Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gowerton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Site Reviews

Gowerton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Pont Y Cob Road
Gowerton
Swansea
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
SA4 3QP
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 128
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (6) and Video

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Soulman66 1 review from this member

Booked on the site as we were participating in a sponsored Walk around The Mumbles, we stayed for three nights. Absolutely fantastic site, professionally run packed full of quality high standard amenities. Every part of the site and it's facilities is immaculate from the toilet blocks to the pitches. The site is set in beautiful surroundings and all the staff we interacted with were friendly, helpful, cheerful and efficient. Use a Map and not a SAT Nav to guide you around on Trips Out.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Touring couple n pe 3 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have stayed a Gowerton and well worth the return visit.

The site was immaculate as usual, the amenities block warm and clean and the wardens friendly helpful and chatty.

We took our dogs with us and the surrounding areas provide plenty of dog friendly beaches.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 119 reviews from this member

Lovely site – awful location!

Usual high CC standard although toilets are dated, large spacious flat pitches mainly grass. Very friendly and helpful wardens, and Friday/Saturday fish and chip shop orders taken for delivery to site by local chippy.

However site is accessed ¼ mile from B4295 from a local single track road (without footpath) and used as a rabbit run by locals who have total lack of concerns for pedestrians of cyclist using the road during rush hour! The site does have a rear gate affording pedestrian’s access to Gowerton without risking life and limb walking along the road (worth noting).

A traffic free cycle route is accessed ¾ mile from the site (cycle route 4) and affords an easy 5 mile tarmacked ride along the former railway line through the Clyne valley to Swansea Bay, the Mumbles and Swansea.

Gowerton has a few shops including a Tesco local, a couple of pubs and takeaways/eateries. Sainsbury’s, Asda, Aldi can be found 2 miles away at Gorseinon.

Overall found Gowerton and North Gower unremarkable, problematic with the traffic and will not be revisiting; the site is however good and would not be such a problem is you have a car/motorised transport to use in the area!

Southern Gower wins anytime – CC could do with a site in the South!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandy Harris 9 reviews from this member

We arrived in sun and chose a pitch away from the road noise as advised by another reviewer - a little trek to the loos but you can't have it all. Having mentioned the road noise I would say that it was only heard at times not continuous, it really was a peaceful site in the main. Very friendly wardens lovely dog walk together with nearby gate to playing fields (dog friendly) and directions to an express Tesco/garage and to the local pub and shops. Excellent Sunday roast at The Welcome to Gowerton, friendly pet shop in the same road. I'm an avid geocacher and therefore love to explore all local footpaths. There's a walk the wardens were unaware of out the site turn right, the bridge is narrow cars only and turn left, approx 400 yds on the right is a little used footpath past a house and through some gates over a railway line and bridge over the nearby main road. You then come to some fields and climb all the way up with some lovely views over the salt marshes. The path comes out between two houses opposite a Porterhouse steak house. We didn't explore any further but you could. Halfway up the hill the bridle path goes in two directions lots to explore there too.

The site is right on the cycle paths and keen cyclists could cover miles here.

Impressed with the grass pitches in particular as they are so spacious.

Two shower blocks - each with a number of showers but each block has one shower with a detachable shower head ideal if you just want a hair wash and if it's free. Clean and warm and never had to queue when we were there.

A little surprised that Brecon recycled everything and here everything but glass was recycled?

Lovely site for exploring as we did, yes there was a little road noise but nothing like Brecon (although that site was lovely too).

Nice play area for the children and pleased to see that it catered for little ones too. Better facilities over the playing fields at the nearby sports centre which looked like it had recently been opened and a new school was under construction. Although we didn't have any little people to test the child friendliness on, I'd say that having the playing fields next door is a major bonus as they could play games let off steam and ride bikes to their hearts content over there!

Very well run site the tubs of herbs was a lovely touch many thanks. We would stay here again although we'd prefer to be nearer the beaches next time we visit.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Amjnj 10 reviews from this member

Lovely site, very flat with big pitches. Well kept and spotless facilities. Great kids park, which our children enjoyed, also as with other Caravan Club sites, the Children were given an activity pack and they had to work out the clues. Which they really enjoyed. Short walk away is a Tesco and a few eating places. Had a lovely Sunday Carvary at Welcome to Gower pub. Will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nora 8 reviews from this member

We liked this site very much. I felt it had a spacious feel to it and depending on where you pitched it had a nice open outlook with some lovely views.

The toilets were just like other cc sites that we have been to so we weren't disapointed. It was bank holiday weekend so was busy but we still had a nice pitch on grass. The hard standings seem to have been improved along with the roads around the site.

Some of the pitches may have been a little far away from the toilet block but we were happy.

The gate to the field at the back of the site is popular with dog walkers. We used this to walk to the local shop. A Tesco express. We also found Forestfach a shopping retail park that had most things plus a huge Tesco. This was a five or ten minute drive.

There are some excellent cycle paths near the site also along the coastal path.

We will return and I would have liked to stay longer.

Don't go into Swansea on a Sunday. We did this by train but it was like a ghost town with no buses running Anywhere.

Caswell bay was gorgeous again buses do run there or the coastal path is well worth walking from Swansea bay or the mumbles.

There is a harvester just a five minute drive away but we went to a pub I think it was called The Gower. Excellent food. Freshly cooked. This was a 20 minute walk across the field from the site. A site not far from where we live but we will return. My 8 out of 10 for location was due to the narrow road close to the site even though we had no problems we had to take care. Plus value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lunatics 9 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a few nights at this site. Caught the end of Hurricane Bertha, we had a lovely sunny pitch but were very exposed so much so that we had to take our awning down. This is a lovely site never the less. We were a little disappointed with the cleanliness of showers/toilets, the drains in showers were smelly and the toilets were often grubby, pooh on seats for example, they didn't seem to be checked during day very often. Not as spotless as other caravan club sites we have been to. The Gower coast is lovely but Gowerton itself is very run down not worth walking into. The dog walk was very good and so was the park next door. Glad we went to visit but won't return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DoogieD 1 review from this member

Lovely site, very friendly & extremely helpful staff on site. Only word of warning I would give is make sure your bike is securely locked every night. Mine got stolen last night from behind our awning (they moved the other bikes off of my mine, before pinching it. And I was asleep in the awning at the time!)

My own fault I know, but thought I'd let you know.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Slapheadgeoff 8 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. It was easy to get to from jctn 47 M4, we were made very welcome by the wardens, who explained the lay out of the site and suggested that we might like to pitch at the back of the site to be near the gate to the dog walk, but did say that we could pitch where we liked. It's the first time, ever, that I have been on a perfectly flat pitch and didn't need any adjustments to get a level bed. I liked the key entry security and the key to allow access to the local sports field where I could walk the dogs.

The showers were spotless at all times, even at the weekend when the site was full, and there was always plenty of hot water. The whole site was kept very clean, I never saw the bins anywhere near full, and they seemed a very busy team cutting grass etc, but with time for a cheery chat if you wanted to.

As it was Father's Day my daughter wanted to visit and the wardens couldn't have been more helpful in welcoming her and her family to the site.

Gowerton had lots going for it with a small Tesco/garage, good chip shop, a great Indian takeaway and the Welcome to Gower pub which does very good food at reasonable prices.

We also found Sunnyhaven Caravans near by who were very helpful when we needed an awning light.

We visited Pembrey Park which is good value at £5 per car with lovely walks and lots for children to do, the woodland walk is well mapped and directions very clear.

We also did the Rhossili Beach walk, a beautiful sandy beach with millions of razor shells all over it, with a handy car park at Llangennith, and the Mumbles beach, an enormous stretch of sand at low tide (and nothing at high tide !) which also had plenty of car parks around.

Would we return ? Yes, definitely, probably this summer.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campervantal 1 review from this member

This was our first ever stay in our first ever van. We'd previously had to postpone our journey due to a weather warning and were advised it would be ok to visit the next weekend. The person I spoke to on the phone was really helpful when I explained why we would be postponing. On arrival at the site, we found the reception to be well spaced out and clearly very well maintained. Booking in was easy and the receptionist explained how the site worked and the pitches that were available. She tried to explain how to park at the pitch but we ended up getting it wrong. We asked reception for advice and 2 members of staff walked over to help us. Again they were very friendly and happy to help. The facilities at the site are spotless and again well maintained. There is also a playground (more suited to younger children) and a tourist information cabin with information about the park and places to visit. Tesco express is a 10 minute walk away. All in all, we had a really lovely weekend at a great site and will be booking again soon. One word description?: Classy. :)

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Glamorgan   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1956 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019