Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Borrowdale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Borrowdale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Borrowdale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Manesty
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5UG
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 59
Open: 16/03/2022 to 05/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Wilsok 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend break at the Borrow dale caravan and motor home site.

Wow what a beautiful and peaceful place. Is perfect to just get away from the stresses of life and chill out. Everything was clean and tidy.

The wardens very welcoming and helpful. We felt there was help if we needed it but also left along to enjoy our time together.

We will definitely be going again. Our favourite site so far!

Didn't have toilet block but didn't need it, didn't have pool/club house etc which was great as meant nice and quiet.

Was quite expensive considering no facilities though. By time add number of people in the party etc cost soon goes up. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 608 reviews from this member

 Excellent site in a beautiful location.

Set in woodland with large secluded pitches, all with electricity.

Close walking distance to Derwentwater and the Borrowdale Fells.

Nice welcome from wardens. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sumitra 25 reviews from this member

 This is a pretty site in a popular area. There is a very small shop on site and some local bars/cafes within easy walking distance. Good walking and good local transport. Bus every half hour and also boats at roughly every half hour round lake and to Keswick. Electric hookups to all pitches.

There is no shower or toilet block so I was a bit disappointed in the number of water points/toilet disposal facilities. If you are using your own facilities all the time you will need to use these more often. Access to the site is a bit tight. It is doable but not fun!

There is good and very usable motorhome service point. WiFi and mobile signal is only available by the office, no where else. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Grantwilson 1 review from this member

 This place must be good, my first visit was as a child 50 years ago shortly after my parents bought a caravan. I have lost count of the visits I have made over the years.

Situated in Manesty Woods it still holds the same magic for me, The site hay have been greatly inproved and the layout changed over that time but still remains a simple site and long may it remain.

Somewhere that has so many memories for me is difficult for me to review properly. I suspect that it may be a bit of a 'Marmite' place, you will either love it or hate it. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 92 reviews from this member

 Quiet, peaceful. Lots of birds, no red squirrels to be seen.

This is a no-toilet block site so own sanitation required.

Site about 5 miles from Keswick. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 608 reviews from this member

 We used the site as a base for Keswick Mountain Festival and it was ideal.

Large, well-spaced pitches, all with EHU. No shower block on site.

Great location for Derwentwater! Excellent walks from the site.

Excellent site! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Photolady 7 reviews from this member

 This site is beautifully situated on the edge of Derwentwater in the trees at the south west end of the lake.

There are no facilities apart from electric hook up. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Many of the pitches are nestled in amongst the trees giving a high degree of privacy. The pitches are handstanding.

The only disadvantage is that the trees are mainly conifer and very tall so sun getting through is limited.

Otherwise a perfect base for exploring the area. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 608 reviews from this member

 Another excellent stay at this site.

Peaceful location and ideally placed for the fells of Borrowdale.

Well placed for Derwentwater and a short drive into Keswick or over to Buttermere.

Will no doubt be returning soon! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 86 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Borrowdale for 5 nights in early September 2016 as the base for the final part of our own 2016 National Three Peaks Challenge i. E. The ascent of Scafell Pike.

As others have said, the site has no facilities [i. E. No toilets or showers] but all the hardstandings have an electric & TV point close by.

The site is fairly spread out and all pitches are within the forested area so, at times, it can feel a bit dark & oppressive. We did get a mobile signal [Tesco] which supported our MiFi system, so contact with the outside world was available [some may not relish that though!].

The motorhome service point is probably the best that we have come across in recent years, although the need to lift the waste water covers is a pain – open gratings would be so much better.

There is good access to the shores of the perimeter paths around Derewentwater as well as walks to Cat Bells & Castle Crag directly from the site. The village of Grange is a short distance away and had two café’s & a hotel.

We did manage the Scafell Pike ascent and we were collected from site to start from Seathwaite rather than take the motorhome down the narrow lane to the start point. A tiring walk but we found the Langstrath Country Inn in Stonethwaite for much needed refreshment! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 608 reviews from this member

 We spent both May bank holidays at Borrowdale. As always, good welcome, site well maintained and a great base for the area.

There are great walks of various levels of challenge and a couple of good places to eat and drink within 15 minutes walk.

Excellent site! 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Borrowdale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Borrowdale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Borrowdale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3049 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement