Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pandy Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Pandy Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Pandy Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Pandy
Abergavenny
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP7 8DR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 16/03 To 29/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 82 reviews from this member

 I can't believe it's 5 years since we were last here (see review below).

The first thing I should mention is that the wardens, Bill & Julie are the most friendly people you could meet and they worked so hard keeping the site pristine and everyone happy.

Pandy isn't normally full during August as it's not really a place you take the kids to, but with everyone trying to get away after the lockdown, it was full to brimming.

The Covid regulations were perfect on site with everyone getting their own wristband to hang up outside the shower block and with only two people allowed inside at one time it was fine with no real queuing problems.

It was baking hot the whole time we were there and most people were content to sit and enjoy the sun. However, we always cycle from the site as we love the hills and managed to ride over the Gospel Pass one day and into the Olchon Valley on another.

Thankfully, the excellent shop in Longtown was open and we bought provisions each time we passed (in the form of ice creams, lollies, Apple Juice and beer!).

We sat outside 'till late watching the sun go down over the hills beyond and enjoyed the colourful skies until dark.

On our last evening there was an almighty storm, with torrential rain, thunder and lightning for 4 hours. The next morning, all was calm with no sign of any soggy pitches or flooding.

We won't leave it 5 years until our next visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sblawson 3 reviews from this member

 This is one of the most beautiful Caravan club sites I've what been on. It has a small intimate feel to it. More like a basics site. The shower block is small but adequate, I've not yet had to queue even though there are only 3 showers. The surrounding scenery is breathtakingly beautiful. There's a decent pub The Pandy Inn literally 100 yards away. The dog walk is very good, following the banks of the Afon Monnow for a short distance, it's not very big but good enough. Now to the trains! Yes you notice them but they run very swiftly past the site, they're on welded rails so there's no clattering of wheels on track. I'd describe the noise as more the noise of a 'squall' building up and then disappearing just as quickly as it started. The Acid test. Would I return here again? I'm a heartbeat I would! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jayarbee 29 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this part of Wales so first visit to this site.

Easy to find and as stated below, nice big sweep in.

Lovely lady warden welcomed us and sorted us a nice pitch.

There is an electronic barrier with card entry/exit but it's not a problem at all.

It's a C. C. Site so no surprises. Kept very clean and tidy. Lavatory block always clean and pleasant but there were only three lavatories and showers in the gents side. Seemed a bit small for the size of the site but having said that I didn't find myself waiting.

Showers nice and hot and adjustable. My only real gripe is one that applies right across the club estate and that is the shower cubicles are built for three year olds. I'm not a small bloke and I have trouble.

Some of the pitches were small. Just room for 'van, awning and car squeezed on the front. A mix of hardstanding and grass.

Came back one day to find cones on either side of the pitch to stop me running over the grass but it was

A bit difficult to get in the space without going on the green bits so maybe something to look at.

We heard the dog walk is thought to be very good and adjacent is a big piece of green for the kids to run about in. Unfortunately some morons still let their dogs mess in the kids field.

So, these trains. They're there, they're loud, they're regular but not frequent. We pitched right next to

The track and I have to say by the end of the second day we were forgetting they were there. Not something to worry about really.

There is a Waitrose down at Abergavenny but if you turn right onto the main road, about 3 or 4 minutes down the road is Llanvihangel Crucorney. Turn right at the filter and sharp left and you come to the

Skirrid Mountain Garage with attached shop. Opens at 0700 for newspapers and also has veg, milk sandwiches and what you'd expect. Worth a look to save going all they way to Abergavenny.

I won't dwell on the surrounding area other that to say it's lovely. Sugar Loaf is a good climb with amazing views but it was thick mist at the top when we went and we couldn't see more than about five feet. Some walks from the site but a look at your O. S. Map will show you where to go.

To sum up, there may be a couple of minor niggles here but nothing to stop us going back.

You can even hear the sea-lions at night. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 90 reviews from this member

 Access to this site is very easy, the wide entrance is just 50m off the A465.

Current wardens are very pleasant and helpful. Booking in was stress free, hampered only by a few inconsiderate members who thought that the off site by 12 noon request didn't apply to them.

The site is a mix of hard standing and grass pitches. At the time of our visit the ground was dry and firm. The toilet block is a little dated, but is not tired and was kept spotlessly clean for the duration of our stay

The site is immaculate and very scenic, with the tranquillity being broken only by passing trains. This is a busy line, and if this is going to bother you, you'd be better off staying away. It didn't bother us much as we pitched riverside, but you cannot ignore it.

The site has no shop to speak of and the play area is a fenced off area of grass. The dog walk is great and offers a pleasant stroll for morning and evening necessities.

TV reception was good through our directional status ariel and we had reasonable 4G on EE, Tesco was ok for calls and texts only. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 82 reviews from this member

 We decided to break our journey home by stopping at Pandy for a couple of nights and received a very friendly welcome for a change (our last two visits -with different wardens- were rather cold).

Anyway, got the last hardstanding pitch adjacent to the small river and enjoyed looking at the lovely autumn colours.

We had a reasonable meal in Pandy Inn the first night, but the second night it was very poor and they tried overcharging me by over a tenner. Very disappointing and I'm sad to say that it's getting worse every time we visit.

Despite the forecast, we had a lovely full day there and cycled up (and up) to the absolutely stunning Olchon Valley mountain road. It's a timeless place and one of Wales' secrets (oh damn, have I let the cat out of the bag?).

The only criticism I have on the site itself (and the railways didn't bother me) was that the shower water wasn't hot enough. You can always tell when it's not really hot when you walk in and find all the controls set to maximum!

All in all though, still a lovely site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Thomsr01 13 reviews from this member

 Having recently bought a motorhome, and joined the Caravan Club we decided to try a site specifically for designed for 'campers' like us. Beware, the sat nav takes you to the wrong place, but luckily we saw lots of other motorhomes taking the appropriate route and followed them.

An excellently maintained site, with a lovely stream, suitable for dogs running down one side. Lots of nice walks and a bus service that passed right outside every 2 hours (Abergaveny to Hereford).

My husband reckons the showers are the best he has ever utilised on a campsite, and the ability to put water in the tank of the motorhome was made very easy.

The people running the site very very helpful, a little note, for electric hook up twist until you hear the click!

The Old Pandy Inn, right on the doorstep is dog friendly, however, the food is a little overpriced for what you get.

Although only an hour away from where we live, I was surprised how lush, green and quiet the area was - people have mentioned the train track but it didn't disturb our sleep!

Well worth a visit, if only for the showers! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bonkers3 2 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our time at this site. Beautifully maintained grounds and shower facilities; very helpful wardens; great access to so many interesting places. Noise from passing trains can be disruptive in the middle of the night, but for us not a big deal.

We had some lovely days out in the Forest of Dean (Beechenhurst Lodge) and the local towns of Monmouth, Abergavenny and Hay on Wye. All have lots to offer. We'll definitely be back. It also helped us that there were some really nice children on the site: my daughter spent many happy hours with her new friends in the evenings.

Certainly our stay was helped by beautiful weather. Thoroughly enjoyed our trip. I'm sure we'll be back 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

 Used this site as a stop over on our way to South Wales, it's a very well kept site with excellent clean facilities & friendly wardens however there is not a lot in the immediate area except a pub across the road which did serve real ales and average (for the price) pub grub!

The big downside is the main line railway that runs alongside the site, quite high up and very busy ! The heavy freight trains at night quite literally 'shook me all night long' (sorry for the AC/DC pun) but it was a problem ! Don't think we will return here 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 Pandy is one of our favourite CC sites and we regularly use it as a stop-over on our way home to Cornwall.

This year we stayed two nights. Two very wet nights! We arrived at noon on the Friday so managed to bag ourselves a lovely big hardstanding (although part of it still flooded during the persistant rain!). Lovely, friendly wardens who gave us lots of useful local information.

Central coded washroom block, very clean at all times and the best power showers on any CC site!

The river runs at the edge of the site (fast flowing too!) and the train line runs on the opposite side. Quite a few trains during the day but never bothered us.

The Old Pandy Inn, just outside the site is lovely. We had a lovely meal on our first night, served by really friendly staff. Great real ales but rubbish cider (again. Wales needs to improve!). We also walked to the Park Hotel, a bit further up the main road. Wish we hadn't bothered, rubbish beer and cider and overpriced too!

We caught the bus into Abergavenny on the Saturday (in the torrential rain!). 5. 10 adult return so certainly not overpriced. Nice town for a wander (even in the rain!) with a regular weekend indoor market and a Wetherspoons (where we had lunch).

Great site, great wardens, great credit to the CC. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights during a tour of rural Wales and the west country, we were greeted in a friendly manner, the warden had an understanding of camper van issues and we were able to find a pitch that was not overshadowed by large caravan units often found on club sites. The site is exceptionally well kept all the facilities are really clean and tidy and the grounds are immaculate and pretty, with a nice short walk to the river bank on site. We could see & hear the trains although they didn't feel intrusive.

There are several nice pubs within walking distance. There are large supermarkets including Waitrose in Abergavenny which was camper van friendly. 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pandy Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pandy Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Pandy Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abergavenny      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1135 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement