Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Aird Donald Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > Aird Donald Caravan Park Reviews

Aird Donald Caravan Park
London Road
Stranraer
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG9 8RN
Tel: 01776 702025
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 175
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: WenC 4 reviews from this member

I have just returned from an enjoyable stay at this campsite. It is close to Stranraer so very convenient for supermarkets etc.

The facilities and grounds are impeccable and the pitches spacious and flat. There is also a covered Cook House, invaluable for rainy days.

Although the site is close to town it is quiet at night and felt rural.

I used the site as a base for walking the Mull of Galloway Trail. Local transport to the various villages on the trail was easily accessible from the site.

It is also close to Stranraer Rail Station.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hek132 6 reviews from this member

Camped here(£15) for 1 night whilst walking the Loch Ryan coastal trail

Friendly welcome with facilities etc all explained, lots local information available

Nice flat pitch close, but not too close, to the toilet shower block, water tap close by

Spotless clean toilets & shower - 50p for shower 8 minutes & 20p hairdryer available

Bin area clean with ample parking available. Nice quiet site

Huge area for Motorhomes & caravans

Small swing park & some horses, cats & rabbits about

Short walk to bus route & town centre

We’ll sign posted on main road

Would recommend this site

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PedroPete61 22 reviews from this member

This is a large site with hard standings and grass, if it rains which it does even in summer a bit doggy if your van weighs 3 ton. If your are on route to Belfast ferry, then this is a good stopover.

The town is only 1 mile away and it has all the main names Tesco, morrisons, argos and the like, as well as coffee and places to visit.

The site is current at £20 per night and the site is very clean and tidy, everyone is friendly and after being here for a week, it is a shame to go.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nobs 9 reviews from this member

Lovely site on the outskirts of Stranraer, signposted on the main road so easy to find

Positives:

-Very friendly owners

-Picnic tables a nice touch

-Close to Stranraer - about 20 minute walk into town

-Hot showers

-Lush grass and lots of conifers dividing the fields

Negatives:

-the hardstanding area is like a car park, not pleasant to look out onto.

-no motorhome service area.

-expensive £17/night including EHU, compared to £11 or £13 nearby with better facilities.

-shower room was cold and draughty due to the windows being permanently wedged open about 3-4cm. There was a one bar electric fire on at times but it was situated near the ceiling and not very effective, though a nice gesture.

-the hygiene bins in the ladies toilets were very dusty/dirty and looked like they had not been cleaned for weeks, otherwise it was clean.

-showers cost 50p for 8 minutes. The slot to put the money in may be too high up for some ladies/children

-there was lots of rubble behind the toilet block which could be a hazard for children if they were not supervised carefully

We would probably not use the site again because of the cost, unless we specifically wanted to visit Stranraer and nowhere else.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rusl 12 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for two nights, with a day-trip to Belfast (without the van!) in between.

The site is large, with plenty of space around. There are a selection of grass- and hard-standings (we were recommended to take a hard pitch because of the amount of rain before our visit). The lady we spoke to was very friendly and helpful.

The toilet block is a little elderly, but had been recently painted and was immaculately clean. Showers are electric and run off 50p coin meters.

Lots of room for kids to run about, and lots of ducks, rabbits, and Shetland ponies to watch. There are some picnic tables scattered around the grounds, which would be good to eat at on a nice day.

It's about a mile to the centre of Stranraer (20 minutes walk) where there is a Morrisons supermarket as well as lots of local shops and a smallish Tesco, plus a good choice of eating places.

I think the site is still popular with people travelling via the ferries, although these have now moved to Cairnryan which is about 8 miles up the road.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Velvet Kitten 23 reviews from this member

We have just spent 5 days here. This was the closest site for us visiting relatives in Stranraer. It is very popular with travellers using the Ferries. Easy to find and about a 15 minute walk into the town.

The short stay toilet block was clean, there was a 50p charge for the showers which gave you 8 minutes, you also regulated your own temperature which on some metered showers is not an option.

The owner was very welcoming. The hardstandings are exactly that hard. We had a spot where we were able to put up our awnings but the OH still managed to bend a hammer whilst hitting in the rock pegs!

We would use this site again.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jjlj95 27 reviews from this member

This site was extremely easy to find, with the drive way actually on the A75 itself and heralded with brown information signs. I was made really welcome by the very friendly owner. The short stay facilities were nice and clean - take change to pay for the shower ( 50p ) - There was a handy washing up area too. I was only staying here over night before I caught the ferry. This was the perfect location, I was able to unhitch, set up, refill petrol at the large Supermarket just half a mile or so further along the A75 and for my own peace of mind, do a dry run to the car and caravan entry to the ferry port which is a very easy journey,about 0.8 miles from the site and well signed (follow 'Freight' signs, it doesn't mention caravans until you turn into the port).

I only managed to find a few BBC channels with my freeview box, but I had a great nights sleep as it was such a relief to be so close to the ferry and know exactly where I was going. I would absolutely, definitely stay here again and it would be a great place to visit the area on a longer stay

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davspat 5 reviews from this member

We used this site to allow easy access to the ferry the next morning. The site cost was 16.00 which after 12.10 at the excellent site at New England was expensive for rather a tired grounds.

Short term facilities were older but ok. Longer term facilities are better! We also pay extra for showers. The site was not busy on 30 June and we had booked without need.

We would not have thought it had enough features to warrant a longer term stay

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rusty64 3 reviews from this member

Stayed one night before heading for the ferry to Ireland (Home).

Lovely peaceful site within walking distance of town for shops, pubs, resturant etc. Owners friendly and helpful. Lots of rabbits playing around(including black ones,ducks and shetland ponies to be seen.

Toilet/shower block clean,showers 50p. Plenty of hard standings. Ideal base for ferry users.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ian 430 4 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site.

We didn't book but were greeted by a lovely lady who quickly sorted us out with a pitch with hook up. Plenty of hardstandings for bad weather or grassy pitches for better weather.

Toilet block and site impeccably clean. Also used the laundry facilities which were reasonable - £2.00 per wash which takes over an hour! We went out and left the washing drying on a clothes rack which the warden told us had blown over during the day so she picked it up and asked the chap in the next unit to us to 'keep an eye on it'

We booked a day trip to Ireland - which got cancelled - so spent a day out and about locally - plenty to do and see. I think the site is used mainly as a stopover to and from Ireland.

Children on the site seemed happy - lots of open spaces - lots of rabbits to watch!

20 minute walk to town - lots of pubs and places to eat. Would recommend this site without hesitation.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Stranraer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5703 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019