Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exmoor House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Dulverton > Exmoor House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Exmoor House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Kemps Way
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9HL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 66
Open: 16/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HOSPITALWORKER 19 reviews from this member

Loved this quiet site which is within a few minutes walk to Dulverton. The shower/toilet block is excellent and heated which is a bonus at this time of the year.

There is a small Co-op in the centre of the village which is adequately stocked and not overpriced along with some smaller shops and places to eat. We had a cream tea in the Copper Kettle and an evening meal in the Bridge Inn, both of which were well worth the money.

My only bad comment is that the buses are not very frequent, as one local said ‘don’t use it, lose it’ which seems to be happening. We took the bus to Minehead which took us around some nice villages but wouldn’t recommend Minehead.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scilly Boy 14 reviews from this member

We visited here on 28 September for 3 nights, our first outing in our, new to us, motorhome and our first visit to a Caravan and Motorhome Club site in over 10 years. We followed the Club’s directions to the site which were clear, however it would have given us more confidence if distances between way points were given. We were warmly welcomed by Debbie the warden who pointed out the site facilities on a map and told us a bit about the local points of interest, shops and eateries. We were able to choose our own pitch rather than being allocated one, this we like. Debbie and her husband Keith were friendly, helpful but not intrusive. This site is kept looking very clean and tidy, this is also reflected in the toilets, showers and other communal facilities which were warm, had endless running hot water and were kept spotlessly clean, a real credit to the hard work of Debbie and Keith. The site is right on the edge of Dulverton, an easy short walk into the town where you can find everything you need for daily living … a Co-op, butchers, bakery, fruit and veg shop and even an old fashioned hardware shop. There are plenty of eateries in town… fish and chips, Thai, cafes and pubs… we can recommend the Bridge Inn. There is however no bank. This is a great spot for walking, a little hilly, but plenty of walks straight from the site… you can buy a book of local walks, along with other useful bits and pieces, from the site shop. Regular buses run from Dulverton to Minehead, Tiverton, Bampton and Taunton and you can find the bus time table in the information room on site.

One note of caution, although the Club book states that you can have a hire car delivered to the site, this is not available… the nearest point to pick up a hire car is in Taunton.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vangelina 16 reviews from this member

Still my very favourite CMH Site. Perfectly situated as only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Dulverton yet so peaceful. Lovely welcoming, friendly and helpful wardens - spotless facilities. Large pitches and attractive site layout. Stayed there for 5 nights in August and did not see a single child on the site - result. Dulverton has wonderful dog friendly pubs, tea rooms and shops. This site is an excellent base for Exmoor. This site embodies the very best of the CMH sites. We will be returning time after time - love it.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 75 reviews from this member

We just spent five nights at this gorgeous little site. It was so quiet and relaxing, with the river rushing over the rapids alongside.

The wardens were very friendly and welcoming and the place was spotless.

We got one of the last non-awning pitches, which was on a gravelled cul-de-sac area. Not the prettiest spot on the site but fine.

The site is so handy for the pretty small town of Dulverton and we were so glad we chose this site as opposed to the nearby Exbridge site, which seems to be in the middle of nowhere.

The staff in the closest pub, the Bridge Inn were friendly and slotted us in for a quick meal when they were fully booked.

All in all, a great site.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PCkitto 1 review from this member

My wife and I visited for our first ever trip out in the touring caravan and I have to say we were so lucky as the site is stunning the location stunning - but what made it more special was the wardens - they were just simply amazing so so helpful as I was a newbie nothing was to much trouble.

And for that I will always be grateful

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stan on tour 47 reviews from this member

Came across this site whilst exploring the area and stayed for three nights. It's everything you expect from a caravan club site interms of excellent facilities and helpful wardens. In addition the site is small, beautifully laid out and the location is great.

Dulverton is 5 mins walk from the site and has plenty of up market shops and places to eat. I suspect the town and site itself are very busy in peak season but in September both were perfect!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trubytribute 16 reviews from this member

We had planned to stay at this site for 2 nights but changed our minds at the last minute and were very kindly allowed to do so.

We have 3 dogs so when choosing campsite I try to find sites where I can exercise the dogs safely. The recommended walk from the campsite for dog walkers was over a very narrow bridge and as I was walking over it with my dogs on very short leads and close beside me (2 Border Collies and a small German Spitz)I got very concerned about whether we would safely cross the bridge which is wide enough for 1 vehicle at a time from opposite directions as 2 vehicles attempted to go over from opposite directions at the same time and I just held my breath. Luckily we did get over safely but it so unsettled me that I went only a short way and decided to come back.

Dulverton is a lovely village with a good range of shops but not an easy place to drive with a motorhome and the A396 is in places single track and very winding which made for an interesting drive.

The campsite has a little dog walk which is great for those early morning and late evening visits and all dogs seemed well behaved.

The campsite was of course up to the usual caravan club standard.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

Having stayed at Exmoor House many times in the past we decided to try it in the midst of Winter and stay for the New Year celebrations.

Arrival time is STRICT 1pm. Lovely laid out site with good sized hard standing pitches. They have a few 'fully serviced' pitches but we have always found them a bit small (length wise). 2 lovely toilet/shower blocks always very warm and clean. Small reception, shop and information office to boot. No Vodafone signal on site, in fact none in most of Dulverton (bonus?!) and no 3G. The CC wifi was incredibly slow too and we were advised by friend NOT to buy it.

Dulverton is a lovely, friendly town a 5 minute walk from the site with a great local butchers (we bought some lovely steak from him!), bakers, newsagent/small supermarket and lots of other foody and gift shops. We ate in the Lion Hotel one night and it was brilliant, highly recommended by us. We also ate in the Bridge Inn (closest pub to the site) on New Years Eve and again the food was really good. Spoilt for choice right on your doorstep.

We did a lovely cold, frost walk in Burridge Woods one morning and it was stunning. We have now done Exmoor House in every season and we love it. Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CK+B 39 reviews from this member

We have just spent 4 nights over Christmas at Exmoor House, our first Christmas escape in the motorhome!

We have stayed at the site quite a few years ago, but it now has lovely new shower blocks, always warm and clean, nice hot showers with plenty of pressure and no buttons to press. We had a service pitch with waste and fresh water, good wide pitch with grass either side, but not very deep, our 24ft motorhome only just fitted on!

The site is nice and quiet and close to town which has all the facilities you could need.

For those who need to know O2 & 3 mobile could send and receive texts, but not receive or make calls.

We really enjoyed our first Christmas away, hopefully one of many.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 79 reviews from this member

This was our first stay at Exmoor House and, in hindsight, we should have booked an “awning” pitch. The pitch that we were allocated was very tight for a 7m long motorhome [pitch 24] and we had to fold up the bike rack to get onto the pitch without encroaching on the roadway!

Having said that, we enjoyed a 5 night stay here in July 2014. All the facilities were up to the usual Caravan Club standard.

Being on the outskirts of Dulverton itself, the site is conveniently located to walk to the abundance of shops for supplies – even fish & chips [and call in at The Bridge Inn at every passing!]

The clapper bridge at Tarr Steps is a good 12+ mile circular walk through a combination of wooded tracks alongside the River Barle and open pasture. Thankfully the Tarr Steps Inn was at the halfway point for much needed refreshments!

A shorter 5 mile circular walk following the Rover Barle downstream to Brushford and using the old railway line was also undertaken.

One thing that did restore our faith in human nature was when a watch was left in the washing up area and it was handed into the site wardens and collected the next day when it’s absence was noticed!

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6780 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019