Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tremorvu Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Tremorvu Campsite
Tresowes Hill
Ashton
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR13 9TA
Tel: 01736 763074
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rogvette 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 12 night stay at this site. If, like us, you just want all the basics done well then this is the site for you. A level grass pitch in a simple well kept field, no mud, clean toilets and clean straightforward hot showers with enough room to move in, good TV reception for all the main channels, drinking water tap, chemi-disposal and rubbish bins on a very nice quiet rural site then what else do you need ? We paid £18 per night inc. Hook up which is excellent value for this part of Cornwall in the summer months.

You are only 10 minutes drive from Praa Sands for the nearest beach, and within easy driving distance for both Penzance and Helston. Alternatively you can walk 15 minutes down to the main road to Ashton village and be on the bus routes. Ashton also has the Lion and Lamb pub for nice meals and a community shop. A bit further afield investigate down the west coast of The Lizard, visit the Levant mine near Pendeen, and take the float/ride into Falmouth and have a fantastic good value meal at The Quayside Inn.

If you want loads of facilities, playgrounds, games rooms etc to occupy your time, do not use this site. If you just want what you actually need for a thoroughly relaxing break then do use this very good site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Latetocamping 1 review from this member

We hired out a pre-erected tent on the wettest weekend of the year to try camping for the first time - haha! Other than the weather it was great, we liked it that much we went out and bought out own tent as soon as we got home.

The site is very rural which is what we liked about it. No manicured lawns or playground, just well kept fields. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The amenities were a little tired but they were spotless, despite very wet conditions. They did not appear to be heated so the showers were chilli in an early damp May.

We have had to leave a rating for child friendliness and as we don't have children that is difficult. However one of the reasons we like this site as there is nothing specifically to attract children, I. E. Playgrounds.

We visited the Lion and Lamb pub, only 15 minute walk. We had a lovely meal and my husband enjoyed the choice of real ales.

We are already looking forward to our next visit to Tremorvu.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JoClaire 1 review from this member

What a lovely campsite! Received a warm welcome from the owner as soon as we arrived. Our pitch was more than adequate, we have a 6 man tent and a large van. Plenty of space between us and our neighbours. Small shop on site supplying the essentials. Can definitely recommend their own eggs for a yummy breakfast!

Two washing machines available, £3 per wash but no dryer but we had nice weather so wasn't a problem. The only downside is the toilet/shower blocks. When the site is reasonably full there aren't enough. In the ladies there are 2 showers and 3 toilets and the 2 wash basins are in a tiny corner which makes it difficult to wash your hands if people are using them to brush their teeth. Also no plug point for hairdryers. The hairdryer supplied is 50p and blows out cold air - not good for drying your daughters wet hair on a late evening. However the toilets were always kept clean.

Site quietened down at around 9. 30pm which was great. The local Pub is not far away but we never tried it. There is a Lidl in Helston itself and also a Tesco and Sainsburys a bit further down the road.

We totally enjoyed our 2 week stay there and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pickworth 2 reviews from this member

A lovely quiet site; I slept really well here. The camping pitches are a good size and a nice distance apart so you are not on top of each other.

The toilets and showers are clean. The downside is that the number of pitches has out grown the facilities so expect to queue for showers at certain times. In the ladies there are three toilets, two small sinks and two showers; between 8 and 9am it is very busy. If you need to be up and out then things were free at 7ish.

There is a pub in the village of Ashton, which is about a 15 minute walk away. The pub isnít really up to much but it serves basic food. There is another pub in Breage which is another 15 minute walk down the road. This seems like a nicer a pub but I wouldnít recommend walking along the roads at night. The road between Ashton and Breage is very busy.

Porthleven is a short drive away and this has some nice restaurants, but book if itís a busy night or holidays.

I would stay here again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: F4m1lym4n 1 review from this member

This was our first experience at camping. We found the campsite through this website and thought if they are proud to use a photograph of their toilet and shower block to advertise the site it must be worth taking a punt.

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the owners made us feel welcome and were extremely pleasant. This site is a fabulous choice for first timers and families.

We noticed that the site went very quiet at 10pm every night and there were no noisy late revellers or groups of youths.

It has a small shop open for a few hours during the day. (8. 30am-10. 30am)It sold a good array of essentials.

There is no club house or playground.

The site is in a lovely country position the road leading to the site is a bit tight for passing.

The beach is a mile or so away and although you can reach it by foot it is a trek so it is much better to go by car.

One thing we noticed was that there was two washing machines but no dryer so we relied on the weather to dry our washing. Not a problem as the weather was great too.

It is very central to all the great tourist locations in Cornwall. We could not praise this site enough and are planning to book up again for next year!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gregrus 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weeks camping (2 Adults and 4 Children). Fortunately the weather was glorious for most of the week - a rarity nowadays in the uk. So what can we say about the campsite; despite having four children ourselves, we were looking for a campsite that doesn't have children running around screaming until all hours of the night and what a complete gem this campsite is! After nine thirty the campsite was always quiet and everyone was respectful about noise levels. So if you are the sort of parent who lets their child roam about until all hours the campsite is not for you as you would destroy the brilliance of this site. All children were supervised by parents at all times, which was great!

Right now about the campsite itself, the entrance is very unassuming in a lovely rustic way and on our arrival we were shown to our pitch by Lee. The pitches are a good size and pretty flat (we have a vango tigris 800 with side tent, trailer and car which fitted on with space to spare). The shower block is kept clean and stocked with loo paper and bottles of handsoap (which is a lovely touch). The showers were always hot although the water pressure could be better (but saying that I would rather have slightly poorer water pressure than screaming kids running around, so if that's the compromise, we'll take it!). The shop is basic but provides all the essentials that you might need. The building the shop is located in is gorgeous, a little outhouse made from local stone, so pretty.

The campsite is located just far enough off the main road to have no road noise and is very close to beaches and shops (about a five minute drive). The lamb and lion pub is within walking distance and the locals made us feel very welcome. I really hope that this campsite continues to be a charming, rustic, peaceful campsite. We will definitely be returning next year. We have been camping with our family for a few years and this is the first holiday where we've returned home feeling relaxed and not needing a week to get over it! As a previous review stated I didn't really want to write this review as the campsite is so good I want it all for my family and I. Well done to the owner and family, keep up the great work, you have a great campsite!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 0600 1 review from this member

Excellent site in quiet rural location. Owners always on hand to help in any way. Pitch, s nice size. Easy access to water and CDP. Recent new toilet and shower block with free hot showers and pot washing facility with 2 big sinks and again plenty of hot water. All toilet block facilities were kept spotlessly clean by the owners who checked on a regular basis. Its a pity that some of the campers on our visit didn, t use the toilet brushes provided. All in all a very pleasant visit will be returning in the spring and recommended to our friends.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Palmer2 18 reviews from this member

The easiest thing for me to say is read all the reviews, they so sum up a good basic campsite that offers assistance to all comers. We were in our motorhome opposite the Euro tent that Lee and Kate let out, its a great opportunity for those of you that want to try camping and it has the added benefit of electric hookup.

The toilets were ok but the showers could have had a bit more power but they were hot and clean. Good that everyone mopped out behind them. Handy washing machine facility.

No hard standing pitches so we were on grass, sorry Lee for all my tyre marks trying to get off when we left.

Glad we had our little car with us as such lovely little country lanes to get lost in around this area and we found Godolphin Manor a mile or so away, a lovely day out. Also visited Praa Sands and Portreath both close by and so lovely, good to see Tremorvu advertised in these places, as well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trev Ward 6 reviews from this member

Great site, quiet with very good facilities, including a small on site shop selling the basics. Toilets and showers were always clean and plenty of hot water. Buzzards fly over into nearby trees.

The owners were very helpful and pleasant as well. Nice flat site with plenty of room round each pitch.

Will visit again when in the area. Distant view to the sea on a clear day. Nice quiet bridleways to walk dogs. Nice pub on main road back up the lane.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kbeech06 1 review from this member

This was our very first UK camping trip. We used to camp at least twice a month in the USA and were nervous about camping here. and of course all of our camping gear is in storage in the States. We stumbled upon Tremorvu here on UKCAMPSITE and thank goodness.

What a wonderful experience. Lee and Kate were great. They had the tent and all the extras we needed to try out camping here in the UK. When we arrived, Lee and Kate were dealing with the recycling and came straight over to greet us.

They showed us immediately to our pitch with the tent and everything all sorted for us. I couldn't have been more pleased. The pitches were spaced well over 3 or 4 fields. It was quiet. Not much to do for young children but that didn't matter as we had a 13 year old with us.

The young ones on the site seemed to be having fun anyways. We were centrally located to all the places we wanted to visit. Pub down the road, Lion and Lamb was good, although we found some much nicer while we were out and about, but to walk a half mile, it was still nice.

Bathrooms were nice, very clean, although a couple times during the night, the loo rolls were empty. I tend to bring some with me anyways so no big deal, but for some it may have been a bit of an issue. Washing up facilities were good, although some other campers were very disrespectful and left the sinks a mess a few times.

All in all, I was very impressed. Yes, it was very different from camping in New Hampshire, and I miss my campfires. But we were very pleased and hope to return soon in the future!

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2356 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019