Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Strandhill Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Strandhill > Strandhill Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Strandhill Caravan And Camping Park
Airport Rd
Strandhill
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: +353 (0)71 9168111
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rabbitboy 26 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night in our camper.

Site is in the dunes just a few yards from the beach. Not safe for swimming, but is very popular with surfers with a couple of surf schools.

There are a couple of bars/restaurants next to the site, we liked The Strand

As well of these there is a café and a place where you can take seaweed baths (didn't try this!)

Most of the hardstandings were taken up with seasonal 'vans. We stayed on the grass, was told just to find a spot. It was a little hilly but not a problem for us.

Watertaps around the site, facilities a bit dated, but clean Washing up sinks. Ablutions accessed using fob (€20 deposit)

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

As previous reviewers have said this site is in a lovely spot by a surfing beach, with fabulous sunsets. There are 78 hardstanding pitches for tourers, all with waste water disposal, some with a sea view but they tend to be quite exposed. Other pitches are sheltered by grassy banks, as are the tents areas.

The shower block is good, if a little dated. The washbasins have soap and hand dryers. Showers are token-operated but give a good long hot shower for 1 euro 50, and there's a coin-operated hairdryer. There are washing-up sinks and a washing machine.

Reception staff are friendly and you can choose your own pitch. There is direct access to the beach from the site, but as others have said it's not suitable for swimming, in fact there's even a warning against paddling! However there is a safe family-friendly sandy beach about 2 km away.

The village has a Spar shop (with ATM), a pharmacist, and a choice of pubs and cafes. We particularly liked Shells, a cafe-cum-gift shop, with home-made food and cakes (they sell their own bread and cakes in the shop. ) The bakery mentioned in a previous review has now closed.

In the reception block there is a TV room with library, a games room and a campers kitchen. There's a 20 euro deposit for a fob to operate the entrance barrier. Wifi throughout the site is free.

Places of interest nearby include Sligo, Drumfield with an old church, a high cross and the grave of W. B. Yeats, and the hill of Knocknarea, which dominates the surrounding area. There's a neolithic cairn on the summit and, lower down, the megalithic cemetary of Carrowmore with more than 30 dolmens.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Carrteag 3 reviews from this member

We had the one day of sun this year the day we were here!

Site fine, some pitches not completely level but it was busy and little extra space. Facilities basic but clean.

Very popular with surfers, just walk over the sand dune and you're there. Several surf schools if you want to try it.

Couple of bars that serve food-pizza, Chinese, slow fast food and all day breakfasts but pricey so we got supplies in the (1) shop. Kids liked the ice cream shop. Always seemed busy, did creeps, slush puppies etc.

Overall chilled out place

Note. Beach is not suitable for swimming due to currents but we were happy watching the surfers!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Murph27 2 reviews from this member

I stayed at strandhill last summer and had a great time. I normally opt for smaller campsites but thought I'd give this one a go and I wasn't disappointed. When I arrived at reception I was greeted by a lovely young guy, full of smiles! He showed me a map of the site and helped me choose a spot he thought suitable and we got settled in pretty quickly. This site is in a fab location, close to the beach, pubs and cafes and there is a wonderful little french bakery a short stroll in the morning(for my husband) to pick up the goodies for breakfast! On site facilities were great and we found them clean at all times. All in all no complaints, we all had a fun time, especially our dog! So we all look forward to returning again this season.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pat534 7 reviews from this member

I stayed here on 2 occasions while touring Ireland. The site is located on sand dunes very close to a surfing beach over which there were lovely sunsets. The beach was very stony and the sand only appeared when the tide was out.

There were several sited caravans which were mostly empty when I visited, and a large area for tents.

The local shop and pub were within easy walking.

They do not take bookings and you find your own pitch once in.

Facilities were good (although not that clean, saw same hair in shower wall on each visit 3 days apart)and accessed with a fob which needed a deposit of 20euros. Showers cost 1. 50 euros, the most expensive I came across.

There was good dog walking on sand dunes to the right of the site.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derm712 5 reviews from this member

As with many other sites in S Ireland doesn't take bookings you have to phone on the morning and hope for the best, this was ok during the week when we visited but could be tricky at the weekend.

Some awful pitches in uniform rows, but a lot of these looked like seasonal ones. There are some great pitches in along the front that are about 10mts from the beach.

Site well maintained with clean facilities. New reception block with TV, pool table, internet. Staff friendly and knew about local area.

Sligo town is only 5 miles away and is worth a visit.Couple of pubs with restaurants and two local shops that have all essentials. Strandhill is a nice little village, not seaside tacky.

Great beach for walking and watching the surfers.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs Storm 1 review from this member

Well I should actually still be there. We go every year, and have been for 5 years now. The sunset wins it for me no problem. Facilities are basic but have no complaints. Pubs, restaurants, mini-mart and surf schools are all less than few minutes walk from the dunes where the tents get pitched, caravans are set slightly further back. Relaxed atmosphere with friendly folk.

Watching the surfers is a quality experience and walking along the beach looking out over the Atlantic ocean is unreal.

The ban on lighting a camp-fire is annoying, you cannot say you've been camping if you haven't lit one, melted the mallows and exchanged chit-chat along with giving and receiving the banter. Adds to the criac.

The mini-mart is quite overpriced as it is the only one for a good few miles.

All in all I highly recommend this spot.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bionic.Laura 2 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite on the Atlantic in beautiful Strandhill. The campsite has a separate area in the sand dunes for pitching tents. There are hard standings for caravans with electric hook ups. The toilet block was good and clean. You have to pay for the showers but they were good and hot.

The village of Strandhill is lovely with a great pub just beside the campsite. There's also a sea weed baths. There's a shop also. It's a good base for touring around this area.

From your tent you're just a stones throw from the fabulous beach where you can go surfing. A walk along the dunes at sunset is a must as well. If you get the weather the sunsets are fabulous and you can join all the people chilling out watching it on the promenade.

My friend lives in Strandhill and we're visiting next week but will probably camp here instead of staying with him if the weather is nice because it's a lovely site.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Charlie364 1 review from this member

I recently spent a weekend at the Strandhill Camp Site and have to say that it is very nice. The office on the site is great, I actually managed to replenish my gas bottle, not all sites are able to do this.

The location is excellent for seeing the West Coast of Ireland either way. Strandhill itself is a lovely little place with very friendly people and is a great place to watch the sun set.

Only fault is, after having paid to stay on the site, you then have to pay for the shower facilities! but I also have to say that they were well kept and clean - maybe Ireland is different from Scotland as I didn't have to pay on the Scottish sites.

Will I go back - absolutely. I would also recommend it to any friends looking for somewhere to go in Ireland.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulbambi 37 reviews from this member

Great site with superb beachside pitches with the Atlantic roaring in the background, the waves are huge, if you surf you must go! There is a regular bus service at minimal cost, that takes you into Sligo and the drivers provide some good tourist information! Strandhill has a little shop and a great pub in spitting distance. The pitches nestle in and around the sand dunes and are well spaced and feel very private. The toilet block and showers were very clean and they have outside showers, which are very useful for removing sand.  There is a golf club 500m from the site, and the site is shadowed by Knocknarea  mountain.  The address is Airport road, but don`t let this put you off the small private planes are few and far between and if you live in Scotland and forget your toothbrush you can fly home from the airport for about £40. All in all a great family site.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in S Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6548 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019