Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Uttoxeter Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter > Uttoxeter Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Uttoxeter Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Wood Lane
Uttoxeter
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST14 8BD
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 87
Open: 14/03/2021 to 26/11/2021
           14/03/2022 to 26/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 26 reviews from this member

 Good location on the racecourse, a short walk into the small town.

Well presented site with open pitches and a friendly welcome from the wardens.

A small shop on site stocks the basics.

Shower block is clean but very old. Great as a stop over or a base to explore the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Charleygirl 21 reviews from this member

 We arrived in torrential rain. Before I had a chance to open the car door, Sally arrived with an umbrella to escort me to the reception. Next morning she was out and about examining the pitches, putting out plastic squares on the grass, to make life easier for people.

Although we’ve never contemplated staying on a Racecourse site before, not knowing what to expect, we will definitely return here.

Cannot praise Sally enough, Steve was out and about so didn’t have much contact, but was friendly. I loved the innovating planting! Sal retrieves things people bin and very creatively turns them into planters.

A discarded umbrella becomes a flower bed - a binned ironing board becomes a feature outside the Laundry. Amazing and creative! % 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mikecollier 15 reviews from this member

 Excellent site located inside the centre of the race course. Wardens are very friendly and helpful.

Facilities while slightly old fashioned are spotlessly clean and functional

Town centre is only 10 minute walk

Definitely visiting again! 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keefysher 19 reviews from this member

 Our 2nd racecourse site, and what a glorious location. Very easy to get to. Plenty of spaces for families at Half Term to visit scariest at nearby Alton Towers.

The total fees were £2. 50 per night above nearby CL's and lower than commercial sites. Are the CAMC finally understanding how to attract families at peak holiday times with reasonable fees?

Spotless facilities.

We were given details of a superb local fish & chip shop, Fishy Business that served delicious meals for us to continue our regular midweek meal treat, by the very helpful relief Wardens who share our surname. How lovely to be met by name on arrival.

We must visit again.

Only downside, the 3 units arriving well before the allotted noon arrivals time on the approach lane and expecting to just barge through making us pull over. The behaviours of older members driven by years of indoctrination by the roolz, no doubt. You are on holiday, not a timetable. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Marshmallowqueen 5 reviews from this member

 Just come home after a short stay at this site. Site was clean and the wardens very helpful. Agree with other comments that the shower/toilet block looks dated. However, they were always clean. If they are updated I expect the fees will be increased, so I'm happy with site as it is. Some of the updated CC sites I've been to have had music playing in the toilet block 24/7 - personally I think this is an unnecessary spend of members money.

Didn't see any swings / slide for children. As long as the races are not on there is plenty of space for playing on the race course. Pitches seemed well spaced out. Most of the pitches looked level although there did seem to be some motor homes using levellers. There were 2 washing up sinks and a washing machine and tumble drier.

Some pitches ( no. 1 to 20 I think but please check) back on to the track. These pitches may get wet from the track sprinklers. A notice in the info / dishwashing room said the sprinklers could start at any time and stay on for 30 mins to 2 hours.

The town is close by and there are several supermarkets - Lidl, Asda, Waitrose, Tesco - were the ones I saw. If you are walking to town, cross the track using the access point towards the rear of the wash block and out to the road via the middle exit. You can only do this when there is no racing. This cuts a corner off. On race days there are restrictions on where you can go / exit and entering site so would advise you check if a race is planned during your stay or if there are other events on that could cause you an issue as the site is used for lots of different events.

I would return to the site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ellie014 3 reviews from this member

 We've used this site for the last 3 years for the Acoustic Festival weekend (highly recommended for a clean, safe, family event, ) Last year, we were there early when the races were on and it was an experience to see and hear the horses galloping past!

The site itself is very well kept, quiet (apart from festival/races - even then, there isn't a lot of disturbance on the actual site) and the wardens are friendly. You can walk into the town which has several supermarkets and the usual town centre shops. Also nearby is a trading estate with a Tesco superstore, Aldi, lots of restaurants and a new ice rink this year.

There is a good road network to get out and about and Trentham Gardens is highly recommended if you like the outdoors, also with a lovely big garden centre. Also, do try The White Hart hotel - wonderful food, decor and not too expensive.

Only slight drawback to the site is that the shower block is very dated, but it is always clean, tidy and warm! 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tag 18 20 reviews from this member

 I picked this site due to it's nearby location to Alton Towers. I've stayed in a few sites in this area but they are often rural, this was ideal as it was easy to walk into town from.

The wardens were friendly and helpful, advised us of the easier way to get into town. The site was about a third full when we visited so was quiet enough. I parked backing onto the race course which would give excellent views when a race is on.

The toilets and showers were functional and clean they are a bit dated, but good enough for price.

I would revisit this site when a race meet is on, just to soak up the atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jiggin 6 reviews from this member

 Nice site within walking distance of town. There is a good dog walking area. Shower cubicles are really small and need updating, good dish washing and food preparation area with washing machine facilities but drier takes too much money to get clothes dry. Motorhome on board waste water emptying drain needs a lightweight cover, although there are hooks available it was too heavy for us to lift up and we had to get a strong young man to lift it for us as warden wasn't around. We would use this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dengerry 10 reviews from this member

 We were there 22nd-26th may mainly for the racing. The wardens were nice and friendly on our arrival. Apart from the racing we may not have used a site like this, but that said it was ok. There was a fair was there on the day of racing and if you had kids there would be plenty of entertainment for them. Facilities are good and would go again for racing or a stop over on our travels. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Highlander1967 4 reviews from this member

 We booked this site for it's location. The wardens were very friendly and helpful. The site is located within the actual racecourse and on one of the days we stayed a race meeting took place which our children found great. They also hold various venues there from antique fairs to whatever is on, better to check before booking what is on. The location it's self is in a great area and easy to find. From there we ventured places like monkey world, where else would you walk amomst monkeys, our youngest to oldest loved it. The sites toilets and showers were basic but the sites fees were cheap. Would I stay there again then the answer is yes. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Uttoxeter Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Uttoxeter Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Uttoxeter Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Uttoxeter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3387 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement