Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westport House Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > County Mayo > Westport House Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Westport House Caravan & Camping Park
Westport House And Country Park, Westport
County Mayo
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 00353 098 27766
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 95
Open: 01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dayz 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed a couple of days here at Westport house on our trip this summer, site and shower block/toilets clean enough, considering how busy the site was. Plenty for kids on site, the bar was decent, although we arrived too late for a meal, after 5 o/clock they only served pizzas, but I have to say the meat feast pizza was the best we've had ! Westport is a lovely town now, they have smartened it up considerably since we were there some twenty years or so ago, plenty of places to eat and drink, although we liked the 'Towers ' down on the quays, great garden, good beer. Will definitely return to Westport and this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chipmonkey 5 reviews from this member

 We visited Wesport House for a three day break in July. We had booked a grass pitch with Electric hook up.

There are two camping areas, one for tents only and the other is an area for any other type of unit. There are no statics on site. We had a grass pitch with EHU. We were told which pitch to use. There are some in shade and some in the open. Had I known that we would be camping on the hottest day of the year I would have asked for a shady pitch but normally in Ireland this isn't an issue.

The shower block was spotless at all times as was the campers kitchen area. However there are no hobs in the kitchen area which could be a disadvantage for someone who was backpacking without a stove.

There is a laundry service on site but no self-service machines. I didn't need to do laundry on our three day stay but the prices for a service wash were steep. I think most campers would prefer a self service area.

There are sandpits in both camping areas. There is a playground beside Gracy's bar near the reception but my eight-year-old thought it was too babyish for him.

Gracy's bar is a lovely spot which serves gorgeous pizza and other food during the day. One great thing is that you can order a jug of squash for the kids which is very good value.

On site there is loads to do. Wesport house itself is a beautiful, historic stately home. The Pirate Adventure Park has lots of rides, there is a mini fairground near Gracy's bar and there are lots of adventure activities like zipwiring and zorbing. It is worth getting a 'stay and play' deal which includes the Pirate Adventure Park.

Westport itself is a beautiful town with lots of lovely shops, restaurants and tea rooms. It is also a good base from which to explore Mayo. If you are a hiker, you can climb Croagh Patrick, cyclists can cycle the Greenwich and there are lots of beaches a short drive away. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DMD40J 17 reviews from this member

 What a lovely place, we have never stayed at a campsite with so many different activities as well as lovely scenery and an historical house to view. The staff are excellent and couldn't have been more helpful, the site is large enough to cater for very large events with the camping area being in close proximity to the activities. As other reviewers have mentioned the site is very child friendly even though we went as a couple. Take the bikes with you as there is safe cycling on site. We will definitely be going back there. Well done. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claregirl70 5 reviews from this member

 We love this campsite! We (2 adults, 3 children) camped here in July 2011 and in August 2012 and we hope to return again in Summer 2013. The location and setting are perfect, with lots of activities available on site and pleasant, helpful staff.

There are 2 separate camping areas, each with their own security barrier - one just for tents, without electric hook up, and the other for caravans, campervans and tents, with EHU available (at no extra cost). We have camped in both and preferred the casual layout of the tent only field, but preferred the facilities and EHU in the other area. In both, the toilet / shower / washing up facilities were spotless, but the facilities in the tent only field are older and in need of some renovation compared to the new, top spec facilities in the caravan/campervan area. There is no extra charge for showers and the hot water was plentiful.

There is free wifi, which worked fine the first time we were there, but not the second time - don't know if it was a problem with the wifi or just the area we were in?

In the centre of each camping area there is a large sand pit which provides endless entertainment for younger kids. In the courtyard buildings there is a games room with an air hockey table, table tennis, etc and on weekend nights they show a kids movie or have a kids disco, at no extra charge. There is a bar and cafe / restaurant on site with a playground adjacent to the outdoor seating area and another indoor soft play area in the adjoining building.

Westport House and Pirate Adventure Park offer additional activities during the day, some of which we thought were a little expensive.

If I had to find fault with this campsite, it is that there are no laundry facilities or campers kitchen. The absence of these have not impacted on us as we were only there for a weekend each time, and our tent is large enough to cook and eat in if the weather is bad. However, for those who are touring or camping for longer periods, or who have small tents, these facilities would make a difference.

Westport has to be one of our favourite towns to visit in Ireland - great pubs and restaurants, etc, and there is a walkway from Westport house into the town. We look forward to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Carrteag 3 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant site, friendly staff. Fair sized pitches. A bit far out of Westport to go back in the evening by foot but on site bar was fine.

Looked pretty full when we were there but facilities clean.

Plenty on the site to do with 20% discount for many of the activities. Our kids liked the site-free tennis, pitch and putt in the evening. Next day they did the Zip wire and Zorbing.

Only stayed one night but would definitely go back next time we are in the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Keith48 1 review from this member

 Beautiful grounds, well situated for touring the lovely Clew bay area. Good spacious pitches (approx. 100)nearly all with EHU. Found the facilities great especially the toilet/shower area, with auto-start water-taps, dyson hand dryers drying your hands in seconds and kitchen area had wait for it men, Gadgets! All kept spottlessly clean all-day!

Has a free children's indoor play area on site, and a sand area with dozens of pink & blue buckets, didn't see any swings etc around the camping area, maybe as not to detract from the expensive extra attractions available at Parklands, was adviced a one day pass was enough for the added attractions.

Negatives. More than a bit expensive, also had incredibly an onsite open-air bar with live music blasting to approx. 12.30-1.00am. Kept our young kids awake.

Would we go back? With the chance of having to listen to Mama-Mia sung by a pop tribute band early hours, no. Could be a great 'don't miss site', however the music badly needs moved completely indoors and sound-proofed. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Turald 5 reviews from this member

 This is a big, very well run, site. Convenient for the beautiful tourist town of Westport which is within walking distance (about 1/2 hour) or short taxi ride. Harbour area with shops and pubs about 5 minutes.

The site is within a pleasure park of the grand Westport House and is well laid out. No straight lines here. Good facilities include cafe, games room and play area.

Negatives? Not the place if you don't like children playing all around. Bit expensive. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ooo000ooo 1 review from this member

 I was pleasantly surprised by this site, I was expecting a field with electric based on a friends report from a couple of years ago and I couldn't find any pictures or reviews on the web.
The touring site has approx 50 hardstanding pitches with 6 amp electric sited round a central toilet / shower block. There's a fair amount of grass areas for anyone tenting with electric.
The Toilets seem to have been recently renovated and are constantly cleaned, the showers are busy, there's 2 or 3 washing up areas which are spotless.

For 37 euro's (same price for tents / caravans / motorhomes regardless if you have electric or not!) you get somewhere to pitch, access to the bar :) kids outdoor play area and indoor play area after 8p. M. There's a sand pit in the middle of the site which the kids loved. You can pay 250 euros (iirc) which gives you camping & access to westport house and a lot of facilities -log flumes. Pitch and putt etc. For 3 days. The card can be used for up to a year after and the user just pays the camping fees.

The bad news - You can't book in advance, according to them they've never turned anyone away, on the saturday night of our visit every available pitch was full, campers were still being let in, driving round a couple of times looking for a pitch and then setting up wherever they could before it got dark. In my opinion it was getting to the point where it was a health and safety risk and a fire could have spread quite easily. The showers couldn't cope the next morning.

The bar has groups on every friday and saturday night but you have to pay 10 euros to get in on the saturday night.

The town of westport is lovely, plenty of pubs, shops and restaurants, clean and tidy looking.

We'll go back next year for a few days but make sure we're there early on the friday to get a decent pitch. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Winks1952 3 reviews from this member

 We used this site for one night when we failed to find a good spot to wild camp along the coast from Westport.

The location is undoubtedly handy for Westport and the quay area of the town but it does not offer good value for money in my opinion. We were asked to pay 32 Euro per night, but negotiated a slight reduction to 28 after complaining about the unfinished loos and showers in the middle of the site. My other concern was the lack of night security, no barrier system or restricted access after 11 p. M. Or whenever. On a couple of occasions local kids in their cars came on to the site and did a couple of laps way after 10 p. M.

Perhaps it may be a better bet when the facilities are up to date but for the time being it's not worth that sort of money. No motorhome service point either. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Westport House Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westport House Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westport House Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near County Mayo      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in S Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3806 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement