Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Angel Inn Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Larling > The Angel Inn Campsite Reviews

The Angel Inn Campsite
Sallow Lane
Larling
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR16 2QU
Tel: 01953 717963
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 11
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Neilpa 1 review from this member

 All good, just took us a couple of days to find the washing up sink!

Great value for money, good site: didn't find a single stone when putting the pegs in. This makes such a difference!

Accidentally clicked on No Rating for child friendliness, and it won't let me un-click it. 9/10!

Pub really nice, good food and very friendly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Little 1 review from this member

 Was a lovely friendly site, not a lot of people there which as a bonus Piches were really spaced out had drinking water taps near us, toilet and showers were very clean,

Couple of downsides itís was in the middle of no were no shop near by, A11 was nosy but got used it after a white, what tips us over the edge which made us leave early was there were about 4 camper vans parked in a circle and decided to have a mini rave at 1 oíclock in the morning with strobe lights loud music and were walking around banging drums, next morning me and my children walked are dogs round the field and they were all uses the bushes as toilets it was rank! Think we were just unlucky this time 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 We came to the Angel Inn for their annual beer festival and very good it was too. Camping was priced at £50 per person for 3 nights covering the entire festival which included 'van and £20 beer tokens each.

The Angel Inn is situated on a section of what I would guess is the original A11 next to the modern dualled and very fast A11, consequently traffic noise is always apparent. The 'festival area' is located in a separate field opposite the pub with the pitching area adjacent to festival area separated by a large hedge. (Clearly shown using Google maps satellite view. ) Pitching area is a level, very large, well sheltered field. 13 EHU pitches are marked out and the rest of the field is used informally. Angel Inn site is not currently affiliated to either club

WC/shower (free), washing up (H&C) facilities are situated at the front of the festival area so consequently quite a trek from the furthermost pitches. Whilst facilities are quite old and a little tired they are are OK in CS/CL terms. Chem disposal is with the main facilities and several water points are convenient.

The pub had an external repaint recently and is a good example of just what you would expect from a traditional seventeenth century coaching inn. We did not think our meals were particularly good examples of the microwaved 'cook chilled' variety with main courses typically costing between £12 and £16.

To sum up: Shame about the traffic noise and our slightly poor experience of the food, otherwise it is an incredibly spacious CS/CL type site with a good beer festival and only 10 mins from Snetterton Circuit. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl n Rob 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at The Angel Inn touring park for 3 nights with hook up. The field is large and mainly flat. There were 4 vans when we were there and we were all spread out with plenty of room.

Water, bins and toilet disposal are all close by. We didn't use the showers but the toilets and showers both looked clean.

Some road noise, but not too much at all.

We had 2 meals in the Angel Inn. Fantastic food, professional, friendly staff and reasonable prices. Would recommend the fillet steak - cooked to perfection and the home cooked puddings !

Would definitely return! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pandk 14 reviews from this member

 The camp site is very large with fairly reasonable facilities. The showers and toilets were clean and tidy for all of our stay.

It would be nice to have another washing up sink and perhaps just a bench top next to the sink for stacking dry things, but the facilities are all under cover and well looked after. Showers always had hot water in plenty.

When we stayed the grass was fairly long, covering very nice ground to pitch on. I've never stayed anywhere without having to hammer pegs in before. There is a little road noise form the A11, but its certainly not intrusive or noisy and did not spoil any of our stay.

However the highlight of the stay is the pub itself. Well kept beer and decent food. The selection of beer was reasonable and not just standard offerings. We ate there one night and really enjoyed the food.

If you are going to stay here, consider going to the english whisky company down the road for tour, but try to book the world whisky tour rather than the standard one, then walk home:-) One of the best tastings we have been to. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rs_rob 2 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit to this site & we have already planned to go back again this year.

The facilities are very clean with only 2 Male Showers & 2 Female showers however they were very hot & Free, Apart from one other Motorhome we had the whole site too ourselves.

There is a separate Tent area only & electric hook ups around 2 sides of the field & the rest of the site is non EHU.

There is always room for non EHU however as we have found it is worth calling ahead as the Site might be hired for some event or another i. E Beer Festival, Dog Show or Private Event etc.

The Angel Inn is a lovely place to Eat & Drink & the staff will go out of there way to make you feel welcomed & at home, there is a good choice of home-made meals to choose from & my Vegetarian Partner was spoiled for choice.

Local Attraction Include the English Whiskey Distillery, Snetterton Race Track & Thetford Forest

The only downside I can not & They really do not bother me at all is yes you can hear the road noise from the A11 but then you are only a stones throw away from it & the other one would be the Roockery. There is an awful lot of crows in the trees & they are not used to being fed so don't bother trying. Infact we found them quite entertaining.

One last thing there is slight slope from the South Edge of the field to the North (Snetterton Side), the most level section is on the right as you enter (South) & large plot down the left hedge with EHU, when we stayed last year without EHU we parked in the far corner facing North as the rear of our Motorhome sits lower & this was the best position we could find. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tynxuk 16 reviews from this member

 This site is much larger than the 11 pitches suggested above, 12 generous EHU pitches in one field and another tent only field with no electric but closer to the toilets and showers (surprisingly). Both fields where relatively flat with lushious trimmed grass and plenty of room for children to play.

I phoned the morning of our arrival to book a pitch of which they had plenty available, in fact I was surprised there were only 3 caravans and one other tent.

Cost was £20 a night for a unit with 4 people including electric and £10 deposit for gate key, shower facilities were free and relied on a 'leave it as you wish to find it' cleaning. There were toilet brushes and bins in the toilets which were bleached regularly however a mop would have been useful.

I only went in the pub to book in and check out but it seem pleasant enough with a nice play area for children. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mad-4-dogs 3 reviews from this member

 We requested to stay here last year which was technically 'out of season' for the Angel, but they kindly agreed to allow us to stay anyway. We were staying in a small tourer with 4 dogs(!) and had hook-up which was a bonus as it allowed us to use our 800w DeLonghi heater to keep the chill off the van without the hassle of lighting the gas heater! This was welcome, as although the weather was fine, this late in the year the mornings and evenings were 'sharp', with frost in the clear mornings.

Our pitch was sheltered behind a hedge, and all the pitches appeared to be flat, and the field was green & well maintained.

The toilets & showers on the camping area were kept open 24hours, with rubbish and recycling facilities available. All this was less than a minute walk from anywhere on the field.

The overall highlight was the great food and atmosphere at the Angel Inn itself, just a stones throw from the camping area.

All good for us :-) 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: King Pin 1 review from this member

 Very clean and well maintained campsite. Common toilets and shower good facilities. Has a small play area for children. Rent for Camp site very reasonable. Restaurant offers good breakfast but expensive. We booked a table for dinner but as was running late and children were getting very hungry had to cancel our table. We still got charged £10 penalty, which I felt was a bit unfair.

Overall a family friendly place. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AJTx2 2 reviews from this member

 Possibly the best ground Iíve ever experienced for pitching tents, in our group of five tents only one person found a stone!

Perfectly situated to explore west Norfolk. Ideal for Snetterton race circuit (it's walkable but only a five minute drive) and within stumbling distance of England's only whisky distillery!

Facilities were also much better than I'd expected.

Would highly recommend and would use again next time we're in the area. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Angel Inn Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Angel Inn Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Angel Inn Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Larling      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4714 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement