Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Putts Corner Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Sidmouth > Putts Corner Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Putts Corner Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Sidbury
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0QQ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 127
Open: 16/03/2021 to 05/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vangelina 19 reviews from this member

 A friendly enough welcome and everything was explained. Not my favourite CAMC site to be honest. Far too shaded by trees in parts so on certain pitches it was difficult to make the most of the September sunshine. Found the unisex toilet block very confusing. It was meant to be for family groups but there were no families there in September so a real waste of resources. In my opinion should have been kept as it was with Ladies and Gentlemen separate facilities. Maybe this was a “Covid” reason???

Dog walk was lovely but was too exposed to the busy road to let dogs off the lead. Not the site’s fault but thought the Hare and Hounds pub was very child friendly and commercial but good for families. Went there for a drink and felt it catered for the masses.

After several years of caravanning this was the very first site without any WiFi. I was not impressed as I subscribe annually.

All in all this site did not tick our boxes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Neiljohn 2 reviews from this member

 A busy and rather cramped site, very popular out of season, with insufficient toilet facilities at times.

Most pitches have sufficient 'fall' even the gravel hardstanding ones to be free draining, however some have so much fall you may need some very tall levelling blocks, one caravan we saw was up on 8' plus of stacked wooden blocks on the door side, so no awning would reach the ground. It is on a hill side after all.

The grass pitches are also uneven/sloped, and avoid pitch number 25 if possible, the Oak tree the pitch is under is showing signs of severe stress, probably due to root crushing by pitch users and may well shed limbs without warning!

Though not enough toilets at times the blocks were clean as resupplied in time.

The nearest pub, The Hare and Hounds, is a short walk up through the site then the copse above, not advised for those with difficulty walking and very uneven with tree roots as additional trip hazards. You'll need to book to eat as it's very popular, with a view of the sea being on a hill top.

Approach roads are narrow in places, from all directions, and the locals take no prisoners on them.

Being out of main season for our visit most on site were older mainly retired members, so lots of loud late evening 'discussions' causing disturbance and dogs allowed to run free and foul where ever they liked both early in the morning and late at night, something the 'Club' needs to address! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Efamily 1 review from this member

 Came to this site following previous reviews, wish we never came for the following reasons:

On flight path to Exeter airport, planes flying over until very late at night

Site must like making a noise from mowers going round on a daily basis, and that petrol hedge cutter making an absolute din of noise, and all you want is peace and quiet.

I have found this on most caravan club sites a continuous noise which is disturbing the peace and tranquility of places.

Noise pollution. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CK+B 39 reviews from this member

 Our first time at this site and we really liked it, lovely woodland setting and plenty of birdlife to watch. We only stayed 2 nights and have an elderly dog so didn't venture too far. The dog walk is very good and joins the footpath up to the local pub, we had an enjoyable lunch in the garden, very popular place.

The new facility block is very good, although I did find the shower pressure quite low and my other half had one cold shower in the older block!

There is some road noise, but nothing too intrusive.

Small shop in reception sells all the basic and you can order a paper.

This site has a lovely feel to it, we will definitely return one day. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SaucyMinx 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely spacious site. The toilet/shower blocks were spotless, which is a big must for me. The dog walk was really good as it took you through the woods and if you kept on going it took you to the local pub, the Hare and Hounds which is brilliant. Fantastic home cooked food with a carvery on every day. Will definitely use this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 We chose Putts Corner as a one night stop-over on our way home from our last trip. We had stayed before but wanted to check out the brand new facilities. And we were not disappointed.

The site was very busy (it was a Saturday) but we had a small amount of pitch choices. We chose a large hardstanding in a cul-de-sac which was close to all the facilities.

The site is now barriered and so has a safe feel. Wardens were friendly and efficient. Wi-Fi wasn't working (not the sites fault but good old BT!) which didn't go down very well with the odd few! The new toilet block is great and was spotless as you would expect. There's an indoor washing up room and a laundry too. There is a second toilet/shower block at the other end of the site that has been refurbished to a very high standard too. Water points and bins dotted around the wooded site.

There's a good pub (Hare & Hounds) a short walk up through the top of the site and the small wood. £1 off each adult main meal for CC members, the wardens issue the vouchers on arrival. Nice food and a semi decent choice of real ales and cider. Again it gets very busy so booking would be advisable.

As we only had one night we didn't do much other than bike to Ottery St Mary, only 2. 5 miles from the site. BIG MISTAKE. 20% hill on the way back! LOL

Not much to do in the 'local area' if you're a motorhomer but OK if you have a car, not that it bothered us as it was just a stop-over en-route home. Will use again for exactly that. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Baldrick2 19 reviews from this member

 We were greeted by very friendly wardens at this clean and tidy site. We chose our pitch which was in the middle of the site which was quite open. The toilets/showers were clean although could do with a refurbishment. There was no washing machine in the facilities block. We had a lovely carvery at the Hare and Hounds pub which is about 5 mins walk. The bus stop is outside the Hare and Hounds where we caught the bus into Sidmouth. The wardens take orders for fish and chips twice a week, which they kindly fetch for you. This site had the strangest atmosphere - you say `hello` to fellow campers and they do not reply - not very friendly at all. Would not return to this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Felt4 6 reviews from this member

 I stayed here over the May Bank Holiday with 4 children and another adult. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Its a very nice site, with a nice little park for younger ones, but my youngest enjoyed cycling around the site. E site. Good size pitches for each van, though some far shadier than others, but you had a pick of empty pitches on arrival. Shower/washing up/ laundry facilities very clean & warm and up to a high standard. I really can not praise the staff enough for their helpfulness. They were lovely Welsh people. (they were the relief wardens, I didn't actually get to see the main ones, , thougt I would imagine them to be as lovely!). A real gem of a site that I have stumble upon. Ideally situated for its location. Central to lots of lovely places to visit. We went to Seaton & Sidmouth (beaches) on the is occasion, but will venture further when we return in August! Which we are looking forward to ! 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GAE43 2 reviews from this member

 Staff very helpful. Had a choice of pitches. Chose the nearest one and set up. Quiet, no problems. Toilet and showers very warm and clean. Site situation great for exploring. Enjoyed our visit very much Shame about the weather but only to be expected at this time of year. Lovely pub, The Hare and Hounds close by. Excellent service and food. Really enjoyed our break. Will definitely return. Recommended ++++++ 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Purdyhorse 3 reviews from this member

 Site wardens and site location fine BUT the toilet blocks were by far the worst that I have experienced on a Caravan Club site.

The urinals in the upper block were out of order throughout our stay and the facilities generally were tired and shabby. The grouting in the men's showers was either black or missing, the shower drains stank and the clothes hooks in the cubicles were largely broken or missing.

I reported my concerns to the CC, received an acknowledgement but heard nothing further. Hopefully, by now, everything will have been brought back up to the CC's usual impeccable standard.

The surrounding area is very pleasant and well worth a visit, especially Sidmouth. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Putts Corner Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Putts Corner Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Putts Corner Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sidmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5124 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement