Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pandy Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Pandy Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Pandy Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Pandy
Abergavenny
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP7 8DR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 16/03/2024 to 29/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
                9/10 from 36 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 76 reviews from this member

 First visit to Pandy campsite. Tried to stay here last year but it was shut due to refurbishment.

Site and pitches are flat, hardstanding's spacious and tidy although its clear due to the churned up green areas that either the internal roads are too narrow or there had been poor driving of their units by some members.

Wardens were very welcoming and helpful, and the facilities were recently refurbished and spotless. Had a lovely meal at the Old Pandy Inn, less than 100 yds from site, also recently re-opened.

Had a lovely cycle ride to Llanthony Priory on cycle route 46, where's there is a lovely cafť. Took the bus to Abergavenny and to Hereford, from stops not far from the Old Pandy Inn, both towns are well worth a visit.

Didn't do the place justice by only staying 4 nights, so will have to come back. 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crazy Maisie 33 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely newly refurbished site in a valley, beautiful site and location. I believe there are lots of walks from here (we didn't have time to sample on this occasion).

Very friendly and welcoming warden, the atmosphere on the site was also very laid back and friendly. Facilities modern and spotlessly clean.

A railway line runs alongside this site and through trains can be a bit of a sudden noise but they are not too frequent.

This was the first of 14 sites we pitched on as part of a tour of Wales and it was memorably one of the best. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 57 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite close to Abergavenny (the town being an increasingly rare example of a thriving high street with many independent shops and cafes).

Also within an hours drive of many other places of interest including the national park. Immaculate grounds, nestled between a river and the train line.

Newly reopened after refurbishment, the facilities are high quality. A newly installed bike maintainance station is a brilliant addition. The wardens are friendly and helpful.

The nearest Pub the Pandy Inn is currently closed for refurbisment, there are several others within 2 miles. We had curry delivered from

The Bayleaf which was plentiful and very tasty. If you are bothered by train noise this probably isn't the site for you, If that doesn't bother you- then I highly recommend this gem of a site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jayarbee 38 reviews from this member

 This was our second trip here after a break of 6 years and it is likely we will return.

After a previous moan about CAMC hiding their signs Pandyís sign is out and proud and easy to see. What you need on a road of fast moving traffic.

Easy sweep in to new arrivals.

Lovely lady on reception helped with what pitches were available.

Found a nice pitch by the river and soon set up. Plenty of room for Ďvan and large awning with car alongside.

There is a card operated barrier in and out but it isnít a problem.

This is a CAMC site so what you would expect. Always clean and tidy.

Lavatory block always clean and pleasant to use. Only three lavatory cubicles and showers on the menís side, not a lot I thought, but I never had to wait. Usual problem with CAMC Shower cubicles, obviously designed with hobbits in mind.

Then thereís the trains. They are there, they can be loud. There not that frequent and after a couple of days you donít notice them. Certainly didnít keep us awake. I couldnít hear them over the wifeís snoring.

Thereís a Waitrose in Abergavenny but if you turn right onto the main road after a couple of minutes you come to Llanvihangel Crucorney (love saying that) youíll find the Skirrid Mountain garage and shop. Milk, veg, papers and most of what you want.

Weíre walkers but our week was the week of the heatwave. No way could we be schlepping about with rucksacks and boots in 1, 000, 000degrees so we didnít do much but there are flat walks on the canal. However this is a lovely area and walks are available at reception.

Iím sure we will return but not in summer.

You can even hear the sea lions at night. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 57 reviews from this member

 Excellent stay as usual, facilities spotless, covid restrictions worked well and abided by, which was appreciated.

Trains passing were quite noisy but gone in seconds. Good pub outside site, and a couple of others within a few miles.

We walked to the Skirrid inn using the back road. A pleasant 2 milish walk, and well worth it to see the "claimed" oldest pub in Wales and possibly oldest untouched in the UK 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 74 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night as a stopover and what a lovely little site. The wardens were so friendly and helpful.

The facilities are dated and there is a train line next to the site but this all added to its charm. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 124 reviews from this member

 I can't believe it's 5 years since we were last here (see review below).

The first thing I should mention is that the wardens, Bill & Julie are the most friendly people you could meet and they worked so hard keeping the site pristine and everyone happy.

Pandy isn't normally full during August as it's not really a place you take the kids to, but with everyone trying to get away after the lockdown, it was full to brimming.

The Covid regulations were perfect on site with everyone getting their own wristband to hang up outside the shower block and with only two people allowed inside at one time it was fine with no real queuing problems.

It was baking hot the whole time we were there and most people were content to sit and enjoy the sun. However, we always cycle from the site as we love the hills and managed to ride over the Gospel Pass one day and into the Olchon Valley on another.

Thankfully, the excellent shop in Longtown was open and we bought provisions each time we passed (in the form of ice creams, lollies, Apple Juice and beer!).

We sat outside 'till late watching the sun go down over the hills beyond and enjoyed the colourful skies until dark.

On our last evening there was an almighty storm, with torrential rain, thunder and lightning for 4 hours. The next morning, all was calm with no sign of any soggy pitches or flooding.

We won't leave it 5 years until our next visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sblawson 3 reviews from this member

 This is one of the most beautiful Caravan club sites I've what been on. It has a small intimate feel to it. More like a basics site. The shower block is small but adequate, I've not yet had to queue even though there are only 3 showers. The surrounding scenery is breathtakingly beautiful. There's a decent pub The Pandy Inn literally 100 yards away. The dog walk is very good, following the banks of the Afon Monnow for a short distance, it's not very big but good enough. Now to the trains! Yes you notice them but they run very swiftly past the site, they're on welded rails so there's no clattering of wheels on track. I'd describe the noise as more the noise of a 'squall' building up and then disappearing just as quickly as it started. The Acid test. Would I return here again? I'm a heartbeat I would! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jayarbee 38 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this part of Wales so first visit to this site.

Easy to find and as stated below, nice big sweep in.

Lovely lady warden welcomed us and sorted us a nice pitch.

There is an electronic barrier with card entry/exit but it's not a problem at all.

It's a C. C. Site so no surprises. Kept very clean and tidy. Lavatory block always clean and pleasant but there were only three lavatories and showers in the gents side. Seemed a bit small for the size of the site but having said that I didn't find myself waiting.

Showers nice and hot and adjustable. My only real gripe is one that applies right across the club estate and that is the shower cubicles are built for three year olds. I'm not a small bloke and I have trouble.

Some of the pitches were small. Just room for 'van, awning and car squeezed on the front. A mix of hardstanding and grass.

Came back one day to find cones on either side of the pitch to stop me running over the grass but it was

A bit difficult to get in the space without going on the green bits so maybe something to look at.

We heard the dog walk is thought to be very good and adjacent is a big piece of green for the kids to run about in. Unfortunately some morons still let their dogs mess in the kids field.

So, these trains. They're there, they're loud, they're regular but not frequent. We pitched right next to

The track and I have to say by the end of the second day we were forgetting they were there. Not something to worry about really.

There is a Waitrose down at Abergavenny but if you turn right onto the main road, about 3 or 4 minutes down the road is Llanvihangel Crucorney. Turn right at the filter and sharp left and you come to the

Skirrid Mountain Garage with attached shop. Opens at 0700 for newspapers and also has veg, milk sandwiches and what you'd expect. Worth a look to save going all they way to Abergavenny.

I won't dwell on the surrounding area other that to say it's lovely. Sugar Loaf is a good climb with amazing views but it was thick mist at the top when we went and we couldn't see more than about five feet. Some walks from the site but a look at your O. S. Map will show you where to go.

To sum up, there may be a couple of minor niggles here but nothing to stop us going back.

You can even hear the sea-lions at night. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 93 reviews from this member

 Access to this site is very easy, the wide entrance is just 50m off the A465.

Current wardens are very pleasant and helpful. Booking in was stress free, hampered only by a few inconsiderate members who thought that the off site by 12 noon request didn't apply to them.

The site is a mix of hard standing and grass pitches. At the time of our visit the ground was dry and firm. The toilet block is a little dated, but is not tired and was kept spotlessly clean for the duration of our stay

The site is immaculate and very scenic, with the tranquillity being broken only by passing trains. This is a busy line, and if this is going to bother you, you'd be better off staying away. It didn't bother us much as we pitched riverside, but you cannot ignore it.

The site has no shop to speak of and the play area is a fenced off area of grass. The dog walk is great and offers a pleasant stroll for morning and evening necessities.

TV reception was good through our directional status ariel and we had reasonable 4G on EE, Tesco was ok for calls and texts only. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pandy Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pandy Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Pandy Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abergavenny      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12121 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement