Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glen Of Aherlow Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Tipperary > Glen Of Aherlow Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Glen Of Aherlow Caravan & Camping Park
Newtown
Glen Of Aherlow
Tipperary
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: (062) 56555
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gpjw 12 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. The pitches are well spaced out and a lot of thought has gone into making it suitable for all sorts of people. George and Rosaline are wonderful owners and nothing is too much trouble. We were greeted warmly on arrival and having requested a quiet spot away from children, were delighted to get just that.

The site is well laid out and very attractive with tents appearing to have their own area. The reception provides much information and offers gorgeous buns, cakes and refreshments. There is an excellent tv room, games room, laundry room (with three washing machines and a tumble drier) and a well equipped kitchen.

The toilets were absolutely spotless with two showers providing free hot water. During our stay we visited nearby Cahir castle and the stunning Swiss Cottage as well as The Rock of Cashel and the Cashel Folk village, all of which are worth a visit.

The nearby Aherlow hotel offers good food and is a popular spot. We were both so impressed overall and this caravan site has to be among the best in Southern Ireland. We unfortunately had to cut our stay short due to illness at home, and George and Rosaline were so supportive and kind that I cannot thank them enough.

They tick all the boxes in how to run a site and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone for an enjoyable and comfortable holiday. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gbrownhill 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in July for four days, it is our second visit to this campsite. The views of the mountains are stunning and it is so quiet and peaceful.

The campsite has large spacious level pitches with room for caravan, awning and car with water in and out and electric on each pitch.

The toilet facilities are spotless and the showers are free. (In Ireland a lot of sites charge for showers) The owners are constantly keeping the site clean and tidy and were seen tending to the toilets at 11. 30p. M. There is a laundry with washers and drier available for use, just need to pay the lady on reception for the use of the washers.

There is a very nice sitting room with settee and armchairs with a television, a separate games room with a pool table and table tennis table (cues and bats are available at reception for a small deposit) and a Campers Kitchen. Which contains fridge, kettle, microwave and cooker. Available for campers to use.

There is also free wifi on site.

If you fancy a stroll after dinner there is a small pub about 400 yards away, with a Tourist Information Office behind the pub and several restaurants in Tipperary. We visited the River View Chinese Restaurant and it was excellent.

Lots of nice walks in the area, if you want to take your dog out. No children's playground, but plenty of space for children to ride bicycles. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shields clan 8 reviews from this member

 Absolutely beautiful site. Spotlessly clean and gardens immaculately kept. Owners were so lovely. The scenery around was just breathtaking.

Walked 5 minutes to the local pub which was very welcoming and friendly. Couldn't fault Glen of Aherlow such a lovely site.

Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vangelina 16 reviews from this member

 Perfect site in every way. Wonderful layout and location. Fabulous welcome by the charming gentlemanly George. Stunning views of mountains, Very short walk to lovely pub where we met some other campers for a great craic. Immaculate facilities.

Pity we were only there for one night on the way to Dublin Port. This site exemplifies the very best of Caravan Club ideology.

Adored it and will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Declang 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here at the weekend, arriving late on Friday evening.

Without doubt, it is the best and warmest welcome we have ever received at any campsite in Ireland, UK, or France since we started camping 7 years ago !

The grounds were spotless, perfectly maintained, nice short grass. Water, waste & electric available on the post between every two hardstandings.

Toilet/Shower blocks again were spotless, as was the campers kitchen with piping hot water for washing up.

Chemical loo disposal area was also clean and well maintained.

There is a dedicated motorhome service point, with a drive-over grey waste emptying point and a fresh water supply, (self-retracting hose), which is a rare thing in Ireland, so that was a nice surprise.

As mentioned in earlier reviews, there is nothing really for kids to do, apart from a pool table and table-tennis in the recreational room, but for us that wasn't an issue, as we were only staying one night.

There is also a TV room, but we didn't use that, so can't comment.

Overall we were very pleased and will definitely be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daveve 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and in some spectacular scenery. A good adult site but not much for children.

All the amenities were spotless and the owners v/nice people and helpful. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Humbird 4 reviews from this member

 Nice clean site, perhaps a bit sterile and lacking ambience. Good mountain views. I felt it was really geared for adults (not families) because there was no playground for kids, not even a swingset. That's fine as long as one knows in advance.

My children were a bit bored at this site because they didn't have enough to occupy them on site, which is the first time they have ever complained about that (even at other campsites which had no playgrounds they had natural playgrounds like woods or sand dunes to explore).

If you are looking for a clean campsite with clean facilities and you don't care if it seems to lack personality, and you just want to use it as a base, then this site would be fine.

If you want a campsite that has more personality and is equally clean and has excellent facilities I would recommend Ballinacourty House Campsite, which I have also stayed at, and it is only a 5 minute drive away.

I will return to Ballinacourty House Campsite, however I would not stay at Glen of Aherlow Campsite because its a bit too clinical / sterile for my personal liking. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kbheal 19 reviews from this member

 What a lovely peaceful site.

As already stated in a previous review there are only 2 local pubs, we tried the hotel which was excellent but pricey ( some of it due to the exchange rate). Had a main meal ( 2 adults and 2 teenage children) with drinks and over 70 euros.

Need to be able to drive down the narrow lanes to get back to any civilisation.

Games room a hit with the children, pool table and table tennis. The campers kitchen very good and the laundry good.

Free showers and the toilets where very clean, excellent.

Very friendly and helpful on site, when we arrived very tired following an overnight rough ferry crossing we where able to find a pitch and get settled before paying.

A very clean and peaceful site, would return if ever get the chance to go to Ireland again. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigMona 97 reviews from this member

 We stopped off at this site on our way back east after touring Kerry. The site itself is quite remote but the backdrop is stunning. There are a couple of Hotels near by and we tried both for lunch and a tipple!

There is a pub 200 yards out of the main gates, and behind that is a tourist information office where we were told of some great walks to do in the woods which were wonderful. The owners were very friendly and really made you feel welcome.

Cash only though! As for the facilities, top notch! On our last day, the local radio station broadcast its breakfast show from the site and the owners put on a BBQ. Great place to stay and would recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaynus 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights on our way back from the west coast. What a lovely site with very friendly owners. This is a reasonably new site and so everything is still very new looking.

This is a good thing as toilets and showers are immaculately clean, along with free hot water showers. There is a kitchen with toaster and plug socket for microwave and oven, all at a small charge of 50 cents or 1 euro. Table tennis table and pool table. A separate TV room and laundry facilities.

Leaving the park there is a nice hotel 5 mins walk in one direction and a small pub 5 mins in the opposite direction.

Scenery is stunning and great for walking and cycling.

Hope to return in future years 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glen Of Aherlow Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glen Of Aherlow Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Glen Of Aherlow Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




All Sites in S Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4219 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement