Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Malvern Hills Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Worcestershire > Site Reviews

Malvern Hills Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hanley Swan
Worcester
Worcestershire   (Browse area)
WR8 0EE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 210
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: *deb* 22 reviews from this member

Having had a couple of visits to this site we would definitely recommend it to people in the area.

It has the usual CMC facilities, two really great toilet blocks, bins and CDPs easily accessible and a play area for kids.

We stayed on a hard standing pitch which can be a bit uncomfortable but drains reasonably well - a few pitches could benefit from a top up as there are silty puddles in some areas after rain. Not great if putting up an awning.

Good access to the Malverns by car.

Would go again.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr_jibbles 14 reviews from this member

Just returned from a long weekend here. Malvern Hills C&M Club site is a really super site. It is easy to access and is not far from Great Malvern or the Malvern hills. The whole site is extremely clean and tidy, and very well thought out. On arrival, we were efficiently checked in and found the wardens friendly. Facilities blocks were spotlessly clean whenever we used them. Showers were lovely and hot, and there are plenty of them. The grounds were very attractive and very well maintained. We stayed during Storm Brian but the site felt very sheltered. There is a play area which our children really enjoyed. There is also a little games area near the Reception block. We all enjoyed playing badminton, draughts, Hoopla and Four in a Row and appreciated this thoughtful, extra little touch. The children also enjoyed playing in the small wooded area used as the dog walking area. We were pleased with our pitch size as there was plenty of room on our hard standing pitch for our caravan, car and awning leaving a decent amount of grassy space to both sides of us and behind us too. Being October, the site was not full but even when it is, I cant imagine feeling too crammed in.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Malvern Hills and are looking forward to returning very soon.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joannem1 13 reviews from this member

We have just spent 3 nights at this site over the BH weekend. Although this was one of the CC larger sites, it didn't feel overcrowded and the amenities were always available and very clean. The TV signal wasn't too fantastic, we could just get a few channels but we didn't go away to sit & watch TV all weekend so that wasn't a problem for us. The location is lovely with plenty of places to visit. All in all this will be a site that we will return to if we're in that area.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 211 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Leave M5 and take M50. Exit at first junction and take A38 heading north signed for Malvern. In about 3 miles turn left onto A4104 towards Upton upon Severn. Immediately after crossing River Severn at Upton turn right at roundabout onto B4209 signed for Hanley Swan. In village, opposite Post Office, turn right. In about a mile the site is signed on the left along with the CC&C site which is located next door.

The Malvern Hills Caravan Club site is set in attractive Worcestershire countryside about a mile from the village of Hanley Swan. It is a large site area wise and follows the natural contours of the land. There are just over 200 pitches in total about half of them on hardstandings and the rest on grass. Whilst the hardstandings are mainly level some of the grass pitches might require so levelling. Non-members are accepted but not tents. Electric points are rated at 16amps and use standard CEE17 connectors and are convenient to all pitches.

TV reception is rated as fair but the site does not have a signal booster system. There are two toilet blocks to the usual high Club standard, the one nearer to reception seems to have had an extension and has a fully covered washing up area. Service points are dotted around the site but there could be more of them as from some pitches they are quite a trek. Perhaps a silly point to make but the fresh water tap at the main toilet block is too low to get an Aquaroll filler under!

The motorhome service point requires heavy drain covers to be removed to access the drain points. It is also not very well situated as you have the drive around the site twice to complete the task of emptying tanks. There is site wide WiFi and whilst not a particularly fast service I found it fine for e-mails and general surfing. Reception sells a few essentials. Next door is an information room with details of local attractions and places to eat out. For children there is an adventure style play area. This site also has a storage facility.

This site is a bit on the remote side for those without their own transport or as in our case not wanted to take the motorhome off site. The site does have a list of parking places suitable for motorhomes in the information room. The nearest habitation is the village of Hanley Swan which is about a mile from the site. There is a useful village store and Post Office plus a butcher/green grocer. There is also a pub called the Swan which serves food.

There is a limited bus service from near the site with more frequent services during the week but a more restricted service on Saturdays. There are no buses on Sunday. (NB the bus services are currently under review so may not continue in their current form)

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chappies43 27 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a lovely 6 night stay at Malvern Hills starting on Easter Saturday and we are happy to report a very pleasant stay. Arriving at the site is slightly confusing as the Camping & Caravan Club's Blackmore Site shares an entrance with the Malvern Hills Caravan Club Site and when arriving from the Worcester direction, you see the sign for the C&CC site first and it is only when you are virtually passing that you see the CC sign at the drive entrance too. As others have commented the bottom toilet block was out of use but the other block seemed sufficient for demand and was kept clean. The shower block was a bit cold in the evenings though and this wasn't helped by windows being left open. We would agree with other comments about the hard-standings needing some attention as our pitch (30) frequently had a large sludgy puddle when it rained (never seen rain quite as heavy as on Easter Saturday - it was like being in a car wash!).

The surrounding area is lovely and we visited Hereford, Worcester, Tewkesbury and Upton not to mention walking to the top of the Worcestershire Beacon from Upper Wyche which were all well worth a visit. Also worthy of a mention is the online retailer Caravanstuff4u is situated in Hanley Swan and they have a shop which is only a few minutes away by car - useful if you need supplies or, like me, like a little browse for 'don't know how I lived without this thing I didn't know I needed' items!

One thing that did puzzle us about the site was that we were issued with a fob for the security barrier but we didn't see either the entrance or exit barriers closed at all during our 6 night stay. To be fair we were back on site by around 6pm each evening but still feel that the barriers should be closed during the day as good security is one of the reasons we choose to use CC sites. All in all a great site in a beautiful location which we would happily recommend.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Varaderoxlv1000 29 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 7 night stay here. The weather was dry during all the stay. The site is immaculately kept with both toilet blocks very clean too. It is a large site with 2 toilet blocks placed fairly equidistantly across the site. The pitch we had was one of the few hard standing type remaining and as such was a fair distance from both the grey water and chemical disposal points and were about as far from our pitch as I would feel comfortable with. The drinking water point was the same.

Again as I have found with other Caravan Club sites, the warden at reception was business like but not welcoming which after an arduous journey doesn't always offset the rigours of the day. Just a simple, hello, good to see you and I hope your journey wasn't too awful, but anyway, you are here now, so just relax and enjoy yourselves. Or something similar would be nice.

The only thing we noticed was that there were a huge number of dogs present with their owners. Virtually all those with dogs had a minimum of 2 and 1 unit that had 5! Most of the dogs were well behaved, but we had a couple of rather yappy ones close by and one or 2 that howled in their accomodation even with the owners present. I felt the site was more akin to a car park outside Crufts. The dogs were no problem but it was noticeable how many dogs had peed on the grass (v. Green patches)and though no dog mess was seen as it had been picked up off the grass and roadway. Not sure I would have appreciated this if any residues had ended up on our shoes or for those with children who may have rolled in it whilst playing. There's no easy answer for this issue other than staying on dog free sites, but then why should we.

We would use the site again but not when it was fully booked.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bestieboy 25 reviews from this member

Our visit straddled the August bank holiday. We arrived on the Wednesday to a quiet site but which predictably steadily filled up for the weekend. The site coped very well with the numbers, the facilities were excellent. We stayed on a grass pitch which was fine, the hard standings were booked up when we enquired, but this worked out for the best as we prefer grass during the summer.

Access to the site is straight forward, we followed our Sat Nav from the M5 with no problems at all. The site is about a ten minute drive from Malvern which we had never visited before but which we thoroughly enjoyed. In my view it's best suited for a short break and we spent three days walking in the hills. These are spectacularly easy to access, don't bother with books or guides as they are so compact you can almost see where you are at all times. Relatively little effort required for some spectacular views West across Herefordshire into Wales and East across Worcestershire.

We also spent the day in Worcester which we enjoyed.

In summary the area was lovely but best suited to a short break and the site more than adequate with friendly wardens. Just disappointed when we enquired that they are not open during the winter.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RTS5 15 reviews from this member

We picked this site as we were attending an event at the Three Counties Showground, for which it is extremely conveniently located. It was our first experience of a Caravan Club site (having only used CL's up to now). The site is easy to find, and the roads to it from the M5 were fine for towing on. Entry to the site was extremely easy. I'm not sure how people end up going into the C&CC site by mistake as both clubs sites are very clearly signposted as you go in. The welcome at reception was very friendly, and clear and helpful instructions were given.

There are hard standings and grass areas on both the top and bottom sections. The grass pitches on the top section had the views and sun all day, though some did have trees near them to provide shade. The pitches (hard standing) over the far end of the site got the most shade, loosing the sun about 4/5pm. The hard standings had grass areas surrounding them. The pitches were large, but were soon filled once you got a large awning attached. You are a little over looked from the neighbouring pitch if they were sat outside their caravan or in their awning. To be fair I think this is probably the case at most sites of this size, it is just we are more used to smaller sites which are a lot more spread out. The grass pitches looked like they might be less roomy during busier periods. The pitches (both hard standing & grass) that get the most sun/views do fill up earlier in the day. We pitched in the hard standings at the back on the left as you drive in. We found this area to be very quiet, even though a lot of people did walk their dogs along the outer edge of it. We walked down to the bottom section and did feel it was nosier than at the top. Not badly so, just more children about, probably because the park is in this section.

The facility block (at the top) was very clean at all times, and never seemed to be busy. We cannot comment on what the showers were like as we used our own facilities; however they did look very nice. There were water points/grey waste disposal and chemical disposal points at each toilet block. There are bins for recycling available.

Telephone signal (O2 & Virgin) was good, internet access was patchy but usable, more so outside.

With the 1p child price, our stay only cost 20 a night, which for a CC site we felt was very reasonable. All in all a pleasant first visit to a CC site. If we have reason to be back in the area again we would use the site again.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Santa cruz 20 reviews from this member

Came to Malvern following two weeks in the Cotswolds split between Broadway and Cirencester.

The walking and cycling on the 'Hills' is exceptional and very unique with amazing 360' views at the top.

Found Greater Malvern and it's history interesting but preferred Upton on Severn to visit.

Site was something of a disappointment, possibly because it followed the lovely CC site at Broadway. Views from some pitches, but not all did allow you to see the Hills, but when it rained (as it did one day) and not that heavily, our pitch flooded at one side to over an inch deep and we were not alone in that.

TV reception is 'iffy' but TV is not essential for some, but I like mine.

A positive however was the lack of all enclosing trees, plenty of open views and pitches fairly well spaced out.

Only a small dog walk, plenty walks/footpaths right outside the site but a bit muddy (unlike the hills which are superb) so decent walking boots required.

Eating out was not good, several places, like the Swan in Hanley have gone up market, the result is expensive eating, small portions and no dogs. The Blue Bell at Callow End does good food at a good price but no dogs.

Elsewhere, cheap but at times bordering on awful, I find the Marston brewery house to be particularly 'poor'.

Find of the week long trip was the 'Old Bush' at Callow End, recently refurbished by the new owners.

Great food, lots of real ales and ciders, live music and they serve on Sunday evening off the full menu as well as traditional Sunday lunch. Pre-booking is essential. Post code is WR2 4TE and well worth a visit at around 4 miles from the site.

As a rating, can't give it more than 8 due to the flooding issues. Unlikely to return again because of that one issue alone.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Codwales 22 reviews from this member

Just spent 5 wonderful nights at this site. On arrival the warden was very friendly and described the set up of the site. We found a hardstanding pitch which are all very spacious. Wish we had pitched to the north of the site as we pitched next to the trees which resulted in us being in the shade in the evening. Will know this now for the next time.

There are 2 shower/toilet blocks to cc standards I e very clean. There is a lovely short dog walk in the woods.

The Swan PH is in the village. Had a meal which was very nice but I am more of a pie and chips person rather than all the fancy food with hard to pronounce names and small portions.

There is a fish and chip van situated between the cc site snd the ccc sites on a weekend. Didnt try it ourselves.

Lots of walks and places to visit. Will definitely be returning

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Worcestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2195 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019