Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glen Of Aherlow Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > County Tipperary > Glen Of Aherlow Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Glen Of Aherlow Caravan And Camping Park
Newtown
Glen Of Aherlow
County Tipperary
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: +353 62 56555
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 26/03/2024 to 29/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kate w 70 reviews from this member

 I booked the site via CAMC along with the ferry crossings. Having never used a service pitch before I contacted the site and received a pleasant reply to my email where I was advised I needed 10m water and waste pipes.

The site is beautiful, the location is faultless. Scenery stunning. My only minor niggle would be there’s no hand held shower, only an overhead one and the water had a tendency to disappear half way through showering for 30 seconds or so, this could have been due to several people showering and flushing toilets at the same time. Only used the site shower once, choosing to use the caravan one instead.

The welcome was great, lovely quiet site with lots of people staying a couple of nights as they toured Ireland. Plenty of places to visit in the area.

Sadly the weather wasn’t too good, would have been brilliant to be able to sit out and enjoy the view more. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: HR Lady 3 reviews from this member

 Contact prior to arrival with Rosaline was efficient, curteous and professional.

We were greeted by George on arrival whom checked us in, gave us map of site pointing out our pitch and facilities, giving us gate access fob.

Facilities were all well maintained and immaculately clean. What more could you ask for.

Thank you both, we will recommend and stay again if in the area. 😁

The views are stunning too 😉

John and Lesley 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gpjw 12 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. The pitches are well spaced out and a lot of thought has gone into making it suitable for all sorts of people. George and Rosaline are wonderful owners and nothing is too much trouble. We were greeted warmly on arrival and having requested a quiet spot away from children, were delighted to get just that.

The site is well laid out and very attractive with tents appearing to have their own area. The reception provides much information and offers gorgeous buns, cakes and refreshments. There is an excellent tv room, games room, laundry room (with three washing machines and a tumble drier) and a well equipped kitchen.

The toilets were absolutely spotless with two showers providing free hot water. During our stay we visited nearby Cahir castle and the stunning Swiss Cottage as well as The Rock of Cashel and the Cashel Folk village, all of which are worth a visit.

The nearby Aherlow hotel offers good food and is a popular spot. We were both so impressed overall and this caravan site has to be among the best in Southern Ireland. We unfortunately had to cut our stay short due to illness at home, and George and Rosaline were so supportive and kind that I cannot thank them enough.

They tick all the boxes in how to run a site and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone for an enjoyable and comfortable holiday. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gbrownhill 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in July for four days, it is our second visit to this campsite. The views of the mountains are stunning and it is so quiet and peaceful.

The campsite has large spacious level pitches with room for caravan, awning and car with water in and out and electric on each pitch.

The toilet facilities are spotless and the showers are free. (In Ireland a lot of sites charge for showers) The owners are constantly keeping the site clean and tidy and were seen tending to the toilets at 11. 30p. M. There is a laundry with washers and drier available for use, just need to pay the lady on reception for the use of the washers.

There is a very nice sitting room with settee and armchairs with a television, a separate games room with a pool table and table tennis table (cues and bats are available at reception for a small deposit) and a Campers Kitchen. Which contains fridge, kettle, microwave and cooker. Available for campers to use.

There is also free wifi on site.

If you fancy a stroll after dinner there is a small pub about 400 yards away, with a Tourist Information Office behind the pub and several restaurants in Tipperary. We visited the River View Chinese Restaurant and it was excellent.

Lots of nice walks in the area, if you want to take your dog out. No children's playground, but plenty of space for children to ride bicycles. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shields clan 8 reviews from this member

 Absolutely beautiful site. Spotlessly clean and gardens immaculately kept. Owners were so lovely. The scenery around was just breathtaking.

Walked 5 minutes to the local pub which was very welcoming and friendly. Couldn't fault Glen of Aherlow such a lovely site.

Will definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vangelina 41 reviews from this member

 Perfect site in every way. Wonderful layout and location. Fabulous welcome by the charming gentlemanly George. Stunning views of mountains, Very short walk to lovely pub where we met some other campers for a great craic. Immaculate facilities.

Pity we were only there for one night on the way to Dublin Port. This site exemplifies the very best of Caravan Club ideology.

Adored it and will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Declang 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here at the weekend, arriving late on Friday evening.

Without doubt, it is the best and warmest welcome we have ever received at any campsite in Ireland, UK, or France since we started camping 7 years ago !

The grounds were spotless, perfectly maintained, nice short grass. Water, waste & electric available on the post between every two hardstandings.

Toilet/Shower blocks again were spotless, as was the campers kitchen with piping hot water for washing up.

Chemical loo disposal area was also clean and well maintained.

There is a dedicated motorhome service point, with a drive-over grey waste emptying point and a fresh water supply, (self-retracting hose), which is a rare thing in Ireland, so that was a nice surprise.

As mentioned in earlier reviews, there is nothing really for kids to do, apart from a pool table and table-tennis in the recreational room, but for us that wasn't an issue, as we were only staying one night.

There is also a TV room, but we didn't use that, so can't comment.

Overall we were very pleased and will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daveve 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and in some spectacular scenery. A good adult site but not much for children.

All the amenities were spotless and the owners v/nice people and helpful. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Humbird 4 reviews from this member

 Nice clean site, perhaps a bit sterile and lacking ambience. Good mountain views. I felt it was really geared for adults (not families) because there was no playground for kids, not even a swingset. That's fine as long as one knows in advance.

My children were a bit bored at this site because they didn't have enough to occupy them on site, which is the first time they have ever complained about that (even at other campsites which had no playgrounds they had natural playgrounds like woods or sand dunes to explore).

If you are looking for a clean campsite with clean facilities and you don't care if it seems to lack personality, and you just want to use it as a base, then this site would be fine.

If you want a campsite that has more personality and is equally clean and has excellent facilities I would recommend Ballinacourty House Campsite, which I have also stayed at, and it is only a 5 minute drive away.

I will return to Ballinacourty House Campsite, however I would not stay at Glen of Aherlow Campsite because its a bit too clinical / sterile for my personal liking. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kbheal 19 reviews from this member

 What a lovely peaceful site.

As already stated in a previous review there are only 2 local pubs, we tried the hotel which was excellent but pricey ( some of it due to the exchange rate). Had a main meal ( 2 adults and 2 teenage children) with drinks and over 70 euros.

Need to be able to drive down the narrow lanes to get back to any civilisation.

Games room a hit with the children, pool table and table tennis. The campers kitchen very good and the laundry good.

Free showers and the toilets where very clean, excellent.

Very friendly and helpful on site, when we arrived very tired following an overnight rough ferry crossing we where able to find a pitch and get settled before paying.

A very clean and peaceful site, would return if ever get the chance to go to Ireland again. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Glen Of Aherlow Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glen Of Aherlow Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Glen Of Aherlow Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near County Tipperary      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in S Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


49050 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement