Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Freshwater East Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Freshwater East Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Trewent Hill, Freshwater East
Pembroke
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA71 5LJ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 128
Open: 01/07 To 10/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 48 Reviews
                8/10 from 48 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Georget64 31 reviews from this member

This is a large site, very close to the beach and lots of outdoor activities. Mobile phone signal is non existent, but we did get our mobile WIFI. TV was also unobtainable, but we did have TV hook up, but disappointingly only 8 channels were available. Facilities are up to the normal excellent CAMC standards. We visited Tenby in the motorhome, and found there a very large car park, with a free park and ride bus into town every 15 minutes.

For us, a mature couple, we felt it overpriced for what we got. We feel £32. 90 for a sloping grass pitch, with no water supply, to be excessive so we are unlikely to return.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Woodlander 15 reviews from this member

I really liked this site although in the busy season I imagine it gets busy as the beach is very close by. We got lost trying to find it but ended up having lunch in a lovely farm cafe, although I can’t remember where it was! Everything you need on site such as the usual spotless toilet blocks and decent laundry. There is a shop a few miles away. The takeaway cafe/shop in the holiday park next door wasn’t brilliant but perhaps it wasn’t in full holiday mode. We enjoyed some coastal walks and castle tours and found a lovely little nature reserve next door. I do wonder about dog limits as the van opposite had five dogs. I loved all the spring flowers on site making it very attractive. I found the wardens attentive and very friendly. If you have children I should think the nearby uncommercialised beach very attractive, definitely a bucket and spader!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lms0110 40 reviews from this member

I always write my reviews from the perspective of dog walkers who don't move the Motorhome once sited. So a perfect site for us is lovely walks directly accessed from the site with a hostelry/eatery in the local vicinity, and Freshwater East ticks all the boxes, for now.

Across the road from the entrance lane to the site is the beach which is currently dog friendly all year round, we used this constantly as the dog walk provided on site was a mudfest. The coast path runs from the beach access path and we walked the west route to Barafundle Bay, about 5 miles, apart from the first field which had horses in the whole route follows the fenced in farmland so no issues with cows and all had proper gates, no stiles, makes it so much easier with the dogs. Nice cafe situated just before the last leg to the beach. Just outside the campsite is a holiday village which has a bar/cafe area called The Longhouse and also does a takeaway menu, we had food from their after our long walk and it was lovely.

My caveat re the beach is that there is a public meeting at the end of April to discuss the proposal of having a dog ban in the Summer months. There are petitions in both the campsite and the holiday village for visitors to sign against the ban.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Croyde_or_bust 16 reviews from this member

Reasonably easy to find, the access is via a steep hill but that is more problematic when leaving, most cars I saw struggled to yank a caravan up it as there is no run up !
5 min stroll from the beach and its a lovely beach in a cove. All walks are enjoyable but steep.
The site itself is typical Caravan Club. Pleasant welcome, nicely laid out, immaculate toilet and shower facilities etc etc.
If you don't have nippers go for the lower part of the site, that's furthest from the playpark. There was a bit of choice language up there, mainly parents !
If you want surfing try Freshwater West about 8 miles away, better waves. Tenby is beautiful and worth a visit as is Pembroke Castle where a lot of effort has been put into making somewhere of interest to all ages.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 28 reviews from this member

Stayed one night here during our travels around Wales - as we were only one night the warden asked us to stay on a particular pitch rather than choose our own - wasn't a problem as the pitch was huge and well located near the facilities block.

As with all caravan club sites the facilities block was always clean and warm.

The dog walk is just a long, thin path though bushes and trees so did nothing to exercise our three Labradors. The beach, however, is a five minute walk away and is dog friendly so we had some very happy (and wet !) pooches.

There is no mobile signal on site but we got by with the wi-fi and found the site to be very relaxing.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WestBest 3 reviews from this member

The site is in a wonderful location, a stones throw from a fantastic beach and a short drive to some great attractions. It is on the bottom of a steep hill though so care is needed.

Wardens were helpful and friendly, giving us tips on places to go.

The pitches are spacious and the site is very pretty and well laid out, although it was a bit of a trek to the toilet. The block was lovely and clean and warm though.

We enjoyed sitting out listening to the birds and to children playing in the park. A great addition for families.

After checkout we parked up in the large beach car park just outside the site and enjoyed an extra day on the beach.

Can't wait to return!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Darty1 1 review from this member

The Bad

Arrived at advised time just as it started to rain and was given a map by the main warden and told to find a free pitch.

Touring around site a number of pitches appeared to have hook up taped off another had a hook up but no pitch number.

Walked back to wardens for clarification but they were totally uninterested it was after all after 6. 00pm (just). Told that the pitch number had been removed as the electric wasn't working. Would have been good to have been told about both these issues on arrival.

Pitched up eventually.

We had issues with our children being swore at at the playground by a group of older children, but we were convinced by now the wardens would be of no assistance so had to sort out ourselves.

The Playground is located at one end of the site and does not have regular adult passers by to moderate behaviour (suggestion for improvement)

The toilet blocks are closed for an hour each morning (male and female rather than staggered to reduce to 1/2 hour) for cleaning at a time to suit the wardens with much discussion amongst campers.

Mobile coverage was none existent and site wifi very fickle and slow (£2. 50 a day)

The site has a general demeanour of being very regimented with a more elderly clientèle.

The Good

The site is located next to a lovely beach with even better beaches nearby.

The Sports bar nearby provides a more lively environment to watch the Olympics with reasonable food and prices. They also hire out paddle boards kayaks etc.

Toilet blocks were clean with good facilities and no queuing (except during cleaning periods).

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campercat76 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights in May half term and wished we could've stayed for longer! The location is great. We were able to explore lots of the beautiful coastline with ease and loved how close it was to the beach (although it was too chilly to really make the most of it whilst we were there). The site itself was pleasant enough. It was peaceful (apart from the sheep in a field next to the campsite who did not stop baa-ing during the night or day!) with good size pitches. The toilets and showers were extremely clean, as you would expect from a club site. There is a small playground at the site but it is fairly limited. The only downside for us really was that we had to have a hard standing pitch as the grass pitches were not yet open. We couldn't really see why they weren't open as it was the very end of May and the grass wasn't waterlogged. We never choose hard standing pitches so had to buy rock pegs to get our awning pegged out. Other than that it was a great site that we would definitely return to!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 125 reviews from this member

This sheltered ½ miles long and narrow site is set at the bottom a very steep hill (90m climb in 1/3 mile) with (almost) direct access to the delightful Freshwater East bay.

140 pitch site has spacious pitches and two toilet blocks, with bizarrely only 2 wash up sinks, three WC’s, three showers male/female facilities per toilet area.

Best to stock up before arriving at the site as the nearest convenience Spar shop (very well stocked) is 2 ½ miles away (up said hill) at Lamphey, which also has a very good local bakers shop.

Good coastal walks to be had direct from the site and having climbed ‘cardiac hill’ very enjoyable cycling to be had along the quite county lanes.

No mobile phone reception at all on the site, but site has Wi-Fi and TV reception via plug in at EHU.

If you are looking for a peaceful site with access to a stunning Pembrokeshire bay you cannot go wrong with this site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jewelk01 2 reviews from this member

Fabulous site just a short distance from beach

Tried to book on line which showed no vacancies but when we phoned they were very helpful

There are only a few tent pitches which are on the access road and are quite narrow, so a bit noisy at night with cars coming in and out

The staff were lovely and all needs were catered for, lovely shower blocks, hot water day and night, and beautifully cleaned

A really friendly site which we will definitely return to

Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2459 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019