Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodlands Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Site Reviews

Woodlands Caravan Park
Carnoustie House
Carnoustie
Angus   (Browse area)
DD7 6GR
Tel: 01241 854430
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 83 Reviews
                9/10 from 83 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Balnbiff 2 reviews from this member

Great site would recommend to anyone. Very clean and tidy site. Very quiet and peaceful Can't wait to go back 10/10. Bill has worked hard to have the site to this standard well done you should be proud off your site

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 175 reviews from this member

One of our favourite sites. Bill recognised us by name from previous visits, which impressed me. Contrary to an earlier review, we've always been given a receipt. In the past, when we didn't have enough cash, Bill just said 'pay tomorrow'.

Still lots of fresh flowers in the washroom and the autumn leaves were being mown up when we left - it's such a well tended site, and the pitches are big & widely spaced. Excellent MH service point too.

Our access to the free WiFi from our pitch was blocked by a stronger signal from the MiFi in the MH next door, that's not the site's fault; I just took the phone with me when I went for a shower, to get my emails.

And no more keys! Bill has installed touch pads at the washrooms & at the gate into the park, which is more convenient.

There's a bus stop outside the entrance, several buses per hour but it takes an hour into Dundee. The train is much quicker, about 15 minutes but only one an hour; the station is 20 minutes walk. The new V&A is well worth visiting - the permanent gallery is free, the temporary exhibition costs 10-12.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theflights 2 reviews from this member

This site is an absolute gem and we cannot recommend it highly enough. We stayed for four nights on a fully serviced pitch. It was an accidental lucky find while we were searching for somewhere in the area. When we checked in we were given a tour of the facilities so we knew where everything was. The owner, Bill, walked us to our site so we knew where we were going. The pitches are large and flat and the site is surprisingly sheltered. The site is immaculate and constantly cleaned and tidied by Bill. Toilets and showers are by key entry. They are spotless and there are plenty of them. There were even fresh flowers in the ladies. WiFi was available but we didn't have the best signal. 4G was strong and good enough for what we needed. A 10 to 15 minute walk from the back gate (coded) gets you to the seafront. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area and a number of nice walks. We will certainly visit this site again.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oxter 61 reviews from this member

Just to keep reviews up to date, I will review again, although not much can be said that was not said by Pilgrim below.

Great, immaculate site lovingly maintained by Bill Ferguson. ( A man with a dry sense of humour who enjoys a bit of banter).

Nice restaurant / bar down by the beach - Blu Bar.

Many pleasant walks around the Carnoustie path network.

V @ A museum opening soon in Dundee - a few miles away.

This site is a must for anyone who likes a neat, tidy, colourful and quiet stay.

Free WiFi from reception can be received at some of the pitches with line of sight. Decent speed at around 4/5 Mb- enough to stream live TV most of the time. Pitches furthest from the back gate and reception get most sunshine.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Navroo 2 reviews from this member

Found this wee campsite by accident when browsing for somewhere to stop off for a few days. What a gem it is. Quiet, friendly and absolutely immaculate. The gardens are well kept and cheerful and the warden Bill is a lovely jovial man who cant do enough to help you and make you feel welcome. Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Catface1 3 reviews from this member

Well looked after site in convenient location for town. Very clean toilets and showers, a little old fashioned but there were fresh flowers, a nice touch, in the ladies. There is good laundry room, dish washing room and a sitting room with a good sized TV and a pool table. (you are given a key for all amenities which fits doors for all amenities. There was lots of local information leaflets in the laundry room and a kettle, microwave and fridge/freezer in the kitchen). The town with 2 grocery shops, a chemist, several pubs and a fish and chip shop within easy walking distance.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pilgrim730 8 reviews from this member

We just got back from a stop over at this wonderful site, and felt obliged to add a review

Booking - straight forward on line process, with swift response and all relevant info regarding the stay and clear indication that this is a cash only site, (and good value for money) no issues at all.

Arrival - Met at reception by Bill, a truly talented Manager with a great sense of humour, and advised that we could pick our spot, but he did offer suggestions about where we would be best suited, but up to us in the end.

Briefing - Bill gave us a full walk talk through the facilities, and it was apparent straight away that a lot of effort is put in to keep this site in top condition, from the spotless ablutions, to the immaculate flower beds. Point of note, in the wash up room there are a number of useful cooking items, slow cooker, microwave oven etc. Available for use. Including a huge fridge, there is even brew kit, in case you have forgotten anything, there on a 'replace as you use basis'.

Pitch - we were on a grass pitch, flat and smooth as a snooker table. There was ample room for the MH, with Awning extended, as well as a car if required. The EHU was sited to ensure ease of connection, and water points are well signposted, as well as fire points. There is a MH point on site that is also well laid out for top up and emptying etc.

Overall - Thanks to Bills dedication, this is a wee gem of a site, in an area where there is plenty to see and do. Public transport stops at the front gate, and it is just a short walk to the train station. Dundee is really expanding and there are plenty of visitor centres. Broughty Ferry is a delightful area, well worth a visit. Fishing and Golfing are in abundance all around, and if you have never tried Fly Fishing and would like a lesson, Forbes of Kingennie Fishery is well worth a trip and very reasonably priced, with all kit supplied.

A short walk into Carnoustie will reward you with a collection of all the shops you need and a good selection of eateries to suit all tastes.

Thanks Bill, for a great and restful week, and we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Merlot65 6 reviews from this member

Not our usual type of campsite as it is basically in the town with a school right next door, a playing field at the back and houses at the other side. Pitches were flat, we had ehu, locked gate gets you straight into the park/playing field and into town. Showers were normal no push button but you needed to remember to take your key to get into them! The general feel was that it was a tidy and friendly site.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Henry888 5 reviews from this member

Just as other reviewers have stated, this is a nice, well-kept site. Owner obviously takes pride in his business. Good dog walks in adjacent park and on Carnoustie beachfront.

Easy to find Newton Road from A92/A930 and just follow your nose to the end of the road. Only bad taste from our visit was that Cash was demanded on arrival (nothing about not accepting credit cards on their website) and no receipt was given.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oxter 61 reviews from this member

Back for another visit and worth another review as this is undoubtedly one of Scotland's finest.

Despite being virtually full, the site is immaculate in every respect. We got the bus at the gate (across the road) to lovely Broughty Ferry via Moniefieth, Barry etc it continues to Dundee.

Bill as before is such a nice host and rightfully proud of his site. We are off to France soon but intend to return to sunny Carnoustie before the season ends.

Don't miss this excellent site on your travels in this area of Scotland.

Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2267 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019