Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - North Yorkshire Moors Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > North Yorkshire Moors Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

North Yorkshire Moors Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Sneaton
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 5JE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 96
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 21 Reviews
                8/10 from 21 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: John B. 11 reviews from this member

This was our 'umpteenth' visit to the site. Set in beautiful countryside, peace & quiet are the rule here, ( only marred by the wardens zooming around on their not so silent tractors!)

There is now a motorhome waste water dump, great improvement.

Parking in Whitby with the van was difficult, we tried to park & shop @ the Co-op, gave up! Sainsburys on the Scarborough road was the solution.

If you like the quiet life & are self contained this is the site for you.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elizahigham 21 reviews from this member

We really loved this site. Well located a few miles from Whitby. Easy access to the moors, close to the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, Alnwick, Bamburgh and Holy Island. The pitches were level with a choice of grass and hard standings. No shower and toilet block, so can't comment on these! Water, waste and chemical points located close by. Quiet site, the only noise we heard was the gentle bleating of lambs.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MEG55 17 reviews from this member

We stayed at the North Yorkshire Moors Site recently, 2 nights Saturday and Sunday for our Motorhome on a hardstanding pitch with EHU for 2 adults was great value at £13 per night.

The Site is very quiet and peaceful, only 6 miles from Whitby.

Well Situated for Robin Hoods Bay always worth a visit.

I have marked Site facilities 1 out of 10 as there are no facilities on site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Outandabout33 16 reviews from this member

We visited this site in the middle of the unusually hot and sunny july weather we received this year !

We found the site very spacious, with lots of room between units and lots of well cared for grass area, s. It is surrounded by tree, s so I would imagine in more disappointing weather it would be quite sheltered. We found the warden, s very friendly and helpful. It was ideal for our dog also with paths leading off into the wooded area and also the surrounding moorland.

The only one obvious negative comment to make is no showers, but we were aware of that before hand so no complaints really and visited the leisure centre in whitby ( approx 5 mile ) to have a swim and on one occasion just a shower to cool down after a hot and sweaty day. We found the cost of the site excellent value for money.

The location is good for visiting the surrounding area with lots to see without to large a distance to travel, our favourite places being Robin hood, s bay, Staithes and Scarborough.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Santa cruz 20 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site half a mile of the B road but good tarmac surface with regular passing places.

TV coverage is poor with standard digital but the sat dish worked perfectly despite the entire sight being surrounded by trees, most of which are lovely Scott's pines.

Inside, perfectly manicured lawns and small coppice's create small huddles of vans/tourers which if you use your compass will get you pitch with day long sunshine in the summer (this year excepted:) due to the elevated location on a high point on the NY Moors.

Yes no toilet block and wash facilities but it says that on the tin so no reason to complain. Also this factor means the site is extremely quiet with no morning rush hour to the toilet block, a new and enjoyable experience.

We have a puppy, our first, and the dog walking trail(s) are something very few sites can ever hope to equal.

In all lovely experience and for those not familiar to the area Robin Hood's Bay is a pretty unique gem. As is the 'Falling Foss' (waterfall).

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emma1 5 reviews from this member

Just got back from this pleasant caravan site. Well spaced and was free to pick own pitch. We found the wardens most helpful although we stayed a week and found the fellow caravanners most rude and not willing to speak and say morning. For us it seemed like people wanted to keep themselves to themselves.

No shower block or toilets which would be a great add on. Great distance to witby and robin hood bay.

There was no ball games allowed on site with no alternative for the kids to play in another area. Think more suited to couples.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Horsesitch 13 reviews from this member

If you want peace, this is the site for you! Surrounded by high trees, the site occupies an 'oasis' in the middle of the N Yorks Moors not far from Robin Hood's Bay and Whitby.

The wardens were a bit cool, and seemed grumpy, but hey, that's the CC for you, and to be honest after we'd checked in we didn't communicate with them at all so it didn't matter a jot.

There is no toilet block, and no dish-washing facilities, but that's very little problem in a modern motorhome, so OK. They did have a convenient motorhome service point, with a grey-water sink which made things a lot easier for us.

It was very rainy when we were there, so walking on the moors was less enjoyable than it might be on a sunny day, but we did a walk anyway, and at the end of it found the Falling Foss waterfall, which can be reached by turning immediately left from the campsite drive.

This is really lovely, and what made it even lovelier is the amazing tea room at the Falls, run by people who understand food and rink, and care about the environment in a big way. A must-see thing to do.

Recommended also is an excursion to Whitby and if you like Fish and chips, don't miss the Magpie Cafe! But Robin Hood's Bay is a must for visitors to this lovely area.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jjohns 1 review from this member

Just got back from this site today after 3 nights. What a beautiful site it is. When we first arrived I was a little concerned as the warden seemed really grumpy! He reeled off a list of don't do's, but after pitching up I realised why he did, I suppose it is the only way he can keep such a lovely site so lovely!

No toilet blocks worried me but there was no need, we used our caravan facilities and they were great, so much so that I now want to look for more sites without toilet blocks!

The caravans are all pitched up in little 'nooks' so no long lines of caravans! There is a great dog walk on site plus some lovely walks around the area, so the pooch was happy!

Its about 5 miles from Whitby where we enjoyed fish and chips, and some gorgeous fresh peppered mackerel for tea! Will return to this site over and over again!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chloe99 8 reviews from this member

This site is a true gem, it's very quiet and a good half mile off the main access road. The pitches are a very generous size (essential for us with our 26ft caravan and full length awning - we had room to spare). Almost every pitch has plenty of grass around it too, there are no lines upon lines of caravans here! You choose your own pitch on arrival, far nicer than being allocated one. Access is great, again loads of space. The choice of site dog walks are brilliant, there are also lots of places to walk off site. The wardens were quietly helpful and very pleasant; they keep this site very tidy indeed. The information room is well stocked and there was a fish and chip van which called a couple of evenings.

We can't praise this site enough, we have already booked another week later in the year.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jan + Don + Molly 28 reviews from this member

This fabulous CL was recommended to us by friends and we are so glad they did.

We needed a half way break to Scotland and chose to park by the barn on hardstanding as it was only one night and were glad we did as it was very windy!

The owner is very friendly and helpful and even gave us eggs upon arrival. The washroom is very clean and well fitted out - just like your own shower room!

There are woods across the road to walk the dog and a lane along side the site. Its not far to Gretna and handy for the motorway (although far enough away)

The CL itself is lovely and flat with great views. Adult only - we will certainly visit again!

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4533 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019