Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hollows Farm Camping

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Hollows Farm Camping > Reviews

Hollows Farm Camping
Grange In Borrowdale
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5UQ
Tel: 017687 77298
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lizzie 1 review from this member

 Great little campsite, nice and quiet,

The children loved playing in the woods and the walk along the river to Rosthwaite.

Bit of a walk to the shower block but we didn't mind this. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Leshem 18 reviews from this member

 Stayed at the Woodland Field.

Field is quiet and relaxing, great place wind down and enjoy the great views around.

Walking trails start form the your tent directly.

On the field a toilet clean block with cold water. Hot showers are far away in the farm (550m walk), which is not ideal especially at night. 


Date of Visit: October 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ratty 313 reviews from this member

 I enquired using the form on here and received a quick reply from the site owner letting me know they had space, to just turn up and that it would be £10 for me in my campervan, and that included use of the toilets and showers.

On arrival I went pas the site to the farmhouse to meet the owner and pay my fees. She explained where the facilities were and let me know that I could go anywhere on the main camping field.

As it was very wet I asked if she minded if I camped on the gravel road that runs through the site, she was fine with this although she did assure me the far end of the site would be fine as drainage is very good. She was not wrong, the grass was not too bad considering the rain we had had and I did not get stuck.

The site for campervans is a good size field with gravel road way running through the middle. There are a few fresh water taps on this field. There is another field that is tents only, with no vehicle access and this also houses a couple of pods, fresh water taps, the bins and the toilet block. The shower block is back up the lane toward the farmhouse.

Toilet blocks consist of 2 toilets and urinals in the mens and 4 toilets in the ladies. Both had sinks and there is a washing up attached to this block with fresh water points too. The showers are a block of 4 and they are push button, non directional, however they were very warm and was a great shower after my long walk.

Walking from the site is in abundance with footpaths leading in all directions straight from the site. I walked up Castle Crag that had fantastic views over Borrowdale and Derwent Water. Fairly tough, but a nice circular walk. I also walked into Grange, however not a lot there apart from a tea room, a river and a church!

Close to Keswick, 15 minutes in a car with loads of normal shops, outdoor shops and a large Booths for your food shopping or a Co Op if you want a bit more reasonable prices.

There is so much to see and do in the Lakes and this is perfectly located for Windermere and so much more.

I will be back as at £10 for then night it is a real bargain in an awesome location and 4G on both GiffGaff and Three was very good. 


Date of Visit: March 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mick33 3 reviews from this member

 We did not end up going. We have been many time before and is a beautiful place dog friendly

Two main fields top one more for family's and tents as toilets and washing pots and pans are in that field. Bottom field is for campervans and tents water taps in this field.

Showers are short walk about 2/3 mins away near farm house.

So many beautiful walks from campsite. Kids love it 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingfamily2018 6 reviews from this member

 The location of this campsite is absolutely stunning, enjoy the walk up to castle Crag or in the local woods.

Right on a lovely river, decent flat field for tents with no marked out pitches. Toilets are OK but have a few cobwebs and tiny sinks.

Short walk up to shower block but great powerful clean showers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nickelpede 5 reviews from this member

 Setup camp here for our conquering of Scafell Pike via corridor route (had wanted to stop at Seathwaite Farm glad we weren't able after walking through on way up mountain)

Laura (owner) via friendly and accommodating, we even changed our stay to catch better weather.

We camped on the open field, no way you'd get on the Woodland Field with anything but a tent; you can't park next to your tent in the Woodland Field, it is a great location though in trees rugged landscape to behind. River Derwent couple hundred yards away with easy access.

Woodland Field had the toilets and washing up facilities (the standard cold water only) toilets clean and well stocked.

Open Field had flat marked pitchers (think this was a COVID thing) with water points, 3min walk to toilets, no bother to us with portable unit. (no N0. 2s!) Showers 3min in opposite direction at the farm house, again clean, hot, powerful and free!

A few younger families on site which created the usual babble that young children together creates, (we've been often added to that blouse in the past) towards the end of our stay it seemed the location was attracting a few; what I'd refer to as COVID campers (running the car engine to charge the phone, music at the level of volume the whole site can hear etc) not the sites fault at all, but as others have said in busier periods I'd have enjoyed it far less.

Not much in way of food/drink locally, best bet is to drive back into Keswick about 15mins away. Village of Grange did have at least 2 very busy cafés. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mike202 4 reviews from this member

 Great scenery amongst the trees and the crags of Borrowdale. The site has large pitches divided with plastic tape. The site owner was friendly and made us welcome upon our arrival.

The toilet block in the tents only field, so it is a short five min walk from the open field to them. The showers are next to the farm and again a five minute walk, but in the other direction. Both blocks were clean and the showers hot. There are lovely walks from the site by the trees and river valley.

Grange village has a couple of cafes, but the Borrowdale Gates hotel bar wasn't open to non residents.

It was very busy due to the school holidays when we were there, and the site was full, so if you want peace and quiet maybe pick a better time. It didn't really bother us though. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Bayley321 3 reviews from this member

 Great site with good facilities. The no electric camping field was a very long walk to get to the loo's washing machines etc.

The main problems we had were not with the site but other campers, who had no idea and did not care about campsite etiquette.

Children playing recorders at 8am, same children singing and dancing around other peoples tents at 10pm.

We left 3 days early, kids, weather and general - just want to go home. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Helenhowie 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely location and easy to book. You need to know the width of your van when driving down the single track road and through the gate!

Good hot showers at the farm and very clean, nice toilet block albeit a short walk from the vehicle field.

Will go again for sure because its so rare to have oak woodland, an unspoilt river and crags in view, all in one place.

It's the ideal venue for getting back to nature. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sheilbri 2 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site several times now and enjoyed each visit, beautiful site with a river beside suitable for paddling and swimming.

Lots of walks close by great for us as we travel with 4 dogs, the dogs are welcome on the site and there is no charge.

We tried the left side field this time, advantage is cars parked beside the tent, disadvantage farther away from the toilets, but closer to showers. Owners and staff very friendly.

We will definitely be returning again :)

The price at £7 per adult is great and they didn't get charged extra for our 7. 5 metre tent even though it was August and school holidays. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hollows Farm Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hollows Farm Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hollows Farm Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


22000 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement