Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Chateau Du Gandspette

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Hauts de France > Eperlecques > Camping Chateau Du Gandspette > Reviews

Camping Chateau Du Gandspette
133 Rue Du Gandspette
Eperlecques
Hauts de France   (Browse area)
62910
Tel: 00 33 3 21 93 43 93
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 97 Reviews
                8/10 from 97 Reviews

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 45 reviews from this member

 We stayed here two nights and was our final campsite after two weeks in Normandy. We used this as a base to chill before the long drive home.

Friendly staff at reception and the site itself is quite large but didn't feel like it as it was separated into different areas.

Pitches were on a slope so remember those levelling blocks if staying here.

Clean shower block and toilet and excellent pool area. One stand out feature of this place is that it's located in a forest area and I found a nice circular walk for the dog which was really nice when the sun was going down, just added a nice end to the holiday.

We found mosquitos were a problem. Also, if you are wondering what the aircraft noise is, as there's no airport nearby, we discovered it was the sound of the high speed Eurostar trains travelling towards the tunnel close by.

The site is a 40 min drive to the tunnel check in so super handy as your first or last site in France. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Booketta 55 reviews from this member

 We hadn't initially planned on staying at this site but we were pleased that they could accommodate us when calling them the same day.

A large campsite with immaculate facilities.

Nice swimming pools although the small pool only was open.

Restaurant and bar on site. Great play area for children.

Nice setting. The Blockhouse was a mile away so we made a visit to that on the morning of our departure.

We would certainly use this site again on our way in and out of France.

Extremely handy for le Shuttle and the ferry, approximately half an hour away. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 50 reviews from this member

 Used this site on way back from Switzerland to UK via eurotunnel.

Delighted to find a quiet pitch near to facilities with electric connection and 1 water tap /drain between 2 pitches.

San facs spotless and we saw 2 ladies scrubbing them early morning. We had lovely drinks at the bar and a delicious meal- Home made beef stew unfortunately only with frites !

Would have used the pool but didnít bring any togs. As has been described before, lots of facilities for children. A large Dutch contingent were having a rally on the big back field but no intrusion into the main site

We will definitely becoming back here to explore the further surroundings. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Balcanoona 3 reviews from this member

 Very friendly campsite. About 30 minutes from the tunnel - though after a long drive and the crossing seemed to take ages on back roads to get to the site.

Once there very warm reception from English speaking hosts who allowed us to choose our own pitch.

Toilets clean, showers were hot and the site itself was very spacious. We had dinner in the small restaurant which was fine - pizza and steak hache etc.

We only stayed one night en route south, but it was relaxed and easy going. Children enjoyed a heated pool (one was heated, other not). 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fatboy34 4 reviews from this member

 A warm welcome, a clean and well run campsite, we have come here many times before.

The pool and restaurant are fantastic in the summer

Great for stopover or a few nights. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Daddycool14212 5 reviews from this member

 Like everyone else, we chose this site for proximity to the Tunnel. As others have said, a bit pricey but we loved it. Bigger than it seems because the various sections are separated by so many lovely trees. Limited separation of pitches though, hedging after every two units.

Most pitches were on a slope and the terrain of grass within a fairly invisible concrete framework made the use of ramps really difficult with some risk of damage as they shot out. We gave up and didnít really notice our sloping beds at night. No water at the pitch but plenty of nearby taps.

The pool area was lovely - super clean and protected by surrounding walls. I donít think the adults one is heated but after the heatwave it was a very nice temperature.

We ate at the restaurant and thought it quite good value. No shop here but we pedalled to the supermarket in about 15 minutes on a fairly quiet road.

If you stay here, donít miss the V1/V2 rocket museum just down the road. Fantastically well-presented and very poignant, especially the replica of the deportation train and accompanying stories. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MrCaravanMan 14 reviews from this member

 Well signposted and easy access into the campsite. Fast, efficient booking-in at reception (Good to meet Julian again who was really helpful last year when we had a problem with a jockey wheel bracket). Allocated pitch 20C Ė very large, easy to access and leave.

Site has a bar, restaurant (Good menu at reasonable cost), book exchange, 2 open air swimming pools (One closed when we arrived), 10 amp electricity, many water points close to pitches, 2 toilet / shower blocks Ė clean with hot water.

Julian provided a map when we arrived as the normal route to Calais was blocked with a diversion that was unsuitable for caravans. The alternative route added 5 minutes to journey but was trouble free and would consider when we next visit Ch‚teau du Gandspette.

There is a Carrefour Express 5 minutes from site where you can get provisions and fuel (Cheaper than autoroute prices).

Very popular with British / German / Belgian and Dutch touring motorhomes / caravans. Accepts ACSI card providing reduced site fees (except high season).

We have used this site on a number of occasions before returning to the UK and would thoroughly recommend an overnight or a longer stay. The help and attention by Julian on arrival at reception is second to none and makes it a genuine pleasure to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cufcbarside 68 reviews from this member

 This is our third time at Chateau Du Gandspette. The site is a great site with excellent facilities for all.

This part of the world has so much to offer and warrants better than the flow of overnighters that come and go here both East - West and North - South but it is a favourite with the British for a stopover and we know why that is but seriously get a week in here with the local attractions & markets there are some bargains to be found, great local produce and for the extreme shoppers get the train to Lille from Wattan (58m train ride get your tickets in advance from St Omer station). Men ramp up your credit cards for Lille as she who must be obey can shop for Britain and the recession in Lille is over thanks to the princess of darkness and that collection of handbags and shoes. You know it don't you !

Carrefour supermarket is 5 mins down the road and you can get a good car wash for 4 euros, I did it and it was a result indeed

Outside the Carrefour is a 'chip shop' and a small take away pizza place, very good value for money

So back to the campsite. Great facilities, plenty for the kids to do and burn up that energy on. The bar is good and reasonably priced for a drink, only grip is no breakfast and that could be a winner for the site, you all know how good an English breakfast is so we will be campaigning with the owner to get this up and running ! wish us luck. There is a excellent take away menu and can cater for most and is hot when taking back to your pitches. We had several of those during our 10 night stay there. The main resturant is not bad, perhaps needs a bit of a better range of evening meals but is still good

Pitches are excellently sized, we have a big twin axle and we love our pitch which we request as its sunny up to about 7ish then slips into a warm shade. If you catch the right weather conditions you wouldn't know the difference between here and St Tropaz and we know there is 3 well suntanned friends of Gandspette in this house

Previous reviewers have commented on the lack of security barriers, granted that but they have full CCTV on site and evening security patrol with a rather large looking Belgium Shephard who looked like it would eat you so there is security on the site and its in the good bracket

Reception area is well stocked with lots to do, a book exchange and information. Monsieur the owner we think is happy to help out in the event of a problem, our Dutch neighbours had a minor issue with their caravan and he was down in a flash to help out in his golfing buggy !

And as for Julian, well what can we say about him. He is French, he is awesome, he is well loved for being helpful and accommodating, even kind as well although I can hear his voice now laughing at me when he reads this ! !. If you chose to be rude or aggressive then get ready for the dripping destain you deserved. Courtesy costs nothing and frankly I don't know how quite he manages it all with the constantly flow of people arriving and departing but he does and he is brilliant, puts loads of hours in and regardless of what he thinks we think he is brilliant

So would we go again, always, we love this site, its one of many camping sites in the area and represents excellent value for money, for the facilities, for its location and for providing an excellent opportunity to go to Northern France, Belgium and further afield

Next up is 4 sausages, egg, beans and chips for breakfast. Julian get your frying pan out ! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Westcountrymaid 10 reviews from this member

 Our second stay at Gandspette.

We like this site for easy access to ferry ports and for big pitches and use of restaurant/takeaway which is convenient at the end of a trip when you might not want to cook.

There is no barrier, so I think no restrictions on arrival and departure time and there is guard with dog that keeps an eye on the campsite overnight.

It is an expensive campsite especially if you don't particularly want to use the sports facilities. It is also full of Brits which can be a bit annoying when you're still in France :)

Plentiful loos and short lived push button showers. Lots of the pitches lose the sun early, so do ask if you would like a last bit of sunshine on your holiday. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flickthechemist 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in the first week of September and the weather wasn't great. This had made the pitches quite muddy, which was a pity because apart from this it was a very good site.

Emplacements were large, grassy and not too shady, but well defined with small hedges. There would have been plenty of room for children to run around or the odd game of swing-ball or badminton. The facilities were very clean, although as always I find the habit of putting showers in a separate block from toilets a bit odd - you have to dump your stuff in the shower, then go back out to the loo! As the mornings were quite nippy, some heating in the showers would have been a bonus, but the water was hot and the cubicles spacious.

There was lots to do on the site, including an outdoor gym and two pools, one of which was good and warm despite the weather. We spent quite a while in the water playing ball after our lengths as there was no-one else there to disturb! (My husband braved the unheated pool for the lengths, but I wimped. ) The children's playground looked very well equipped and you could sit in the bar to keep an eye on it if necessary.

We were able to buy baguette and croissants every morning - you didn't have to order, someone came in from a local bakery with plenty of supplies, which was good at the end of the season. We also walked along the main road to Carrefour, which didn't take long and as always we found the supermarket had plenty to tempt us.

We used the takeaway, which was cheap and cheerful, but the cool evenings meant that the bar and restaurant were less inviting than they might have been, so we huddled inside.

This site deserves more than an overnight stop, especially in better weather, although the village itself didn't seem to have a great deal to offer. 


Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Chateau Du Gandspette child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Chateau Du Gandspette have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Chateau Du Gandspette?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Chateau Du Gandspette dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eperlecques      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Hauts de France

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44679 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement