Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cae Mawr Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Marianglas > Cae Mawr Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Cae Mawr Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Llangefni Rd
Marianglas
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL73 8NY
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: 16/03 To 08/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: World master 2 reviews from this member

I was at this club site for the whole season, from march-october, on a grass seasonal pitch, the usual belk way to tour the country in my caravan. Just off the main road but with a bit of a long uphill drag to the site. I don't have a towing vehicle, so good public transport is vital for a 6-7 month stay and the bus shelter across the road just a mile from the site is very convenient. The site is very peaceful and well laid out as all caravan club sites always are. The wardens were very kind and helpful.

The lack of a shower block/laundry wasn't any great shakes, I took a bagful of laundry with me after the 3 week maximum stay, able to find good laundries at all the towns I visited. The wardens enabled me to have my smoking dome erected for the entire season to puff away at my pipe, moving it to one side to allow jimmy to mow the grass. There were the usual pesky campervans on occasion and drop kick dogs but never stopped me from having a good year on the site.

The site is very popular, being the only decent caravan site on angelsey, so I would advise peeps to book well in advance of a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wychwoodzippy 10 reviews from this member

A lovely site, in a lovely location with super helpful and friendly wardens. We intended to stay a few nights but extended our stay. I have rated the facilities low as this site has no toilet block or anywhere to wash clothes. The lack of toilet block doesn't bother us but if you are staying for more than a week somewhere to wash a few clothes or some fully services pitches would greatly improve the site. The site itself was clean and well kept. 20/25 minute walk down into Benlech and slightly less to the nearest beach and coast path. Great place for walkers. Fish and chips opposite Bengal Tiger excellent although the food from the Bengal Tiger itself isn't recommended.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Richardo Woody 2 reviews from this member

Quiet, well maintained Caravan Club site.

No toilet or shower facilities, but does have electric hook up.

Had full tv reception on a portable set top aerial (at least on our pitch).

Wifi available with payment.

Probably better for couples than families as not much to amuse children. No views or anything much around, you would need to drive out to visit beaches and attractions.

Good if you want to spend quiet time on Anglesey but not central for touring North Wales & Snowdonia.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alihari 8 reviews from this member

Relaxed laid back site and well cared for. Site was full whilst we were there and found other caravaners very friendly! Generally a sight for couples rather than families I would think. We parked close to the road which wasn't too noisy. Found a couple of dog walks on last evening which was a shame but to be honest we went to several local dog friendly beaches which were 5 minutes drive away. Very good location for sightseeing north Wales as well as Anglesey. Will return as ticks a lot of boxes for us.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boltmaker 2 reviews from this member

Second year running on this site which is great for couples. Very clean, and this year with a new friendly warden. No toilet block but does that matter when you have your own facilities, and as a bonus there is a pub/restaurant at reasonable prices virtually at the entrance to the site, and the locals are friendly. Angelsey is a beautiful Island with plenty of beautiful scenery. Also the North Wales coast is within easy reach. A great site to visit.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynne215 2 reviews from this member

This is a well cared for site with pleasant pitches. It has easy access. There are no toilet facilities, but water is close at hand and there are electric hookups. The wardens are always very pleasant and helpful. Anglesey is a lovely island with its own pace of life. There are plenty of good eating establishments, and lots of beaches. The mainland is easy to get to with plenty of site seeing and sport related activities. Llandudno has a good shopping centre, as well as beach and entertainment.

I would highly recommend this site for some peace and quiet.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stef and mandy 21 reviews from this member

Easy to find on the Island, and has a really well groomed look about it. Everything in/on the site is clean, and the grass and planting look fabulous.

The wardens are very friendly and helpful, however if you are new to touring like we are, you may want to speak to them before you travel, as they are on site a couple of hours in the morning, and a couple more later in the afternoon.

We arrived at lunchtime and could not get the hook-up to work! As there were no wardens, and typical of a club site, a helpful neighbour explained that you had to turn the plug in the socket, and that did the trick.

In season presume that the site will be busy, and therefore you may end up on an uneven pitch - you will need blocks for under your steadies. Even though the site was busy it was very quiet.

For fuel and food, there is a garage five minutes drive towards Bangor with a large well stocked licensed store attached.

The beaches close by are to die for and dog friendly. We will be going back - soon!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rebzoe 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site very well presented. Site seems quiet even when busy. No toilet block or play area so although children are welcome, families tend to use the other C Club site just up the road. Decent friendly local pub at the entrance to the site and great beaches at Ligwy, Benllech and Red Wharf Bay all nearby. Easy access to shops etc, Co-op and Spar within 2 miles, Asda and Aldi in Llangefni (8 miles). Don't miss visits to Beaumaris, Amlwch copper mine, Cemaes Bay and try a boat trip around Puffin Island. Oh and by the way, 'The Wardens' are excellent!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tim and Cary 60 reviews from this member

We spent 10 nights at Cae Mawr CC site during the Easter holidays, 2010.

We found the site quiet and pleasant and well-located close to the main road for travelling around. The new wardens are very friendly and helpful. Nearby Benllech was handy for a spot of food shopping and fish and chips one night. We stayed on pitch 12, on the left between the 2 main pitch areas. We chose that pitch as it faced east and I wanted to try out our new, to us, satellite system - it worked very well when I finally got the signal! Although we are not great TV watchers it was good to have the satellite option as the weather was NOT good.

Over our 10 days there we experienced rain, sleet, snow and high winds. In fact for the last couple of days we took down the satellite tripod as the winds were gusting to gale force and 2 of our neighbours 'lost' their awnings - we still had the freeview box and the 'van's aerial which worked fine. Although the weather was changeable we did have some sunny spells.

There was a pub adjacent to the site entrance but we did not try it. There a few shops including a couple of small supermarkets and a chip shop in

We, and Max the collie, enjoyed several coastal walks. We walked north from Moelfre along the coastal path. One evening we walked from the car park in Newborough Forest along the beach to Abermenai point with the mountains of Snowdonia a SNOWY backdrop. Our best day weather-wise was Easter Sunday when we walked from the car park at Newborough to Llanddwyn Island which we thoroughly explored and then enjoyed a picnic lunch sitting on a deserted beach. We, also, drove out to Beaumaris where we enjoyed a walk along the seafront and pier although it was cold and windy. We, also, visited the market at Llangefni, which has a good range of shops including Aldi and Lidl stores.

We really prefer sites with a bit more of a view, preferably sea or lake, than Cae Mawr, but given the windy weather it's sheltered position was a bonus.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wychwoodzippy 10 reviews from this member

A lovely well kept and peaceful site which was within walking distance (about 40 mins via the short cut) of Benllech. Benllech has everything you could need and the beaches are lovely. Wonderful walking around the site and proximity to Snowdon (about 20 miles) a plus.

Negatives: pub at entrance to site didn't allow dogs inside so not possible to sample the food.

Site warden rang us 5mins before we were due to leave home to tell us quite brusquely that the hardstanding that we thought we had booked back in March would not be available due to it being Peak Season. There were at least 3 hard standings available when we arrived and when we left on Tuesday so still not clear why they are not allocated on a first come first served basis. Still we found a lovely site down the road where we will be able to book a hardstanding even in Peak Season.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Marianglas      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1260 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019