Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Hollows Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Hollows Farm Reviews

Hollows Farm
Grange In Borrowdale
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5UQ
Tel: 017687 77298
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sheilbri 2 reviews from this member

We have visited this site several times now and enjoyed each visit, beautiful site with a river beside suitable for paddling and swimming.

Lots of walks close by great for us as we travel with 4 dogs, the dogs are welcome on the site and there is no charge.

We tried the left side field this time, advantage is cars parked beside the tent, disadvantage farther away from the toilets, but closer to showers. Owners and staff very friendly.

We will definitely be returning again :)

The price at £7 per adult is great and they didn't get charged extra for our 7. 5 metre tent even though it was August and school holidays.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grumpazoid 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here with the family in June on our way back down south from Scotland.

Excellent location for walking the nearby fells and not too far from Keswick by car for supplies.

The site is priced well and is a great place for kids with lots of space including a wooded area with tree swings.

There is a choice of two fields with the Cumbria way running through the middle.

The facilities are a little odd in the fact that the basic toilet facilities are located in the furthest field, and the showers (no toilets) are located in the opposite direction by the farm house. The showers however were free, hot and powerful.

Prices very reasonable - about £6 per adult per night.

Despite being very busy, we did not have to book and the site was nice and quiet at night.

We will definitely return at some point.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Zedsmith 5 reviews from this member

Love this site - but only when it's quiet. I'll never go on a bank holiday again as the only problem with this site is other campers! As others have said, it's an odd layout with loos in one field and a bit of a walk to the showers by the farmhouse, but that's ok.

I'm not one for liking rules on a campsite, but this one needs some I think, we can cope with noise from other campers, who can get grumpy with the sound of people having fun? However I can't abide parents who either don't supervise their children and teenagers, or think it's ok to let them walk through peoples camping area, we had children walking right between the van door and our table and chairs. Also, whilst we were out walking the site got so full that a group of people pitched their tents so close to our van that we were blocked in for over 36 hours. Tents and cars were hemmed in like sardines all over the lower field, so perhaps the owners should think about a maximum limit of units? Other than that, this is a great campsite for out of high peak season visits, lovely walks, good facilities and nice local pubs.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingfamily2018 6 reviews from this member

The location of this campsite is absolutely stunning, enjoy the walk up to castle Crag or in the local woods.

Right on a lovely river, decent flat field for tents with no marked out pitches. Toilets are OK but have a few cobwebs and tiny sinks.

Short walk up to shower block but great powerful clean showers.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Denises 5 reviews from this member

This back to basics campsite is located in The Grange area of Borrowdale near to Keswick. The campsite is accessed down a narrow lumpy bumpy dirt track alongside the local tea shop. There are two fields one for the large groups located by the toilets. The other field is near to the showers found in the farm buildings. Toilets are located one way and free showers the other. I got into the swing of this very quickly. The ground is hard so good strong metal tent pegs are needed. The cost is very good at £7 per person. Cars and dogs are free. There is a lovely walk to Catbells from the site. A bus pulls up by the bridge. I enjoy the ease of the site with the comings and goings. There is a no noise policy here which is imposed. This is the gem of Keswick. A great back to basis for anyone but not suited to party animals. I love the wonderful wake me up showers here.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Digby13 9 reviews from this member

This is just about my favourite 'simple' site. Lovely location, adequate facilities. I've extolled its virtues before so I would like to comment on groups. Not family ones but organised/commercial ones.

A quiet pitch (which is what you fervently desire in this beautiful place) can suddenly become ghastly when two minibuses full of kids arrive and pitch around you. The worst has been an organisation called I think 'education outdoors'. They were playing organised games loudly until dusk, which is quite late in June, and having large group motivational sessions. There are areas within easy walking distance of the site where such activities could take place and I suggest the owners should make sure that obviously commercially run groups such as this respect other campers, and/or take their noisy activities away from the camping area.

Duke of Edinburgh's Award groups are fine. They are so tired they flake out very early on!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Binka 11 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a weekend. We chose to stay in the 'car free' field. Lovely location, seemed very peaceful. The river at the side of the campsite is lovely, great for paddling. We walked up haystacks from the site one day and a lovely riverside/valley walk another day.

The field we were in had a small loo block. Then its a good five min walk to the farmhouse for the showers. They were clean enough but not great.

The main problem were the other people staying here. First night our neighbours seemed to consist of a tent of four drunk students who loudly played spin the bottle till the small hours.

Thankfully they packed up the next day. Then that afternoon two minibuses from Lambeth turned up. Full of youths and some leaders of some description. They never left the campsite all weekend so not sure why they bothered coming all the way. They did drama workshops of some description all day which was entertaining to watch. Then at about 10pm the bongos came out. Couldn't believe the noise, the ground was shaking, the noise bouncing back off nearby crags. Was horrific. After over an hour of this someone asked them to stop and in fairness they did. But the campsite owners don't seem to care or notice about noise levels. Won't go back.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lineky 5 reviews from this member

Beautiful area and promising campsite. With Grange a short walk away and lovely walks on the doorstop we had high hopes but these were quite quickly dashed.

Arrived and were warmly welcomed. Stayed in the open field which was a good size. Showers a reasonable walk away at the farm. Toilet block very clean and only had cold water, which would be fine if soap was present but a bit of a pain always having to remember to carry your own, especially as a 100 meter walk, across track and over a pretty awkward and meandering trail from our field. With a young child this became tiresome.

A back to basics campsite but our stay was ruined, we left a day early, due to a large very loud and bad mannered group. No presence of owner near the fields meant there was no policing despite clear rules about large groups and noise after ten. Also loads of campers flouting rules re no camp-fires etc.

We are fairly easy going campers but this beautiful site was ruined for us and we wont be visiting again. Our young child was really upset by it, and judging by the weary tears of others she wasn't the only one!

Overall rating due to this experience and fact no one around to help.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davic6071 2 reviews from this member

Hollows Farm is located between Castle Crag and Grange-in-Borrowdale, and bordering the beautiful and picturesque River Derwent.

Picturesque doesn't even begin to describe this heavenly location, which offers a stereotypical Lake District experience.

If you want tranquillity and beauty to be enjoyed by all the family – this is definitely the place to come. The site is owned by the National Trust, and is nothing short of beautiful. We stayed for just two nights, but would have loved to stay a lot longer. The nearest cafe is just a 10 minutes walk down a beautiful country lane, and if you require anything else, then Keswick is located just a short drive away. The 4 x showers are clean, very powerful and hot, so just the thing after a long walk! Toilets during our stay looked clean and tidy.

Would I recommend this campsite to others? Without question, YES, YES, YES. And I will have no qualms about coming back here myself very soon. Simple, basic, friendly, it's a little gem of a campsite, and guaranteed to lower your stress levels! Admittedly though, the weather was beautiful on our two day stint, so that added to the WoW factor.

Just a note to the owner though keep an eye on your 'no groups policy' and owners of dogs i. E. (litter)

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BiffyBoffy 23 reviews from this member

We stayed here on a bank holiday and were surprised it wasn’t packed full when we arrived late Saturday morning. We paid our fees and were directed towards the camping area back down the lane. Take care on the lane from the main road as some drives were treating it like a rally stage and there are few passing places. Lowered vehicles beware the track to the campsite gets quite rough and the turn into the open field is quite tight as mentioned by others!

The site has two camping areas: one for tents only with no vehicle access ideal for families and the other for groups and campervans or anyone who wants really. Both have great views in all directions. There are also a few yurts in the woodland area.

The toilet block is located in the woodland camping area and was perfectly adequate. The showers were back up the track in the farm yard. Bins and water points were situated around both areas.

There are endless walks / bike rides from this site to keep you busy for weeks without having to use a vehicle. As long as you brought enough supplies as there are no shops near by.

All in all a brilliant little site tucked away off the beaten track, we will be retuning soon.

We paid £12 for two adults per night which included out campervan and awning.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2158 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020