Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wirral Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Merseyside > Wirral > Wirral Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Wirral Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Station Rd, Thurstaston
Wirral
Merseyside   (Browse area)
CH61 0HN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 65 Reviews
                8/10 from 65 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fi Muir 1 review from this member

 Stayed 1 night as going to a wedding nearby. Site ok, toilet/shower facilities in need of updating.

Lady warden was round at 10am with a flip chart the morning we were due to leave to tell us that the area nearby area (Iím sure she said the country park) about was going to get really busy at 12 and there was a raft of new arrivals due at 1pm, so we may want to think about the time we leave. It felt like passive aggressive pressure to get packed up and move off asap.

It made us uneasy enough that we left fairly soon after and would not return here which is a shame, as itís a beautiful part of the Wirral area to explore. In all our years of camping/motorhoming,

We have never experienced this before on any site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Vonnyb 3 reviews from this member

 This was our 3rd visit.

Whilst the staff couldnít have done any more the site is becoming noisy.

The toilet block seems to be a meeting point and telephone box especially at 10-11 pm at night.

This is no fault of the staff but phones, showers, emptying bins at 11pm at night, really, ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Frankl 1 review from this member

 Excellent site and facilities,

Ideal for our visit to the Open at Hoylake.

Lady on reception was very friendly and helpful.

Definitely recommend particularly for cycling and golf. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lisa1968 6 reviews from this member

 We arrived after lunch and was met by one of the Wardens who instructed us to wait until the car and van in front had gone around the corner before moving forward which we did. Husband then went into reception and checked in and told to find a pitch and to inform them when we had selected one.

We asked the Warden who met us if we could wash the front of our van off because it was covered with mud and he said provided we didn't use a hose pipe it was ok. He came to our pitch to check what we were doing and to ask if we would be moving the car to the correct side to which we added yes when unloaded - slapped wrist one 🙄.

We unloaded and moved the car and started to unwind to enjoy our long needed rest. At about 630pm Warden came again to say next visit park between the white posts! We were between the post but our car was just sitting slightly forward and I mean forward so clearly the Warden was going to loose a nights sleep over this and came to tell us off - slapped wrist two 🙄. Honestly we are not children, but follow the site rules and regs whereever we go and do not expect to be harrassed in this way. To comment further there are PLENTY of people not parked quite right so has he 'told' them off too? Well wont be coming here again.

No shop and site needs a bit of TLC but have we complained about this no. We just wanted a break for a few days now cant wait to go home for the rest 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mariot 4 reviews from this member

 A fabulous site. I had never really considered the Wirral, but noticing a cycle path right outside the campsite as well as being right next to the beach I thought I'd give it a go.

We were blessed with excellent weather which enabled us to get the most our of our four day stay. We had a grass pitch at the end of the site which was very quiet.

I loved how still and dark it was at night. The views over the water were lovely.

It is a great place to walk dogs - the beach directly in front of the campsite is dog friendly, but watch out for high tides. You can't access it from the campsite, but about half a mile down the road there is a slipway north of the campsite. Walking south along the beach eventually takes you to a lovely cafe (up some steps).

You can cycle for miles in both direction and the path is suitable for Dog Trailer Buggies and children.

I will return! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Yellotem 6 reviews from this member

 We had a 6 night stay. A mixed bag really. We had a nice quiet grass pitch at the very end of the site. However thereís only one toilet block, which also has the only Elsan point, so it was quite a hike.

The toilets and showers are also very dated and have the dreaded white plastic stools from yesteryear.

Some pitches had spectacular views over the Dee estuary to wales. The play area is situated in a circle of caravans and was very busy. Thereís some lovely walks off the site down a disused railway line and to a beach beneath the cliffs. Flissy coffee shop is a must visit for ice cream!

Local attractions are just a short drive away, so is the Merseyrail network. We parked at Meols station which has a train every 15m to Liverpool.

Thereís nothing majorly wrong with the site, it just feels tired and could do with a refurbishment to support the pitch fees. Some other dated CAMC sites are a lot cheaper. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chrisom 10 reviews from this member

 First up don't think getting there early will give you a chance of a pitch with a view across the estuary. As mentioned by other reviews, as soon as one on the estuary pitches becomes vacant someone will move from another pitch into the vacant pitch. I saw it happen twice in the 5 days I was there. I don't know if there is any answer to this practice.

Apart from that the site is well run with friendly wardens who keep the site in a good condition. The site is great for cycling as there is a disused railway track just outside the site.

The wife and myself cycled to West Kirby, Neston and Hoylake on different days.

These cycle tracks can also be walked but it must be slightly annoying for walkers to move for cyclists frequently.

A good walk to be had is along the beach as far as the restaurant Sheldrakes and back. About 4 miles in total.

As stated by others only one shower and toilet block. This block also has the toilet emptying compartment. The showers were hot and adequate but out of action for a couple of days whilst brand new boilers were fitted. No great problem.

All in all the site is well positioned and worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 65 reviews from this member

 1st visit to this site and overall we loved it! Queued to get in but we tried our best to arrive as closely to 1pm as possible. Sadly it was a bit chaotic on entering site initially and mainly due to the site having no waiting area's and the only road around the site wasn't much wider than a single carriageway.

Ok if there's a good one-way system in place but not so good if you meet another unit coming the other way. We felt a little rushed to get on a pitch for fear of holding other people up.

I think the layout, a mix of avenues and cul de sacs was good but some pitches proximity to the road was very close. Lose one or two pitches to create a better, wider, more aesthetically pleasing and user friendly roadway and maybe even install a pedestrian route from the barrier at reception to the toilet block corner.

Pitch sizes were generous and well maintained with no weeds. Views around the site were spectacular.

Plenty of walks from site and easy route onto beach from the sailing club 5 minutes walk from site entrance. Facilities block was clean but dated. Fish and chips Tuesday night were grand.

We saw lots of wildlife on and off site. Planes taking off or coming into Liverpool airport were very visible above the site. We will visit again but will aim to arrive midweek probably to avoid weekend pitching chaos.

The wardens were exemplary. They had a late evening walk around and were very approachable at all times. Sites are getting so expensive now, we paid £31 per night.

I wouldn't pay more than this. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 138 reviews from this member

 Upside good location for exploring the unexpected delights of the Wirral, downside the site is very tired and much in need of a full refurbishment. Toilet block and facilities not up to the usual C&MC standard. The wardens are very friendly and helpful.

The Wirral circular trail (mainly traffic free) runs adjacent to the site using the old railway line, and the Wirral country park is an easy stroll from the site. The Dee estuary can be accessed from the access to the county park or nearby sailing club.

Nearby West Kirby has local shopís, eateries and Morrisonís for stocking up on supplies.

A must visit is Port Sunlight, the model village built of Lever Bros money and the factory is still operational Ė check out Port Sunlight before visiting the site for open days.

Overall, nice area to visit but site needs major attention to bring it up to C&MC standards. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pwilliams63 8 reviews from this member

 The site is clean and tidy, and the staff are helpful and welcoming.

The site has some pitches that have a good view on the north wales coast and there are plenty of walks just right outside the gates.

Would I go back there again yes nice and relaxing and the site looked popular. 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Wirral Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wirral Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wirral Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wirral      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54626 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement