Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kinlochewe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Achnasheen > Kinlochewe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Kinlochewe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Kinlochewe
Achnasheen
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV22 2PA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 61
Open: 23/03 To 08/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

You know what to expect from a C&M Club site and this site is no exception. Great facilities, drying room which the wet camping cyclists found invaluable, spotless toilets and showers. Small shop on site but garage next door also has a small shop. All hardstanding level pitches. Dog walking area. Great location for some serious walking or just exploring Bienn Eighe. Friendly, helpful wardens.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We have passed by this site a few times, never really thinking of it being a good place to stay.

This time we called in and were very pleasantly surprised. Pitches are very large, all on hard-standing gravel with ehu. There is a couple of water empty / fill points and a motorhome service point. It does all look a little stark with large areas of gravel but with torrents of rain it was preferable to grass pitches for sure.

Showers and loos immaculate, showers a bit new fangled with a press button that is not an actual button - anyway they work well, plenty of hot water, good pressure and you don't have to re-press for a couple of minutes.

The village had more about it than we had thought, a couple of cafes and a shop. A few good walks and the stunning loch just up the road.

There is now wifi on site, a good strong signal. There is a pot wash room and a laundry - both fabulous for the campers in tents (this site does take tents).

Wardens do a sterling job, a ready smile, loads of knowledge of the area and keep the site brilliantly.

We visited the quirky Whistle Stop Cafe - beautifully fitted out, lovely meals and delicious soya lattes :)

We are members of the club - so paid £18 for 2 adults and electric - bargain for this area of the country.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jamtart6 1 review from this member

Excellent site very clean annd tidy. Good launderette and tumble dryer also a drying room for your wet clothes. Dishwashing room. Toilets and showers clean and tidy. Very friendly couple who own the site and very helpful. Will defo go again if we are in the region.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JandB 15 reviews from this member

We hadn't intended visiting this site but we were driven inland from a north west coastal tour by heavy rain and gales that were the strongest we'd encountered for years. So driving to Kinlochewe even we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful scenery despite the rain and low cloud. It was the end of September so we had fingers crossed that the midge season had ended as reviews for the site often mentioned that they were problematic. Midges don't seem to always understand that beginning of June to end of September is their alloted eating time and not before or after. However despite an even bigger storm predicted for the night of our arrival at Kinlochewe (hence our retreat inland), the usual “lull” of calm and rain before a storm didn't mean we were eaten alive by midges. Thank heavens this year they seemed to have retired from their human feasting a little earlier.

The site is right in the middle of the small village of Kinlochewe which is very handy for using the local amenities. There is a small hotel/pub, a shop/post office, a petrol station/shop and an excellent quirky cafe called The Whistle Stop Cafe where we ate a couple of times. The site itself is nicely laid out and afforded us more shelter than any on the coast could have done, although that night was still a very stormy one indeed. The wardens were simply excellent. I always think they have a very difficult task and need a sense of humour and excellent interpersonal skills to do the job well. When we arrived I was given a cheery greeting from Norrie who was striding purposefully across to the laundry with a hammer in hand. When I queried him, he simply said the tumble drier had broken and he was going to fix it. My silent but quizzical expression prompted a further explanation from him that first he was going to threaten it back into use, and if that didn't work the hammer gave him a second albeit more brutal option. We never did find out which approach worked.

The toilet and shower blocks were in excellent condition, they looked as if they had recently been refurbished and were kept scrupulously clean and warm. The whole site is level and set out on a gravel which drains well (a pleasant change from the mud bath we left the day before on the coast). The minimum standard that we have all come to expect from Caravan Club (CC) sites is refreshing and welcoming when we come to use them. We probably use private sites about 75% of the time, purely because there are more of them in the areas we visit, but so many times with those you pay a lot more than the CC club sites for greatly inferior facilities, even taking into account the CC membership fee.

The day we left Kinlochewe calm had returned to the north west of Scotland and the journey back to the west coast

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kittybeldie 6 reviews from this member

Nice site. Good location to enjoy the beauty of the locality. Inverewe Gardens worth a visit and the beach at Gairloch is very nice on a sunny day. Will probably be back for another visit at some point.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thormoore84 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. Arrived after a long day of motorcycle riding across Applecross from Fort William, made very welcome upon arrival, even though we had not booked, nor were we members. There are only a couple of places to pitch for tents, the first of which was attempted but the ground was rocky, so moved to the second spot as this was also free (no other tents there at all).

Low cost as this was a mid-week tent only for one night. The facilities were excellent. Toilets and showers in a heated and exceptionally clean block. Lovely hot showers, hair dryer, and lots of other very friendly visitors all in motor homes. There was also a laundry and drying room available. Local cafe two minutes down the road, which was recommended though not visited.

Lovely and quiet overnight, slept very well.

Midges galore however, so do take repellent and face nets if you don't want to be eaten alive.

Would definitely visit again, but probably try to avoid midge season!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuventure 4 reviews from this member

The wardens were welcoming and pleasant. The facilities clean and warm. Well laid out site with greenery between pitching blocks. Great views in every direction. There ia a cafe and general store near the entrance and a pub that does good food a five minute walk away. A really good walkers site. Television reception is analogue and aerials have to be plugged in near the electricity supply, a long aerial lead is necessary.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marcing 2 reviews from this member

Very clean and friendly place. Some hotel rooms are not so clean like the toilet/shower facilities.

Staff is very friendly. And the whole place is quiet and situated in the valley where almost from any side are nice views on the mountains.

The only negative point is that they accept new guests until 8PM.

I highly recommend this place if you are on the way to Applecross.

Village is small and quiet but there is also nice and warm pub.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waterman 23 reviews from this member

Site - it is on naturally stony ground with very little grass, so doesn't look that attractive, pitches are set in several enclosures separated by shrubs. Easy to find, directly off the main road, with a pricey garage next door. Barrier at entrance which is shut from 6pm - 8am. Surrounded by hills, good views and walks right from the door. Couple of little shops in the village, and the Whistle Stop Cafe, out of the site, turn right and right again, looks like a large shed, but you have to try it, great food and dog friendly.

Wardens - pleasant and friendly

Dog Walk - nice little walk on site, a meandering path, with bridges over a little stream into a wooded area. Can be boggy.

Washroom - In a portacabin, very good and always clean, but problems with ventilation. Very modern showers with hose and pretty red and blue lights for hot and cold. Ample size. Condensation is a problem, after showering all the walls are wet, even those outside the shower, the floor outside the shower gets very wet as well, towels hung on the hook were damp. Every time I went in my glasses steamed up immediately.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Neil and lena 50 reviews from this member

We used this C. C site while on a Grand Tour of the West Coast of Scotland and although we did not book in advance there were plenty of pitches available.

The Wardens were very friendly and advised us what pitch would be best to get a satellite signal.

The site facility's are up to the usual Caravan Club standards and the Shower / Toilet block is in

A log cabin style building which has digital control showers which were excellent

The village has petrol station which also sells a varied selection of fresh foods and is a bit pricy for both fuel and food stuff but you come to expect this in the Highlands of Scotland.

The Local Hotel which is 500 yards from the site does excellent evening meal's and serves a good pint.

We drove to Applecross and Torridon which is worth a visit and is an easy days drive around the peninsular. Saw several Red deer on the return journey to the site but alas no Golden Eagles although they are in the area.

The site is very close to Loch Maree which has to be one of the most spectacular Scottish Loch in the Highlands.

We will return again perhaps in 2012

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4894 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019