Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The White Wheat Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Porthcawl > The White Wheat Caravan Site Reviews

The White Wheat Caravan Site
Zig Zag Lane
Porthcawl
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
CF36 5EH
Tel: 01656 786641
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 23 Reviews
                6/10 from 23 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Caergeiliog 15 reviews from this member

Nice site, along with very friendly owners. Paid £16. 00 / night for 2 people in a motorhome, incl of electric. Clean showers/toilets. Good location, where one can walk to town, alternate the bus stop is only a 5 min walk away.

Only downside seem to be the "regular visitors" dogs on site at the time of our visit, which even, on a dog's lead, fight and bark at each other at every opportunity and one selfish owner even allowed its dog to do its business on our pitch.

Complained to the dogs owner and he told me not to get excited!

Never the less, we will stay here again, whilst hoping that people keep their dogs under strict control.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 38 reviews from this member

Nice little site, nice welcome. Facilities have been updated and are adequate. Easy walk into town and pubs close for food or a beer.

Electric hookups are 10 Amp I believe as wife managed to trip it. Easily reset.

Another added to our use again list.

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Myfanwy Couple 10 reviews from this member

Lovely little site. Nice new owners have updated. Good location walkable and buses to town.

Large pitches nice clean toilets and showers. Will be back and will recommend
via mobile

Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hymersimpson 1 review from this member

Lovely helpful couple peaceful site decent amenities. Would happily stay again fair walk into town about 2 miles but nice walk decent pub 1/2 mile Away

Lots of Money being spent in porthcawl lovely little harbour nice friendly town

John and pat

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doncadboy 4 reviews from this member

Spent a whole month on this site and enjoyed every day we were there. Alison and Mike were the perfect hosts, nothing too much trouble.

The site is being improved all the time. The new toilet and shower block was very good, plenty of hot water and cleaned every day.

Ideal location, close to the main road but far enough away to be peaceful.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cathphi 1 review from this member

We stayed two nights and were very happy with the location and close proximity to the town centre and beaches. The work on the toilets and showers still hasnít started and the current toilets although clean were not very inviting. We werenít bothered because we have our own facilities. We couldnít drive up to the one water tap because the ground was too muddy and there was no Motorhome service area. We would happily return.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ellipsis 1 review from this member

I canít keep this site to myself as it wouldnít be fair as we can only go once a year. We loved it and have already booked the site for next year. Alison could not have been more friendly or helpful and gave us a nice pitch in the corner. The facilities were water, electric, toilets and shower although this was shared with men. They have only had the site for a few months and have fantastic plans for next year, better pitches with individual electric and hard standing.

It is within walking distance of Porthcawl, we cycled in one day but due to very changeable weather we decided to motor in as we could easily go on the Porthcawl car park. £3 a day.

We did get stuck in the mud on site but Alisonís husband came to the rescue and soon got us out. Look forward to seeing you next year. Please email us those plans Alison.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Motorcampers 1 review from this member

On reading the most recent review for this site we decided to 'take a chance' seeing that so many previous reviews were so negative.

However, we had a very positive experience, Mike and Alison are extremely helpful and friendly people. In the few months they have owned the site they have submitted plans in to rebuild a new toilet / shower block, campers washing-up place and laundry. Meanwhile they regularly clean the current facilities.

This site is in a lovely quiet location.

All the best to Alison and Mike!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debjessjacknjamie 1 review from this member

Just returned from a week camping here with my two children and my nephew. This is our second visit to white wheat, its a quiet friendly site, which I like with young children as its easier to keep an eye on them. The new owners Allyson and Mike have only owned it for 10 weeks. They was very helpful as my car broke down on the second day there, Allyson got her husband Mike to come and help me get it started, nothing is to much trouble for them. If there's a problem they are there to sort it out. The site is being improved week by week. Good luck to you both on your new adventure. Ill be returning again end of August, with my children.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gloucesterwanderer 3 reviews from this member

There was no one there to show us where to pitch-up, and no clear markings either. Waited ages for advice before setting-up.

The shower was OK. No toilet roll (nor even holder) in the loos. No warm water to wash hands after using the loo, nor soap, nor drying facility for hands.

The lady said it was basic (which we wanted), ie no frills, but it was actually not acceptable. In short, nothing like its description.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5385 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019