Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Plymouth Sound Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Plymouth > Plymouth Sound Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Plymouth Sound Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Bovisand Lane, Down Thomas
Plymouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL9 0AE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 72
Open: 16/03/2021 to 01/10/2021
           16/03/2022 to 01/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Neil684 36 reviews from this member

 What a gem. We love the minimal facilities Caravan and Motorhome club sites. The site had good hardstandings and clean water and CDP point. There is a shop and an excellent pub in the village. The wardens were friendly and welcoming (as usual for C&MC).

This site sits 100ft above Plymouth Sound giving fabulous views. There is a local dog-friendly beach at Bovisand Bay and plenty of walking opportunities around the area. If it hadn't been too hot we would have walked back from Plymouth via the Mountbatten Ferry but the temperature wasn't kind to our 11 yr old dog. In the event, we took the once a day bus into Plymouth and back - it gives about 3 hours in town, Time for shopping, coffee and a quick swim at the Hoe.

All in all we had a great 4 nights. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Andy1100xx 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night in August. Site is located on the outskirts of a small village close as the crow flies to Plymouth but in reality a good 30 minutes drive through some small lanes.

Great location for 'getting away from it all' with some lovely views (from certain pitches) and great cliff top walks in the area. It is however very exposed and quite remote and, without any toilet/shower facilities, you do need to be self sufficient. Upside of this is that even at peak holiday time there was plenty of room

Half of the site is on flat with the remainder dropping away quite considerably - weather was very stormy when we stayed and we were advised by the warden to park only on the flat areas due to difficulty in getting out after heavy rain.

We ate at the Mussel Inn (5 mins walk away) and the food, drinks and service were good.

We initially intended to stay 3 nights but with the storm expected to last three days we moved on after the first night as it really was too exposed to be pleasant in those conditions.

Overall a nice enough site but just a bit too 'niche' for us to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peter Jones 70 2 reviews from this member

 We have previously visited this site and the standard of care and quality is consistent, the site is kept clean and toilets etc. Are first class. We went to the close-by pub for a very good meal one evening and would encourage anyone for the experience. I like to go fishing in the now two pools/lakes and had some good catches and is only a short walk from the site. We expect to visit again very soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Climbergirl 14 reviews from this member

 A lovely clean site with beautiful views across Plymouth sound. It was lovely watching the boats and water from the camper. The site itself is very basic with no toilets or showers, but the motor home service area is well laid out and maintained. The site is well looked after and the wardens very friendly and helpful. Easy walk to lovely pub, shop and dog friendly beach. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Djar1150 2 reviews from this member

 We visited the site on 4th and 5th April 2014.

We arrived around 8pm and were met by the two wardens; we found both to be friendly and helpful.

The site isnít signposted overly well and the entrance to road is very tight. We have a 7 meter long Motorhome which coped with the roads, but I would suggest a large caravan would have difficulties navigating the roads leading to the site.

This is a very basic site as clearly stated and has little to no facilities, toilets or a shower block.

We were asked to park at the rear of the site, I think stand 22.

We have a rear sitting room and therefore once the silver screen was over the windscreen we could have been parked anywhere which was disappointing as the main reason for visiting was to see the views.

My partner did ask the warden if we could drive our van in, this wasnít permitted for some reason.

There are no hard standing pitches, this turned out to be a pain as the grass had been cut, but hadnít been collected. We have two dogs and the mess was terrible as it was raining the whole time we were there!

Overall I would only recommend this site for a couple of nights at the most, for those with a Motorhome the only place to park is at the rear of the site as most of the other pitches are slopping. If you have the same layout as us you wonít see a thing!

Hope that helps! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sunnygunny 13 reviews from this member

 A small site in a lovely location with spectacular views (and sunsets) over Plymouth Sound. The final road approach is a little narrow in places but didn't present us with any problems.

Caravans use the forward more sloping pitches with motor homes allocated to the rear. Despite not being at the front, our pitch (51) still had a really lovely view. It's worth having your binoculars to hand to keep an eye on passing sea traffic.

The wardens are very friendly and eager to pass on information to help you get full enjoyment from your stay. We were more than happy to take advantage of a 10% off voucher for the nearby Mussel Inn which serves great food.

We had calm sunny weather but I can imagine it's a bit turbulent on the open site with a brisk westerly blowing.

The village has a limited bus service with just 3 scheduled stops per day. A rover ticket for 2 was £6 and we left around 9. 50am to go into Plymouth (35 min journey) and caught to final service back at 2. 15pm which gave us 3 hours browsing time. Alternatively you could get a taxi back which costs approx £9.

There are numerous footpaths in the vicinity. We had a lovely afternoon tea at the coastal cafť a 15 minute walk from the site.

There is no toilet block at this site but we were aware of this before booking. Despite our visit being at the height of school holidays there were few children on site and I guess part of the reason for this relates to the lack of facilities.

The motor home grey waste point was on the flat and easily accessible. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sylvieb 24 reviews from this member

 Wow, what a beautiful site. The view across Plymouth Sound is amazing. We spent 2 nights here and could easily have stayed longer. Loved it. The lack of facilities wasn't a problem, had fresh water and an emptying point. The weather was fantastic, so no need to go anywhere. Would we return, most definitely. Only one other site we visited came anywhere near this one. 10/10. Fantastic. Can't wait to go there again. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Electric spark 10 reviews from this member

 A clean and pleasant site. As usual, the wardens are very friendly and helpful.

There are quite limited facilities but all the basics are present. A local shop is a few minutes walk away. A nice dog walk is in the fenced-off field adjacent to the site.

We had absolutely fabulous views across Plymouth Sound. A stroll down the lane takes you to the small beach (But hard work coming back as the hill is quite steep!).

A good site to walk a section of the coast path from.

I wish the buses were a little bit more local as getting into Plymouth is a bit difficult if you donít want to drive and park a 25í motorhome in the city.

Definitely worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: M+M Tours 32 reviews from this member

 Strange only one review as this is a lovely site.

If you are lucky enough to get a pitch near the front you will have a stunning view over the Sound. All grass pitches & part sloping, but if you get the weather, this site is a little gem!

A tight entrance just before site, warden very helpful. Rear pitches more level, but don't get the view. Very quiet at night. As mentioned lovely coast walks from Bovisand bay to Plymouth, & the other way to Wembury beach (3m). Visited The Garden House,Buckland Abbey ( with lovely walks)

Lydford Gorge (43m) but best of all gorgeous Dartmoor. A fantastic area to drive & walk. Even though we had a couple of 'iffy' days with the weather, 7 nights flew by. If you can do without a toilet & shower block you will not be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Woolbrook 4 reviews from this member

 If a toilet block is not needed then this site is a beauty. Well kept, usual friendly, helpful staff, and if you have a caravan, views to die for. The site is flat at the back so the back two rows are for Motorhomes. Because the rest is sloping then the pitches are for caravans who in the main get a view from 100 metres above sea level right across Plymouth Sound. Pretty little beach at the bottom of the hill. (Take your heart tablets with you.)Lovely dog walk in field next door. Local Spar and a pub 200 metres. If you want to walk a section of the coast path then this is the site to do it from. Plymouth,with its many attractions,not far away if you want to drive. Buses not much of an option.

One thought though. If you have the view, here, you would get the weather. 300 foot up facing South West in a gale could be interesting. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Plymouth Sound Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Plymouth Sound Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Plymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3060 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement