Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Aberbran Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Aberbran Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Aberbran Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Aberbran
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 9NH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 22
Open: 16/03/2024 to 22/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lynne3 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site, very well kept and made us feel very welcome.

Weather was not very good but didn't stop us from having a lovely weekend.

There are no facilities, but fine for a couple of quiet days. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bestieboy 25 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a short time during August having moved on from Bromyard, on our way to Gwern-y-Bwlch. All Caravan and Motorhome Club sites without shower and toilet facilities.

I enjoy these sites within the C&MC network. For a family of four plus 2 dogs, £14 night which is very good value. If you don't mind using your vans facilities (which my wife and daughter would rather anyhow) you get the usual consistently high C&MC standard of site for a reasonable price.

The site itself is easy to get to, check out the directions on the website / handbook and ignore the commercial site which seems to straddle the river. It is very clean and tidy site and in my opinion its a very pretty site. The wardens at the time were very friendly and super helpful when my battery on the car decided it was the best time to give up the ghost (sods law)! Thanks to them.

We noticed that some of the pitches are a little tight to manoeuvre into, so a mover is advisable although not essential. We have a twin axle so were directed to certain suitable pitches.

Unfortunately our brief stay was affected by the curse of the dreaded British summer and we got a lot of Welsh rain so we couldn't explore the Brecon Beasons as much as we had hoped. However my son and I thoroughly enjoyed our day at Bike Park Wales which is just over the hills from the site above Methyr. Awesome fun, check it out! 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lucysmum 38 reviews from this member

 I really can't get my head around a CC site without toilets It's not a CL or a full site - but it is in a convenient location.

This is the second time we have used this site as an overnight stop over. The volunteer wardens are incredibly helpful & friendly. The site is spotless and has a lovely dog walk with a seat to sti on and gaze at the hills.

I think the area is too close to home for us to really appreciate it. I drive past here regularly on the way to our daughter's. But we went to Craig y Nos Country Park on the way to our visit to the Wales Air Ambulance (sorry, invite only!). The country park was lovely and our dogs thoroughly enjoyed it, they were even welcomed into the cafe.

I would like the chance to explore the walks around the site, but there were too many sheep for me to manage climbing of stiles & our 2 dogs by myself - next time I'll get the OH to come too as it looked beautiful.

Yes we would return ;) 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helen26 5 reviews from this member

 We've just had a lovely peaceful week here at Aberbran. There are no toilets, washing facilities or children's play area. Access to the site was easy enough, being just off the A40. There was no road noise, though, just lots of birds and sheep. The pitches are quite spacious, up to usual club standards. We struggled a bit parking up with the length of our tourer but I guess everyone around had a bit of a giggle at our shunting. We went to the visitor centre and walked up the small hill and ended up looking down onto our caravan, which was quite an unexpected surprise! Brecon is peaceful for a day out (we did the canal trip), Brecon Mountain Railway was very scenic, the National Showcaves were amazing and Blaenavon was interesting. We had wonderful weather, which obviously helped with our week.

If we find ourselves back in the area, we'd stay here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 93 reviews from this member

 Access to this delightful site is not difficult. A wide sweeping junction takes you off the A40 into a wide single track road. Two small privately owned sites are passed as you cross over the River Usk before you arrive at the CC site within a mile.

The narrow sloping drive takes you up to the reception hut. Booking in was efficient and pitches vary in size, the ones with the most difficult access being sited on the old platform.

The site has no facilities block, but at £12. 50 per night (2015), represents excellent value for money.

CEP, waste drain, water tap and bins are all to CC standards.

This is a very peaceful site with little noise or light pollution at night. The only noise coming from the sheep and lambs bleating in the adjacent field.

There is a tidy dog walk on site that is adequate for early mornings and late evenings.

No shop on site, the nearest being in Sennybridge or Brecon for a choice of supermarkets. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Homerh 2 reviews from this member

 Very quite site the only thing to wake you in the morning is the birds or the sheep.

Dog walk on site is about half the length of the site which is ok for the morning or evening needs but you can walk off site via a footpath into a large field and let them off so long as no sheep about 20 minutes round trip/walk.

Long units placed in the largest area so plenty of room very clean and grass kept short as all club sites are.

Will we be going back yes. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulmold 98 reviews from this member

 Agree entirely with previous review, absolutely delightful site. Volunteer wardens were so helpful and friendly. Had super view of birds having a feast on other visitors bird-feeders.

Flower baskets in full bloom, whole site kept immaculate. At £11 per night all in, great value. Brecon is a lovely town with lots to see.

There are canal boat trips from outside the theatre, cathedral really interesting with a great cafe attached. There is a huge club site nearer to Brecon (Brynich) but at prices more than double, so Aberbran is super value. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: M+M Tours 32 reviews from this member

 Visited end of august in what unfortunately turned out to be a shorter stay than planned due to a car breakdown.

Very quiet site in a nice enough location, but as this used to be a former station, some pitches are extremely tight to get in & great care is required, mainly the pitches where the platform used to be.

Some pitches seem under trees & when raining, the constant heavy drips off the trees can be annoying at night.

No facilities of course here, but at £10 a night still good value.

A mention must be made to the very helpful volunteer wardens who were a great help whilst we were there. Nothing was too much trouble for them, & i thank them very much.

There are a few walks direct from the site, the one to trallong common is well worth the effort, about 8 miles in all. You can also walk direct to the brecon visitor centre again about 6-7 miles but lovely scenery.

We did manage to get up a very busy pen-y-fan & a drive to ystradfellte waterfalls before the car gave up the ghost.

We didn't do all what we would have liked, so we will have to return to this lovely part of wales some other time. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 86 reviews from this member

 This Caravan Club site is basically an upmarket CL with prices to match [2011 - £10 per night “all-in”].

The site is longitudinal in that it is an old railway station/sidings but is very secluded & quiet. The flower displays when we visited [July 2011] were exceptional.

The level pitches are mixture of grass & hardstandings, all with electric hook-up.

The volunteer wardens couldn’t have been more helpful in making our stay enjoyable with lots of advice for walks [in large A4 binders], places of interest, the weather etc.

There is also an information shed with local brochures.

We were a bit surprised that there didn’t appear to be any recycling facility on site – all rubbish was placed in one bin which, in this day & age, seemed strange.

Remember to bring a bird feeder and plentiful supplies of seed/fat balls! We had one outside the van window for 5 days and had to refill the feeders at least twice a day and did run out at one point! The antics of the various species was entertaining viewing for us as well as our caravan neighbours [who contributed some fat balls to the supplies!].

We attracted Greenfinches, blue & great tits, chaffinches, sparrows, a solitary nuthatch and frequent visits from a couple of greater spotted woodpeckers.

A superb site – a credit to the volunteer wardens. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TNADZ 24 reviews from this member

 We spent 3 nights at this lovely location. The volunteers are extremely helpful. We picked our own pitch. It has electric hook up and that's it. It has the usual facilities for a site with no toilets, a place to dispose and re fill with fresh water. TV signal not the best but to be fair, who needs it when the location is so peaceful.
We found a dog friendly pub called The Lion which is about 10 minutes away, very friendly and the portions for the food were HUGE. The site has great folders which recommend eating places and beautiful walks
My first visit to Brecon and I would thoroughly recommend. Beware when you drive down the road though as there are 2 other sites before this one, we made the mistake of pulling into the wrong one. Carry on down the road until you hit the Caravan Club sign. Highly recommend 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Aberbran Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Aberbran Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Aberbran Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


48253 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement