Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chateau Du Gandspette

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Eperlecques > Chateau Du Gandspette Reviews

Chateau Du Gandspette
133 Rue Du Gandspette
Eperlecques
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
62910
Tel: 00 33 3 21 93 43 93
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 93 Reviews
                8/10 from 93 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  93 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Daddycool14212 3 reviews from this member

Like everyone else, we chose this site for proximity to the Tunnel. As others have said, a bit pricey but we loved it. Bigger than it seems because the various sections are separated by so many lovely trees. Limited separation of pitches though, hedging after every two units.

Most pitches were on a slope and the terrain of grass within a fairly invisible concrete framework made the use of ramps really difficult with some risk of damage as they shot out. We gave up and didnít really notice our sloping beds at night. No water at the pitch but plenty of nearby taps.

The pool area was lovely - super clean and protected by surrounding walls. I donít think the adults one is heated but after the heatwave it was a very nice temperature.

We ate at the restaurant and thought it quite good value. No shop here but we pedalled to the supermarket in about 15 minutes on a fairly quiet road.

If you stay here, donít miss the V1/V2 rocket museum just down the road. Fantastically well-presented and very poignant, especially the replica of the deportation train and accompanying stories.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MrCaravanMan 14 reviews from this member

We booked a 14 night stay in September and had a great time despite the weather!

Located and clearly signposted just off the B3266 access, even for a large, twin axle caravan is straightforward. The drive leads you to the farmhouse where you must book-in before going onto the CL field.

There is a single hardstanding pitch, the remaining are all on grass and are clearly numbered. The size of each pitch is extremely generous and easily accommodated our twin axle caravan and 4 x 4. We would have also erected an awning but the weather, unfortunately, was not good during the time of our stay. Storms Ali and Bronagh have a lot to answer for!

There are numerous electric points (each clearly showing the pitch number plus the ability to re-set should you trip the connection) and water is at a point close to the entrance to the CL field. The CL also has free Wi-Fi across the entire site. Access to each pitch is from a shingle track and levelling blocks may be required. In a separate building is an information point, toilet and shower (Additional charge) plus, just outside this building you will find the chemical disposal point. Furthermore in a separate, glass covered conservatory there is an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, changing room and shower which can be used at an additional, daily charge, There are also picnic tables and a small childrenís play area on a separate area. There are some lovely views from all pitches including those of the sea plus an adjacent field where two horses kept us amused by their antics during our stay.

There is some road noise from the adjacent B3266 but we didnít find this particularly intrusive.

A short drive from the site is The Camel Trail where bikes can be hired at various locations on the trail. This is a very good surfaced trail and is extremely popular, especially at weekends. The ports of Boscastle, Port Isaac, Bude etc. Are all worth visiting although, it should be noted, that none offer free parking. Walking along the coastal footpath is possible although surfaces do vary. If you are wary of heights, slippery stone / rock, steep slopes (in places) the coastal path should be avoided. There are a number of supermarkets within a short drive of the site. The National Trust also have a number of places worth visiting whilst you are in the area.

We found Jackie, Richard and Camilla to be extremely friendly and helpful and clearly made every effort in keeping the CL spotlessly clean. For example the grass areas are regularly mowed and the cuttings are removed to avoid being trodden into the van. We have no hesitation in recommending the site and will certainly be using it again when we are next in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MrCaravanMan 14 reviews from this member

Well signposted and easy access into the campsite. Fast, efficient booking-in at reception (Good to meet Julian again who was really helpful last year when we had a problem with a jockey wheel bracket). Allocated pitch 20C Ė very large, easy to access and leave.

Site has a bar, restaurant (Good menu at reasonable cost), book exchange, 2 open air swimming pools (One closed when we arrived), 10 amp electricity, many water points close to pitches, 2 toilet / shower blocks Ė clean with hot water.

Julian provided a map when we arrived as the normal route to Calais was blocked with a diversion that was unsuitable for caravans. The alternative route added 5 minutes to journey but was trouble free and would consider when we next visit Ch‚teau du Gandspette.

There is a Carrefour Express 5 minutes from site where you can get provisions and fuel (Cheaper than autoroute prices).

Very popular with British / German / Belgian and Dutch touring motorhomes / caravans. Accepts ACSI card providing reduced site fees (except high season).

We have used this site on a number of occasions before returning to the UK and would thoroughly recommend an overnight or a longer stay. The help and attention by Julian on arrival at reception is second to none and makes it a genuine pleasure to return.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cufcbarside 68 reviews from this member

This is our third time at Chateau Du Gandspette. The site is a great site with excellent facilities for all.

This part of the world has so much to offer and warrants better than the flow of overnighters that come and go here both East - West and North - South but it is a favourite with the British for a stopover and we know why that is but seriously get a week in here with the local attractions & markets there are some bargains to be found, great local produce and for the extreme shoppers get the train to Lille from Wattan (58m train ride get your tickets in advance from St Omer station). Men ramp up your credit cards for Lille as she who must be obey can shop for Britain and the recession in Lille is over thanks to the princess of darkness and that collection of handbags and shoes. You know it don't you !

Carrefour supermarket is 5 mins down the road and you can get a good car wash for 4 euros, I did it and it was a result indeed

Outside the Carrefour is a 'chip shop' and a small take away pizza place, very good value for money

So back to the campsite. Great facilities, plenty for the kids to do and burn up that energy on. The bar is good and reasonably priced for a drink, only grip is no breakfast and that could be a winner for the site, you all know how good an English breakfast is so we will be campaigning with the owner to get this up and running ! wish us luck. There is a excellent take away menu and can cater for most and is hot when taking back to your pitches. We had several of those during our 10 night stay there. The main resturant is not bad, perhaps needs a bit of a better range of evening meals but is still good

Pitches are excellently sized, we have a big twin axle and we love our pitch which we request as its sunny up to about 7ish then slips into a warm shade. If you catch the right weather conditions you wouldn't know the difference between here and St Tropaz and we know there is 3 well suntanned friends of Gandspette in this house

Previous reviewers have commented on the lack of security barriers, granted that but they have full CCTV on site and evening security patrol with a rather large looking Belgium Shephard who looked like it would eat you so there is security on the site and its in the good bracket

Reception area is well stocked with lots to do, a book exchange and information. Monsieur the owner we think is happy to help out in the event of a problem, our Dutch neighbours had a minor issue with their caravan and he was down in a flash to help out in his golfing buggy !

And as for Julian, well what can we say about him. He is French, he is awesome, he is well loved for being helpful and accommodating, even kind as well although I can hear his voice now laughing at me when he reads this ! !. If you chose to be rude or aggressive then get ready for the dripping destain you deserved. Courtesy costs nothing and frankly I don't know how quite he manages it all with the constantly flow of people arriving and departing but he does and he is brilliant, puts loads of hours in and regardless of what he thinks we think he is brilliant

So would we go again, always, we love this site, its one of many camping sites in the area and represents excellent value for money, for the facilities, for its location and for providing an excellent opportunity to go to Northern France, Belgium and further afield

Next up is 4 sausages, egg, beans and chips for breakfast. Julian get your frying pan out !

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Westcountrymaid 10 reviews from this member

Our second stay at Gandspette.

We like this site for easy access to ferry ports and for big pitches and use of restaurant/takeaway which is convenient at the end of a trip when you might not want to cook.

There is no barrier, so I think no restrictions on arrival and departure time and there is guard with dog that keeps an eye on the campsite overnight.

It is an expensive campsite especially if you don't particularly want to use the sports facilities. It is also full of Brits which can be a bit annoying when you're still in France :)

Plentiful loos and short lived push button showers. Lots of the pitches lose the sun early, so do ask if you would like a last bit of sunshine on your holiday.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flickthechemist 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here in the first week of September and the weather wasn't great. This had made the pitches quite muddy, which was a pity because apart from this it was a very good site.

Emplacements were large, grassy and not too shady, but well defined with small hedges. There would have been plenty of room for children to run around or the odd game of swing-ball or badminton. The facilities were very clean, although as always I find the habit of putting showers in a separate block from toilets a bit odd - you have to dump your stuff in the shower, then go back out to the loo! As the mornings were quite nippy, some heating in the showers would have been a bonus, but the water was hot and the cubicles spacious.

There was lots to do on the site, including an outdoor gym and two pools, one of which was good and warm despite the weather. We spent quite a while in the water playing ball after our lengths as there was no-one else there to disturb! (My husband braved the unheated pool for the lengths, but I wimped. ) The children's playground looked very well equipped and you could sit in the bar to keep an eye on it if necessary.

We were able to buy baguette and croissants every morning - you didn't have to order, someone came in from a local bakery with plenty of supplies, which was good at the end of the season. We also walked along the main road to Carrefour, which didn't take long and as always we found the supermarket had plenty to tempt us.

We used the takeaway, which was cheap and cheerful, but the cool evenings meant that the bar and restaurant were less inviting than they might have been, so we huddled inside.

This site deserves more than an overnight stop, especially in better weather, although the village itself didn't seem to have a great deal to offer.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Suzi1971 14 reviews from this member

What a super site! Easy to find and easy too access pitches. Very spacious pitches. Daughter made use of the swimming pools every day. Lots of hot water in showers (push button). Typical French site though with no soap to wash hands with after using the loo and nothing to dry hands on either. Toilet paper though so a bonus I guess! Reception very helpful and friendly. No shop on site but 10min cycle from Carrefour. However bread available from 8-9 each morning which was great. Bar and restaurant good and well used. Takeaway available. We stayed 4 nights and did lots of cycling around the local area. About 40 mins to tunnel. Quite expensive per night (about Ä50 for family of 4 with EHU)

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Missmally 27 reviews from this member

We stayed here for our last night in Europe before an early crossing back to the UK - it gave us the chance to clean the hired Motorhome etc before returning it the next day. It is a picturesque campsite set among trees with spacious pitches and is very handy for the ferry ports. It is clean and the showers have hot water, although very short time limited on the push buttons. The receptionist was polite and friendly and pitched us on number 1 near the entrance as we were leaving early, we hadn't booked. We enjoyed a cold beer from the bar and the facilities looked fab, especially if you have children. Bouncy castle, play park and 2 pools. The only let down was the restaurant - the takeaway pizza was possibly the worst prepackaged pizza I have ever tasted. There was none of the usual French passion when cooking a variety of prepackaged food that either went under a grill or in a micro-wave. I have stayed on campsites and visited France a great deal and this was extremely unusual and not up the usual French standards, I wasn't expecting haute cuisine but neither was I expecting the soggy mess I got. Other than that I thought it was a very convenient and pleasant place to stay and would stay again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 664DaveS 30 reviews from this member

We stopped for a few nights on our way home as they now take ACSI!

It was not too busy, friendly reception on arrival.

We had a large pitch away from the pool and bar, so quiet.

Sanitary facilities were spotless.

We used the bar and restaurant, nice meals but limited menu, very good service from friendly waitresses.

A nice big site with excellent facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JULIED444 61 reviews from this member

Hadn't booked, but they were happy to accommodate us. Lovely site, with pools, playground for children, (pinball machine for my husband), stayed two nights before travelling back to the UK. Lots of supermarkets locally to buy those souvenirs, the alcoholic variety.

Will return again.

Previous     93 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2863 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019