Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ilminster Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Ilminster Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Beetham
Chard
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA20 3QA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 68
Open: 16/03 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

Photos (6) and Video

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 84 reviews from this member

Some previous reviews had warned about access issues, but having looked on Google Earth I thought it wasn't that bad. I was right. Just take care on the approach just after The Eagle Tavern on the A303 and keep your eyed peeled for the junction. The site is just 100 yds down the single track lane.

The site is well maintained and the facilities block is in good order and was spotlessly clean at all times. Pitches are both hard standing and grass, and both require a little side to side levelling. There is no play area for children but there is a fenced in scamper for dogs (note to previous reviewer - if you don't want to watch dogs going to the toilet, don't pitch next to the dog walk. )

We ate at the near by Eagle Tavern a few times, food was always nice, good portions and served promptly. The beer garden is a lovely place to site.

The usual supermarket chains can be found in Chard or Ilminster.

EE and Tesco mobiles worked well, on site Wifi was reliable and a good TV signal was had via our Status ariel.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bearded_1 8 reviews from this member

I have just spent 4 days at this site with my wife at the beginning of August 2014. I am afraid that I can’t find much to recommend it and as a Caravan Club member I will be sending them a complaint.

The good……A typical Caravan Club site which is well kept, tidy and has clean, good quality showers and toilets.

The bad…. This is basically a field with a smart toilet block in the middle. There are no other facilities, not even a dog walk. There is no Wi-Fi and virtually no mobile signal most of the time. The closest shops or town is a twelve mile round trip, up what is no more than a dirt track in places. You feel rather isolated and cut off at this site, which some people might enjoy, but it was not for us.

The Ugly……The A303 is quite close by and very noisy, especially on Sunday mornings when approximated 100 high powered motorbikes roar by starting at 6. 00 a. M. The local police want to set up a speed trap there; they would book dozens of speeding motorcyclists. The entrance/exit road on to the A303 is extremely dangerous. It is on a blind corner with 60 mph traffic racing by. You can’t see to pull out until it’s too late. It is hard enough to pull out in just a car, but with a caravan on the back, you are really risking life and limb.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CorkyBrit 9 reviews from this member

If you like a quiet site, then this is the place to come. There are no facilities for children, and we've never been to one so peaceful as this, so it suited us fine. Well laid out, very clean, with a nice new toilet block. The wardens were friendly and helpful. Good location for visiting the Jurassic coast, with great seaside places in west Dorset and east Devon such as Lyme Regis, Charmouth, West Bay, Seaton, Beer and Sidmouth. We like this site, and would definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woodlane Wanderers 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here whilst visiting relatives in Exmouth.

The site is well run by the wardens.

The toilet block is new and kept spotless. The site is close to the A303 but traffic noise is not a problem.

If you want go north (right) on the A303 when leaving the site turn left (south) and after a mile take the slip road on the left and pass under the A303 and rejoin the 303 going north, this is much safer than trying to cross the traffic.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 38 reviews from this member

Nice quiet clean and tidy site with new toilet/shower block which as you expect was spotless.

Grass was a bit long when we arrived so when it was eventually cut we ended up with a West Highland 'Green' Terrier every time we took the dog for a walk.

There is no dog walk on site so they have to be walked in the lane outside but you need to keep watch for traffic zooming along it.

No facilities for children so families with children tend to stay away.

Sainburys in nearby Chard but not a lot more to do without 30-40 minutes drive.

No WiFi

Had originally booked for 14 nights but left after 10 as to be honest even though weather was nice we found the site quite boring.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sylvieb 24 reviews from this member

Booked into this site after the Shepton Mallet show, as we were having some work done on our motorhome in Chard. The site is lovely, good sized pitches, spotless facilities and very friendly wardens. Getting out onto the main road could be a bit of a nightmare, but it is the A303 and in the main was not too bad.

My only 'gripe', which has nothing to do with the site itself, is the people who suddenly develop 10 doors on their car at 11pm. The no noise policy should apply to these people, very inconsiderate at times.

All in all our 3 nights at this site were good, would definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 40+camper 7 reviews from this member

A little gem of a site. Hidden away in the south Somerset countryside. Only 20 mins from J25 of the M5(Taunton)and 30 mins from J29 at Exeter, it is perfect as a stop over on the way to Devon and Cornwall.

We stayed for three nights and explored the coast between Seaton and Exmouth. Sidmouth was wonderful, it was Folk festival week and the atmosphere in the little town was buzzing, with musicians, dancers and street performers entertaining the crowds.

The site itself is compact but with lot's of space for those wishing to use a grass pitch. Everywhere is neat and tidy, the toilet block immaculate. The wardens on duty were hospitable and friendly.

I would not stay at this site for a long period of time if I had children or dogs for that matter. Nothing for children to do apart from ride round and round on their bikes. There did not appear to be a dog walk nearby. Dog walkers seemed to have only the country lane to walk their dogs along.

Perfect for those wanting peace and quiet.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Laura2510 1 review from this member

This site was very peaceful but small. For the total pitches available there are only 3 showers in each male/female block which we were a little surprised at. The toilets are separate but not a problem. Clean and tidy in general. There is no playground/area for children so the children that were on site tended to cycle round and round the pathways. The site wardens were very efficient.

The site seems more geared up towards caravans than motorhomes as the waste water disposal point is at a strange angle and to empty our motorhome we had to literally park across the vehicle pathway thus blocking any other vehicles as it has a 1 way system.

The site is set in very pretty countryside but there are no buses running outside so if, like us, you have a motorhome you have to pack everything up to go out for the day.

The local pub/restaurant 'The Eagle' provide an excellent pick up/drop off service free of charge and are extremely friendly.

We would not put this site on our list to re-visit but this was the only site that had vacancies for the Easter weekend as it would appear that other campers 'block book' their choice of sites at the beginning of the year and then don't turn up for one reason or another - very frustrating

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Badger582 10 reviews from this member

Nice small, peaceful site,,surrounded by trees all around. A very, very busy main road to exit from when leaving the site!.

Toilets very clean and tidy at all times. Reception and wardens very helpful.

We booked this site last minute due to being cancelled elsewhere, and wouldn't stay here again due to the fact that there is no cycling, no ball games, no play area for the children, etc. They may as well designate it as an adult only site I reckon! The surrounding area also wasn't good for taking a walk as the roads were very, very narrow, and had some scary encounters with local drivers / farmers!

Excellent sunday carvery at the Eagle Tavern, and the owner will come and collect and return you to site for free, which was a lovely service. Play area and football area at the pub so at last children had some area to let off steam!

Nice site, but doesn't suit us!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grizgut 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for our first ever caravan trip and found it was a great site. Absolutely spotlessly clean and tidy with the wardens Bill and Hazel as friendly and helpful as anyone could possibly be. Some of the most beautiful English countryside I have seen is all around the site.

Lots to see and do, Lyme Regis with a sand and a shingle beach within 25 minutes, Cheddar gorge and Wookey hole within an hours drive and Devon's only a few miles away too.

A great pub 'The Eagle' only 5 minutes drive away that does lovely food, there are Tesco and Somerfield shops in Chard within a 10 minute drive but the wardens sell milk, bread and even cream teas on-site. We will definitely be going back again.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3262 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019