Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping L Etoile D Argens

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Provence - Cote D Azur > Frejus St Aygulf > Camping L Etoile D Argens Reviews

Camping L Etoile D Argens
Chemin Des Etangs
Frejus St Aygulf
Provence - Cote D Azur   (Browse area)
83370
Tel: 0033 04 94 81 01 41
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 493
Open: March To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zozo3791 3 reviews from this member

We stayed end of June and beginning of July.

We had a large private pitch for our tent. There are toilet blocks at the end of each road which has about 8 pitches. Always clean. Pool area was excellent for our 4 yr old, always got a sun bed without any trouble. Take away pizzas are nice but restaurant menu wasn't overly exciting.

Took the free boat to the beach which was nice.

This is a large campsite but the walk to the shop/pool didn't bother us.

Drove to Monaco which was fantastic but didn't find san tropez overly nice. Had a day at Cannes and went up to verdon which I would recommend. Seeing the Grand Canyon was beautiful.

There are lots of supermarkets around the area.

Would recommend this campsite. Met some lovely people too

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DJMC 17 reviews from this member

We spent two weeks at this site, and were very happy with the whole holiday.

We booked one of the largest pitches, which was huge, in fact other pitches of this size were being used by 2 caravans or a group of tents, they are ideal for families or groups. Having all that space did however mean that you could move around for the sun (or to get out of the sun !).

The facilities on site were very good, with extremely clean and modern toilet blocks and plenty of them.

The pool area was great too, we never had a problem getting sun-loungers regardless of the time of day. There is a raised area around the pool which always had plenty of loungers available, we found the heat too intense in this area though !

The free boat to the beach was fab, or a 5/10 minute drive down the rough road would take you to to the same beach, with either free parking on the track, or 4 euros for the day on the sea front.

We used the bar and restaurant a couple of times, reasonable prices and the food was nice. There was entertainment on each evening.

There was a good mix of English/French/Dutch, and although it's a large site, it was never noisy at night.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site, and we will probably be back next year !

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Green wellies 4 reviews from this member

We spent ten days on this site, and at first were horrified at how large it is, but as it is divided into rows with only eight units in a row, and all the pitches separated by hedges, it wasn't a problem. However we were glad of our bikes to get to the office, shop, restaurant and pools. We weren't too keen that the caravans and mobile holiday homes were all mixed together, we did feel very overlooked as our pitch had a mobile next to us and two opposite as well. At times these mobiles were let to large family groups and could be noisy. We were able to plumb the van into the water and the drainage which makes life easier, and with a toilet block at the end of each row the facilities were excellent. There was also a laundrette area, but once again it was too far to walk to carrying the laundry, I needed my bike.

The staff were always helpful, and spoke English whenever my French let me down. The shop was well stocked and sold beach goods and newspapers as well as groceries.

Internet was available on the pitch but was was really expensive and not entirely reliable.

Later in the season a boat is available to ferry campers to the beach, but this wasn't operating whilst we were there.

Frejus and St Aygulf are very nice local towns.

The Verdon Gorge is about 50 miles away, well worth a visit, St. Tropez, Nice and Cannes are easy drives, if rather busy places.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mackinnon2812 2 reviews from this member

We first visited this site in 2011 and enjoyed it so much that we returned this year. The location is great, about 1. 5 miles from the beach via the small road directly outside the campsite – easy to cycle (you can hire bikes on site) or even walkable at a push (depending on the temperature!) The boat run by the site gets very busy and be warned that the last 2 return trips each day (probably only in high season) are Women and Children first! There is a fair amount of space where the boat drops you off to enjoy a day on the beach, but if you fancy a walk, there is a long stretch of beach all the way into St Aygulf, with lifeguard stations, cafes and bars dotted along the way (at least one of the bars hires out sunbeds and parasols).

The site itself is large, but doesn’t really feel it due to the layout and the fact that the pitches are all well-hedged. You can choose from 100m up to 250m, (our pitch was reverse polarity). There is drainage on some pitches, although you will need a narrow gauge hose to access it. There are also water taps dotted around.

Some of the shower blocks are in need of refurbishment, but the newer ones are excellent (all unisex). Plenty of hot water, even at very busy times.

Sports facilities are excellent, with tennis courts, boules pitches, table-tennis and the pool area is exceptionally well-maintained. The best feature is the main pool, in which inflatables and ball games are not allowed – this means you can manage to swim even if it’s busy. It’s heated too, and while we were there, it was sometimes warmer than the air temperature in the mornings. There is a good playground and a kids’ club run by the site, although much of the site-run entertainment leans towards the French and, although they do usually make announcements in English as well, this does not extend to some of the activities – e. G. The music quiz by the pool.

The shop was well-stocked and you are within a couple of miles of a Spar and there is a larger supermarket in Frejus. Lots of markets take place in the surrounding towns and villages – campsite reception gives you details on arrival. Very friendly, helpful staff.

We would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 99 reviews from this member

Very large site with little alleys of pitches going off main roads. We chose our own pitch but later discovered the sanitary block at the end of our alley hadn't been cleaned since last year b y the look of it! We complained and got a rather disinterested response that night but at 8 am the next morning they were being jet washed! We felt that for a 4 star site the loos should have been clean on arrival. This site was one of the sites flooded last June but even so. The pool was fine but had loud pop music playing all the time which we didn't like. The shop was well stocked. We used the free boat the next day which was fine but it drops you on the beach which is for kite surfers only so no swimming allowed there, no signs our end of the beach so felt rather cross about being asked to leave the beach after 1pm when the kite surfing school got going. It would have been quite a walk to get to the next bit of beach, via the nudist beach. Didn't use the bar. We had planned to stay 6 nights but left after 2, just too big and not cared for enough, hedges not trimmed etc.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ucrober 1 review from this member

Visited this summer with the wife and three kids. Got a nice pitch with Electrical hookup in row I. Shady and private with hedges on 3 sides. Cul-de-sac so no through traffic, so kids could play out safely. Modern (new) sanitary block was at end of row so handy for the kids. Showers got very busy because it was one of two new shower blocks. The other shower block (row K?) was much quieter and had 3 more showers. Beside the swimming pools gets very busy during the day and a lot of people reserving sunbeds at 10am. Best is to go to the beach by bike, car or the campsite run a little ferry down. We took the car, just to carry all the kids stuff, but bikes were very popular and the reasonable quite road then cycle lane to the beach are pretty safe. If you head the other way, which is a right turn, then left out of the gates in 10 mins you get to Roquebrune. Lovely lake (if you don't like Salt Water) and some nice shops, Bio vegetable places and wine cellars. Campsite was great and staff very helpful. Restaurant not the most adventurous menu, but good service and reasonable prices, plat-du-jour very good value. Entertainment generally of a good standard. Take Away Pizzas were good but better to order in advance for pick-up later. Good supermarket on site, that sells ice and British papers available in the morning with the Croissants. Not too expensive. Tip: ask the staff for cold beers which are in the storage fridge. Fridges can be hired on site from a third party, (request details when making your booking, saves a lot of space in the car!. I would definitely go back and thinking of returning next year.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tiffinsmum 1 review from this member

This is without doubt a fabulous site, BUT, I know it was September, but in the first week of our stay the toilets weren't cleaned even once. The toilets needed a serious bleach attack and the floors were stained with mud. In the second week a man came between 8.45 and 9.45 daily (just when we wanted to use them) and jet washed the lot, leaving everything 'clean' but still stained, and sopping wet including the loo roll and at this time of year it takes most of the day to dry out.

Bar and restaurant were closed and the river boat finished on 15 September, but that's why the rates are lower. It would have helped if the hedges could have been trimmed by this time as the site was only about a quarter full so someone must have been available to do this. The result of the high hedges was heavily shaded and too cool pitches. Sunshine is a MUST in September.

Otherwise, it's a fabulous site and we'll probably return, but will, as this time, avoid the sanitation block and stick with our own facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ThistleDo 4 reviews from this member

Previous reviewers are right - this site is super, but in the high season it naturally becomes very very busy. When this is the case, and when it is scorching hot, the walk up to the main facilities from the river-end of the site seems to take for ever and we had to wait until very late afternoon to find a free seat of any description anywhere near the swimming pool. Nonetheless, there is still a relaxing air surrounding the pitches nearest the river - a beautiful spot. Reception can offer a wide variety of reasonably priced tours of the surrounding area which we took advantage of.

Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: GeorgeB 2 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site numerous times over the years, both in our own caravan and in one of the sites static homes.

The pool complex is brilliant, restaurant first class, the toilet blocks are cleaned to an exceptionally high standard daily.

The site shop is basic but not pricey, the nearest hypermarket is a Geant within 4 miles.

As said before, the site owners are friendly & can't do enough for you to make your stay enjoyable.

We like the site so much that we're going back this September.

Reviewer: Lizex 27 reviews from this member

May 2005
What a lovely, friendly place. From the minute we got there (unannounced - but it was only May) they couldn't be more helpful. We were there for French Mothers Day, when the campsite owner brought a long-stemmed rose for every woman. He even made sure late arrivals got their rose too. All the staff went out of their way to be helpful the whole time we were there. And there were plenty of staff although it was only the start of the season.

There are tennis courts, crazy golf, table tennis and a play area to one side of the site. The restaurant has tables inside and outside under the shade of large mature olive trees. There are also plenty of palm trees for shade around the restaurant and pool.

The pool deserves a paragraph to itself. There is an adult pool that goes as deep as 3 metres, a 1.5 metre pool for the kids, a baby pool, a kind of beach pool for the tiniest and a heated Jacuzzi with 3 kinds of bubbles and a waterfall. All of these were sparkling clean. The lifeguard tested the water quality regularly. Plenty of sunloungers and a variety of sunny/ shady places to lounge.

The bar/ restaurant staff were very friendly, the food was delicious - large salads, juicy steaks, beer in sensible sizes (un serieux, svp monsieur). The second week we were there it was UK school holidays & there was enough custom for them to fire up the pizza oven - the pizzas were teriffic.

The pitches are huge. The standard size is 100sqm, plenty big enough for our 8-man tent, large estate car etc etc... They're arranged in rows with a small shower block at the end. Where we were there were 14 pitches to the row, with a mix of mobile homes, touring caravans and tents. There are some Eurocamp tents and mobile homes scattered throughout the site, which also has it's own mobile homes and a villa you can rent. There are two larger sanitaires, which are newer, but all were well up to scratch. Though they could do with a little shelf in the showers for you to put your glasses on!

There's access to the river and a boat to the beach in high season (when the roads in the area are all but impassable). The river offers moorings on a small dock, possibly some fishing too.

The beach at St Aygulf is man-made in 3 sandy semicircles with stone breakwaters at the end. There are prettier beaches just along the coast.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Frejus St Aygulf       Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Provence - Cote D Azur

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2704 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019