Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Run Cottage Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge > Run Cottage Touring Park Reviews

Run Cottage Touring Park
Alderton Road,
Hollesley
Woodbridge
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP12 3RQ
Tel: 01394 411309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ouncy2 25 reviews from this member

Just had 8 nights stay at lovely Run Cottage. The site is immaculately kept by the owners and wardens, the grass is cut regularly and the pitches are spacious, some hard standing, the amenities block is spotless.

Others have already said enough about the site that I would be repeating what they have had to say.

Locally there are lots of places to visit such has Shingle Street, Sutton Hoo, Woodbridge and the estuary & ferry at Bawdsey. Further afield you have Southwolde. Auldburgh & Felixtowe.

I have three minor gripes about the site, the push button shower operation, poor TV reception (although you can hire a satellite box, at a cost) although we managed to get a signal without and if you need wifi I suggest you get a dongle as the service on site is by an external provider and is expensive.

I always ask myself when providing a review, would you go back and the answer is most certainly yes.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hoedown 42 reviews from this member

This was an excellent site to relax and unwind, lovely pitches and facilities. The pub in the village, just 10 minutes walk away, did very good food at reasonable prices. Just up the road a local lady had eggs, cakes, jams, veggies for sale which were most appreciated.

We caught the dial-a-ride bus in to Woodbridge for 6 per person return, picked us up in the morning and back in the afternoon. Just give them a call and make arrangements.

Michelle and Andrew could not have been more friendly and helpful on site, we will definitely be going back there.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bri576 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, peaceful location easy walking distance to the local pub.

Ideal location for local walks, well looked after by a wonderful couple, thanks.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roamers 3 reviews from this member

This is a beautifully kept Adult Only campsite. The site is immaculate, the facilities spotless and the owners are extremely helpful and friendly.

We have visited this site many times over the years and have always enjoyed our stay. The new service pitches are a welcome bonus. There is a very good local shop with limited parking and which is within walking distance.

Woodbridge is well worth a visit and if you want to view a shingle beach, try Shingle Street which is a short drive away.

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Camelsoutback 20 reviews from this member

A well laid out campsite, with easy access. The toilets were clean and well looked after, in fact all of the site was. The bird life gave a good account of themselves especially the dawn chorus, which is a lovely sound.

Explored the surrounding area, beautiful form Aldeburgh to Woodbridge ( a lovely shopping experience). There is a local mini market in Hollesley which caters for most needs. The Shepard and Dog serves a lovely evening meal and good local beers. It is a shame there is not a free taxi back to the campsite, do take a torch with you when walk along the unlit road.

A lovely campsite with a very useful local tourist information cabin and good value.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Judipearce 20 reviews from this member

Seeing that this site was adult only we rang to see if they had vacancies and the lovely owner fitted us in for a week. We arrived and were greeted warmly and checked in with the satellite TV package, I mentioned that we would need a double adapter to use it and one was produced at once.

After being shown round site and to our pitch we got on settling. The hardstanding pitch was perfectly level and all services easy so we were soon set up and exploring the site. Very green and lots of trees our dog enjoyed the dog walking field and we sat on the bench by the lake.

Altogether a beautiful site, well cared for and with every possible amenity. Very clean showers etc. Washing up, laundry and information/ DVD loan hut.

Throughout our stay everyone was friendly and the owners very busy but always had time for a chat or to recommend places to go etc. The local shop is very close and great for papers and odd items. Lots to do in the area and we will most certainly be back. A real gem.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lysander1728 2 reviews from this member

This is a very neat and tidy site, set up mainly for motorhomes and caravans.

Looking at the '2018' overhead googlemaps photo, the field we were in looks like a bare field. Now (August 2018)its got a gravel road and several gravel pitches. These must be very recent, and they look it too.

Our pitch, at the north end down a slope in the second field was big enough, and probably the easiest soil I've ever put pegs into!

There are two large unisex toilet/shower rooms, but I found that the slate floor had become very wet throughout the room from the shower.

The separate Gents and Ladies Toilet/shower block was always spotless when we were there. Hand driers and taps all worked fine. The whole site had a general air of cleanliness - the amenities, waste/ water/ showers/ toilets/ grassed areas/ roads were all pristine.

It was full up when we were there and I can see why.

The short drive to Snape Maltings is worth it, and Aldeburgh and Woodbridge are close enough too.

The local pub - the Shepherd and Dog - is 10mins walk away and served lovely food and great beer.

The local supermarket, very close to the pub, opens at 7am and sells everything you need. It even serves fresh tea and coffee if you are stupid enough to pack everything except the camping stove. Hmmm!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RazorUK84 1 review from this member

My girlfirend and I wanted somewhere relaxed where we wouldn't have to put up with children, I found run cottage on UKCampsites.co.uk under the 'no kids' filter and was instantly drawn in.

We were one of the few there using a tent, most were caravans. We turned up quite late, but were still happily greeted and provided with details of our pitch, which included an electric hookup that I'd asked for.

One small point is that we were the furthest from the toilet/shower block, even though we were the ones who would need it the most, but that was a minor thing. The facilities themselves were wonderfully maintained and included hot showers, washing up room, washing machine, and some other bits.

The site is beautifully kept and in a great location; green, quiet and spacious with some tree's for shade.

The owners and other campers were lovely and friendly (and helpful at times when we needed).

The village has a decent shop open daily 7-9 with everything you should need, and a nice pub that does very good food (not on Monday and Tuesday though?!); both a 10min walk.

The area is very quiet, and as such you have to check which days things are open, we missed out on a few things because we expected them to be running/open during the week.

We did days out to Felixstowe, Southwold and Colchester zoo. All of these are under an hour away and I'd highly recommend all of them.

There is also a very quiet shingle beach 45min walk (5 min drive) from the site. There's nothing there though, so take everything you need!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MattHembrow 1 review from this member

This is a site that I would definitely recommend people try that wanted to stay in this part of suffolk. It is a site that seems to be mainly aimed at caravans which in my opinion is what made it perfect for us in our tent.

The site is also an adults only site which is great if you just want a quiet weekend. The owners were very friendly and helpful they showed us to our our pitch and explained all the amenities they also made sure our tent power hook up was all connected properly before they left us to set up.

There was both male and female toilets and showers (two of each) there were also two unisex toilets and showers that could be used if the main facilities where in use. The showers where a good size however the push button on the showers was a little fast to cut off I think the maximum I got was about 10 seconds before the water shut off at each push. Other than this they were clean and very usable. There was a wash room for washing up that also included a washing machine and a tumble dryer.

There was a small shed to the side of the toilet block that housed information on all the surrounding areas and a detailed map of the area. They also had on display a selection of menus from all of the local pubs and a collection of dvds and books. There was wifi available on the site that could be purchased at a good rate. There was a large dog exercise area at the back of the site with dog bin provided.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eclectus 31 reviews from this member

Just had a very pleasant 8 day stay at run cottage.

The site is located about a 20 minute drive from the town of Woodbridge in a very rural location in the village of Hollesley. The site is adults only and is set out into two main sections, in very pretty well landscaped surroundings.

There are a few fully serviced pitches and grass and hard standing non serviced pitches. Toilets are very well kept and always clean 2 showers and 2 toilets in both the gents and ladies. There are also two unisex bathrooms with shower and toilet. There was a tourist information area and a washing up room also in the main facilities block. There is a very generous dog walking area on site which is secure.

There are plenty of walks locally and the nearest beach (shingle street) and as its name suggest is shingle. There is car parking available at the beach but you can walk there if you wish.

There is a small local shop in Hollesley, a larger variety of shops in Woodbridge including a co-op and a little further on is a large Tesco extra, M&S food and Pets at home. The area is quite remote so if your planning on staying local to the site it might be worth stocking up as it can take 20-25 minutes to get to the nearest large supermarket.

Wifi on site had recently been installed I think. Sadly the prices were too high to justify this added expense. We managed quite well with EE and Three mobile signals with 4G reception.

There was a satellite connection point on most pitches ( a chargeable extra - Just to plug in).

Places we visited:

Woodbridge- A very nice little town with an array of shops and eateries. Train station also if you wanted to go further afield.

Felixtowe - visited here twice. The first visit was during bad rain and wind. So visited a second time in the week to explore Landguard fort (worth a visit) and the town. I was very impressed with the town itself. The gardens along the seafront were beautiful. The beaches clean and areas to take the dogs. If I returned to the area would definitely stay at Felixtowe.

Framlingham Castle - English heritage - nice place to visit as was the nearby Orford castle - again english heritage.

Ipswich - a nice town with the usual array of shops and bars.

Aldeburgh - a very picturesque coastal town. A haven if you like seafood at very good prices.

All in all a very nice friendly site.

Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Woodbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5406 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019