Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hollows Farm Camping

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Hollows Farm Camping > Reviews

Hollows Farm Camping
Grange In Borrowdale
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5UQ
Tel: 017687 77298
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
                9/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingfamily2018 6 reviews from this member

 The location of this campsite is absolutely stunning, enjoy the walk up to castle Crag or in the local woods.

Right on a lovely river, decent flat field for tents with no marked out pitches. Toilets are OK but have a few cobwebs and tiny sinks.

Short walk up to shower block but great powerful clean showers. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nickelpede 4 reviews from this member

 Setup camp here for our conquering of Scafell Pike via corridor route (had wanted to stop at Seathwaite Farm glad we weren't able after walking through on way up mountain)

Laura (owner) via friendly and accommodating, we even changed our stay to catch better weather.

We camped on the open field, no way you'd get on the Woodland Field with anything but a tent; you can't park next to your tent in the Woodland Field, it is a great location though in trees rugged landscape to behind. River Derwent couple hundred yards away with easy access.

Woodland Field had the toilets and washing up facilities (the standard cold water only) toilets clean and well stocked.

Open Field had flat marked pitchers (think this was a COVID thing) with water points, 3min walk to toilets, no bother to us with portable unit. (no N0. 2s!) Showers 3min in opposite direction at the farm house, again clean, hot, powerful and free!

A few younger families on site which created the usual babble that young children together creates, (we've been often added to that blouse in the past) towards the end of our stay it seemed the location was attracting a few; what I'd refer to as COVID campers (running the car engine to charge the phone, music at the level of volume the whole site can hear etc) not the sites fault at all, but as others have said in busier periods I'd have enjoyed it far less.

Not much in way of food/drink locally, best bet is to drive back into Keswick about 15mins away. Village of Grange did have at least 2 very busy cafés. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mike202 4 reviews from this member

 Great scenery amongst the trees and the crags of Borrowdale. The site has large pitches divided with plastic tape. The site owner was friendly and made us welcome upon our arrival.

The toilet block in the tents only field, so it is a short five min walk from the open field to them. The showers are next to the farm and again a five minute walk, but in the other direction. Both blocks were clean and the showers hot. There are lovely walks from the site by the trees and river valley.

Grange village has a couple of cafes, but the Borrowdale Gates hotel bar wasn't open to non residents.

It was very busy due to the school holidays when we were there, and the site was full, so if you want peace and quiet maybe pick a better time. It didn't really bother us though. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Bayley321 3 reviews from this member

 Great site with good facilities. The no electric camping field was a very long walk to get to the loo's washing machines etc.

The main problems we had were not with the site but other campers, who had no idea and did not care about campsite etiquette.

Children playing recorders at 8am, same children singing and dancing around other peoples tents at 10pm.

We left 3 days early, kids, weather and general - just want to go home. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Helenhowie 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely location and easy to book. You need to know the width of your van when driving down the single track road and through the gate!

Good hot showers at the farm and very clean, nice toilet block albeit a short walk from the vehicle field.

Will go again for sure because its so rare to have oak woodland, an unspoilt river and crags in view, all in one place.

It's the ideal venue for getting back to nature. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sheilbri 2 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site several times now and enjoyed each visit, beautiful site with a river beside suitable for paddling and swimming.

Lots of walks close by great for us as we travel with 4 dogs, the dogs are welcome on the site and there is no charge.

We tried the left side field this time, advantage is cars parked beside the tent, disadvantage farther away from the toilets, but closer to showers. Owners and staff very friendly.

We will definitely be returning again :)

The price at £7 per adult is great and they didn't get charged extra for our 7. 5 metre tent even though it was August and school holidays. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grumpazoid 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with the family in June on our way back down south from Scotland.

Excellent location for walking the nearby fells and not too far from Keswick by car for supplies.

The site is priced well and is a great place for kids with lots of space including a wooded area with tree swings.

There is a choice of two fields with the Cumbria way running through the middle.

The facilities are a little odd in the fact that the basic toilet facilities are located in the furthest field, and the showers (no toilets) are located in the opposite direction by the farm house. The showers however were free, hot and powerful.

Prices very reasonable - about £6 per adult per night.

Despite being very busy, we did not have to book and the site was nice and quiet at night.

We will definitely return at some point. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Zedsmith 5 reviews from this member

 Love this site - but only when it's quiet. I'll never go on a bank holiday again as the only problem with this site is other campers! As others have said, it's an odd layout with loos in one field and a bit of a walk to the showers by the farmhouse, but that's ok.

I'm not one for liking rules on a campsite, but this one needs some I think, we can cope with noise from other campers, who can get grumpy with the sound of people having fun? However I can't abide parents who either don't supervise their children and teenagers, or think it's ok to let them walk through peoples camping area, we had children walking right between the van door and our table and chairs. Also, whilst we were out walking the site got so full that a group of people pitched their tents so close to our van that we were blocked in for over 36 hours. Tents and cars were hemmed in like sardines all over the lower field, so perhaps the owners should think about a maximum limit of units? Other than that, this is a great campsite for out of high peak season visits, lovely walks, good facilities and nice local pubs. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denises 5 reviews from this member

 This back to basics campsite is located in The Grange area of Borrowdale near to Keswick. The campsite is accessed down a narrow lumpy bumpy dirt track alongside the local tea shop. There are two fields one for the large groups located by the toilets. The other field is near to the showers found in the farm buildings. Toilets are located one way and free showers the other. I got into the swing of this very quickly. The ground is hard so good strong metal tent pegs are needed. The cost is very good at £7 per person. Cars and dogs are free. There is a lovely walk to Catbells from the site. A bus pulls up by the bridge. I enjoy the ease of the site with the comings and goings. There is a no noise policy here which is imposed. This is the gem of Keswick. A great back to basis for anyone but not suited to party animals. I love the wonderful wake me up showers here. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Digby13 10 reviews from this member

 This is just about my favourite 'simple' site. Lovely location, adequate facilities. I've extolled its virtues before so I would like to comment on groups. Not family ones but organised/commercial ones.

A quiet pitch (which is what you fervently desire in this beautiful place) can suddenly become ghastly when two minibuses full of kids arrive and pitch around you. The worst has been an organisation called I think 'education outdoors'. They were playing organised games loudly until dusk, which is quite late in June, and having large group motivational sessions. There are areas within easy walking distance of the site where such activities could take place and I suggest the owners should make sure that obviously commercially run groups such as this respect other campers, and/or take their noisy activities away from the camping area.

Duke of Edinburgh's Award groups are fine. They are so tired they flake out very early on! 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hollows Farm Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hollows Farm Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hollows Farm Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4110 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement