Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Bontemps

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Rhone-Alpes > Vernioz > Camping Le Bontemps Reviews

Camping Le Bontemps
5 Impasse Du Bontemps
Vernioz
Rhone-Alpes   (Browse area)
38150
Tel: 33 (0)4 74 57 83 52
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 200
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 78 reviews from this member

Our second visit but for two nights this time.

Friendly, helpful check in by manager, Xavier. Good value with ACSI card at 17€ a night plus the tourist tax. Pitched within the site rather than the stop and go area as we were staying an extra night in order to visit the Ideal Palace of Postman Cheval at Hauterives, somewhere I read about a few years ago. Although quite small (you only need about an hour) it is, to coin a phrase, perfectly formed from rocks, stones and other bits and pieces collected by the creative postman over 30 or so years. It has received acclaim from respected people in the art world, including Picasso, as a piece of naïve architecture.

Our experience with the site 'restaurant' was not so good this time around (Xavier advised that it was under new management) and the food quality poor and expensive for what we had. To cap it all, when we tried to pay by card both cards failed so we had to pay cash. Perhaps I am being unfair but I wouldn't be surprised if this was contrived.

Would only use the site for an overnight stop since we generally prefer the small and friendly sites that are often run and managed by the owners who go the extra mile to ensure clients' satisfaction.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 112 reviews from this member

We stayed here a couple of days on our journey south.

It is a very secure sight for young children as it is a long way fro the main road (D47).

All activities were free - tennis courts, minigolf etc and there is a reasonably large pool.

The pitches are quite large but some are a bit bumpy. Electric (standard EU fitment) and water points abound. Most are in partial/full shade.

The new sanitaire blocks are state of the art and as good as you will find anywhere. The water is hot to very hot.

The road towards the Rhone is pretty flat, if somewhat boring but leads to the Via Rhona cycle route.

Isolated from the local area. The site is very well equipped

The staff speak excellent English and are really helpful.

A big downside is the free wi-fi which is painfully slow. Don't think that buying the service will help - it is even slower.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lidds0 34 reviews from this member

Good campsite south of Lyon, not far from the autoroute. We stayed here on a pitch overlooking a small river, which was almost dry (21st August).

There is a small pool with slides and an indoor/covered pool (we were told upon arrival, at 5:30pm, that the pool was closed, so didn't bother going for a swim and just stayed by the tent, then found it was still open at around 9pm!)

This site is in a lovely location, surrounded by rolling hillside. There's a small bar on site. We didn't see a shop. Croissants etc were available from the bar and a van selling fruit and veg called in the morning. There's a village within easy driving distance for bread etc.

There's a football field and a small fishing pond, a bouncy castle and small play area.

We liked it here and would return, possibly for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 78 reviews from this member

Stayed just one night en-route to the Med, and it was low-season so they seemed to be doing preparation for the busier months ahead, such as building another laundry. Did not venture off-site so cannot comment about the surrounding area, which is rural and pleasant.

We used one of the 'stop and go' pitches in the area near the entrance driveway, still with access to water and electricity, but enables departure before the main barrier is opened. Suited us just fine. If preferred, you could just drive straight on to the pitch and remain hitched ready to leave.

Toilet block was modern and very clean. We used the 'restaurant', which has a limited menu of the popular dishes (burgers, lasagne, salad, pizza), but we had a pleasant evening all the same along with another three couples of various nationalities who like us were passing through. The grounds are well-maintained, clean and tidy. All the staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful.

We were not particularly impressed with the Internet - slow- though we were given a free voucher for 30-minutes' access. Would be very disappointed to have paid for it.

Useful, relaxing stay, but it is about 20-30 minutes drive from the main north-south motorway.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jsparkes201148 25 reviews from this member

Arrived mid April, 2 adults with dog and caravan.

Reception very helpful, told to go and choose a pitch as it was quiet. Most pitches have own water EHU and drainage. Our pitch was huge 150 sq m at least. A few others used site for one or two night stopover, we stayed 5 nights with Camping Cheques. Restaurant was good but small menu, perhaps better in high season. Young barman very chatty and sociable. You could order bread from the bar the day before.

Lots of seasonal pitches with caravan/chalets. We walked the dog round twice a day and every one offered a bonjour or bonsoir. An interesting array of caravan 'extensions' sort of like conservatorys, some home made some not.

The site feels quite spacious and has a trout stream running through it and a small fishing lake too.

There were swimming pools with slides but they were not open.

Wifi throughout but not free, we paid 10euros for the week.

Toilets were modern and always very clean, mind you there was only about 6 pitches occupied at the time.

We were lucky to have temperatures in the mid 20s during our stay, very pleasant.

We would stay there again

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carolwat 6 reviews from this member

Fantastic site which is what we have experienced from all Kawan sites we have stayed on to date. Arrival is easy, welcomed by reception and the pitch was already chosen for us and despite initial concerns about this it proved to be perfect. Good sized pitches and mainly flat. They were also separated by hedges providing privacy. The sanitary facilities were mixed and were clean although the floors could become very wet with the tiles running the wrong way from the showers. There were plenty of rubber mops to wash the water away although some didn't bother to use them. Hot water was always available as was toilet roll in all cubicles. There was a children's park and a bouncy castle. These were located near the restaurant which served excellent food although a little on the expensive side. Takeaway was also available with pizzas starting at 7. 50 euros. There was a laundry also available at 5 euros a wash and a dryer 2 euros for 45 minutes. A lovely river runs along the bottom of the site which kids can play in although my child couldn't be dragged away from the excellent pool. There was a children pool with mushroom fountain and 2 small slides, this was cold though. There was also another pool which was warm and to the side another pool which the water slides led into or which there are 2. The pool area is kept very clean and tidy and there are no shorts allowed although some did wear them and were not challenged. There is an entertainment area for high season and there is also a tennis court, table tennis tables, volleyball pitch badminton net, football pitch and mini golf. Also some nice grounds to walk around. We paid by camping cheques and would definitely stay here again. All round an excellent site for people staying for a while or just passing though on an overnighter. We were initially staying 2 nights but extended till 7.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisfj 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite for 10 days at the end of this summer and found the campsite to be very clean and tidy. Reception was very good on arrival and had pre-selected us a pitch that they said was very good (we have a large twin axel so need a fair size). We asked if we could have a look around and see if there was anywhere else but having looked around the pitch they had chosen was a gpood choice (however, it was a good job I have a caravan mover otherwise it would have been a tricky job positioning on site). A number of pitches were shut off near to the river at this time of year although there was only a trickle of water in it.

The toilet blocks were kept clean and the pool and the whole area was well looked after. It was fairly quiet with a lot of through traffic staying for one night on the way south.

There is a lot of space available for games etc and would suit children, although there is not a lot to do in the area (you have to travel a bit). I would think that in the high season it was quite a busy site as there are a lot of permanent caravans on the site.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colinea 1 review from this member

We only intended to stay for one night on route and ended up spending a week, (even though it rained for most of it). It is a wonderfully well kept site. The staff were friendly and the Manager Clare (English) could not have been more helpful. The toilets were very clean. Our pitch was next to the small river, with young trout swimming, and at night the sound of the frogs.

Everyone we met there was impressed by the landscaping on the site; it includes a trout lake that you can fish, a large duck enclosure with special breeds, and a swimming pool (which was being renovated when we were there).

Reviewer: Lizex 27 reviews from this member

May 2005
A good stopover and much much more.

We stopped here just as it got dark, and in the middle of a rainstorm. We were welcomed courteously & shown to a pitch reasonably close to a small river. One of the highlights of our holiday was the almost deafening sound of mating frogs in the river as we drifted off to sleep.

The sanitaires were good and clean - with paper:-) The restaurant wasn't open as they'd only had 2 customers all evening so they closed early - and who can blame them in all that rain.

Other facilities we saw were ponies, a barbecue area, plenty of mature trees and an old-style swing-boat thing like a long cylinder with seats on. Like you'd see in a park in the 50's & 60's.

The following morning, after we'd packed up the tent, we tried out the swimming pool. Boy, it was cold! It was lovely and clean though, and I liked the rockery-type flower beds around the pool. Didn't try the small slide and the mushroom wasn't yet on.

BTW - in Alan Rogers, it says to leave the A7 at Junction 11. There may well be a junction 11 southbound, but we missed it completely and couldn't see it from the other carriageway on our northbound journey either. If it is there it's practically on the bridge and almost immediately after Junction 10. Just thought I'd mention that:-)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Rhone-Alpes

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4029 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019