Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Garden Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Kings Lynn > Garden Caravan Site Reviews

Garden Caravan Site
Barmer Hall Farm
Syderstone
Kings Lynn
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE31 8SR
Tel: 07788438968  or  01485578221
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
                8/10 from 44 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Griffsmum 1 review from this member

This site was a really good find. Well laid out. Choose your pitch on arrival and the owner catches up with you for payment when he does his rounds usually early evening.

The shower/toilet block was lovely and clean and warm, and not too far from any of the pitches which was a god send as the weather wasn't the nicest that weekend (cold and wet) The showers themselves were nice and roomy. There is a small shop selling eggs and ices.

Noted as being dog friendly there was a lovely dog walk through the wall into a wooded area which in turn lead to a large open field and footpaths so our little dog got lots of exercise.

The location is ideal for visiting Kings Lynn, Sandringham and Hunstanton which we visited as part of our personal nostalgia weekend.

Will definitely be visiting this site again.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 25 reviews from this member

First time visit to this site, easy to get to (once you put the correct post code in sat nav!) my fault, signposted off main road then up track, think the signage at the top of track could be a little better as it pointed to the left, saying camping site (think it should say Garden Caravan & Camping site) as this road carries straight on & not sure if there is anywhere to turn around.

Anyway, while hubby was looking to see where we needed to be owner came along on his tractor & pointed us in the right direction. He said he would call round later for the money or cheque, no cards taken which wasn't a problem.

Once you get into the site it is really nice & set out in bays. We chose our pitch which was grass & room for car caravan & awning.

There is a wall around the site which came in very handy when we had strong winds a couple of days, it sheltered you from the wind, all you heard was the trees from the wood at the back of the site rustling in the wind.

The site has 30 pitches but at any one time there was only 11 units on a mix of caravans, tents, trailer tents, & motorhomes, and was very quiet being just adults on.

There was a TV aerial point on the wall but we could not get the TV to work with this, the second day there we re-tuned to TV & got a few good stations using our own aerial.

The toilet block was kept very clean, 2 large showers each for men/women, toilets & sinks. Not ultra modern but very clean & tidy.

There is a washing up area at the end of the toilet block, a dog walk through a door in the wall takes you into the woods at the back of the site.

A lot of people on the site had been before & seemed to know one another & came regular.

We travelled around using our car which wasn't a problem. We visited Sandringham, not the house but the church & grounds. Hunstanton, really liked the walk on the beach to Old Hunstanton, then back along the cliffs doing the Wolf Trail.

We had lunch in the Mariner Pub at Old Hunstanton & when the weather is good you can sit outside, the views from there is of the beach & sea. We went to Felbrigg Hall NT house & garden, then to Cromer for fish & chips before going back to site.

We called into West Runton on way home as there is a good caravan accessory shop which came in handy as we lost a towing mirror on the A1 on way to Norfolk & was lucky they had just what we needed. Another day we called into Burnham Market, a lovely little market town before going to Wells on the Sea.

We had lunch in the Edinburgh Inn there which was very good, then walked on the coastal path to Holkham Beach & back. Another day we went to Kings Lynn around the old town.

There is a Tesco shop in Fakenham for stocking up food etc.

All in all we enjoyed our visit & can recommend the garden caravan site.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Meoldcocker 6 reviews from this member

Our third visit to this lovely caravan site. We stayed for 19 days. Would have stayed longer but had to return home with my car on a breakdown truck and the caravan towed behind the truck.

Until then we had a great time as always on this idyllic site. Good clean facilities and excellent dog walks direct from the site. Nigel the owner and other campers really friendly and helpful.

Excellent seafood in Brancaster Staithes and great walks to and on Burnham Ovary Staithes beach plus Brancaster beach. We are returning later this year.

Recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lavendergirl 4 reviews from this member

Our first and definitely not our last visit. Lovely, well cared for site, interesting red brick walls around the site wiith climbing shrubs and bushes with an easygoing feel.

Spacious grass pitches (some sloping, some level) and flexibility on choice. Toilet block clean with large shower cubicles - only 2 showers so may have a wait if site is 100% occupied?

Helpful and relaxed owner/manager. Small ‘honesty’ store - great to be able to buy ice creams on v v hot days. The walks directly from the site were varied and fabulous.

A great bonus for us is a pub (The Lynn Arms, Syderstone) within 30mins cross country walking distance - couldn’t rate it more highly as food freshly cooked, delightful outside and inside space and really friendly staff (fantastic range of ales and gin!?) and dogs welcome inside or out. Easy access from site to coast and pretty scenery.

Very highly recommended!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Georg Johannes 28 reviews from this member

Peaceful site within walls of old Hall garden and tennis court. Well organized but not conspicuously so.

Owners around nearby but not on site bothering visitors too much! Woodland dog walk just behind site with access from the site.

Excellent facilities. Hidden away.

Dogs welcome. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Georg Johannes 28 reviews from this member

Very enjoyable stay again in this old walled garden. Pleasant surroundings and a site where dogs are not just allowed, but welcomed, which makes such a difference, with a great little woodland walk right behind the wall.

Very peaceful, although nearly full this time. Does allow children but there are no facilities for them so hardly ever see any! Sounds awful, I know, but I've done all that and now just want peace and quiet!

As a solo traveller I feel very safe here, which is so important. Will be returning soon.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stevie74 2 reviews from this member

This place is simply stunning, beautiful. Seriously well maintained. Its like four areas in one, caravans, tents, etc, dog friendly, has a great honesty shed, cans of drinks, ice cream, a fridge and freezer to use.

Owners are very friendly, they leave you to it, plenty of bins, nice washing up area, free showers, and all contained in a high walled garden, lovely plants and bushes everywhere, they look great.

If you want to camp /caravan in peaceful surroundings, this is the place to come it really is gorgeous and really cheap too.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Meoldcocker 6 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to The Garden Caravan Site and once again we had a great time. We booked for 2 weeks but then extended it to 3 weeks.

We had good weather except for the final night when we had a bad thunder storm and heavy rain. We love this site as it is well laid out and has a great dog walk.

There were several very interesting people on site at the time including on chap from Australia who was tracing his 'roots' back to a local village. A relative had been sent to 'the colonies' in the early 1800's for stealing from a shop! There were also a few girls staying on site for a few weeks from Poland, Hungary etc.

A very relaxing caravan site, Nigel, the owner is very laid back. Good facilities and reasonable prices. Recommended. We shall return.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Georg Johannes 28 reviews from this member

Beautiful, quiet, secluded site separated into a few, ‘rooms’, by well-kept hedges. Almost all pitches are level and are on grass with well-maintained hard-standing driveways throughout this small site.

Walls from old walled garden still surround the site, many supporting climbing roses. Numerous small trees and climbers within the site. Site surrounded by large trees forming part of a small wood within which there is a pleasant, short dog walk.

Pitch up when you arrive by choosing your own pitch. Great idea allowing people the choice. TV provided to pitches but be aware, you need your own aerial which needs to be a long one! My 3 foot one wasn’t long enough to reach from the pitch TV aerial point to my van! Nigel kindly loaned me one.

Numerous wonderful attractions nearby – Thursford Collection, Holkham, Blickling and Felbrigg Halls all recommended. Beautiful gardens, lakes and woodland. The coast is also within easy distance.

Many events held at Holkham, (indoor concerts, triathlon, cycling, outdoor theatre, cinema and concerts), as well as the deer park, huge area of woodlands and grounds and boat trips on the lake. Also at Blickling, (Proms. And outdoor cinema, etc. )

Pretty Corner Woods are also nearby. Tea Rooms highly recommended!

Sheringham Park – lovely walks and beautiful scenery.

Also Hillside Animal Sanctuary, West Runton, near Sheringham well worth a visit. Doing fantastic work.

Sheringham market, on Wednesdays in high season, and Sheringham charity shops all worth a visit.

Will be returning to The Garden Site as soon as possible.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Meoldcocker 6 reviews from this member

The Garden Caravan Site was recommended to us by someone who lives in Fakenham. They were absolutely right. Nigel the owner is very laid back and friendly.

The site is enclosed by a high wall which originally surrounded the old vegetable garden. It's really beautiful, relaxing and tranquil. The pitches are large and mainly level, with just the odd sloping one. Thirty pitches with hook ups and TV points

The toilets are large and kept clean as are the showers. Two toilets and two showers for the men. The floors are kept clean and there is a mop and bucket with clean (bleach?) water at all times. Myself and others did their bit with the mop too!

The sinks were cleanish but could have done with scrubbing around the taps - not a criticism, just a comment.

Through a door in the garden wall is a wonderful area of woodland for dog walking. As the owner of two dogs I found this to be excellent. Plenty of water taps and waste bins around the site. The areas for grey water disposal are adequate as is the 'Elsan' point.

Th site is great for visiting all the North Norfolk coastal areas and is quiet as it is well off a busy B road. There is some RAF fighter training noise but I found that interesting rather than irritating.

Plenty of dog friendly pubs on the coast eg The Jolly Sailor at Brancaster Staithes and The Ship at Brancaster plus many others. Letzers Crab Hut on the Staithe is famous for their Crab baguettes. Loads to do and excellent walking in the area.

Brancaster beach is huge and even when busy is not crowded. My favourite is Burnham Overy Staithes beach, it's a one and a half mile walk but well worth it. Beautiful dunes, huge and empty.

Finally I would say that the Garden Caravan Site is first class and we shall return. The photos on the web site do not do it justice.

Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3851 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019