Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Throstle Hall Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Wigton > Throstle Hall Certificated Location Reviews

Throstle Hall Certificated Location
Caldbeck
Wigton
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 8HE
Tel: 01697 478618
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 7 Reviews
                8/10 from 7 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Reuben 14 reviews from this member

 We like winter camping & enjoy the peace & quiet of sites in the off season. Throstle Hall is a working farm with 5 level pitches with EHU & a couple of water points. A very friendly welcome by the family & we could choose our pitch. We put the driveaway awning up as the weather was going to be changeable, bags of room for our van.

The facilities were basic - one WC & shower - but spotless with loads of free hot water. The pitches are down a farm lane across a couple of cattle grids, all in good order. A 10 minute walk into Caldbeck with a decent pub serving great Jennings beers on hand pump & food - we didn’t eat but lots of customers did. The village also had a good shop & PO where you could get cash. There was fuel availability too. Down by the river there are a few craft shops which were closed during our visit.

In the opposite direction you could walk to Hesket Newmarket with another great community owned pub which we’ll save for our next visit as it had restricted opening hours in Winter

Some decent hiking on the doorstep both low & high level. All in all a site that ticks all the boxes for us for an off season break. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Polaris 1 review from this member

 Ideal for scenery. Pretty village within walking distance. Pub/cafe/small shop and fuel. For the walkers amongst us a 3 mile walk to Fellside offers a further 7miles or less as this is not a circular walk, to some stunning fells and old mineing works. Well worth persisting to the end for the waterfalls.

We were there in the lambing season so busy owners and family, but not to busy to chat.

During our stay the shower was out of order because what appears to be 'ongoing' building work. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Missmudd 1 review from this member

 I found a little piece of heaven this weekend. Surrounded by grassy fields and off the main road. The site is set on a working farm, however, this did not affect the peace I was looking for. All 5 pitches are hard standing, 16amp EHU and ample water supply. We did not use the facilities so won't comment. A friendly family run site. We will return again. The village is a 10 minute walk away and is also worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil41 48 reviews from this member

 Approach down a long drive way we missed it at first just saw a sign for fresh eggs ( very god eggs)so ended up in the village which looked very nice but we did not go to pub or shops. Just stayed the one night on our way to Scotland (I believe they are putting new signage up shortly)

Toilet and shower basic but clean in a converted barn or stable not sure. Owners very friendly pitches hard standing and with lovely views site surrounded by fields full of sheep and hens will use again. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Blunmurr 12 reviews from this member

 A very good 5 van site with clean amenities and spacious pitches. We spent an enjoyable 3 days here and were surprised to find very few other caravans using the site. Pitches are terraced and all are hardstanding. No chance of being stuck in mud.

Shower and separate toilet are spacious with good lighting. The owner informed me that electric output on all pitches is 16 amp a number of water taps are strategically positioned around the pitches.

The lovely village of Caldbeck is a 10 minute walk and here you'll find a newsagent, shop, tearoom and an excellent pub with a separate restaurant/ eating area or you can just eat in the bar. Excellent food, beer and service is on offer here.

There are some excellent walks from the site. All in all I regard this as a good value site that deserves more attention from fellow caravanners and motorhomers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ANGELA18 8 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely week at this site, very quiet, lovely walks to the local village and pub. The facilities are a little rustic but clean. The site is hard standing pitches with views of the countryside.

This area is lovely, Calbeck common is lovely to picnic by the brook or walk, far less people than the South Lakes.Also good for cycling not too challenging

Lots to see and do, Wast Water was fantastic so peaceful we sat on a beach half way along, (there is a carpark on you left tucked away) we were the only ones there, watching the birds and picnicking.Or you can drive to the end and walk, there is soon to be a new visitor centre there.The west coast is also close and some lovely villages. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shirl L 3 reviews from this member

 This is a Caravan Club CL site (5 vans only).  Lovely site on a farm with hard-standings around a grassy area and with EHUs, toilet and free shower.  If you have a large van/awning, pitch no. 3 is the best, no. 2  is slightly sloping and will only take a porch awning.
We will definitely return as the site is in a beautiful part of Cumbria half-way between the villages of Caldbeck and Hesket Newmarket.  The nearest supermarket is the Co-op at Wigton (7 miles) but both the nearby villages are walking distance to the pubs!  



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Throstle Hall Certificated Location child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Throstle Hall Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Throstle Hall Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wigton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4967 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement