Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wincanton Racecourse Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Wincanton > Wincanton Racecourse Site Reviews

CLOSED: Wincanton Racecourse Site
Wincanton Golf Club
Wincanton
Somerset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 90 reviews from this member

 Access to this site is easy being direct off the B3081, but then you expect it to be. If the race horse lorries can do it, so can a caravan.

Wardens on arrival were very friendly and helpful, keen to explain the differences between this site and a normal Caravan Club, after all it is the jockey club that set the rules here.

Pitches are on grass, but it appeared to be well drained and dried out due to the breeze.

The toilet block is dated, but freshly decorated and spotlessly clean. Water pressure coming out of the Triton showers could be better, but it's not a deal breaker.

Reception doubles as a small shop with an honestly box, but there is a Morrisons close by.

All pitches have a view of the race course, which is the attraction here, but beware of pitching right up against the rails if you are here for a race meeting as the Jockey Club insist that electric is turned off on these pitched and you will be asked to move your caravan away from the rails so that paying customers can park up there.

At only 13. 50 a night it represents excellent value for money, especially on race day as entry to the course is free for staying guests (saving 6 per car plus 15 for occupants).

Wherever you pitch will be no more than 20m from track side ans the end of the side is adjacent to the spectator's enclosure, you are that close.

Race day is busy here, you can come and go as you please, but it will be noisy and busy. The thunder of the horses vibrates through your van as they charge along the home straight! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rogvanman 3 reviews from this member

 Spent a few days here and loved it right on the race course nice and quiet all the facilities worked and were nice and clean. Bit basic but it does the job well. Easy booking in and nice people. It can be a bit windy and it is quite exposed but we had sunny days and sat out and enjoyed the views. There is a riding stable at the back so watching the horses was relaxing. This is a great site to stop for a day or two not sure I would spend a longtime as basic but great site for what it is. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brian.merritt 5 reviews from this member

 What a great place. Alan and Dee White are the two wardens and what a lovely pair. Dee bakes fresh croissants for breakfast and looks after the shop. Alan keeps the grounds in an immaculate condition, particularly the lawn on which caravans and motorhomes, 4 x 4s and people constantly use. Alan realised that caravanning was new to me was extremely helpful with advice not found in books and articles. My wife and I loved it so much I am going back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steve coke 1 review from this member

 Just returned from wincanton caravan club site. The wardens were very happy and helpful. Toilet block from outside looks tired but inside were kept clean at all times. Large flat pitches. Peaceful and quiet. Large dog exercise area. About 1 1/2 miles away in wincanton. The wagtail pub part of the marston pub group 2 4 1 meals, good ale and prices. Well worth a visit to this site. Basic but very good for short breaks. Would return to this site without hesitation 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roni j 11 reviews from this member

 Facilities still tired but clean! Two showers in each plus separate disabled facility.

Very quiet and very windy. We enjoyed our stay for a few days as there's a lot to go out and see. The facilities may not be up to normal Caravan Club standards but this is reflected in the price - just over 12 a night for us. There was good television reception and good mobile phone reception.

Nearly forgot, the wardens seemed very pleasant. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tonkarav 4 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 nights here. It is a very quiet site with no lighting at night so be warned take a torch if out and about after dark. The facilities, though old, were clean and tidy (they are due to be renovated this year). The only problem with this site is the female warden, it was like she didn't really want to be there. Site is close to Shaftesbury, Salisbury and Yeovil. Good place for days out. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Middlemouse 9 reviews from this member

 Three days here for a family get-together. We went to this site because everywhere else was booked up for the bank holiday! This is a long site running alongside the racecourse.

Mainly a caravan park with hardly any tents. Facilities were spotless and toilet/shower block warm! Laundry facilities in well appointed washing-up room but nowhere to freeze freezer blocks. Wardens helpful and pleasant.

Tent area is as far away from the toilet block as can be so be prepared for a walk. However, water points and bins around and about. Very flat pitches but the site is notoriously windy. It was very windy during our stay.

There had been heavy rain the night before but the grass was well drained and firm. A Nice quiet well kept site. Follow the directions to avoid the wiggly town roads if you are towing a caravan. We highly recommend a visit to the nearby Lytes Carey Manor - everyone goes to Stourhead and Lytes is a beauty. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HydraGirl 7 reviews from this member

 This was a family trip away for a long weekend, with two caravans travelling to the site. Unfortunately we had problems with our car breaking down en route. The rest of our party continued on to the site and informed the warden that we were unlikely to arrive until very late.

The warden was very accommodating showing them where we could pitch up on our arrival. We finally arrived and set up at 3am, yes 3am! We found the site to be very pleasant, quiet and well maintained. The site is quite small, very clean and with spotless toilet/washroom facilities.

The warden was very friendly and chatty, asking if we needed anything in the morning after our arrival. We found that we could go for a shower at anytime not having to queue. The water was piping hot and there was plenty of space in the cubicles.

The site is part of a racecourse with the main stand being used as the washroom block and reception. Really quirky and a good use of space. This site is a little off the beaten track, but if quiet is what you are looking for, you will find it here.

All in all a lovely little site, tranquil with friendly staff and well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iloveoutdoors 8 reviews from this member

 I must admit I have mixed feelings about this site.

At first glance, the site gives the appearance of being just a Caravan Club certified location but is in fact a proper Caravan Club site. The facilities are though what you would expect from a CC site and they couldn't be faulted.

However I would advise anyone planning to use the site to plan their route very carefully. As Wincanton is not a place that I wouldn't really recommend towing a caravan through ! 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2344 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement