Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Marfit Head Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > Marfit Head Farm Campsite Reviews

Marfit Head Farm Campsite
Saltersgate
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 7NR
Tel: 01751 460415
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 8
Open: 10/07/2020 to 14/10/2020
           06/05/2021 to 14/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 116 Reviews
                10/10 from 116 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Carava 1 review from this member

 We stayed in the 'Back Field'. Great size pitches (approx 13m wide), well marked out and maintained, even in very wet conditions.

Nice unobstructed views (partly because nobody else stayed in the field that weekend).

Very helpful when we left as my FWD cart could not shift the caravan on the wet grass, so they arrived quickly in a 4x4 and made easy work of it!

Highly recommended location as well due to close proximity of towns for excellent food choice and great walking round Horcum. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sales1 1 review from this member

 Even though there is currently restrictions in place due to Covid19 this is one of the best sights we've stayed on.

Don't let the busy road comments put you off, after the first night we didn't pay any attention. The pitches are very large and not crammed together.

All the farm animals make it exciting for the kids and the field was long enough for our youngest daughter to ride her bike down.

I would firmly recommend to at least try this site once and if like us, you will surely plan to revisit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Amanda 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived at 12. 30pm, the time from which you're allowed onto the site. Was welcomed by whom I think was Angela. We were given a pitch number and instructions on where the water/chemical disposal was. All very organised.

There was hand sanitizer everywhere that people would touch. I can't comment on the washroom facilities as these weren't open, for obvious reasons.

The pitches are enormous and the site is very well kept. It is near to a main road so there is traffic noise but you get used to it. It's a great site to get to whitby/robin hoods bay and lots of other lovely places.

It is a really relaxing site and is also a working farm, which makes it even better, in my opinion.

I would thoroughly recommend this site and it is very reasonably priced. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Graham 1 review from this member

 Can't fault the site, excellent location and facilities.

Next to busy road but after a couple of days this didn't bother us.

Ideal walking area and access to the coast was easy. We'll certainly be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: 88mark 6 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome

Used this for a one night stop over. Pitched in the front field next to the busy A169 with quite a bit of road noise through the night.

Pitches on the front field quite uneven but no real problem for one night. The top/back fields look more level

Good area to compute to Pickering, Scarborough, Whitby etc.

Shower blocks clean and modern 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Chloe99 10 reviews from this member

 The best site we have ever stayed on. We return every summer and our children have practically grown up with this as their main summer holiday destinations.

Angela and Trevor are friendly and helpful hosts. Definitely book in to see a milking session.

The site is always maintained to the highest standard with bins emptied and grass mown regularly.

The washrooms are always spotless without exception, even when the site is fully booked, and there are sufficient facilities to avoid the need to queue.

The pitches are huge, lots of room for our 6 berth caravan, awning, car, picnic table, bbq.

Lovely location, short drive to Pickering for all the usual market town facilities including Co-op and Lidl. Pretty drive across moors to Whitby.

Right opposite the Hole of Horcum, we enjoy walking to Levisham Station from the site to watch the steam trains with a picnic.

It is several miles but a lovely day out for keen walkers.

Can't wait to come back again next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Newnatjj 25 reviews from this member

 Absolutely loved our stay here!

We were pitched on the back field, with EHU on the biggest pitch I have come across on a camp site! The pitch was well maintained (nice short grass!) and not far from the clean, abundant facilies which were fully stocked with toilet roll, hand wash, etc (loved the 'farm theme' of these too!).

There is a small play park for the kids, lots of room for them to have a run around and a designated dog walking area. There are animals to see and you can go watch the cows being milked too.

The site is situated just off the main road to Whitby through the North Yorkshire Moors, so you do get some noise from the traffic but definitely not enough to put me off re visiting. We went for a walk around the Hole of Horcum whilst there, and had a drive to Goathland too which is really close by.

Was really please with how reasonable the site fees were too, makes a refreshing change from the seemingly ridiculous increasing fees that some sites are charging.

10/10 from us, we will return! 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Newnatjj 25 reviews from this member

 Absolutely loved everything about this site!

The booking process was great - an email sent & responded to straight away via their Facebook page.

Arrived on a very wet and windy afternoon and was given information of where to pitch, where to find facilities etc. The pitches were level.

The pitches are HUGE! The biggest pitches we have had on a campsite. We could not believe it for the price we paid - 12 per night including electric for 2 adults in a 6 man tent with a dog.

The facilities were spotless. Unisex blocks with showers, wash rooms, washing up facilities. These were heated, washing up liquid provided, hand wash provided, air fresheners in the loos too. Loved the farm theme too!

The site is separated into 3 separate fields; the first field on entering had a few touring caravans, there was a field further up that I believe was for Caravan & Camping Club Members, then the field at the back (which we were on) was for the tents. There is a designated dog walking area, a small wooden children's play area, donkeys, sheep, goats, pigs and cows on the farm - you can watch the cows being milked; great for the kids!

The location is perfect for exploring the North Yorkshire Moors (fabulous for steam train enthusiasts!), pretty villages such as Grosmont and Goathland, Whitby etc. If I were to be EXTREMELY picky, then the only slight niggle is that the site is on the main road that runs from Pickering to Whitby but this did not disturb us.

10/10 all the way from us, we can't wait to return! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nannycatch 6 reviews from this member

 We love this site. It is so central to so many places. Also we would like to give a big thank you to Trevor for all the help he gave us when our Alternator give up the ghost.

That piece of pig wire was amazing lol. Look forward you seeing you both again real soon.

Regards Kevin Jayne Richardson 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Terets 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights at this lovely site. The facilities are excellent. Plenty of showers, washing areas, private rooms with sink and vanity facilities. A freezer for your ice packs, lots of tourist information leaflets and information on local walks. There are mops etc for people to clean their showers after use but unfortunately some people don't bother.

I was in there today and two young lads about 12/13 years old cleaned their showers after use. Well done boys. There is a small sink for children to wash their hands and small steps for them to stand on. Everything that you need is included in the price.

There are donkeys, pigs, chickens and a wooden play area for the children.

The traffic on the road can be noisy but this is such a lovely site that it doesn't matter. The pitches are spacious. If I returned to the site I would ask for a pitch on the tree side as it was windy when we were there and there was some protection from the trees. 


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Marfit Head Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Marfit Head Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Marfit Head Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1339 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement