Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Higher Harlyn Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Higher Harlyn Park
St Merryn
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8SG
Tel: 01841 520022
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Browny549 6 reviews from this member

Had a fantastic time at Higher Harlyn. Pitch was large and with superb views looking over Constantine Bay. Checking was nice and easy with lots of information and a friendly smile. The site is in a great location for the beaches of Harlyn and Constantine Bay and a short drive to Padstow. The site has a mixture of Statics and pitches however this does not give you the feeling of being overcrowded. There is a pool available and Bars which are not noisy and a nuisance. A great site and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chloe the Chausson 4 reviews from this member

Stayed on the rally field for a family holiday. Really enjoyed ourselves. The facilities are pretty good and the site well cared-for. If I were to be critical, no-one seemed to 'police' the swimming pool area so a lot of 'bombing' was going on by bigger children which was quite intimidating for the younger ones in the pool, and the pool could get ridiculously busy (it is a large site and a small pool area). Also, none of the local beaches are within 'easy' walking distance - the nearest beach is a 20-25 minute trudge along the road. As keen walkers, we walked all of the headland and visited all of the local coves, but that is not for the less fit and able or younger visitors. Be warned! We, however, were happy to walk and even cycled into Padstow on a couple of days. We have definitely got this site on our radar for a return visit.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Plankymonkey 5 reviews from this member

Just got back from 5 nights at Higher Harlyn, we were pretty much the only campers there!

It was great at this time of year but not sure I would go back during the peak season as it is a large site and I prefer smaller sites. Lots of caravans and more currently being built.

We had an electric pitch for 15 per night plus 3 for the dog, we were allowed on the more expensive pitches with a view as no one else was there, the view was great but only whilst stood up, couldn't see the view when we sat down! I wouldn't book the more expensive pitch I would be just as happy a little further away.

The facilities were shut - the shop, pool and bar as there was no demand for it so I can't comment on them.

The showers, toilets and wash up facilities are great as they are brand spanking new. Lots of lovely hot water, very clean and well maintained.

The site was a little way up the road and the walk to the beach was a trudge along the roads and not something I would encourage with children. The local shops at St Merryn were a few metres up the road and very convenient.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: G.schofield 9 reviews from this member

Booked the more expensive Sea View pitch by the hedge. Waste of money, as the pitches in the rally field opposite had a better view.

The pitches are a little confusing as to how much area you have. Space between could be better.

Tried the pub for a drink, and was a nice atmosphere.

Toilets/showers are a good quality but a bit of a trek for some.

The best beach for body boards and entertaining the kids was Trevone. Car park on the beach along with toilets/shop/cafe.

I wouldn't advise anyone with a caravan to travel on the A389 between Little Petherick and the A39 it is VERY narrow in places. We nearly got stuck and locals are not sympathetic or helpful. In fact they were determined not to move!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dippyemma 2 reviews from this member

Such a lovely site! Facilities are well kept and staff very helpful and friendly.

Pool is chilly but clean, with a lock on the gate out of reach for little kids so no fear of them straying in without an adult. The bar is not the average, slightly down-market campsite a-fare but really quite smart, with a separate 'adults only' area and outside heated seating, a good retreat in wet weather. Restaurant upstairs does a good coffee. Didn't eat there but the menu looks nice. Kids play area is well kept and fenced. Shop sells all the essentials at very reasonable price, the fresh bread is great.

On the not so good side the freezer was packed full and we found it only cooled our blocks but it was free (donations RNLI) and the showers were not always hot but always kept clean.

We stayed in the non electric field on the Harlyn row. Although its the furthest away from the toilets we decided we wouldn't want it any other way as the views are stunning! We were due to move to another site after a week but decided to stay, which is a first for us!

Harlyn Bay beach, we thought, was the best. Weever fish were out in force on the spring tide but Life Guards very helpful and buckets of hot water and smiles were provided. Walk to St Merryn via dog walk field (very clean, and big!), shops, pub, fish n chips all there. Surf shop are really helpful too.

Padstow never seems to change, as lovely as ever. Our best meals were at the two Italian restaurants. One overlooks the harbour and the table next to us said the lobster was the best they'd had.

All in all a truly lovely area and campsite. Booking for next year, which is very rare for us to visit a site twice!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Speedy2 7 reviews from this member

A large site. There are several pitches, containing caravans, on long term lease, located around the facilities block next to the office. Adjacent to these are static caravans. There are other fields available one with services, the others with limited facilities, no electric hook up. We were without electric, sharing facilities with the long term rental units. Facilities were adequate but not brilliant. This site is close to shops and beaches. We were on a club rally and the pitch prices were expensive.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shaz66 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this site, overall a very good site, showers/toilets the best I've seen on any site,. Plenty to do for children if you choose to spend a day on site ie outdoor pool and a small play area park. Restaurant and takeaway on site and was very good and reasonably priced. High season entertainment in the bar for families. Local shop also on site, a little pricey. Would choose a better pitch next time was a bit disappointed with it, not that level as we had some heavy rain we had to take our awning down due to floor awning flooded. Staff were friendly and the site was very clean.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BARRY3848 1 review from this member

Been coming to Higher Harlyn for years and have always been very happy, however, this year was the best ever. New shower and toilet block absolutely brilliant. Site was very well kept and clean, staff were very friendly and helpful. Could the staff organise some better weather for next year when we return ?

Well done best site in the area.

I have been coming to the area since I was a boy and it continues to have a magic place in my heart and Higher Harlyn is a great location for all bays, Padstow and St. Merryn.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dazed21 8 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a long weekend at this site (2 adults & 1 dog).

The facilities were excellent we were on the camping field, we only enquired a few days in advance so we were unable to have electric hook-up but there is a brand new facilities block servicing this field, showers, toilets, washing up and waste areas were excellent. We never had to queue for showers or toilets. There is a nice bar with a family area, restaurant and takeaway on site, bar prices are in line with most pubs and the restaurant was slightly pricey but the food was very good quality (we recommend the gourmet burgers). The shop is also quite reasonable. Everywhere was very clean, we didn't use the pool but it looked nice.

There's a field for walking dogs and it's a few minutes walk to St Merryn village which is a busy little hub with a few shops, pubs, takeaways and restaurants. There is also a bakery which sells lovely fresh food at reasonable prices (we recommend the steak pasty).

We would definitely return to this site but we would book in advance next time to ensure we have electric hookup. We had lovely weather but it can get very windy at times. We walked to Harlyn Bay beach each day, it took about 40 minutes on the road or you can get a bus from St Merryn, it's probably a 5-10 minute drive and I think parking was 2. 50 for the day. The beach is dog friendly. It's very good location for travelling around Cornwall but we just wanted to sit in the sun and relax on the beach so it was perfect.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Louadej 6 reviews from this member

Stayed 8 nights in the rally field with C&CC, good price and very friendly. Only intended to stay for 3 nights but stayed longer because of the fantastic views and location of site.

Made use of some of the site facilities. Toilet and shower blocks clean. Site was busy and there was always a queue for the showers and dishwashing. Sockets and mirrors in laundrette for hairdryers etc.

Shop well stocked but slightly pricey.

Children's play area small but adequate. Pool was freezing, kids didn't stay in long.

Short safe walk into St. Merryn for local shops, pubs and takeaways. Roads not good for walking to local beaches but an easy bike ride to most of them or car parking available at a few.

Would stay again with C&CC but probably not on main site as it looked too crammed.

Great base for beaches and exploring North Cornwall.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3206 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019