Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gowerton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Swansea > Gowerton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Gowerton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Pont Y Cob Road
Gowerton
Swansea
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
SA4 3QP
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 128
Open: 16/03/2022 to 05/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 91 reviews from this member

 Really welcoming wardens, a good mix of grass and hardstanding pitches. Usual standard of shower/toilet block. Be aware of the approach instructions regarding height and width restrictions on approach roads.

If you go to Rhossili beach be aware that the road goes directly into a caravan park/camp site/car park all owned by same company.

Parking cost £7 for any length of stay but cannot stay overnight (they have a campsite for that). We would have spent about £20 on lunch but after having to pay £7 just to park we made our own lunch - their loss.

Port Eynon has parking for £1. 50 per hour but the beach is disappointing and the cafe was shut. Put us off going around the Gower so didn't get to the Mumbles or Three Cliffs Bay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: RodMS 2 reviews from this member

 Decent site booked at the last minute. Very accommodating when I needed to change dates. Was a little wary based on some of the other reviews about the warden, facilities and road noise etc but it was unfounded.

Location was ok to get to all the beaches on the Gower plus those up the coast on the mainland coast. Wife and daughter and I had no issues with toilets so not sure what all the other reviews were moaning about lack of toilets.

Me thinks they are just trying to cause trouble. Wardens were perfectly fine and polite. Everywhere was very clean and plenty of service points.

Barriers prevent unauthorised access of vehicles on and off site. Someone was moaning about people accessing the site from the lay-by on the road but this is nonsense.

They would have to traverse 5ft high weeds and brambles and a stream and then a wire fence.

There is a little road noise but nothing major that you should worry about. We stayed on pitch 127 which was near the exit which was lovely and quiet. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Keefysher 19 reviews from this member

 Just had a week here, what a super site, lots of grass pitches with plenty of room to orientate nose in to overlook the estuary and take in some super sunsets. Not particularly full considering first week of school summer holidays.

Wardens very helpful, the info envelope with clearly printed details on the outside explained things in respect of changes to procedures whilst Wales has different Covid rules to Engerland.

The bins are at the site entrance /exit, so no real hardship to take a wander to comply with the requirements, although some campers couldn't be bothered to help out by dumping bagged waste in the otherwise taped off bin areas.

Only one small q for the gents as I was late getting up one morning, but no hardship to wait in a line of 3. On holiday not a timetable after all. Good recommendations from the wardens for places to go to, local fish and chip shop as the mobile chippy can't visit due to Wales restrictions, local chinese that delivers to site is well worth it.

Telephoning the wardens as destructions always met with friendly helpful advice. There were 2 security people on duty overnight whilst we were there, undertaking a patrol around the site several times each night.

Lots of places to go to for days out. We went as far afield as Tenby, Aberdare, Bridge End, Rhosilli, Mumbles, Three Cliffs bay, Swansea waterfront. Well worth the journey and will definitely return.

Thanks to the site team for making our holiday great. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 49 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for five nights. We received a very warm welcome - usual Caravan Club standards of large pitches and the shower/toilet blocks were open and immaculate.

The access road was single lane but we did not have any problems, although we did not travel in rush hour! The main road had cycle paths on either side, so no problem when out walking.

Excellent cut through into the playing park where dogs are welcome - they only ask that people clear up after them. This area has the third highest tidal range in the world, and it is quite interesting to watch the river outside the campsite flowing one way and then the other. This road does flood at most high tides.

We visited several areas of this stunning coastline, including Three Cliffs Bay and Rhossili where the beaches were so huge you barely bumped into a soul. Our collie had the time of his life racing around and chasing seagulls. Mewslade Bay near Rhossili is well worth a visit just to see the tidal range.

Thoroughly recommend this site, and would love to return. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Sianha 1 review from this member

 A very enjoyable and peaceful stay. Lovely well maintained site with level pitches.

We had a gravel pitch (27) which has the sun on it all day and evening.

The toilets and showers, dish washing area is all immaculate.

The site felt very relaxing and was secure with barriers and a gate to the playing fields over to the village which is a pleasant walk with the dog. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Campsite10 11 reviews from this member

 We stay at Gowerton caravan site in Swansea every year and have always had a positive experience.

This is one of my favourite sites as it is always very quiet and has a great location, which is a quick drive away from the Swansea city centre and also is very close to the beach.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The facilities are always clean and well maintained by the staff. This site is suitable for people of all ages and is especially perfect for families.

The cost of this site is cheap considering the amount this site offers.

I would highly recommend this caravan and camping site to everyone! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Soulman66 1 review from this member

 Booked on the site as we were participating in a sponsored Walk around The Mumbles, we stayed for three nights. Absolutely fantastic site, professionally run packed full of quality high standard amenities.

Every part of the site and it's facilities is immaculate from the toilet blocks to the pitches.

The site is set in beautiful surroundings and all the staff we interacted with were friendly, helpful, cheerful and efficient.

Use a Map and not a SAT Nav to guide you around on Trips Out. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Touring couple n pe 3 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have stayed a Gowerton and well worth the return visit.

The site was immaculate as usual, the amenities block warm and clean and the wardens friendly helpful and chatty.

We took our dogs with us and the surrounding areas provide plenty of dog friendly beaches. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 138 reviews from this member

 Lovely site – awful location!

Usual high CC standard although toilets are dated, large spacious flat pitches mainly grass. Very friendly and helpful wardens, and Friday/Saturday fish and chip shop orders taken for delivery to site by local chippy.

However site is accessed ¼ mile from B4295 from a local single track road (without footpath) and used as a rabbit run by locals who have total lack of concerns for pedestrians of cyclist using the road during rush hour! The site does have a rear gate affording pedestrian’s access to Gowerton without risking life and limb walking along the road (worth noting).

A traffic free cycle route is accessed ¾ mile from the site (cycle route 4) and affords an easy 5 mile tarmacked ride along the former railway line through the Clyne valley to Swansea Bay, the Mumbles and Swansea.

Gowerton has a few shops including a Tesco local, a couple of pubs and takeaways/eateries. Sainsbury’s, Asda, Aldi can be found 2 miles away at Gorseinon.

Overall found Gowerton and North Gower unremarkable, problematic with the traffic and will not be revisiting; the site is however good and would not be such a problem is you have a car/motorised transport to use in the area!

Southern Gower wins anytime – CC could do with a site in the South! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandy Harris 9 reviews from this member

 We arrived in sun and chose a pitch away from the road noise as advised by another reviewer - a little trek to the loos but you can't have it all. Having mentioned the road noise I would say that it was only heard at times not continuous, it really was a peaceful site in the main. Very friendly wardens lovely dog walk together with nearby gate to playing fields (dog friendly) and directions to an express Tesco/garage and to the local pub and shops. Excellent Sunday roast at The Welcome to Gowerton, friendly pet shop in the same road. I'm an avid geocacher and therefore love to explore all local footpaths. There's a walk the wardens were unaware of out the site turn right, the bridge is narrow cars only and turn left, approx 400 yds on the right is a little used footpath past a house and through some gates over a railway line and bridge over the nearby main road. You then come to some fields and climb all the way up with some lovely views over the salt marshes. The path comes out between two houses opposite a Porterhouse steak house. We didn't explore any further but you could. Halfway up the hill the bridle path goes in two directions lots to explore there too.

The site is right on the cycle paths and keen cyclists could cover miles here.

Impressed with the grass pitches in particular as they are so spacious.

Two shower blocks - each with a number of showers but each block has one shower with a detachable shower head ideal if you just want a hair wash and if it's free. Clean and warm and never had to queue when we were there.

A little surprised that Brecon recycled everything and here everything but glass was recycled?

Lovely site for exploring as we did, yes there was a little road noise but nothing like Brecon (although that site was lovely too).

Nice play area for the children and pleased to see that it catered for little ones too. Better facilities over the playing fields at the nearby sports centre which looked like it had recently been opened and a new school was under construction. Although we didn't have any little people to test the child friendliness on, I'd say that having the playing fields next door is a major bonus as they could play games let off steam and ride bikes to their hearts content over there!

Very well run site the tubs of herbs was a lovely touch many thanks. We would stay here again although we'd prefer to be nearer the beaches next time we visit. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gowerton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gowerton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gowerton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swansea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1882 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement