Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Elie Holiday Park At Shell Bay

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > Elie > Elie Holiday Park At Shell Bay Reviews

Elie Holiday Park At Shell Bay
Shell Bay
Elie
Fife   (Browse area)
KY9 1HB
Tel: 01333 330283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 21st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Alan551 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 4 nights at Elie holiday park and sadly it will be a while before we return.

The site has now become a home for travellers and their commercial vans which scoot about the site at all hours, not on the road I may add but between other vans and tents to the disregard of any other holiday makers.

This site was a great family holiday park at one time but sadly no more

Teenagers are drinking in the pirate ship play area late into the night and leaving glass tumblers strewn around which is fairly evident in the morning.

Could this be due to no security or touring wardens on site after 6. 00 oclock.

So come on Elie management get a grip and return this site to its former glory 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 78 reviews from this member

 The site has a great outlook but the vans are crammed in, the 6mtr rule, err nope.

Itís location is great for coastal walks and the walk to Elie is superb, go on the coast path and return over the Golf course, along the footpath via fields ending up near the site reception.

Takes about 1. 15 hours there, 45 back the way we chose. Beautiful beach and some nice little shops, couple of pubs and great Cafes.

On the coast path there is an old wartime gun emplacement along with a map of same nearby.

Site wise itís a little scruffy and no wardens were ever seen but all was well, facilities are good and you need a key with a £20 deposit.

The bar was noisy and busy and mainly focussed on bingo but the cafe and the rear was far quieter.

Nice stay but to much bingo and crammed in pitches for us. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NinaYerpiche 2 reviews from this member

 Have visited this site more than once as it's one of our favourites. Great facilities, brilliant location and all round fab place to spend a few days. Lots to do in thee local area but no real need to venture far as the site is well appointed. Restaurant, bar, cafe, and take away all on site as well as an amazing pirate ship play park for the weans! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shargar23 3 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights with my husband and 2 kids. Lovely clean site and toilet blocks but there is a £20 cash deposit required for the key to the toilet block that we Weren't aware of and you only get 1 key which caused a problem when my son needed and my husband was already away with the key. We didn't go to the entertainment but my son loved playing at the pirates ship park.

Nice and close to the beach which is clean but stony and a lot of seaweed.

Weather was brilliant when we were away so made it even better a stay  


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackiedol10 2 reviews from this member

 Am actually staying at the site. It's beautiful and so are the scenery. The site itself is brilliant but I do wish the guy with the motor bike wouldn't rev up first thing in the morning or late at night. Where's The security 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bodiddly 29 reviews from this member

 Having read some good reviews of this site, and seeing the pictures on their website we were really looking forward to our visit. Unfortunately we have never been so disappointed. The view from our 'Beach front' pitch consisted of a grassy bank and the very top of an oil rig, plus the road seemed to be constantly busy with cars going up and down. The pitches were very narrow and the row behind was very close, we were packed in like sardines. We walked to the shop to find it closed for the day at 1pm and not open again until next morning, bit strange with everyone arriving after the 1pm check in time. Back on our pitch we tried sitting out but with a radio from behind us and one from the side both trying to see whose was loudest, plus a large dog that never stopped barking we gave it up as a bad job and headed to the beach. Yes, there is a strip of nice golden sand above the tide line, but this was spoiled by the rubbish along the grass line especially near to the car park. The tide was out revealing the rest of the beach to be very muddy, rocky and covered in the black shells that presumably give the beach it's name. Having seen some amazing beaches on our tour of Scotland we were struggling to understand why this one is so popular. The shower rooms were clean and warm, but there were not enough at busy times and in the one I used the light went out every 10 seconds. The motorhome empty point is on a raised hump so if like us your pipe is at the back you will struggle to empty your tank. Good points? The phone and TV reception are great, the weather was brilliant, the children's playground looked good and the cafe sells nice ice cream. We didn't try the bar as we have dogs and there is no sitting out area near it, you have to sit outside the cafe round the back of the building and order your drinks via the cafe staff.

Would we go again? Sorry not a chance. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: DD91 2 reviews from this member

 We went there in August just before school/work started again it was a lovely place and a 5 minute walk to the beach. There was also a playground for the kids with a big pirate ship that they could play on. There was a little cafe near by that sold lovely food for a great price, as well as a great restaurant. They both had toilets in them. They also had a bar that had entertainment every night it wasn't all for adults they had kids entertainers as well, they also had someone dressed as Mickey Mouse and Marshal from Pawpatrol. They kids were able to go up and get there pictures taken. The parents took the picture so you don't have to pay. The holiday home caravan we stayed in was beautiful and very clean and spacious. We all had a great time and are going back in October. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rowena8256 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed here after reading positive reviews and stayed for 2 nights. Large site with lots of static homes but has large touring field. We were right at the beach end facing a super sandy beach which was great for walking the dog.

Facilities good have to leave a £20 deposit for toilet block but individual bathrooms with showers and toilets in. Clean and hot showers although timed and stop frequently. Only complaint was there was not one plug in the wash uip area which is annoying.

Good site for exploring Fife coast, lots for the kids and would be happy to stay again. We didn't use it but large restaurant and entertainment. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fergusiyus 2 reviews from this member

 First visit to Fife and picked Elie due to the favourable comments from other reviewers and I wasn't disappointed.

Pitch fee was £16 per night for two people which was great value, the pitches were mostly hard gravel with some grassy areas close by, the bay is literally yards away from the site with stunning views across the Firth of Forth.

There is one Toilet block which adequately served the site, there are 8 personal showering cubicles, a laundry room and outside sinks for washing your plates etc.

For children there is an imaginative Robinson Crusoe play area, for adults there is a bar lounge which provides entertainment at weekends, there is also an on site shop.

The site is perfect for touring the Fife coastal route, I would definitely visit again.  


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maximo72 3 reviews from this member

 This is a great site.

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our stay.

It's a great location right on the beach, the beach itself is very clean and is a mixture of rocks and sand, the kids loved exploring the rock pools and making sand castles. There is also the most amazing pirate themed play park which was also a great hit for them.

We had fish and chips from the takeaway window one night and that was reasonably priced and also very nice, we didn't use the bar or restaurant area so I can't comment on that.

Shower and toilet block was always clean and tidy every time I used it.

On a bit of a downside, we were pitched close to the bar area and at chucking out time around midnight it did get very noisy, so my advise would be to get a pitch away from there, unless of course you don't want far to stagger home.

We'll be back again this year. 


Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Elie Holiday Park At Shell Bay child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Elie Holiday Park At Shell Bay?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Elie Holiday Park At Shell Bay dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Elie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1889 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020