Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Croft Cottage Camping New Forest

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Fordingbridge > Croft Cottage Camping New Forest Reviews

Croft Cottage Camping New Forest
Croft Cottage
Godshill
New Forest
Fordingbridge
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SP6 2LE
Tel: 01425 657955
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 18
Open: 28 Days Between May A Augu

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 24 Reviews
                9/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chsmbe 1 review from this member

 We loved it all, Helen and Bill are fantastic and keep the showers and toilets spotless,

Bills volley ball was different and great fun to get every one mixing if you want to.

Didn’t want to leave …. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Lee1985 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the Bank Holiday weekend. Booking was easy. I contacted Bill via email to enquire on vacancies. He called the next day and to confirm availability. He sent the invoice and we paid that day.

We arrived on site at 2100 on Friday night. Bill was sat by a fire with other campers laughing and joking. We could instantly feel the family orientation of the site.

We were situated in the Aplaca Paddock. And yes, we were accompanied by 3 alpacas. They were very placid and didn't cause us any issues. The campsite itself was very well setup. The pitches are set up in a circle which makes it feel very inclusive.

The alpaca paddock is next to the main site, with only a vegetable patch in between so although we had our privacy, we also felt part of the rest of the campers. Now the important stuff, the toilet block. There is a male, female and unisex toilet and 2 showers. Plenty for the size of the site.

Very clean and tidy. There is a washing up sink next to the toilet block. The site also has chickens, which are no problem at all and every morning Bill takes the children to count the eggs. The ground of the site is flat too and has electric hook up. There are also plenty of dustbins and water taps.

Overall, this is a very well run site, clean and tidy, all shown through the enthusiasm of an owner who clearly cares. Thank you Bill and we look forward to seeing you again. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChilledChick 1 review from this member

 Simply Superb!

Camping as camping should be, kids have the freedom to roam in a safe environment.

We have been coming to Bill’s field since our youngest was in nappies. She takes her GCSE’s this summer ;)

Each year we have always managed to squeeze in a week or more at Bills. We have our favourite places in the New Forest, but also discover new ones each visit as our girls have grown up.

Bills is a secret we would love to keep quiet, but that’s not fair on Bill and Helen. So thank you both for helping to make our girl’s holiday memories, as well as creating an environment where we have made some fantastic friends.

The Watkins clan x 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richardandjo2010 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on the August Bank holiday, this is a splendid camp site. The owner Bill and his wife were very friendly and helpful, and considering its the New Forest the price was reasonable. The site is well kept and the facilities although basic were kept very clean.

The only problem we had was there were a lot of children playing football and other ball games and as a consequence we were inconvenienced with the ball hitting our tent or car on a far too often basis and sometimes very hard, we did ask them politely to play elsewhere but this just resulted in one of the parents taking a dim view with the attitude of kids have to play.

As other reviews these people go there every year and obviously feel they own the place. The whole of the New Forest is a beautiful area there is loads to do there, and the villages are lovely places to visit. We would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Funky2sarah 1 review from this member

 What a gem of a site! Farmer Bill is so welcoming and friendly. Basic facilities but very clean, only snag was occasionally having no hot water if shower in use.

We just watched who was using which facility and timed our visit accordingly.

The evening volleyball was brilliant fun and really made it a very social evening, loved the flexible rules! Our son loved the chicken visit every morning and helping to feed, even had a little song too.

Jim the pony is beautiful as is Daisy the dog.

Raised camp fires are allowed and you can buy a barrow of wood for around £5

Only about 15 units on site, so didn't feel crowded, the centre had a goal, badminton net and volley ball net, a small climbing frame (tbh that could do with an updated version as a bit rickety but the kids didn't mind), the slide made a great car ramp.

There was also a lodge and Teepee on site, which we didn't get chance to look round though.

The toilets/showers could just do with maybe not being in a tin portaloo as the top/bottom had open bits so although you couldn't see in/out, everyone outside could hear you going and maybe one more washing up sink. Such minor points though.

Cost wise, I think it's worth every penny. We didn't find being right next to Sandy Balls a problem at all in fact it was great for cash machine, swimming pool etc. There was even a market there on Sunday morning. We had electric hook up, make sure you have a nice long lead as can be a distance between your pitch and the unit to plug into.

Sadly I wouldn't recommend the pub up the road (fighting cocks or something!)after hearing the landlady be very rude to another family re a messed up food order, they also ran out of glasses and I didn't find the toilets very clean.

Overall I really can't wait to go back, it's a refreshing change to be on such a great small site that covers most bases. See you soon! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevmay110671 1 review from this member

 Our Family have been visiting for the last 8 years every August bank holiday. It is a wonderful basic campsite with about 15 pitches but very family orientated. We all love visiting 'Bills Field' as the kids so affectionately call it. Toby the horse and Daisey May the dog are all part and parcel of the place and chicken time is a wonderful experience for all to enjoy at 9:30 every morning.

The facilities include 2 toilets and 1 shower (extremely clean), a table tennis table and a volley ball pitch and badminton pitch too. The owner makes you all feel welcome and encourages everyone to take part in the famous volleyball games that take place every night just after dinner. They get very competitive but are highly enjoyable, but The owner is on hand to officiate and usually always ends up on the winning team. Sometimes The owner will organise a talent contest which is optional for any talented people in your family to participate in, he gets a roaring fire going and we all sit down with a few drinks to enjoy. Great fun for all the family and I highly recommend a visit if you can.

I will continue to use this site for as long as possible. Would recommend a visit to Fordingbridge and Frogham Fair that always take place on the Saturday bank holiday. Cant recommend the site enough. The kids are so safe as there is one way in and only one way out. Great fun for you and the kids. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stonemoon 1 review from this member

 Had a great weekend camping at this site. The facilities, although basic, were kept immaculately clean and coped with the very small site of only 15 pitches. Pitches were set around the edge of the field with space for the children to play in the centre enabling parents to sit by their tents and keep an eye on them. There is a table tennis table, volleyball and badminton court, and football goal on site and the owner organizes a friendly game of volleyball in the evening which is great fun to watch if you are not happy or able to join in. Also chicken time in the morning is a great hit with the kids where they all gather together and sing 'chick chick chick chick chicken' around the chicken coop and collect the eggs. Also the 'Campers Concert' was great fun, all sitting round a small fire and anyone that has a talent can entertain, from the tiniest tots doing 'ring-a-ring-a-roses' to some amazing adults singing.

There is a large campsite nextdoor which has a Spar Shop, lovely footpath down to the River Avon, also eating places (Italian and fast food types). Also a family friendly pub, The Fighting Cox, is walking distance and on the open forest where there are donkeys, ponies and cattle grazing outside.

The site is about a half hour drive from sandy beaches at Bournemouth and the same distance from Salisbury and Southampton.

Relaxing and fun for all - really recommend this site! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dreamer99 5 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping trip with our dog and child. The site was lovely and quiet and the games in the centre were a nice touch. You can hear a little noise from Sandy Balls next door but nothing too much. We found it convenient to walk round there to the restaurant and use the shop.

I would agree that the toilets and showers are limited and I did have to wait a while for the shower. My toddler enjoyed the animal feeding in the morning. Overall a small, quiet and family friendly site that I would recommend to others. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TRANSPOTTER 1 review from this member

 First time for us at this site, welcomed by Bill who showed us around and explained exactly what was what.

The site is approximately square with 15 pitches around the outer edge, the centre is left open and has a volley ball pitch small tennis net, goalmouth and a climbing frame for the little ones. There is also a table tennis table over by the stable.

The site was full over the bank holiday weekend but there was still plenty of room as Bill has everything under control, and even though there are only two toilets and one shower these were alway spotlessly clean and we never queued

Egg time at 09:30 is a perfect time for the kids to get together and find out where eggs actually come from and gives the parents a 15 min tidy up break

Toby the pony and Daisy May dog are also around to give this Gem of a site that family feel.

The volleyball is optional and no pressure is on anyone to partake, Bills local rules for this ensure that all abilities have fun even when playing 9 verses 9

The final night gathering with a few songs round the fire was absolutely fantastic and so relaxed and was attended by nearly all staying

Next door is the large Sandy Balls site which although our pitch was next to that hedge didn't give any problems in the way of light or noise and their facilities are available if you wish to use them

5 min walk to a nice pub or into the forest

Fordingbridge is just down the road with a great park and river

There is in fact only one downside to this site and that is its only open for 28 days a year.

Bill don't change a thing 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Splodge67 3 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely holiday in Godshill but this had more to do with the area and the gorgeous weather than the campsite itself unfortunately.

On arrival Bill, the owner, was charming and friendly, showing us where to pitch, down to the last inch. We were astounded at the lack of space though - our pitch was not 10M. We were only a couple of feet from adjacent tents and we could actually hear our neighbours breathing in their sleep! A photograph of the site showing cars at the pitch would give a better idea of the allotted space - the one on here is misleading.

Many of the families at Croft Cottage are friends who go every year, indeed they gather, 20 or 30 strong, around a campfire each and every night to chat and sing from dusk until around 11pm. If you're the type of camper who likes to get the children to bed for ten then sit and enjoy a peaceful quiet drink under the stars then this site may not be for you.

We loved being able to have a fire though. Because this is a small site the sheer noise of the many games going on in the middle, a few feet from your pitch, can be at times quite intense though some pitches were better placed away from the action. The organised activities could make some children feel a bit left out if not their cup of tea. Ours had little interest in 'chicken time' or the talent show.

Bill rounds people up for volleyball every night at 8pm but will leave you alone if you're not keen.

If it all gets too much there's a decent child friendly pub within walking distance, the massive site next door, or the beautiful New Forest with its many activities and attractions right on the doorstep.

As clearly stated there are just two toilets at Croft Cottage. This simply isn't enough for the numbers and you will need your own facilities.

When the fires are doused at 11pm queues for the loos can be 5 or 6 people deep! The one and only shower is surprisingly efficient and if you don't mind when you use it you will be able to shower daily - you just need to keep watching for it to become vacant!

I can see why so many love this site but unfortunately we know there are better simple family friendly sites out there.

Young children adore it though and clearly many of them know each other from previous years holidays.

The owners are friendly and seem to love running the place, and their regular and returning visitors are clearly testament to their good work. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Croft Cottage Camping New Forest child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Croft Cottage Camping New Forest?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Croft Cottage Camping New Forest dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fordingbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2921 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder