybeldie 6 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site in the woods. It's just a pity there are very limited facilities. It really needs a block with showers, toilets and washing facilities to make it a very nice site. So it's fine for an overnight stop and really that's about all. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angry Dad 12 reviews from this member

 Another successful visit to this site; we've been a number of times now and each time it's a little different as the children grow older but there is a common theme - peace and quiet (except for the multiple birthday celebration by the farmer next door on our last night!). This last time we took the bicycles off around the area and even our laptop addicted teens ventured out willingly on occasion.

It remains a favourite site for us and the area has loads to recommend it (Houghton Garden Centre's World in Miniature or Carlisle Castle/Tully House Museum), plus you can quickly head north or south to Scotland or the Lakes. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dexter4 2 reviews from this member

 We are just back from spending the bank holiday weekend at this site. I was a bit hesitant in booking a bank holiday away as we like to go when places are quiet, but thought we would try here, well lets just say that this site is now in my top three. Even though the site was full, it was so peaceful and quiet.

Yes, due to the trees there are shaded areas around the site, but I would say that most of the pitches got some sun at some point.

The reason we liked this site so much is because of the walks in the area, but especially the dog walks and dog paddock. There are lovely walks through the woods and round the ponds.

I think if you have children that like exploring and the outdoors this site would be great. We shall definitely be going back for either long weekend or as a stop over point.

Please note that there are no showers or toilets at this site 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stylus92 6 reviews from this member

 There is a lovely 'feel' about this site. It is tranquil and attractive, with well laid out pitches on different levels. It has no toilet block so you need your own facilities, but it does have a motorhome service point, and a pleasant relaxing atmosphere,

The nearest pub is the Greyhound inn, a very pleasant half hour walk away through woodland where we saw deer and along a very quiet road (no cars at all for the 15 mins we walked on it). The pub itself was fabulous, and the landlord even drove us back to the site after our very good meal.

You do need to be prepared to drive though if you are planning to stay more than a night or two. We used the site as a stopover on the way to Scotland, and for this it is ideal, but there is little in the immediate area to entertain for long. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mondeocort 65 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another 5 night stay at this lovely site. New wardens this season, who were very busy with reception and keeping the site clean and tidy and well manicured. We were very lucky with the weather and enjoyed many walks from the site with our dog and we really must applaud the Caravan Club for fencing off a fabulous safe area for dogs to have some off lead fun. For us with a dog who isn't particularly well socialised, this was ideal and we all enjoyed watching him play. Only one gripe and that was that on 2 occasions, I witnessed the same caravanner drive the wrong way on the one way system, the same caravanner also just left his waste pipe to run without using a wastemaster and he also did not adhere to the pitch instructions. There is always someone who thinks that rules apply only to everyone else. Pitch 28, the same pitch we had last visit is looking tired and could do with some regravelling. Will visit again without hesitation. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Englethwaite Hall Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Englethwaite Hall Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Englethwaite Hall Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45829 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement