Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Englethwaite Hall Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Englethwaite Hall Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Armathwaite
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA4 9SY
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 68
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mondeocort 33 reviews from this member

Not sure why this very popular site isn't reviewed more on UKCampsite.co.uk as it is a real gem and in a fantastic location. We have just returned from our 4th visit here and again, no problems or issues to report. The site has been maintained beautifully despite the lack of rain. Wildlife a plenty to sit and enjoy. Lots of walks locally and only a stones throw away from major motorway access, the county city of Carlisle and popular visitor attractions such as Hadrian's Wall, Settle to Carlisle railway, the Lake District and Solway coast. A quiet site with no washroom facilities but there is a motorhome point and plenty of water / waste points with ample bins. Dog walk on site is a fabulous extra which many make use of and respect. Great size pitches all with EHU and some service pitches also. Some pitches are under tree cover, others in the wide open spaces which is our preference as we like plenty of light. Looking forward to our next visit already and hoping the current wardens will be there as they are friendly, approachable and knowledgeable about the local area.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mondeocort 33 reviews from this member

3rd visit to this site and it's just what you need if you want peace and tranquility and time out if the rat race of life. Great wardens this season, really friendly and approachable, very knowledgeable and also going the extra mile with current diversion issues due to one of the routes to the site being closed at the moment. Warden even phoned me at home after booking online to make sure we were aware of the current disruption even though it has nothing to do with the site or the Caravan and Motorhome Club. I am not sure why some reviewers feel the need to complain about lack of facilities. It is well advertised that this site is one without washroom facilities and is priced at 14 per night accordingly. I use my own anyway so begrudge paying for something I do not use. This also means alongside the lack of playground that it may not be the ideal site for families, bonus for me as well as I do not need to suffer the noise and constant racing scooters / bike races around the site from dawn until dusk. I am not a kill joy but like I said, peace, quiet and time to unwind. Great dogs walks from site alongside the secure designated paddock created for our pooches to have a run.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kittybeldie 6 reviews from this member

Nice quiet site in the woods. It's just a pity there are very limited facilities. It really needs a block with showers, toilets and washing facilities to make it a very nice site. So it's fine for an overnight stop and really that's about all.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angry Dad 12 reviews from this member

Another successful visit to this site; we've been a number of times now and each time it's a little different as the children grow older but there is a common theme - peace and quiet (except for the multiple birthday celebration by the farmer next door on our last night!). This last time we took the bicycles off around the area and even our laptop addicted teens ventured out willingly on occasion.

It remains a favourite site for us and the area has loads to recommend it (Houghton Garden Centre's World in Miniature or Carlisle Castle/Tully House Museum), plus you can quickly head north or south to Scotland or the Lakes.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dexter4 2 reviews from this member

We are just back from spending the bank holiday weekend at this site. I was a bit hesitant in booking a bank holiday away as we like to go when places are quiet, but thought we would try here, well lets just say that this site is now in my top three. Even though the site was full, it was so peaceful and quiet.

Yes, due to the trees there are shaded areas around the site, but I would say that most of the pitches got some sun at some point.

The reason we liked this site so much is because of the walks in the area, but especially the dog walks and dog paddock. There are lovely walks through the woods and round the ponds.

I think if you have children that like exploring and the outdoors this site would be great. We shall definitely be going back for either long weekend or as a stop over point.

Please note that there are no showers or toilets at this site

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stylus92 5 reviews from this member

There is a lovely 'feel' about this site. It is tranquil and attractive, with well laid out pitches on different levels. It has no toilet block so you need your own facilities, but it does have a motorhome service point, and a pleasant relaxing atmosphere,

The nearest pub is the Greyhound inn, a very pleasant half hour walk away through woodland where we saw deer and along a very quiet road (no cars at all for the 15 mins we walked on it). The pub itself was fabulous, and the landlord even drove us back to the site after our very good meal.

You do need to be prepared to drive though if you are planning to stay more than a night or two. We used the site as a stopover on the way to Scotland, and for this it is ideal, but there is little in the immediate area to entertain for long.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mondeocort 33 reviews from this member

Just returned from another 5 night stay at this lovely site. New wardens this season, who were very busy with reception and keeping the site clean and tidy and well manicured. We were very lucky with the weather and enjoyed many walks from the site with our dog and we really must applaud the Caravan Club for fencing off a fabulous safe area for dogs to have some off lead fun. For us with a dog who isn't particularly well socialised, this was ideal and we all enjoyed watching him play. Only one gripe and that was that on 2 occasions, I witnessed the same caravanner drive the wrong way on the one way system, the same caravanner also just left his waste pipe to run without using a wastemaster and he also did not adhere to the pitch instructions. There is always someone who thinks that rules apply only to everyone else. Pitch 28, the same pitch we had last visit is looking tired and could do with some regravelling. Will visit again without hesitation.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mondeocort 33 reviews from this member

I have nothing negative to say. This Caravan Club site is beautifully laid out and is situated in beautiful surroundings. There is a small dead end area which is explained by the wardens so you do have to beware that either a mover or reversing skills are needed if wrong turn is taken. Some pitches are under trees but we were very lucky, our pitch (28) was in full sun the whole length of our stay. It cannot be a negative that this site does not have shower / loo facilities, it is written in the Caravan Club description and to be honest, the comparable price for a site with full facilities was double, so, you get what you pay for in my opinion. The wardens are approachable, friendly and always available for advice or just a chat. All other caravanners on site were friendly, gave the time of day and had time for a little chat. A very dog friendly environment with lots of walks from site. Reception welcoming and also essential basic goods sold, milk etc. A very informative info room with a book exchange which I love. We will use again, easy access, friendly wardens, friendly clientelle and great area. The site doesn't have a playground but neither should it, the Lake District is the best playground and in my opinion, an advertised site with no facilities probably isn't top choice for a family with children but who needs a climbing frame when you have the the luxury of the great outdoors to play in.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angry Dad 12 reviews from this member

Stay here quite regularly for weekends and up to a week; it's lovely and peaceful, well looked after and, even with three children in tow, the lack of a toilet block isn't a major chore if you manage to get a serviced pitch - only the portaloo to think about. Weekly (or more) chip shop run, tiny shop for essentials but if you're looking at sites like this, you're looking for peace.

Plenty of woodland for the children to act like children in.

Easy access to Carlisle, Gretna, the Lake District, etc. Houghton Hall Garden Centre worth a visit for the World in Miniature Museum.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JoyanAl 3 reviews from this member

We use this site as a regular overnight stay whilst travelling to and from Scotland.

The wardens gave us the usual warm welcome to this very peaceful site which is in a lovely setting, with bird feeders galore - and a red squirrel if you are extremely lucky!

The only downside for us is the lack of a toilet/shower block which would enable us to stay longer on this beautiful site.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!