Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wirral Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Merseyside > Wirral > Wirral Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Wirral Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Station Rd, Thurstaston
Wirral
Merseyside   (Browse area)
CH61 0HN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03/2021 to 05/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 05/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pwilliams63 2 reviews from this member

 The site is clean and tidy, and the staff are helpful and welcoming.

The site has some pitches that have a good view on the north wales coast and there are plenty of walks just right outside the gates.

Would I go back there again yes nice and relaxing and the site looked popular. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elaine 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, quiet. nice views if you get them

Clean showers and toilets although in need of update these are actually the worst showers we have seen on a site, they are very basic with nowhere to put your stuff when showering only, 2 hooks on door, would also like to pick our own pitch on booking.

Bit over the top with covid rules and regs as well 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Gailbonney 33 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for Easter just after lockdown ended and it was wonderful to get away.

The site is very well maintained by a very busy team of wardens! Its down a long lane from the main road but that was fine. Felt open and airy, neighbours didn't feel too close.

Nice walks from site although the beach wasn't really a beach and the dogs came back from their walk incredibly muddy! The beach at West Kirby was much better!

The chippy van which calls on a Tuesday night was a welcome addition, food was good too! Wi fi met the approval of our 16yr old.

We will visit this site again, some pitches have stunning views but I imagine getting on them can be tricky. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DARKLORD 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at this site. Staff very friendly and helpful,

The site is quite remote so you have to drive to do any shopping and bus stop is quite a walk away.

There is a club in walking distance but dogs are not allowed inside ok if it’s sunny but not if it’s cold or raining.

Large pitches, some with great views over the estuary but windy, some of the cul d sac pitch’s very difficult to exit with a 8 metre Motorhome.

Bad points: the toilet block is dated and needs a refurb, if you went to them on an evening there were in a sorry state with water all over the floor (children playing in the toilet block)and unflushed toilets, this is not down to cleaning but the site clientele I hate to think what some people’s houses are like.

We will not return as it’s not up to the clubs usual standard. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Janlou 5 reviews from this member

 This is a pretty, well maintained site with lots to do in the surrounding areas. We found managers and assistant managers alike to be very friendly and helpful.

The pitches are well set out and the toilet and shower facilities good and far exceeding my expectations.

Give it a go, you won't be disappointed. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 Torrential rain and a waterlogged site doesn’t make for a good camping experience, however the cliff top location of this 93 pitch site at Wirral provides spectacular views over the Dee Estuary towards North Wales. It worth noting that only 9 of the 93 pitches (pitches 10 – 14 and 15 – 19) have uninterrupted views over Estuary.

Very friendly and helpful wardens and stacks of information of things to do and see locally are available in the information ‘shed’. The toilet/facilities block is a tad dated and requires modernisation to take it up to the current Caravan Club standards.

The beach is accessed either from the slipway used by the local sailing club or the steps towards the quirky Shore Cottage and gallery located at the bottom of the cliffs by the estuary.

A traffic free cycleway/footpath is found directly outside the site entrance using the old railway line and provides an easy 2 ½ mile route to West Kirby to the North of the site or 2 ½ miles South to Heswall, both having numerous shops, supermarkets and eateries. The route forms part of the 35 mile Wirral circular trail. Pick up a free guide from the information centre to discover many of the delights and attraction to be found on or around the trail.

West Kirby has a train station with a regular and inexpensive service to Liverpool.

A social club located by the adjoining semi residential caravan park allows none members in and has live music. A fish and chip van visits the site Tuesday evening.

Overall a nice site with ease of access many of the attractions to be found in this surprising interesting part of the country. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 76 reviews from this member

 We spent a nice weekend at the Wirral Country Park CMC site. The site is easy to get to from the M53 motorway and has some lovely views across the Dee Estury towards north Wales. I imagine that if you get the weather right, the sunset would be spectacular. It rained quite a bit while we were there and the site does get waterlogged in places with huge puddles creating a bit of an obstacle course!

The pitches were standard CMC hardstandings with instructions to pitch with caravan in the middle, car on the left and awning on the right which seems to be standard now. The site is right on the Wirral Way so if you enjoy walking there are lots of different walks available direct from the site.

We don't live far away (this visit was to get our caravan set up for the new season) and we walk in the Wirral Country Park regularly, but we found a new walk which we hadn't done before. If you don't want to travel far the small towns of Heswall and Wesy Kirby are very close and have nice eating places and some quirky shops. Farther afield you can reach both Liverpool and Chester within half an hour.

However, we felt that this site did not live up to the usual high standards of the CMC. Don't get me wrong, everything was spotless and the wardens are clearly doing an amazing job but you can only work with what you have and the facilities on this site are not good.

The toilet and shower block reminded me of the changing rooms in my old school before the sports pavilion was condemned and demolished. They are old and tired and cold and draughty. I had an extremely unpleasant shower on Saturday morning where the water was only warm, despite being turned to the hottest setting and then getting dried and dressed in the cold, draughty cubicle was not nice at all.

This site could be so good as the location is brilliant but the facilities need completely replaced. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CarpenterClan 15 reviews from this member

 Good base for exploring The Wirral.

We have just returned from five nights at this site. We had pitch number 14 which had excellent estuary views but was a little exposed in the wind. Facilities were the usual good standard for CC. We were there outside of school holidays so no children around, the site however had very few empty pitches.

There is a beach below the site which can be accessed easily via the Dee Sailing Club just down the road or via steps next to the entrance to the Country Park, we wished we'd known about it from the start, there was no information about the beach on site. Right next to the site is the Wirral Way, which gives good cycling and walking access to either Hooton or West Kirby.

At West Kirby you can Walk to Hilbre Island at low tide. There are two local good eateries, The Cottage Loaf and The Anchor, both are dog friendly inside and outside in their beer gardens, and they serve a good meal too.

Half an hours drive from site is the historic town of Chester with it's Medieval Cathedral, City Walls you can walk along and the unique Chester Rows, well worth a visit if you appreciate history.

There is a small private static caravan site right next to the club site which has a Social Club, this was open at the weekend when we were there, CC members were welcome in there. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Glodekka 2 reviews from this member

 Returned from 3 night break, first visit but certainly not the last. Being a C&MC club site you know the facilities are first class, I have read people saying they missed out on the cliff top pitches, so did we, but it was so windy on that part we are glad we had to pitch elsewhere.

If you like walking it is a great spot to start from, nice coffees at dog friendly GJ's coffee shop 5 mins walk away and meals at the Cottage Loaf pub on the main road. Both offer 18% discount for C&MC members on production of membership card (did in April 2017). 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smiffyz 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned home from 2 nights at this lovely site, The grass area were understandably sodden but the site is lovely, well kept, friendly wardens who are always happy to help.

There are some great walks and the site is a stones throw from the beach/mud flats which are full of wildlife. Nice and quiet and plenty of room on the pitches. I can recommend a visit here. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wirral Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wirral Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wirral Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wirral      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


75 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement