Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Merrose Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Truro > Merrose Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Merrose Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Portscatho
St Mawes
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR2 5EL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 177
Open: 16/03/2021 to 05/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Vale girl 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived after 6 hour drive. Walked to office with facemask on chin ready to place over mouth on entry to the office. Was shouted at by warden sat outside on the bench when I was at least 30 feet away “ MASK”!. Not the best greeting and annoying when I was well prepared to put my mask on. Lady warden inside was nice

Site nice and showers clean. However, every evening we were quite disturbed by the wardens who got together in each other’s awnings to have a meal / socialise. They were very noisy especially as we were pitched up quite close to them. It went on till 10. 45 pm one evening and we thought it was rowdy campers and were surprised that No it was the actual wardens !

We’re not old and have teenagers but even they were surprised at how noisy they were. Wardens take note. Pitches 140 and surrounding can hear you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mark1200 6 reviews from this member

 Good location if you are fit or you will need transportation,

Facilities good,

Good size off lead dog field,

Caravan club sites still a bit stiff but getting better.

If dog owners have dogs with behavioural issues then take them on the many local footpaths or quiet lanes, don’t walk them in the dog field and pull your face if a dog runs up to yours ! ( idiot Greyhound owners) 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr_jibbles 15 reviews from this member

 Just home from a 6 night stay at Merrose Farm. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We completely agree with 'outinthesticks' comments wondering why this site only rates an 8/10 review. It seems to be based on the bus service from the site rather than a comment on the site's facilities, which seems very unfair.

The site is quiet and immaculately kept. The wardens work tirelessly to keep it clean and tidy. The toilet block was always spotless as were the washing up and laundry areas. The site itself is attractively laid out and with a good amount of space between the hard standing pitches (grass pitches were also available but we booked a hardstanding pitch). The wardens are welcoming and friendly. They were chatty with the children and very helpful. They had just set up the 'Tourer Explorer' trail which our children really enjoyed.

Onsite there is a small shop selling essentials, a good sized playing field and a lovely playground area with plenty of equipment for our children (aged 10and 8) as well as for younger children. There is also an information booth and book swap on site.

The site is easily accessible if you follow the Club's directions. No scary narrow Cornish lanes! The narrow access lane to the site is controlled by traffic lights, removing any worry about meeting another unit coming the other way.

The area is new to us and we really enjoyed exploring. St Mawes is small but beautifully formed. The Castle was fascinating. Visitor information centre was very helpful. Fish and chips from the Watch Tower were tasty although a bit pricey. Fudge and ice-cream from Fudge and Moores were yum! Regular passenger ferry services to Falmouth and a 'weather permitting' ferry to St. Anthony's Head. If you are interested in geocaching there are a number of good, quite straight forward caches to find around the town. St Mawes also has a number of arty gift shops, post office, pharmacy and Co-op. Oh and the fruit scones and pasties from St Mawes' Bakery are very good!

Trelissick has beautiful, extensive grounds although access to the house is very limited. We visited via King Harry Ferry. Our children wanted to visit the Cornish Seal Sanctuary which was very interesting. Both are well worth a visit, as is the National Maritime Museum in Falmouth.

We had a lovely holiday and will be returning to the area. We will definitely be basing our holiday at Merrose Farm! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lms0110 50 reviews from this member

 Great site on the Roseland Peninsula, usual standard of CC, spotless facilities etc, the bonus for us was the very large enclosed dog field so the dogs could be off lead. Bus stop outside site to St Mawes, yes only 2 hourly but that's not the sites fault. Across the road is a roadway that takes you to the farm shop which you pass to take you to the SW coastpath 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Annie8lib 2 reviews from this member

 Visited with motor home, very nice site, space, good showers etc. Wanted to use the buses to get around, and cc book states correctly bus stop outside. However, buses only 2 hourly, and had a habit of not turning up at all, so many people waiting were disappointed. Bus also often very late, so not sure if they were coming at all! OK if in a caravan and have a car, but not good for motor homes if you want to use public transport to get about!

Many disgruntled potential bus passengers when we were there. Ringing the bus company or complaining to the bus driver when a bus does arrive gets you nowhere. I'm afraid this spoilt our stay, and we won't be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Outinthesticks 12 reviews from this member

 It's a bit hard to work out why this site showed as only 8/10 on UK Campsite. It offered us an efficient and friendly check-in, a thoroughly modern and immaculately clean facilities block, and well maintained landscaping. The access would be slightly dodgy were it not for the traffic-light controls, but once inside the layout is spacious with a choice of grass or stoned pitches. We chose the latter and it was so nearly level that the wedges stayed in the locker. There's an excellent drive-over grey waste point and full recycling facilities. A separate dog-walking field is provided for pooches and their people. Basic provisions are available from the office and the CC wi-fi system worked as well as could be expected in this rural area.

There's a reasonable bus service to Truro and St Mawes from the main road, less than 300m from the site entrance - the office has a timetable. We took the bus to St Mawes and had a breezy trip on the ferry to Falmouth (£9 return) and, when we got back, a good lunch in the friendly 'Moules Bar' of the St Mawes Hotel. We also did a bit of the SW Coast Path which runs close to the site - walking to Portscathough which, late on an October Saturday afternoon, turned out to be a cafe and pub free zone - although it did have a small supermarket open till 7pm. A quick flip across the King Harry Ferry (accessed by roads quite suitable for a motorhome) took us to the gardens at Trelissik (National Trust). The campsite can offer cards which give a discount on the return ferry fare, a useful bonus.

Altogether a site out of the top drawer of the CC list and with lots to do in the delightful countryside around. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CorkyBrit 9 reviews from this member

 This is a very popular site because of its great location in Cornwall on the beautiful Roseland peninsular. We wanted a hardstanding pitch and were lucky to get the last unoccupied one in a good position, and there were only a few pitches left available on grass.

The two toilet blocks adjacent to each other were very clean and up to the usual C. C. high standard.

The site was in a quiet location and the only one we've found so far that has traffic lights controlling vehicle movement in and out.

The shop has essentials such as newspapers (to order), milk, fresh bread, gas and toilet chemicals, plus maps, postcards ice cream and clotted cream.

A fish & chip van comes every Monday and Thursday, but there is always a long queue for it.

The information room has books and DVD's you can borrow, and leaflets for the many places of interest you can visit, including many beautiful gardens lining the River Fal.

Our favourite was Trebah Garden. It's about an hour away, and next door to NT Glendurgan Garden, but worth the drive via the King Harry Ferry. It's big and beautiful, and has its own private beach. We recommended it highly.

The Merrose Farm wardens were very friendly and helpful. It's a good site for families with a play area and games field. Watch out though for children whizzing around on the roadways from behind you on bikes.

There are so many lovely places you can visit from here, quaint fishing villages, gardens, castles and dozens of beaches.

We really like this site and plan to visit again next year, but perhaps off season next time when it might not be so crowded with young families. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happycamper2012 9 reviews from this member

 As we were booking late on in the year we were limited to which club site we could go to but we knew we wanted to be in Cornwall near the West end ish. So, when this site became available we just had to book without considering it.

This site was amazing and the surroundings were really nice. I didn't feel like it was very busy even though the site was fully booked. I liked the extra touches of the book loan and dvd loan, that was very nice when the weather was bleak during the evenings (it rained a fair bit but mainly on an evening!). There was also an evening when fish and chips were available, again it all adds to the holiday experience!

The facilities were excellent. I especially like it when wash basins are in a private cubicle to the showers. They were also kept immaculate.

The location was superb and the reception offers discounted ferry tickets which is especially useful for when going on the King Harry Ferry. St. Mawes itself is lovely, there are some very nice places to eat and a great ice-cream shop. Around the harbour there are multi-coloured lights that look gorgeous on an evening, especially when going for a walk along the harbour on an evening it's very romantic.

I would definitely recommend this site to anyone that wants to go on holiday to Cornwall without the fear of the un-expected. Top-notch! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Billy whizz 2 reviews from this member

 Another great caravan club site. Extremely hard working and friendly wardens. The site is kept immaculate despite it being very busy with very clean toilet blocks.

We found the music in the loo blocks a nice friendly touch and not at all obtrusive DVD loan scheme and book loan for charity a great idea for those rare wet evenings. The dog walk is the size of a football pitch with adequate dog bins.

The kids play area and agility trail is good and on top of that a large fenced off playing field for footy or cricket/rounders etc Fish n chip man is great although you must queue early or you may be eating well late.

The wardens have art competitions for the kids and there are games for the junior members to loan in the info room to. A very friendly relaxed attitude on site even though standards were high. We will return 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ermintrude 4+1 3 reviews from this member

 Firstly the approach is fab for Cornwall, as its on a traffic light system, so no crossed fingers at the end of a long journey.

Great site, spotlessly clean, friendly and helpful wardens.

Info hut is well stocked, even a great dvd library for rainy evenings with teenagers.

Strawberry man and chippy van visit twice a week each and both were very good though the queue for fish and chips was long. The strawberry man calls at each pitch at pudding time!

Dog walk is half a field and not very pretty but the dog didn't mind. Still lots to sniff and room for a run.

Play area was a bit unimaginative for older kids but little ones will love it.

Pitches are well cared for and large enough. We were on hard standing.

The area is fantastic. Quiet and uncomercialised with some fab family beaches. A Co-op in St. Mawes and butcher and general store in Portscatho.

Melinsey Mill and Smugglers are great for cream teas and the Roseland Inn at Philleigh does lovely food too. Been coming to the Roseland for years, since the kids were very small and we all love it down here.

Definitely coming back to Merrose farm. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merrose Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merrose Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merrose Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Truro      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3625 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement