Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Roebeck Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Ryde > Roebeck Country Park Reviews

Roebeck Country Park
Gatehouse Road
Upton Cross
Ryde
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO33 4BP
Tel: 01983 562505
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Seasonal pitches only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HaydenFam 2 reviews from this member

 Very disappointed when we arrived at the campsite to find we were not allocated an area for the whole family though we had booked in February and I was told by Sian we had been given a space for 7 pitches together.

We ended only having one option which meant we were on a slope and squeezed in between some trees and a tent that strangely was allowed to pitch right in the middle of the area, thankfully we only required 6 pitches, if we had required the 7th we would not have been able to fit in that space.

Due to lack of options we though we paid for electric hook ups we ended up without electric and two later the ground keeper ran a lead for one hook up for us to share between six tents though we paid for seven.

The showers were very temperamental going from cold to extremely hot which some of the children had to be pulled from the shower on several occasions.

I do not feel the photos on the website completely represented the campsite as the site was smaller and is on several different levels than expected with area's fenced off, lakes not filled and minimal trees actually on site.

The amount of caravans taking prime areas and over looking the tents were somewhat belittling.

I have spent the last few months trying to get the electrical hook up money and the pitch we couldnít have had with the group but Iíve had no joy.

Overall very disappointed and would not recommend this campsite for large familyís or groups or young children. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hannahtheos 1 review from this member

 The campsite is set out over a few different fields surrounded by wooded area and even has a small fishing lake. You can choose to pitch up wherever you like. We chose the bottom field and felt totally secluded and peaceful. The facilities are modern and clean and there are several fresh water taps dotted about the site. The thing that really made this campsite was Max and his little Jack Russell dog Valentine Jack. Max and Jack made us feel so welcome, from the minute we arrived they brought us firewood and gave us suggestions and leaflets of local places to visit, one evening when a storm was heading over they popped down to see us to check we were ok. If you are looking for a laid back campsite with warm friendly management set in beautiful surroundings, this is the place for you! 


Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 This site is now under new management. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jayner 5 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site 3 years in a row now. The site owners are friendly and welcoming. There are no marked pitches and you can pitch were you like. Some of the pitches are sloping but there are also plenty that are flat.

Showers are 20p for 3 mins or £1 for 20 mins. I've found 40p more than adequate. Toilet facilities are always clean and well stocked with loo roll.

Although there is no shop you can buy wood from the main house and therein lies the attraction for us. A great pitch where you like site that allows fires. The other advantage of this site if you have a large unit or kitchen tent is the fact that you are charged per person which for us is an excellent deal.

The location of the site is great (albeit the entrance is pretty tight). It's ten minutes from the ferry port which after a motorway journey on the mainland and the ferry ride it's a bonus to be able to arrive on the IOW and be pitched within the hour.

Lots to do and see on the island, three years in and there is still lots that we haven't seen.

Although there is no children's play area, because of the size of the site and the fact that the owners don't cram units in, there is plenty of space for kids to make their own entertainment.

Only down side is the noisy peacock lol 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Span Key 3 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site. Relaxed atmosphere without too many pointless rules and restrictions, friendly and very helpful owners. Slightly sloping site so make sure you bring your levelling chocks.

No hesitation in whole heartedly recommending this as a fantastic 'suits all' camping site.

We love it that fires are permitted. Proper camping!

No playground for kids (made it better for us!) but the children that were here were having a great time playing outside with their kites and bikes. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ColnMand 9 reviews from this member

 Actually, you are probably going to hate us for saying this - but we hated this place. Far too noisy and bustly and disorganised, with too many argumentative teenagers (their parents were even louder) to be able to chill out and relax. I guess we just prefer smaller, calmer sites.

We got a good deal on the net and for a a four night stay for two adults with ferry crossing included for the princely sum of £99. 90 has to be the bargain of the century.

The entrance to the site is very easy to miss and is a sharp left hand turn into the driveway.

On arrival at the site there is a notice on a board that instructs new arrivals to ring #2. But we got no answer. We spent the next 10 minutes wandering around looking for someone, (we'd missed the directions to the main house - a bit overgrown) but we did find the owner hoovering out the gents shower/toilet block.

Still, he seemed friendly and helpful.

The pitches were not marked out and it seemed that everyone was very cramped together with many of the tents virtually on top of each other.

The site is very sloping and the walk up to the little bunglow that housed the toilets was challenging.

Whilst the rate per adult at £5 (£2 per child) was quite attractive initially this must be viewed in light that the showers are charged at a rate of £1 for 20 mins.

The washing and drying facilities for clothes were excellent and at a £1 for a wash and a £1 for a 20 min dry represented good value for money.

There is no shop on site but there is a map with directions to Tesco's on the board by the entrance.

We visited Brading Roman Villa - and had an excellent lunch in their cafeteria.

We visited the Crab and Lobster but it must have changed hands since we last visited the Island and the food served in comparison was very poor.

However, Rosemary's Vineyard and Sarahs Cider Farm were very interesting.

We were slightly disappointed with Arreton Old Village for some reason we were expecting a real village not just a collection of modern buildings. However, that didn't stop us from wandering in and out of the various shops and making several purchases and we can quite categorically say that the Dairyman's Daughter is the best place to eat on the Island. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bigpresh 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here as a group of 8 adults with 3 tents. When we arrived the site was entirely empty (being the tail end of the season), so we had our choice of any pitches we wanted, and were able to set up an excellent little camp with the tents and a gazebo in the middle, two picnic benches and two fire baskets all together.

There were plenty of electric hookup points and water taps around the field.

The washing up area/kitchen (with two fridges with ice boxes, a microwave and a kettle) and the toilet/shower area and laundry room were only a short walk from the top of the field.

The showers are coin-operated, costing 20p for 3 minutes, or £1 for 15 minutes; they were acceptable, although not particularly high pressure. With only two showers in the gents (and, presumably, the same in the ladies) I imagine that if the site is full of campers there may be a bit of a wait at times, but that wasn't an issue for us. Toilets and showers were clean and tidy.

We enjoyed our time on this site - the freedom and flexibility of having a big area all to ourselves was great, with plenty of space for campfires and cooking.

The washing up kitchen was a nice little wooden 'cabin', which we commandeered as a social area one when the weather was particularly unpleasant for sitting outside. There's even a bookshelf with a supply of books; if you have some old books you want rid of, bring them along and add them to the shelf for other campers to enjoy. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shalatshamar 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to the site, we loved it the first time so decided to return and again were very happy. We were pitched towards the top of the field and weren't bothered about the peacocks and hardly noticed them.

You were allowed to pitch where ever you wish but personally I think it may be better to have some sort of markers on the surrounding fencing for the edge pitches, to make it easier to line up with the electric points, as I noticed some people seemed to pitch between points and then parked at the side of their tents, which then may cause problems for people with short electric cables.

The toilets again were clean and the field well kept with short grass. I would certainly return and recommend people to give them a try. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Louiemac73 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 weeks and got a very good price for this site, can't remember exactly, but it was cheap.

We found the site easily, coming from Yarmouth.

We had an electric hook-up and pitched in the centre area. We we also near to the water tap.

The site does slope and we found that we ended up down our beds by the morning!

Site facilities cleaned by the owners daily; they do a good job, but it would be an idea to have a mop and bucket just so you can give a quick wipe over when finished so it's nice for the next person going in. (I hate standing in wet grass and other people's suds. )

Only two showers and toilets available which I feel is a bit low.

We drove all over the island, walked and took a bus so we saw lots. Tesco is not far away and is massive so if you do forget anything, you'll be fine.

Peacocks are loud in the early morning, but I got used to that and it is expected when camping.

We ate out one evening at the Crab and Lobster in Bembridge; all I can say is WOW! Thoroughly recommend that even if it is a bit pricey. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jade857 1 review from this member

 My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights. It was very easy to find and was a good location, close to the ferry port. The ferry tickets were dealt with through the owner which was helpful.

Upon arrival we were very impressed with the site and recieved a warm and laid back welcome.

The toilets and showers were very modern and seemed to be spotless every time. It was quite quiet which properly helped. The showers were coin operated.

There is peacocks on site. They are loud but had to get used to. However I stress they were loud.

It has a lovely kitchen area with washing up facilities.

Fire baskets are provided with wood for £4. Taps were closely located around the field.

Would stay again and recommend it! 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Roebeck Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Roebeck Country Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Roebeck Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ryde      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2880 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement